Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: March 10, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 178 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
97
Mixed:
41
Negative:
40
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CoryC.Sep 5, 2007
I wish I could give this a higher vote than 10. My favorite movie ever. Rape scene not needed? What the hell? The Carter family didn't need to be attacked by the mutants, but they were. That's what Lizard wanted to do, and though I wish I could give this a higher vote than 10. My favorite movie ever. Rape scene not needed? What the hell? The Carter family didn't need to be attacked by the mutants, but they were. That's what Lizard wanted to do, and though emotional, it was awesomely done. You really feel like you know the characters before they kill them. It wasn't TRYING to do anything, I don't think. It wasn't shying away from the horror of what it would really be like to be attacked unawares by such vicious creatures. This was the most intelligently, well done movie I know of, and I loved it with a passion! Aja, I wish you would direct THe Hills Have Eyes 3 and continue the plot with Bobby, Doug, Brenda, Katheryne, and Beast. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Good acting by a solid cast, It kept you interested in it from start to finish, and it was good. A lot better then the original film. I really enjoyed this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DeviousBastardApr 19, 2011
Does a good job at making you feel sorry for the victims and glad that the bad guys gets it in the end. Overall a pretty thrilling piece of work but it's for people with a very strong stomach.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Tiki7690Aug 23, 2012
This film is, at times, absolutely brutal and entirely un-enjoyable. But at other times it is dripping with an atmosphere of pure dread, fear, and creepiness that will make you shiver. The suspense and intensity of the scares is as high asThis film is, at times, absolutely brutal and entirely un-enjoyable. But at other times it is dripping with an atmosphere of pure dread, fear, and creepiness that will make you shiver. The suspense and intensity of the scares is as high as possible; prepare yourself for repulsion and a cranked up heartbeat. I've never really gasped to a movie; I'm a guy, and a hardcore horror fan, but I couldn't help it at times.

Despite the buckets of disgust and horror, though, the great cinematography, combined with that, make this a horror film to be remembered. Brutal, gross, creepy, and intense, it's almost not a movie, but an experience. True Horrror.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ChrisJMay 14, 2006
This film is brutal. The violence and the rape scene are far from enjoyable. My girlfiriend and me (she chose to see this, by the way, i thought it looked bad) walked out feeling absolutely appauled, which is exactly what we were supposed to This film is brutal. The violence and the rape scene are far from enjoyable. My girlfiriend and me (she chose to see this, by the way, i thought it looked bad) walked out feeling absolutely appauled, which is exactly what we were supposed to feel. I can't honestly say I like this film but dear God is it good. More remakes like this please Mr Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JosephP.Mar 17, 2006
I went in not expecting much and came out a lot more satisfied than one would imagine. One thing Aja gets right is the desert atmosphere, the scenery makes the film all the bit better. I myself have interest in nuclear testing and such so I I went in not expecting much and came out a lot more satisfied than one would imagine. One thing Aja gets right is the desert atmosphere, the scenery makes the film all the bit better. I myself have interest in nuclear testing and such so I might have came to like more than the next person. But everyone should apreciate things such as the test village in which the mutants live, a picturesque 50s suburbian environment in a desolated desert. All in all it's one of the better horror movies I've seen lately. Also the kills are shocking and satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeL.Mar 21, 2006
It is a true horror movie in that it makes you feel uncomfortable with what your seeing. Its quite gruesome and sickening so it really does well. However, its easy to get bored with the same scene-set in the dessert and the casting It is a true horror movie in that it makes you feel uncomfortable with what your seeing. Its quite gruesome and sickening so it really does well. However, its easy to get bored with the same scene-set in the dessert and the casting wasn't too great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GMD.Mar 20, 2006
Compelling on its own terms,"The Hills Have Eyes" scares the living hell out of the audience by its violent cinemetography and dark and realistic direction taken by Aja's point of view. A freightning film throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Mar 31, 2006
I've seen virtually every horror movie ever made and am a strong critic of the field -- so I hope you can trust what I have to say and expect credibility. H.H.E. makes Devil's Rejects look like an afternoon get together for tea in I've seen virtually every horror movie ever made and am a strong critic of the field -- so I hope you can trust what I have to say and expect credibility. H.H.E. makes Devil's Rejects look like an afternoon get together for tea in the rectory of your local church. The gore is absolutely brutal. I found myself doing something I haven't done in the the movie theatre in many years -- shifting uncomfortably from the brutality and closing the fingers of my hand into a fist while wincing at the expression of pain on the screen. I found myself looking around the theatre thinking to myself "95% of the the guys who blindly brought girlfriends or wives to this movie are going to pay a HEAVY price on the drive home!" I am absolutely shocked that, here in Canada anyway, all you needed to do to see this movie is be accompanied by something over the age of 18. NOBODY under 18 should be allowed to see this much violence. Our rating system is ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulieApr 17, 2006
I went to see the HIlls Have Eyes with one of my friends the day after it came out, and I loved it. I know alot people DON'T like it because it was so brutal and disturbing, well yes, it is disturbing.. but you really have to remember I went to see the HIlls Have Eyes with one of my friends the day after it came out, and I loved it. I know alot people DON'T like it because it was so brutal and disturbing, well yes, it is disturbing.. but you really have to remember that it is a horror movie, and if you know anything about the original, then you wouldnt be so surprised about how much gore and blood they've shown. It's quite understandable that people would squirm and be uncomfortable, but before you go see a movie, perhaps you should research it and find out what you're going to be seeing. On another note, I thought this was a great movie, because they didn't hold anything back from you and you leave the theater feeling so shocked that you can't believe what you just saw! The actors are wonderful, in only about two hours they bring so much to their character that you believe they're real people, the make up artists had a heck of a job to do and they did it excellently! I mean, if you watch a movie, and all you get out of it is how horribly bloody it was, you're not really seeing it for what it really is, are you? You should try to appreciate how much time and effort so many people have put into it, and you might see it in a different light. All in all, I was thoroughly impressed with the movie and would see it again any day, just not in the company of parents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sp3Jul 15, 2006
GREAT MOVIE! Alexandre Aya is one of most talented young directors. His previous movie "Haute Tension" was also brilliant. this movie is a MUST SEE for all horror fans
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
K.DemelAug 4, 2006
For the most part that i saw it wasnt really scary u just felt sorr for the ppl getting tortured and crap but it seemed like it had a lot of action. on of the best horror movies i saw next to the saw movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanA.Mar 8, 2007
I absolutely loved this movie. Probably one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. Great plot, and the gore and intensity level is just over the top. The ending was kind of confusing, but it was still good, knowing there are more out I absolutely loved this movie. Probably one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. Great plot, and the gore and intensity level is just over the top. The ending was kind of confusing, but it was still good, knowing there are more out there. The number 2 doesn't look as good though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeTMar 11, 2006
Best horror movie in far too long. Aja is a genious and managed to make an exciting and frightening remake that manages to be 100% better than the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackO.Mar 10, 2006
the most intense and chilling movie i have ever seen. period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeamusS.Mar 12, 2006
Arguably one of the best Mainstream horror films I've seen in a long time. Following the basic huminization of the ultimatly doomed characters, you feel their exhilaration as they truly kick ass. By far the best performance by a dog Arguably one of the best Mainstream horror films I've seen in a long time. Following the basic huminization of the ultimatly doomed characters, you feel their exhilaration as they truly kick ass. By far the best performance by a dog ever commited to film Dear Mr. Aja I have a new faith in you It's breakfast time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyencokeMar 14, 2006
The movie wasn't bad at all. I was expecting much much more gore, i'm not sure why these people are getting so worked up, it wasn't really that gory. It had a few jumps at times... Aside from that not a bad movie at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisT.Mar 18, 2006
From what the critics were saying I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly suprised. This is a good but disturbing movie. Anyone with a weak stomach be warned. What I found more disturbing than ever was a family bringing their 3 From what the critics were saying I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly suprised. This is a good but disturbing movie. Anyone with a weak stomach be warned. What I found more disturbing than ever was a family bringing their 3 young kids to the movie...and sat through the whole thing! That should be illegal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianMay 12, 2006
Yes, this movie was predictable, and yes, it was sick as hell. People left the theater feeling like crap after the "scene" (those watching would know what I'm talking about) But what some don't understand is that that's what Yes, this movie was predictable, and yes, it was sick as hell. People left the theater feeling like crap after the "scene" (those watching would know what I'm talking about) But what some don't understand is that that's what horror films are REALLY supposed to do- make you horrified. A lot of horror movies have failed at doing that lately, and thats exactly what this movie did, and that's why it gets a good vote from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KaylaJun 24, 2006
I thought this movie was actually pretty scary, if not predictable, and would've been a pretty good movie except that one part. Everyone else has been to grossed out to say it, but when the hillbilly thing raped that teenager, that was I thought this movie was actually pretty scary, if not predictable, and would've been a pretty good movie except that one part. Everyone else has been to grossed out to say it, but when the hillbilly thing raped that teenager, that was too much. I am pretty liberal on violence and stuff, like explicit scenes in movies, but a teenager? And a mom? That's terrible. I can't beleive some guy sits in his room somewhere and thinks about this stuff. This movie was like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, except it pushed boundaries that should probably be kept in place for todays movies. I'm only 14 and I'm disgusted a teenager would be portrayed in a movie like that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JrebAug 8, 2006
First High Tension and now The Hills Have Eyes....Alexandre Aja is becoming one of my favourite horror movie directors. This was a good movie. Very disturbing, very gory, and very tension filled. Everything I love in my horror movies!!!!!!! First High Tension and now The Hills Have Eyes....Alexandre Aja is becoming one of my favourite horror movie directors. This was a good movie. Very disturbing, very gory, and very tension filled. Everything I love in my horror movies!!!!!!! The only problem is that the characters aren't that great and th plot is a little loose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeB.Mar 12, 2006
A shocking and gruesome beast of a movie. But it comes with emotional complexities that are unexpected in studio backed horror productions. The social commentary is a little clumsy, but this can be forgiven because it at least the filmmakers A shocking and gruesome beast of a movie. But it comes with emotional complexities that are unexpected in studio backed horror productions. The social commentary is a little clumsy, but this can be forgiven because it at least the filmmakers attempt to make a point of all the madness. Far better than the Chainsaw remake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BilyM.Mar 16, 2006
A classic of modern horror, absolutely terrifying and intense. Better than any of the horror movies to come out in America in the last decade. Makes Saw look PG.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyV.Mar 19, 2006
i would've given it a 10 if it were more realistic....maybe more character development for the mutants would've done it....the character development for the family was very good and oh so shocking and terrifying when they are i would've given it a 10 if it were more realistic....maybe more character development for the mutants would've done it....the character development for the family was very good and oh so shocking and terrifying when they are brutally slaughtered...my friend cried throughout the film, not because she was scared, but because she found herself connected to the main characters...i was literally on the edge of my seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LukeF.Mar 19, 2006
Great film. I actually cared for the characters in this film. That doesn't happen often in horror. I'm usually cheering for Jason or Freddy.. whoever the villian is. Alexandre Aja definetly has a future in the horror genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Apr 16, 2006
Doug(Aaron Stanford) is a liberal, therefore a wuss. He needs mosquito repellant, a hat to protect his head from the sun, and most pointedly, anti-gun. Interestingly, when Doug finally has no choice but to pull the trigger, his face is Doug(Aaron Stanford) is a liberal, therefore a wuss. He needs mosquito repellant, a hat to protect his head from the sun, and most pointedly, anti-gun. Interestingly, when Doug finally has no choice but to pull the trigger, his face is covered in blood(read: red state, NRA advocate). His conservative father-in-law would've been proud. A political subtext runs rampant throughout "The Hills Have Eyes", which doesn't quite excuse the almost unforgiveable sadism, but at least you can't accuse this film of not having a brain. The level of violence is almost on par with the still-notorious "Man Bites Dog". What distinguishes "The Hills Have Eyes" from its ilk is a pretty game attempt at establishing character before the inevitable bloodshed. The level of acting here is unusually good for such a violent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JakeJul 22, 2006
If you don't like gore, don't see it.....simple as that. But it's definately satisfying for those of us who do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NathanA.Aug 18, 2006
I thought The Hills Have Eyes was a really great remake. You actually cared about the characters, and it was nice becuase instead of a bunch of ditzy teens like most new horror movies, The Hills Have Eyes centered around a family fighting I thought The Hills Have Eyes was a really great remake. You actually cared about the characters, and it was nice becuase instead of a bunch of ditzy teens like most new horror movies, The Hills Have Eyes centered around a family fighting for survival in a foregin land. I would have given this movie a 10 if it were not for the "now what?" ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseFeb 13, 2007
Easily the best horror movie of 06'. It was possibly the best remake of a film that I have ever seen. The violence is awesome, people are taking it way to far. Excellent movie. The sequel doesn't look all that great. I wish Easily the best horror movie of 06'. It was possibly the best remake of a film that I have ever seen. The violence is awesome, people are taking it way to far. Excellent movie. The sequel doesn't look all that great. I wish Alexandre Aja was directing it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenR.Mar 24, 2007
This film was really good. The atmosphiere and visual style were effective. The story benefits from its reworking from the original as viewers cannot be certain what to expect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TFNov 17, 2007
I dont know wats with all the bull from you ppl it was a good movie and it made we wana see the original there have been worse movies (dawn of the dead remake) so dont rate it as the worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
I actually really liked this movie. Had quite a few good kills, Kept you interested through out, and overall it was simply a good horror movie. I would recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BryceHooglandJul 9, 2012
Horror Director, Alexandre Aja, directs a fairly decent horror film, which is rare for films that genre today. I remember seeing this film when I was 13 and really liking it a lot, so watching it again and seeing how I felt was fun. AjaHorror Director, Alexandre Aja, directs a fairly decent horror film, which is rare for films that genre today. I remember seeing this film when I was 13 and really liking it a lot, so watching it again and seeing how I felt was fun. Aja directing is really fast paced that keeps you wanting to watch the entire film. This is great for the audiences that watch films for entertainment. Aja likes to use gore a lot in his films, so you know going into The Hills Have Eyes that there will be a lot of gore. The violence in this film is realistic and enjoyable if you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJun 28, 2015
The first half of the movie without being boring is smooth but the second half where everybody dies and where the girl gets her breast milk sucked up is just pure genius.Alexandre Aja achieved here a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Jun 26, 2015
I was a pretty big fan of Wes Craven's The Hills Have Eyes and this is a remake that actually gives the original a run for its money. The first thing that this movie got right was getting Craven involved again which also happened with theI was a pretty big fan of Wes Craven's The Hills Have Eyes and this is a remake that actually gives the original a run for its money. The first thing that this movie got right was getting Craven involved again which also happened with the remake of Last House on the Left. I'd say that the acting is above average. This film does have a few good jump scares but for the most part it relies on he terror of the scenario that the characters are placed in, the second act was really intense and it was probably the best part of the film. There are points where it gets a little gruesome but I just couldn't take my eyes off. The ending doesn't hold up after the intensity starts to tamper off but if you are a hard core horror junkie then you will likely enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
horcrux2007Dec 5, 2014
Another insanely fun and gory film from Alex Aja. It started out kinda slow in the first half with really only one big attack scene in the travel trailer. The second half was much more thrilling, and I love how the Doug fought back againstAnother insanely fun and gory film from Alex Aja. It started out kinda slow in the first half with really only one big attack scene in the travel trailer. The second half was much more thrilling, and I love how the Doug fought back against the mutants. Two minor problems though: I wish there would have been a bit more explaining for Ruby, and I would have liked to known a bit more about the mutant that used the walkie-talkie to coordinate attacks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews