The Hitcher

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 116
  2. Negative: 36 out of 116

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RyanB.
    Jan 30, 2007
    8
    This is a pretty good movie. I have no idea what the critics are smoking, but unless the movie is perfect they are going to give it a bad review
  2. MatthewF
    Jul 29, 2007
    8
    This fresh update to the boring 1986 movie has it all: Top acting, plot, gore, sex, and adult language (which is coming harder and to find due to the evil.
  3. NathanO.
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    An amazing horror film the best I seen in awhile.
  4. JoshuaR.
    Feb 19, 2009
    8
    A really good horror remake. One of the best I've seen in a long while.
  5. SteveO.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Sophia Bush is mighty fine, and is the best part of this movie!!
  6. DanielH.
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    Creepy to no end, a great horror film form beginning to end. Sean Bean rocks as the Hitcher.
  7. LennyR.
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    An amazing horror experience. I really enjoyed this creepy film.
  8. MikeR
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    The movie was great and not predictable at all.I really don't like horror movies because they are usually lame and they're similar to other movies but this caught my attention.Sean Bean was great as the bad guy and Sophia Bush was hot and can definitely act unlike Paris Hilton.There wasn't a ton of blood and gore but plenty enough to gross you out.This movie will definitely The movie was great and not predictable at all.I really don't like horror movies because they are usually lame and they're similar to other movies but this caught my attention.Sean Bean was great as the bad guy and Sophia Bush was hot and can definitely act unlike Paris Hilton.There wasn't a ton of blood and gore but plenty enough to gross you out.This movie will definitely be liked by casual movies go-ers but as for die-hard horror fans I'm not sure because I'm not a die hard horror fan.If you don't like this movie then you must be stoned. Expand
  9. SmartGuy
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Easily the best movie of 2006. Nothing was predictable about this movie - nay, FILM. This is cinema at its finest! Who would have ever thought that picking up a complete stranger in a weird town when it's raining and doom sounding music is playing would result in him being a psychotic killer?? Not me, and admit it, not even you. No, only the writers of this daring, completely Easily the best movie of 2006. Nothing was predictable about this movie - nay, FILM. This is cinema at its finest! Who would have ever thought that picking up a complete stranger in a weird town when it's raining and doom sounding music is playing would result in him being a psychotic killer?? Not me, and admit it, not even you. No, only the writers of this daring, completely original and spellbinding film have the audacity and genius to come up with this... put this beside Lawrence of Arabia on your dvd shelf! Expand
  10. R.L.
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    An amazingly disturbing and creepy horror film that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. This reimaging of a boring and not so scary horror film is a much better film than the original. The Hitcher stars Sophia Bush and Zachary Knighton as Jim Halsey(the name of the original Hitcher) and Grace Andrews, a college couple en route to spring break along the way they meet the An amazingly disturbing and creepy horror film that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. This reimaging of a boring and not so scary horror film is a much better film than the original. The Hitcher stars Sophia Bush and Zachary Knighton as Jim Halsey(the name of the original Hitcher) and Grace Andrews, a college couple en route to spring break along the way they meet the mysterious John Ryder. He introduces himself and asks if he can trouble them for a ride, Jim reluctantly agrees, almost a mile form the gas station Ryder pulls a knife on Jim and tells Jim to say four little words " I want to die." Jim soon manages to kick Ryder rout of the car and drive off. And that begins the pulse pounding, heart stopping and mind blowing horror film that explodes into a nonstop thrill ride that won't let up till the very end. Expand
  11. R.L.
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    An amazingly disturbing and creepy horror film that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. This reimaging of a boring and not so scary horror film is a much better film than the original. The Hitcher stars Sophia Bush and Zachary Knighton as Jim Halsey(the name of the original Hitcher) and Grace Andrews, a college couple en route to spring break along the way they meet the An amazingly disturbing and creepy horror film that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. This reimaging of a boring and not so scary horror film is a much better film than the original. The Hitcher stars Sophia Bush and Zachary Knighton as Jim Halsey(the name of the original Hitcher) and Grace Andrews, a college couple en route to spring break along the way they meet the mysterious John Ryder. He introduces himself and asks if he can trouble them for a ride, Jim reluctantly agrees, almost a mile form the gas station Ryder pulls a knife on Jim and tells Jim to say four little words " I want to die." Jim soon manages to kick Ryder rout of the car and drive off. And that begins the pulse pounding, heart stopping and mind blowing horror film that explodes into a nonstop thrill ride that won't let up till the very end. Expand
  12. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    I don't know why this movie got such bad reviews. I liked it. I had suspense, gore, and action. And I though the ending was a plot twist. I didn't really expect it to happen the way it did.
  13. Jan 22, 2013
    7
    While this is a decent Thriller what lets it down is just pure stupidity of some of the characters, and you can't help but hate the situation Jim & Grace get caught up in. Sean Bean is certainly convincing as our Hitcher and you really hate his character, so clearly he's doing something right. It's not an overly eventful film and its also rather short, so overall it's not going to be upWhile this is a decent Thriller what lets it down is just pure stupidity of some of the characters, and you can't help but hate the situation Jim & Grace get caught up in. Sean Bean is certainly convincing as our Hitcher and you really hate his character, so clearly he's doing something right. It's not an overly eventful film and its also rather short, so overall it's not going to be up there with other films similar to it, but for what its worth its still a good film worth a look. Expand
  14. Jan 16, 2015
    9
    Sophia Bush é uma excelente atriz,além de uma gostosa muito sexy. Um filme de terror efetivo,Sean Bean brilha como um Serial-Killer contém cenas incríveis,Carro caindo da montanha,mortes brutais,como escapar com algemas excelente filme Sophia Bush E Sean Bean estão incríveis!!!!!!!.
  15. Jul 13, 2015
    9
    ................................................An entertain movie thriller horror....................................... with great and perfect performance from Sophia Bush and Sean Bean
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 11 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    25
    If you boil off dialogue, performance, narrative logic and grind a movie down to the nub of genre, will there be any suspense left? The answer is yes, but only in a Pavlovian sense. You react to this dull shockathon like a wired lab rat who's seen it all before. And guess what? You have.
  2. Bean carves out his own modest variations on the theme of John Ryder-on-the-storm, but Bush and Knighton are so blandly forgettable that it's hard to believe that they're the protagonists and not Victims 1 and 2.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Saito
    50
    The Hitcher's main problem is that many of the title character's dirty deeds are done off-camera. Instead of seeing Ryder trap his victims before he kills them, the audience is treated to plenty of butchered corpses that seem to magically appear after Ryder leaves a room.