Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Jun 28, 2013
    90
    If The Heat is about more than being a well-oiled delivery system for impressive and effective comedy, it's in part about what it means to be a good cop — including the question of how gender does or doesn't factor into that.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 27, 2013
    75
    Don't believe the weak coming-attractions trailer. The inspired pairing of Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy makes for a successful action comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Jun 28, 2013
    75
    The Heat is violent, with some pretty gruesome moments and some questionable police work. That's part of the fun. Cagney and Lacey these two ain't. When they finally join forces, they go rogue with a gusto that is refreshing.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 27, 2013
    67
    When director Paul Feig — who revitalized feminine comedy with "Bridesmaids" — allows McCarthy's improvisational instincts to take over because, honestly, nobody else in the cast can stand up to her. McCarthy is the best thing about The Heat.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jun 27, 2013
    63
    With the film, Melissa McCarthy definitively cements her status as a legitimate comic talent, leaving her co-star stumbling behind in her wake.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 27, 2013
    60
    They (Bullock/McCarthy) deserve a much stronger showcase than this Laurel & Hardy Go Policin’ vehicle.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 27, 2013
    20
    Grotesque doesn't begin to describe Ms. McCarthy's new character. Scarily insane comes closer; repulsive occasionally applies. Mullins's insanity can be extremely funny from time to time, but her anger grows as punishing for the audience as it does for the victims of her unrestrained police work.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 74
  2. Negative: 15 out of 74
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I have not laughed so much in a movie since Hangover 1. My jaw was aching and I had a grin on my face for an hour after we left the movie.I have not laughed so much in a movie since Hangover 1. My jaw was aching and I had a grin on my face for an hour after we left the movie. Such great chemistry/interaction between Bullock and McCarthy. This what a comedy is meant to be. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    The Heat starring Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy cop buddies! How on earth, can this go wrong?!?!?! The Heat is capricious fun withThe Heat starring Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy cop buddies! How on earth, can this go wrong?!?!?! The Heat is capricious fun with hilarious dialogue and some smart ass entertainment. Bullock and McCarthy comic energy makes it almost impossible to find flaws in this movie, which there is, but deniable. The Heat is by far the funniest movie 2013. Bravo!! Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    I thought The Heat might be another unfunny buddy cop comedy. But the critics and the audience have raved about the movie so I decided toI thought The Heat might be another unfunny buddy cop comedy. But the critics and the audience have raved about the movie so I decided to check it out, and to my surprise, I can see why.

    The Heat’s main highlight was its shocking, brash, yet funny humor. I could not stop laughing at what’s going on in the movie. The comedic timing is great.

    The chemistry of the duo, Melissa McCarthy and Sandra Bullock is a bit weird but it worked out for this movie thanks to their comedic talents. You can see that they had fun making the movie on set.

    The plot is okay. It seemed cliched with the conflict and the plot twist, though I was shocked about it too but it’s a comedy movie, what do you expect?

    The action scenes weren’t that dramatic, but that’s the point.

    I never thought I would care about the characters in the movie. I keep cheering for them to solve the crime, which is rare to root for in a movie like this.

    If you wanted to laugh for 2 hours, this is the movie you should see. I recommend you should watch it with friends for enhanced entertainment. Would I see it again? Sure, especially with friends around.
    Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    Yes, it's predictable in both story and character but Bullock and McCarthy rocked it! Their chemistry is undeniable and both are hilariousYes, it's predictable in both story and character but Bullock and McCarthy rocked it! Their chemistry is undeniable and both are hilarious in their own right. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    Melissa McCarthy got hot after "Bridesmaids," which was directed by Paul Feig who also did this. She's been on a roll since, but her style isMelissa McCarthy got hot after "Bridesmaids," which was directed by Paul Feig who also did this. She's been on a roll since, but her style is wearing thin. She plays a rough, rowdy, renegade cop, who's teamed up with a straight laced FBI agent (Sandra Bullock). This trite buddy cop pairing has potential for comic situations and there are some amusing, even funny moments. The dialogue is crammed with McCarthy's foul-mouthed litany of insults and threats, but they're simply too much. While the abuse sometimes produces laffs, the situations and writing is mostly contrived for best comic effect. Sadly, it fails more than it succeeds. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2014
    4
    Low brow popular entertainment that is totally uninspired. It's basically a series of gags in search of a narrative to contain them. There areLow brow popular entertainment that is totally uninspired. It's basically a series of gags in search of a narrative to contain them. There are indeed some laughs to be had but the comedy is totally uneven, as is the story, and ranges from laugh out loud funny to lame, predictable and offensive. There is also a reliance on profanity and coarseness which is tiresomely juvenile. Sandra Bullock works hard, but Melissa McCarthy is beyond the pale with her all too familiar antics again on display. Her character is awful and she is awful. Still, at least she is consistent in her characterisations being despicable and unsavoury in everything in which she appears. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    This is the second movie this year where the majority of the story line is the F word. The lack of creativity and thoughtful script writing isThis is the second movie this year where the majority of the story line is the F word. The lack of creativity and thoughtful script writing is evident. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Trailers