The Heat

The Heat Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Jun 28, 2013
    90
    If The Heat is about more than being a well-oiled delivery system for impressive and effective comedy, it's in part about what it means to be a good cop — including the question of how gender does or doesn't factor into that.
  2. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 27, 2013
    75
    Don't believe the weak coming-attractions trailer. The inspired pairing of Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy makes for a successful action comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Jun 28, 2013
    75
    The Heat is violent, with some pretty gruesome moments and some questionable police work. That's part of the fun. Cagney and Lacey these two ain't. When they finally join forces, they go rogue with a gusto that is refreshing.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 27, 2013
    67
    When director Paul Feig — who revitalized feminine comedy with "Bridesmaids" — allows McCarthy's improvisational instincts to take over because, honestly, nobody else in the cast can stand up to her. McCarthy is the best thing about The Heat.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jun 27, 2013
    63
    With the film, Melissa McCarthy definitively cements her status as a legitimate comic talent, leaving her co-star stumbling behind in her wake.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 27, 2013
    60
    They (Bullock/McCarthy) deserve a much stronger showcase than this Laurel & Hardy Go Policin’ vehicle.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 27, 2013
    20
    Grotesque doesn't begin to describe Ms. McCarthy's new character. Scarily insane comes closer; repulsive occasionally applies. Mullins's insanity can be extremely funny from time to time, but her anger grows as punishing for the audience as it does for the victims of her unrestrained police work.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 75
  2. Negative: 15 out of 75
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I have not laughed so much in a movie since Hangover 1. My jaw was aching and I had a grin on my face for an hour after we left the movie.I have not laughed so much in a movie since Hangover 1. My jaw was aching and I had a grin on my face for an hour after we left the movie. Such great chemistry/interaction between Bullock and McCarthy. This what a comedy is meant to be. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    One of the best comedy's to come out in recent times. Yes its cheesy, yes its crude. Does that bother me Nope. Sandra and Melissa's onscreenOne of the best comedy's to come out in recent times. Yes its cheesy, yes its crude. Does that bother me Nope. Sandra and Melissa's onscreen chemistry is sizzling. Perfect foils for one another, and to watch each of them grow through the movie is both hilarious and heart warming. Your jaw will hurt from smiling, and your stomach will be in agony from laughing. A must see. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    I thought The Heat might be another unfunny buddy cop comedy. But the critics and the audience have raved about the movie so I decided toI thought The Heat might be another unfunny buddy cop comedy. But the critics and the audience have raved about the movie so I decided to check it out, and to my surprise, I can see why.

    The Heat’s main highlight was its shocking, brash, yet funny humor. I could not stop laughing at what’s going on in the movie. The comedic timing is great.

    The chemistry of the duo, Melissa McCarthy and Sandra Bullock is a bit weird but it worked out for this movie thanks to their comedic talents. You can see that they had fun making the movie on set.

    The plot is okay. It seemed cliched with the conflict and the plot twist, though I was shocked about it too but it’s a comedy movie, what do you expect?

    The action scenes weren’t that dramatic, but that’s the point.

    I never thought I would care about the characters in the movie. I keep cheering for them to solve the crime, which is rare to root for in a movie like this.

    If you wanted to laugh for 2 hours, this is the movie you should see. I recommend you should watch it with friends for enhanced entertainment. Would I see it again? Sure, especially with friends around.
    Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    The Heat was a much darker movie than i thought it was going to be. Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy work great together. This movie turnedThe Heat was a much darker movie than i thought it was going to be. Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy work great together. This movie turned out good but i really wasint expecting that much from it. The Heat is an average movie and a good comedy. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    The Heat attempts to flip the buddy cop genre on its head by making the two leads female. To some extent, it succeeds. Unfortunately, the mostThe Heat attempts to flip the buddy cop genre on its head by making the two leads female. To some extent, it succeeds. Unfortunately, the most original thing about this movie is that it's two leads are female. The story is really bland, "go in and stop a drug ring" type thing. It's filled with laughs yes, but this is really just a somewhat less amusing version of The Other Guys, which managed to be wittier and have a better plot, all while sticking to a PG-13 rating. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    While the jokes may drag and the predictable story may lag, "The Heat" manages to only impress by its buddy comedy and female leads. The storyWhile the jokes may drag and the predictable story may lag, "The Heat" manages to only impress by its buddy comedy and female leads. The story is definitely derivative and doesn't take much risks, but the film is far enough to be considered horrible; mostly because of the comedic factors of Bullock and McCarthy. If fat jokes are your thing, this movie will definitely not disappoint. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    This is the second movie this year where the majority of the story line is the F word. The lack of creativity and thoughtful script writing isThis is the second movie this year where the majority of the story line is the F word. The lack of creativity and thoughtful script writing is evident. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.