Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 5, 2007
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 84 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
18
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ReelWorldOct 17, 2007
Utter crap. Stiller has been on a downward spiral for ages now, rehashing the exact same character movie after movie. "Mary" was funny, "Dumb & Dumber" is still one of my all-time faves, but this film was a complete waste! Unfunnny, gross, Utter crap. Stiller has been on a downward spiral for ages now, rehashing the exact same character movie after movie. "Mary" was funny, "Dumb & Dumber" is still one of my all-time faves, but this film was a complete waste! Unfunnny, gross, and quite honestly if I counted the number of times I wanted to hit Stiller with a brick ... Wow. Skip this one - even on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Oct 20, 2007
"The Heartbreak Kid" while undeniably funny is also undeniably harsh on the blonde, on Malin Akerman(as Lila), who deserves better, but who nevertheless triumphs over her sometimes humiliating material. Because Ben Stiller has worked with "The Heartbreak Kid" while undeniably funny is also undeniably harsh on the blonde, on Malin Akerman(as Lila), who deserves better, but who nevertheless triumphs over her sometimes humiliating material. Because Ben Stiller has worked with these filmmakers before, "The Heartbreak Kid" could be interpreted as a riff on "There's Something About Mary"; a correction of sorts about their preference towards showcasing blondes(Cameron Diaz, Gwyneth Paltow, Drew Barrymore) over brunettes. Poor Akerman, though. "The Heartbreak Kid" made me laugh but I didn't feel good about it. What's especially toxic about the film's rhetoric is how you root for Eddie(Ben Stiller) to rendevous successfully with Miranda(Michelle Monaghan) when the sun temporarily destroys Lila's physical allure. As if ugliness gives you the license to engage in adultery. Eddie is an ass. I suspect that Akerman invests Lila with qualities the filmmakers didn't count on when they were penning the screenplay. She transforms Stiller's character into a romantic anti-hero, because Lila actually has a big heart. There's something about her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayV.Oct 5, 2007
The funniest movie since "There's Something About Mary." I laughed so hard I almost peed myself. You have to stay until the very, very end or you will miss a couple great bits. This is a must see movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RandyA.Oct 7, 2007
If I'd had any idea just how crude, crass, and downright disgusting this film would be, I'd have stayed home. I will never watch another Farelly Brothers movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidWJan 5, 2008
I thought it accomplished what it set out to, and I enjoyed it. Buried in the subtext there were some interesting observations on human quirks and foibles, as well as some interesting payoff scenes in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LauraV.Oct 14, 2007
This was entertaining enough. It made us laugh out loud in enough scenes but it certainly won't get any awards. Don't send anybody to see it who can't take anything nasty or gross because that's mostly the type of humor This was entertaining enough. It made us laugh out loud in enough scenes but it certainly won't get any awards. Don't send anybody to see it who can't take anything nasty or gross because that's mostly the type of humor it relied on. But then, that's Farrelly brother humor and most viewers knew that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BillC.Oct 30, 2007
Pretty bad movie. Not many laughs at all. No one in the theater i was in laughed during this movie. It is sad that the same guy who starred in Dodgeball and Theres Something About Mary, starred in this worthless movie. I gave it a 2 because Pretty bad movie. Not many laughs at all. No one in the theater i was in laughed during this movie. It is sad that the same guy who starred in Dodgeball and Theres Something About Mary, starred in this worthless movie. I gave it a 2 because it was just good enough that i didn't walk out of the movie. DO NOT SEE THIS FILM! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeM.Oct 5, 2007
The unsung star of this movie is the rising star, Danny McBride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BridgetH.Oct 7, 2007
I didn't have the option of rating this movie with the negative rating it deserves. Very pornographic in a very unsexy way. Disgusting lauguage, visuals such as meat and undigested food coming out of the brides nose. If you want to see I didn't have the option of rating this movie with the negative rating it deserves. Very pornographic in a very unsexy way. Disgusting lauguage, visuals such as meat and undigested food coming out of the brides nose. If you want to see a donkey about to have sex w/ women or hear a vaginal fart or actors lowering themselves in ways too sad to contemplate for a buck, this is your movie. I don't know how it ends - I walked out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JanLOct 7, 2007
The movie didn't live up to the previews. I loved There's Something about Mary so I was really disappointed when I saw this movie. There were a few funny parts here and there but most of scenes did not have any comic value and the The movie didn't live up to the previews. I loved There's Something about Mary so I was really disappointed when I saw this movie. There were a few funny parts here and there but most of scenes did not have any comic value and the characters were irritating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CAOct 7, 2007
This movie is one of the poorest outings of the year. Horrible and drab. No humor to be found here and characters that all make you wish you had never paid money to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
H.K.C.Oct 8, 2007
Try not to see this one. There's just nothing to the story that makes it worth seeing. Silly and just put out to make money. I would of thougth that they would have re-thought this one before releasing it to the public. Regards, HK
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MauE.Jan 10, 2008
Many clever funny parts and the C**K me scene made us all laugh so hard we needed 10 minutes to collect ourselves. Thats one of the funniest scenes we have seen in years. Other very clever bits that make for a pretty good comedy. Not for Many clever funny parts and the C**K me scene made us all laugh so hard we needed 10 minutes to collect ourselves. Thats one of the funniest scenes we have seen in years. Other very clever bits that make for a pretty good comedy. Not for under 16 though! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidRJul 16, 2008
This movie was far better than these uptight moralist critics are giving credit. The best part is when she drops her pants and starts... well, watch it and find out. Good fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KristianH.Jul 29, 2008
It's great if you need a mindless laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SagarAug 26, 2008
Good sense of humor in the movie.. goes on well till ending which gives a clear picture that neither male nor female are perfect in relationship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Sep 21, 2008
Absolutely hilarious. If you liked Meet the Parents, this is up your alley. Where is the acclaim for this movie? I can't believe it hasn't gotten more attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonathonW.Feb 7, 2009
Worst film ever, cant believe they even bothered making it! If you love films dont even bother wasting youre life!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryS.Nov 20, 2007
My wife and I were strong-armed into seeing this movie. We liked the Charles Grodin/Cybill Shepherd version a lot and expected little from the Farrell Brothers. Wrong! This is a consistently, hilariously, disgusting film with a stunning My wife and I were strong-armed into seeing this movie. We liked the Charles Grodin/Cybill Shepherd version a lot and expected little from the Farrell Brothers. Wrong! This is a consistently, hilariously, disgusting film with a stunning conclusion. If you don't like deviated-septum-caused-by-cocaine-snorting resulting in a sardine or something like that coming out of the bride's nose but the groom knew nothing about the bride's heavy prior drug use or deviated septum or drug debts-type humor, this is not the movie for you, but if you're a black humor pervert at heart, is it ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MadG.Nov 9, 2007
This movie SUCKS! It was painful to watch. Stiller is in a downward spiral that I doubt he will be able to get out of. Perhaps if he abandons "comedy" and goes into Horror or Drama he might get somewhere. The premises were implausible at This movie SUCKS! It was painful to watch. Stiller is in a downward spiral that I doubt he will be able to get out of. Perhaps if he abandons "comedy" and goes into Horror or Drama he might get somewhere. The premises were implausible at best, as thin as a tissue with a hole the size of a truck, but that they had a total loser character for Stiller and then try to make him seem the victim by piling on all sorts of problems onto the Female lead. It is very impossible to believe that in 6 weeks of dating she did not demonstrate her "food out the nose" that seems to happen in almost every scene afterwards, her singing along with every song was invisible? How? Didn't they listen to music? She had no income and was heavily in debt? I usually figure that out by the 2nd date! Come on! Don't see it, don't rent it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FredGOct 6, 2007
This was only good for a couple of laughs. I'm surprised Ben Stiller signed on. Jerry Stiller should not have signed on. His character was stiff and predicable. If you liked There's Something About Mary, you probaly won't like This was only good for a couple of laughs. I'm surprised Ben Stiller signed on. Jerry Stiller should not have signed on. His character was stiff and predicable. If you liked There's Something About Mary, you probaly won't like this. It has a noticeably different flavor, and I didn't care for it. It was watchable, but not very entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoanOct 9, 2007
Totally insipid...so disappointed in Ben Stiller...unfunny and insulting. After about 45 minutes, the four of us walked out. Save your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MalinA.Jan 19, 2008
This movie gets a 6 for Malin Akerman alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaymondD.MJan 19, 2008
super solid like a female nigger's purple pussy squeeze!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GesselB.Feb 19, 2008
A very funny movie, but without a message in the end. Ben Stiller made the same mistakes that he vowed would not happen again. A lot of hilarious one liners, with some scenes that could have been shortened or alluded to in order to get the A very funny movie, but without a message in the end. Ben Stiller made the same mistakes that he vowed would not happen again. A lot of hilarious one liners, with some scenes that could have been shortened or alluded to in order to get the point across. Ben Stiller is definitely the best at playing the role of the victim who just let's life roll over him instead of the other way around. Not as funny as Meet The Fockers, but certainly a must buy ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AdrettoP.Feb 5, 2008
Sad waste of my Friday night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeDec 31, 2007
In the middle of the movie, I felt bad for the blonde! She really wanted to works things out, and her husband wasnt understanding. a couple of laughs, but..... overall a great idea, but I just dont understand why they couldnt build on it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanyelleS.Oct 27, 2007
This was a really bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CSJan 12, 2008
This movie was horrible and painful to watch. One of those movies where you have a hope that it will somehow get better, but end up being sadly mistaken.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DeanJan 19, 2008
This was a major disappointment for a Ben Stiller film. It went way overboard and in the end I was no longer connected to the main character (Stiller). There were definitely parts where I laughed loudly, but there were also parts where I This was a major disappointment for a Ben Stiller film. It went way overboard and in the end I was no longer connected to the main character (Stiller). There were definitely parts where I laughed loudly, but there were also parts where I whinced. Overall, it wasn't the acting that made the movie bad, it was the movie. I am a great lover of comedy, including the stupid stuff, but this was sometimes comedy and at other times it was painful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SMJan 21, 2008
SUPER FUNNY. The whole theater was full of bursts when I watched this movie (screening before the wide release). It was also very cool for taking a date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JTKJan 26, 2008
It really wasn't Ben Stiller's best, or anywhere NEAR his best, only a few chuckles, and countless close-your-eyes moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LeeP.Feb 25, 2008
I thought that this film was original and in places laugh out loud funny. The Farrelly Brothers back to their vulgar best, with this one probably on a par with their earlier works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PauloB.Nov 11, 2007
The movie has many funny situations and Ben Stiller shows your usual charisma. Forgot any similarity with the real world. I don't mind. The only trouble is that the movie can not be considered a non-stop gag sequence, like "There's The movie has many funny situations and Ben Stiller shows your usual charisma. Forgot any similarity with the real world. I don't mind. The only trouble is that the movie can not be considered a non-stop gag sequence, like "There's Something About Mary" with the same actor and director (Farrely Brothers). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonGApr 10, 2011
It seems that the Farrelly brothers got quite a bit right with The Heartbreak Kid. Eddie (Ben Stiller) is a guy who falls in love with and marries a woman, Lila, only to realise on their honeymoon that she is a nightmare, meanwhile fallingIt seems that the Farrelly brothers got quite a bit right with The Heartbreak Kid. Eddie (Ben Stiller) is a guy who falls in love with and marries a woman, Lila, only to realise on their honeymoon that she is a nightmare, meanwhile falling head over heels for another. This is a ricidulous story but there are so many things in this film that are just damn funny, most of all Eddie's best friend (Rob Corrdry) and father (Stiller's real father) who are so hopelessly off-the-mark in their advice, that these simple exchanges provide some of the funniest moments throughout. The entire Mexican sequence reeks of charm and Monaghan likewise, despite the fact that she is annoying in basically every other role she has played. The soundtrack, featuring a great mix of Bowie tracks keeps the film suitably up-beat. Despite the generally weak storyline there are too many laughs to call this another ordinary film. At times the comedy is subtle and at others profane - either suits in this light-hearted laugh fest.â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
You can almost tell Stiller's not comfortable with the words coming out of his mouth. I'm not sure why he was picked for the role, since he's not the man for it. Don't get me wrong- I love Stiller. This is just not his material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
M0vieAddictJun 2, 2013
A good movie until things go slightly sour. Most of the laughs you won't feel good about and Stiller's character is highly unlikeable. Some nice parts from the female leads and the lovely settings keep everything fresh but this FarellyA good movie until things go slightly sour. Most of the laughs you won't feel good about and Stiller's character is highly unlikeable. Some nice parts from the female leads and the lovely settings keep everything fresh but this Farelly brothers flick could have used a fresh lick of paint and the old formula to keep the laughs rolling in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeAug 6, 2015
The movie had some great ideas and overall the acting was okay.There was some useless and unfunny characters like Stiller's father and Danny McBride, but the movie was still entertaining and funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews