Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: April 29, 2005
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 205 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
123
Mixed:
43
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
voidersApr 26, 2013
The script dont make any sense. Is soo booring!
I try to joint the points, but i coundt. The movie is full of bad jokes.
Every thing is so forced, without a reason.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
GuidoS.Sep 16, 2005
Atrocious. An absolute waste of Adams' legacy, and a complete molestation of a fine, satirical series.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
GlennR.Mar 16, 2006
Being a fan of the books and radio series, I found this film pretty awful.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
CritiqueGirlMar 2, 2011
I gave it a 2 because it is only fair not to give it a 0 because I couldn't watch the whole thing. That being said, I couldn't get through the original (I am pretty sure there was one) nor the book.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
PatC.Nov 10, 2005
The randomness and chaos of the story was captured to a fault in the editing. Interesting concept, dull presentation.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Total junk not worth paying anything to see it ,i would use dvd for a coaster for my drink.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
StevenC.Sep 27, 2006
It was the worst movie I have ever seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohanMar 23, 2006
atrociously unfaithful to Adams and not at all funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexL.May 25, 2007
I think the most offensive part of the film when at the end it said "dedicated to the memory of Douglas Adams". Personally I wouldn't be surprised if it was watching the development of this film that killed him. This film is completely I think the most offensive part of the film when at the end it said "dedicated to the memory of Douglas Adams". Personally I wouldn't be surprised if it was watching the development of this film that killed him. This film is completely unfaithful to the source material (which is a little strange considering brilliance of the books and the radio series). Not only is the story perverted and bent to the point of not being "the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy", but all the original quirky British charm in all out American crapfest. If you're a fan of the books don't bother with this, it will probably make you cry... a lot! However if you're a mindlest charlatan with a cabbage in place of a brain go for it, you may find something to amuse you... I certainly didn't! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GregT.Sep 19, 2005
Crap. Is this movie for kids? I doubt it when they use words like "sentient beings". Is this for adults? Not unless you are so totally bored with your life that you would waste 2 hours on this nonsense. This movie should have been entitled Crap. Is this movie for kids? I doubt it when they use words like "sentient beings". Is this for adults? Not unless you are so totally bored with your life that you would waste 2 hours on this nonsense. This movie should have been entitled "The Moviemaker's Guide to Screwing the Viewing Public out of their Cash". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AmandaSep 26, 2005
Loved reading the book...hated watching the movie. Huge dissapointment...up on my list of worst movies right before "Gigli" and right after "Glitter."
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PaulC.Feb 24, 2006
Terribly disappointed in this movie. I read the book about 15 years ago and loved it. However, the movie was awful. There was a quote in the book that "made" the book , that wasn't in the movie - I couldn't believe it ("At a time Terribly disappointed in this movie. I read the book about 15 years ago and loved it. However, the movie was awful. There was a quote in the book that "made" the book , that wasn't in the movie - I couldn't believe it ("At a time like this,locked in this airlock,about to die of asphyxiation,that I wish I would have listened to what my mother told me", says Ford Prefect. "What did she tell you?",says Arthur. "I don't know, I wasn't listening",says Ford). Now tell me,how the hell does a line like that not make it in the movie. What a waste of time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
csw12May 11, 2013
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy will suck every bit of intelligence you have right out of you. It has to be the stupidest, most idiotic film I have ever seen. A movie so ridiculous and unbearable that it's one of the worst films I'veThe Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy will suck every bit of intelligence you have right out of you. It has to be the stupidest, most idiotic film I have ever seen. A movie so ridiculous and unbearable that it's one of the worst films I've seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TJD2Jul 20, 2012
I can't believe my family forced me to sit through this garbage! It is a parody of itself where the entire point is to just fly around in space with an ANNOYINGLY pessimistic robot that b i t c h e s the entire way about random stuff!I can't believe my family forced me to sit through this garbage! It is a parody of itself where the entire point is to just fly around in space with an ANNOYINGLY pessimistic robot that b i t c h e s the entire way about random stuff! This is without a doubt as low as it can get imo, this paired with "The Brothers Grim" are the worst movies I have ever seen! As I said on MW3's page, I only gave it a zero because I couldn't go into negative numbers. A zero is too high imo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
geedupJul 11, 2013
Some books shouldn't be made into a movie, and maybe this is one of them. Some humorous quotes I read brought me to this movie recently. And, as I watched this movie, either I didn't not hear them or were not funny. This movie was not funnySome books shouldn't be made into a movie, and maybe this is one of them. Some humorous quotes I read brought me to this movie recently. And, as I watched this movie, either I didn't not hear them or were not funny. This movie was not funny to me at all. Seemed like humor children would find funny. Goofy jokes, or results or characters......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews