Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 230 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Jun 28, 2013
    90
    If The Heat is about more than being a well-oiled delivery system for impressive and effective comedy, it's in part about what it means to be a good cop — including the question of how gender does or doesn't factor into that.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 27, 2013
    75
    Don't believe the weak coming-attractions trailer. The inspired pairing of Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy makes for a successful action comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Jun 28, 2013
    75
    The Heat is violent, with some pretty gruesome moments and some questionable police work. That's part of the fun. Cagney and Lacey these two ain't. When they finally join forces, they go rogue with a gusto that is refreshing.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 27, 2013
    67
    When director Paul Feig — who revitalized feminine comedy with "Bridesmaids" — allows McCarthy's improvisational instincts to take over because, honestly, nobody else in the cast can stand up to her. McCarthy is the best thing about The Heat.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jun 27, 2013
    63
    With the film, Melissa McCarthy definitively cements her status as a legitimate comic talent, leaving her co-star stumbling behind in her wake.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 27, 2013
    60
    They (Bullock/McCarthy) deserve a much stronger showcase than this Laurel & Hardy Go Policin’ vehicle.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 27, 2013
    20
    Grotesque doesn't begin to describe Ms. McCarthy's new character. Scarily insane comes closer; repulsive occasionally applies. Mullins's insanity can be extremely funny from time to time, but her anger grows as punishing for the audience as it does for the victims of her unrestrained police work.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 72
  2. Negative: 15 out of 72
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I have not laughed so much in a movie since Hangover 1. My jaw was aching and I had a grin on my face for an hour after we left the movie. Such great chemistry/interaction between Bullock and McCarthy. This what a comedy is meant to be. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    The Heat starring Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy cop buddies! How on earth, can this go wrong?!?!?! The Heat is capricious fun with hilarious dialogue and some smart ass entertainment. Bullock and McCarthy comic energy makes it almost impossible to find flaws in this movie, which there is, but deniable. The Heat is by far the funniest movie 2013. Bravo!! Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    I thought The Heat might be another unfunny buddy cop comedy. But the critics and the audience have raved about the movie so I decided to check it out, and to my surprise, I can see why.

    The Heat’s main highlight was its shocking, brash, yet funny humor. I could not stop laughing at what’s going on in the movie. The comedic timing is great.

    The chemistry of the duo, Melissa McCarthy and Sandra Bullock is a bit weird but it worked out for this movie thanks to their comedic talents. You can see that they had fun making the movie on set.

    The plot is okay. It seemed cliched with the conflict and the plot twist, though I was shocked about it too but it’s a comedy movie, what do you expect?

    The action scenes weren’t that dramatic, but that’s the point.

    I never thought I would care about the characters in the movie. I keep cheering for them to solve the crime, which is rare to root for in a movie like this.

    If you wanted to laugh for 2 hours, this is the movie you should see. I recommend you should watch it with friends for enhanced entertainment. Would I see it again? Sure, especially with friends around.
    Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    i find it interesting.. somehow it feels like a little bit the same with Ms Congeniality..

    but its really entertaining! i found myself
    laughing alone, and its really fun.

    "hey foster kid, now you have a sister"
    Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2013
    6
    Some fun funnies. Some editing problems. Some plot jumps. Very predictable. Good comedy if you have superhero origin story fatigue. This is the type of movie you can see being played on cable tv over and over later this year. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    The Heat is boring with a drop of funny. But the worst is Melissa McCarthy being abusive, obnoxious, vile, over the top and begins to grow irritating every minute the movie goes by. By the end the entire movie is irritating. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    This is the second movie this year where the majority of the story line is the F word. The lack of creativity and thoughtful script writing is evident. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Trailers