User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2603 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 26, 2016
    8
    It feels like a weak Lord of the Rings trilogy with an interesting start. You're starting to know that Peter Jackson directed both the Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit all together to make 6 movies connect with each other. Worth the shot to watch.
  2. Jan 11, 2016
    10
    The hobbit is a visual masterpiece. It has a great cast that portray great characters. The action sequences are incredibly shot and the fast pace story keeps you drawn in the whole time. All in all a fantastic Movie.
  3. Jan 1, 2016
    7
    The Hobbit gets a passing grade, but just that.
    Same director and world setting as LOTR, but their insistence on the use of CGI made many parts of the movie look cartoonish.
    I thought the original story stood up on its own without the liberties taken from the writers to introduce orcs and evil wizards and stuff.
  4. Nov 21, 2015
    7
    Peter Jackson returns to Middle Earth in his epic rendition of Tolkien's The Hobbit...however he's taking a 368 page book and turning it into a trilogy of 3 hour films...cue filler?
    Set 60 years before The Fellowship of the Ring, An Unexpected Journey follows Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman), Gandalf the Grey (Ian McKellen) and a band of 13 dwarves as they embark on a perilous quest to
    Peter Jackson returns to Middle Earth in his epic rendition of Tolkien's The Hobbit...however he's taking a 368 page book and turning it into a trilogy of 3 hour films...cue filler?
    Set 60 years before The Fellowship of the Ring, An Unexpected Journey follows Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman), Gandalf the Grey (Ian McKellen) and a band of 13 dwarves as they embark on a perilous quest to claim back the lonely mountain back from the evil dragon Smaug. Unfortunately across the nearly 3 hour run time we barely get anywhere.
    As brilliant as the acting is, as good as the writing is, as beautiful as the film is to watch, it's just too little for too long. Andy Serkis' small reprisal as Gollum in an intimate and intimidating scene with Bilbo is one of the films best scenes and can even stand against many of the best scenes from the LotR trilogy.
    However the unforgivably slow pacing and some awful looking CGI detrimentally effects the whole film. However the 3D works really well and the 48FPS (compared to standard 24FPS) is certainly interesting and a bold step forward for mainstream cinema.
    Hopefully these stumbles don't effect the series as a whole, but out of the gate this trilogy seems more like half hearted fan service than a proper Peter Jackson Tolkien adaptation.
    Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2015
    7
    Coming from someone who hasn't seen LOTR it was decent enough. Martin Freeman does a very good Bilbo Baggins and my favourite scene is the scene with Gollum. Andy Serkis is perfect for that role. Again, I don't know how it compares to Lord Of The Rings but I thought it was watchable. A couple of scenes that weren't in the book were a little unnecessary though. Some of them work and someComing from someone who hasn't seen LOTR it was decent enough. Martin Freeman does a very good Bilbo Baggins and my favourite scene is the scene with Gollum. Andy Serkis is perfect for that role. Again, I don't know how it compares to Lord Of The Rings but I thought it was watchable. A couple of scenes that weren't in the book were a little unnecessary though. Some of them work and some don't. For example the "Stone giants" scene is kind of random and leaves you thinking "why did they put THAT scene in? Isn't the movie extended enough by now?". Ah well. I can't think of a good sentence to finish this review so bye. Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" has the look and feel of Peter Jackson's imagination as it did with the Lord Of The Rings trilogy; strap yourselves to relive the magic of the old once again with the new.
  7. Jul 26, 2015
    10
    Хоббит: Нежданное Путешествие (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) не является моим самым любимым фильмом про Средиземье, но он занимает особое место среди моих любимейших фильмов. Началось всё с рекламы этого фильма по ТВ в декабре 2012. Тогда мне нравился Властелин Колец, но я не являлся его фанатом, и вообще поклонником мира Толкина. Затем, в марте 2013, в очередной раз показали трилогиюХоббит: Нежданное Путешествие (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) не является моим самым любимым фильмом про Средиземье, но он занимает особое место среди моих любимейших фильмов. Началось всё с рекламы этого фильма по ТВ в декабре 2012. Тогда мне нравился Властелин Колец, но я не являлся его фанатом, и вообще поклонником мира Толкина. Затем, в марте 2013, в очередной раз показали трилогию ВК, которую я смотрел много раз, но после этого просмотра я окончательно увлёкся миром Толкина, и стал хотеть диск с недавно вышедшим Хоббитом (диск ВК у меня уже был, ещё с 2011, но я его почти не смотрел (и зря), так как он казался мне скучноватым и сложноватым для моего, узковатого тогда, восприятия. Этот (полупиратский) диск пылился у меня на полке. (В то время я фанател только от Гарри Поттера)).Сразу же после "Возвращения Короля" показали документальный фильм - "Монстры Толкина", в котором учёные размышляли о Толкине, и в котором вкратце прошлись по сюжету книги "Хоббит". После этой передачи мне ещё больше захотелось посмотреть Хоббита. В апреле вышел диск, и я купил его там же, где брал ВК - в маленьком ларьке с грубой продавщицей, которая торговала какими-то полупиратскими дисками, от коробок с которыми, правда, шёл удивительный запах. Стоил он 120 рублей. Я отдал деньги и пошёл во двор школы, чтобы посыпать песком лунки с цветами, которые я сажал для урока ботаники (на самом деле для себя). Уставший, я положил диск на землю и присел. Я начал рассматривать коробку. Мне очень нравился постер в левом нижнем углу. Я долго смотрел на него. Эх, какое это было время... Придя домой, мы с мамой вставили диск в DVD, и, с тарелками картофельного пюре с грибами, уселись смотреть фильм, на тогда ещё небольшом квадратном телевизоре. С одной только заставки с красивой музыкой я, уже будто заранее, перенёсся в фильм. Боже, как он мне понравился! Начинался он с предисловия от лица старого Бильбо, который рассказывал о королевстве гномов Эребор. Он говорил о нападении дракона Смауга на него. Говорил о Торине, внуке короля, что он с многими уцелевшими гномами стал скитаться по миру. Затем действие переносилось в Шир, где показывалась жизнь Бильбо и Фродо. Бильбо сел отдохнуть на скамейку, прикурил, и стал вспоминать молодые годы. Вдруг, нас перенесли на 60 лет назад, и мы увидели сидящего на той же скамейке молодого Бильбо, к которому подходит Гэндальф. Всё, с этого момента знаменитая история начинается. К Бильбо буквально "вламываются" гномы с Гэндальфом, громят его дом и съедают всё, что было в кладовой (что выглядит очень комедийно). После, они поют и танцуют, и к ним приходит запоздавший Торин Дубощит, который вместе с Гэндальфом рассказывает о походе, который они предприняли, чтобы вернуть свою родину, Эребор, захваченную драконом. Наутро они уезжают без Бильбо. Проснувшись, и обнаружив, что гномов нет, Бильбо решается на путешествие, это решение и становится для него нежданным. По пути герои проходят через множество опасных приключений: попадают в плен к троллям (которые также оказываются очень комедийными, хоть и страшноватыми. Затем они сбегают от погони орков. Оказываются у эльфов в Ривенделле, где какое-то время гостят там. Уходя, идут через горы и попадают в грозу, да ещё во время битвы каменных великанов. Ночуя в пещере, попадают в плен к гоблинам. Встречают их уродливого и толстого короля, который только и делает, что сидит на троне, поставив ноги на гоблинов, как на подставку, и распевает режущие слух песни, грозится поломать кости гномам и всячески изувечить их, но так ничего и не делает. Бильбо же в это время сваливается в пещеру к Голлуму, где, конечно, находит кольцо и играет с Голлумом в загадки. Тем временем подоспевший Гэндальф спасает глуповатых гномов и повелевает им драться - (почему-то гномы сами до этого не додумались). Бильбо также сбегает от Голлума, и в лесу встречается с командой. Далее следует трогательная речь, опять погоня от орков, красивый эпизод с соснами, и, мой любимый эпизод - с полётом на орлах... Затем опять трогательная речь Торина по поводу того, что Бильбо спас его, и кадр с глазом дракона. Всё. - (я по началу думал, что фильм должен быть только один, и поэтому офигел, когда пошли титры). "И что здесь такого?" - опять спросите вы. И окажетесь неправы. Может тут нет какого-то большого смысла, этот фильм, также как и ВК, является эталоном фэнтези. При его просмотре атмосфера и прекрасная музыка делают своё дело - вы полностью погружаетесь в фильм. Естественно,- от актёров до грима, от спецэффектов и до музыки,- всё в этом фильме идеально, и я рад, что этот фильм снял Питер Джексон, а не Гильермо Дель Торо, как планировалось (как бы тот ни был хорош, режиссёр ВК больше подходит на эту роль). Фильм вышел неспешным, но вовсе не скучным, НЕТ! То ли фильм действительно так хорош, то ли он пришёлся мне на определённое время, но я его буквально "обожествлял" и "обожествляю" и по сей день. Он сказочный и хорошо передаёт книгу. Но справился ли Джексон со 2 частью? 100/100 или 10/10 или 5/5 или 4/4. Expand
  8. Jul 20, 2015
    7
    For me. this is a good start to the trilogy. It's got the action, the characters, a sprinkle of humour all mixed in one for fans of fantasy epics. The length is a given to any lord of the rings fan but something about this movie was wasted. Oh yes, the entire cavalcade of **** with the elves could've been cut down by 50%, it was lengthy, boring and felt like an unnecessarily long toFor me. this is a good start to the trilogy. It's got the action, the characters, a sprinkle of humour all mixed in one for fans of fantasy epics. The length is a given to any lord of the rings fan but something about this movie was wasted. Oh yes, the entire cavalcade of **** with the elves could've been cut down by 50%, it was lengthy, boring and felt like an unnecessarily long to include, there is too much dwindling time filling dialogue in this movie with non suspenseful meaning to it. Almost brought it down to a 6, but thank God for the impeccable action and some amazing scenes of humour and light heartedness. Expand
  9. Jul 15, 2015
    9
    This was the movie I was waiting for, the movie I was prepared for almost a week before release, dressed as Frodo. My friend came along with me to a screening, and needless to say, I wasn't disappointed with what I saw. The visuals are stunning, the soundtrack is fantastic, the fight scenes are stellar, everything about it was great to me. Agreed, this film wasn't as good as The FellowshipThis was the movie I was waiting for, the movie I was prepared for almost a week before release, dressed as Frodo. My friend came along with me to a screening, and needless to say, I wasn't disappointed with what I saw. The visuals are stunning, the soundtrack is fantastic, the fight scenes are stellar, everything about it was great to me. Agreed, this film wasn't as good as The Fellowship of the Ring, but its an adventure the whole family can enjoy, whereas the LOTR trilogy had some scenes that would scare a few young kids. Anyway, a must-see for fans of the Middle-Earth universe. Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2015
    9
    I remember watching the LOTR trilogy when I was a kid and I enjoyed it. Now 9 years Peter Jackson decides to make The Hobbit trilogy, am I worried? No I'm not. The Hobbit An Unexpected Journey is a great start to the trilogy. I love the story and I love the CGI which is amazing and the cast give amazing performances as always, and Peter Jackson redelivers the world of Middle-Earth thatI remember watching the LOTR trilogy when I was a kid and I enjoyed it. Now 9 years Peter Jackson decides to make The Hobbit trilogy, am I worried? No I'm not. The Hobbit An Unexpected Journey is a great start to the trilogy. I love the story and I love the CGI which is amazing and the cast give amazing performances as always, and Peter Jackson redelivers the world of Middle-Earth that looks the same and feels the same. Unlike LOTR, there wasn't very much makeup on the Orcs which was a little disappointing, that was like one of the thing I couldn't agree on. But there's a trilogy, enough time for improvement. Expand
  11. Jun 10, 2015
    7
    The first instalment of the Hobbit series succeeds, by the most part, to take its viewers back to Middle Earth. Whilst the film is visually stunning at times and demonstrates a magical proportion of promise, it does not provide the movie going experience of the Lord of the Rings. Peter Jackson swerves from the winning formula that brought him so much love from fans. An over reliance on CGIThe first instalment of the Hobbit series succeeds, by the most part, to take its viewers back to Middle Earth. Whilst the film is visually stunning at times and demonstrates a magical proportion of promise, it does not provide the movie going experience of the Lord of the Rings. Peter Jackson swerves from the winning formula that brought him so much love from fans. An over reliance on CGI effects and comedic and at times kiddish humour is prevalent throughout the film. Although I urge Lord of the Rings fans to steady their expectations, the return to Middle Earth provides some spectacular moments and presents clear promise for the next two films. Expand
  12. May 15, 2015
    7
    The enriching tenderness of an unexpected journey settles as another piece to my childhood I will celebrate among that of the former lord of the rings trilogy. The joy of now the hobbit is not it's familiarity, but the wonder of endeavouring a new and refreshing purposeful massage of Peter Jackson's fantastical middle earth quarry. It's a joyfully entertaining film that merely deepens it'sThe enriching tenderness of an unexpected journey settles as another piece to my childhood I will celebrate among that of the former lord of the rings trilogy. The joy of now the hobbit is not it's familiarity, but the wonder of endeavouring a new and refreshing purposeful massage of Peter Jackson's fantastical middle earth quarry. It's a joyfully entertaining film that merely deepens it's subject matter of the original novel by gracefully taking us on a nearly 3 hour long trek where it seems 30 minutes of cutting was needed to make this new epic reach it's full potential in beginning this ambitious vision of turning a very slim novel into a very long trilogy. Expand
  13. Apr 23, 2015
    7
    In 2001, only a few months after the fall of the World Trade Center, Peter Jackson swept us away to Middle Earth with The Fellowship of the Ring. It was a wondrous three-hour achievement: the first major attempt at serious, big budget epic fantasy. It succeeded beyond anyone's wildest imagination ("imagination" being the key term), and Fellowship, along with its follow-ups, The Two TowersIn 2001, only a few months after the fall of the World Trade Center, Peter Jackson swept us away to Middle Earth with The Fellowship of the Ring. It was a wondrous three-hour achievement: the first major attempt at serious, big budget epic fantasy. It succeeded beyond anyone's wildest imagination ("imagination" being the key term), and Fellowship, along with its follow-ups, The Two Towers and The Return of the King, convinced Hollywood that there was unexplored ore in the fantasy mine. Now, nine years after closing the book on The Lord of the Rings, Jackson has returned to the scene of his greatest success. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, the first installment of a three-part adaptation of Tolkien's first Middle Earth adventure, is both more and less of the same. There are numerous concrete reasons why An Unexpected Journey fails to live up to the standard set by The Lord of the Rings, but the most critical is also the most intangible: the magic is gone (or at least muted). An Unexpected Journey is a competent, entertaining effort but it neither enthralls nor amazes in the way its predecessors did. There's no question that Jackson is attempting to recapture something elusive and, although there are stretches when he comes close, he never quite attains that goal. It would be monumentally unfair to label The Hobbit as a "failure," but calling it a "disappointment" would be reasonable. Jackson established expectations with The Lord of the Rings; his inability to fulfill them is perhaps a trap of his own making.

    The Fellowship of the Ring is 400 pages; Jackson adapted it into a three-hour theatrical release. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey covers the first 100 pages of a 270-page book; the movie version runs only 10 minutes shorter than The Fellowship of the Ring. And therein lies this production's Achilles Heel: its long-windedness. An Unexpected Journey does not earn its 168-minute running time. From the beginning, there's a sense of bloating and self-indulgence. Roughly the first half requires a dose of caffeine to stay awake and focused. Things improve considerably during the second half. In fact, the final 45 minutes are tightly paced and riveting. But the strong ending cannot fully compensate for the way the movie meanders and stumbles during its first two hours. I think there's a very good, perhaps even a great, movie contained within An Unexpected Journey, but a ruthless editor was needed to unearth it. Perhaps the DVD Special Edition for this picture should feature less footage rather than more.

    In a sense, it's unfair to assign a final "grade" to The Hobbit until all three parts are available. Perhaps, when viewed as a whole, the movies will provide a smoother, more richly textured experience than what is hinted at by An Unexpected Journey. Maybe some of the secondary characters will come to life. In this first chapter, only Bilbo, Gandalf, and Thorin show sufficient personality to distinguish themselves.

    Unfortunately, there are also some unforgivably cartoonish moments. The shots of Radagast (Sylvester McCoy) being chased by goblins while riding a rabbit-pulled sleigh look like a video game excerpt. There are other isolated scenes that have a similar problem with the CGI being too apparent. The stone giant battle is impressive but it looks more like an outtake from a Transformers film than something that belongs in The Hobbit. On the other hand, there are some wonderful scenes: a council with Gandalf, Elrond, Saruman, and Galadriel; riddles in dark with the most vivid, detailed Gollum to date; and the climactic stand-off with the White Orc. Jackson does a great job crafting the goblin's underground kingdom. The troll encounter does justice to the book. Rivendell mimics what we saw in The Lord of the Rings. And the glimpses of Smaug make us want to see more.

    Visually, The Hobbit is being released in four different flavors: digital 2-D, 3-D at 24 frames-per-second (fps), 3-D at 48 fps, and 3-D IMAX. Having seen it in the 48 fps version, I have a few comments. First, neither the doubled frame rate nor the 3-D adds much to the overall experience. Both are superfluous. The 3-D does not create a richer environment, although neither does it corrupt the experience. The 48 fps is less noticeable than I expected. There are scenes when it causes the images to be crisper and brighter but, especially in instances of high CGI content, it creates a non-cinematic picture. That may be the primary reason why isolated moments feel like video game outtakes. My advice: avoid all the visual flourishes and see this in good, old-fashioned 2-D. The Lord of the Rings didn't need 48 fps or 3-D and there's no conceivable reason why The Hobbit should. It's certainly not better because of it.

    Still, for all of its faults, which are more numerous than those in any of The Lord of the Rings' chapters, Jackson successfully navigates the return to Middle Earth.
    Expand
  14. Mar 25, 2015
    8
    Everyone who adored the Lord of the Rings trilogy did their best to enjoy The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey just as much, yet only few could honestly say they did. One of the biggest problems of An Unexpected Journey is that it's far too stretched lengthwise, making it hard to stay interested during its 3 hour run time. After an hour I had a feeling I never experienced while watching LotR:Everyone who adored the Lord of the Rings trilogy did their best to enjoy The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey just as much, yet only few could honestly say they did. One of the biggest problems of An Unexpected Journey is that it's far too stretched lengthwise, making it hard to stay interested during its 3 hour run time. After an hour I had a feeling I never experienced while watching LotR: I got bored. Not entirely, yet enough to wish the film were shorter. The cast is quite decent, Martin Freeman does a good job playing Bilbo. However, it's hard to get attached to the company of dwarfs since Jackson didn't put much emphasis on individuality(hell, I didn't even know which dwarf was supposed to be who, despite knowing all the names from the book). The addition of Radagast as a character who wasn't present in the book felt unnecessary as he didn't serve a useful purpose. Others, like Thorin's nemesis Azog, the pale Orc were a conclusive addition.

    In spite of these rather negative aspects, An unexpected Journey had very satisfying moments as well. The troll fight, the dwarfs being trapped in "Goblin town" and Gollum's riddles were well adapted moments, giving hope for even better things to come in the next two parts. I know the non-CGI Orcs in LotR were cooler but it wasn't troubling either to see CGI Orcs since they are well done, as are the fighting scenes(even if they are bizarre at times).

    Yes, An unexpected Journey could've been better and with LotR being a masterpiece, fans had very high expectations Jackson couldn't quite live up to. I would still watch the film over and over again as the great moments outweigh the weaker ones by far. It's good entertainment and serves as a satisfying beginning to the Middle-Earth saga.
    Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I do like the movie. Martin Freeman is excellent as Bilbo. He truly embodies the character. The dwarves are very well cast too. Unfortunately, the script makes arbitrary changes to several key scenes. I was very upset that they almost completely changed the scene with the trolls. Tolkien did it best in the book and why Mr. Jackson and troop of writers changed the scene only seems like they were arrogant enough to believe that they could do better. They didn't. The scene in the movie is crude and not funny at all. it also tries to turn the focus on Bilbo when it was originally meant to show Gandalf as a tricky and wise wizard.

    Otherwise, the visuals, the action scenes, and musical score are excellent. It's not a bad movie, just don't expect book, or you will be sorely disappointed.
    Expand
  16. Feb 22, 2015
    7
    The first hour of this movie or so is really long and tedious. I watched this with my brother and he fell asleep. But after the first hour the pace did pick up somewhat. There is a lot of CGI in this film, something that I was rather disappointed with, I wish they had used real life actors instead. Do NOT watch this film in 3D, my eyes could not adjust to the 3D so I had the watch theThe first hour of this movie or so is really long and tedious. I watched this with my brother and he fell asleep. But after the first hour the pace did pick up somewhat. There is a lot of CGI in this film, something that I was rather disappointed with, I wish they had used real life actors instead. Do NOT watch this film in 3D, my eyes could not adjust to the 3D so I had the watch the movie with my 3D glasses off. Expand
  17. Feb 20, 2015
    7
    Let's get this out of the way first. The Hobbit is not in any way, shape, or form as good as Lord of the Rings. However, when compared to such incredible films, very few movies are great. When looking at it from an unbiased standpoint, I found there was much enjoyment to be had in this fun fantasy romp, even if its clumsy pace and overabundance of CGI bring it down a few notches.

    7.2/10
  18. Jan 29, 2015
    8
    The only reason I give The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey an 8 is because of the fact that it takes about 43 minutes for Bilbo's journey to actually start. Plus the, what I call "Deleted beginning LotR scene", which I thought was not necessary. But other than that, it was very enjoyable to see one of my favorite books finally appear of the silver screen.
  19. Jan 16, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After the brilliant Lord of the Rings films, I was expecting big things from this film. Unfortunately, I was found myself a little let down by it. It seems that Peter Jackson may have lost his touch a little.
    The rings films were huge, epic and rivetting pieces of film making. This is still in evidence in ''an unexpected journey''; superbly filmed backdrops and scenery throughout and a real sense of adventure are both still there. However, it has to be remember that Tolkien's original book was a reasonably simplistic and straightforward children's story, with a few darker undertones thrown in for us older readers. Peter Jackson has chosen to expand upon these darker undertones, and indeed the film feels much more like a prequel to the Fellowship of the Ring than an actual adaptation of the Hobbit.
    That said, it generally succeeds in what in trying to achieve this status, though in doing so sacrifices much of the original matter of Tolkien's book.
    New and often seemingly unnecessary scenes have been added, including Gandalf's co-wizard Radagast escaping from a pack of Wargs on a sled pulled by giant bunnies (I'm not making that up...), and a cringeworthy scene involving the Hobbit and Dwarves attempting to evade the battling ''storm giants'' of the mountains. The script is also not perfect and often questionable, and characters who had little or no place in the book appear prominently in certain scenes. However, unlike many reviewers (!) I often found their additions quite interesting. However, in choosing to focus on characters such as Azog the Defiler and Sauron, Peter Jackson has perhaps unwittingly placed lesser importance on the real baddie of the book; Smaug. This is a shame.
    In terms of effects, I found this film difficult to stomach at times. Though the animation is fantastic in places, in other scenes the camera angle jerks around constantly and is extremely irritating.
    Character acting is also variable. I wasn't actually particularly keen on Martin Freeman as Bilbo (though I know he was poplular with others), and some of the Dwarves could have had bigger parts in the film.
    Generally, a good film; entertaining and dark. But not quite what I was expecting; an unexpected journey, no less.
    Expand
  20. Jan 4, 2015
    9
    Peter Jackson regresa después de tantos años a la tierra media de una forma épica, espectacular y increíble. Visualmente es Perfecta, en todos los aspectos es magistral. Aunque no este al nivel de "El Señor de Los Anillos" es y sera un clásico por siempre.
  21. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    The pacing is very uneven at times, but The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey is a very well done return to Middle Earth with enough action, heart, and lore to keep people satisfied.
  22. Dec 28, 2014
    7
    This movie did not wow or disappoint me. It was a good enough movie to establish the Hobbit trilogy and introduce the characters, for sure. However, the worst problems of this movie were boring scenes and an unnecessarily long running time. But the Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey is definitely a solid movie and is a great setup for the trilogy. 7/10 (good)
  23. Dec 24, 2014
    9
    We've gotten used to the world of hobbits, elves, dwarves and orcs so maybe Its a taking a bit more every time to keep us entertained. But this is a fun night at the theater. A morality lesson for kids ( and Adults)..loads of action, heaps of special effects and the odd scare. The slight minuses are that Smaug doesn't feature so much and the Orcs are so frail that a two foot nothingWe've gotten used to the world of hobbits, elves, dwarves and orcs so maybe Its a taking a bit more every time to keep us entertained. But this is a fun night at the theater. A morality lesson for kids ( and Adults)..loads of action, heaps of special effects and the odd scare. The slight minuses are that Smaug doesn't feature so much and the Orcs are so frail that a two foot nothing hobbit with a pebble can knock them over. Expand
  24. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    Peter Jackson made a perfect ending for his middle earth odyssey. And Martin Freeman was awesome. Best of Hobbit series. More action and more fun. And more disappointing because of it is the last
  25. Dec 13, 2014
    7
    Comparisons to The Lord of the Rings are inevitable, but these comparisons certainly won't make The Hobbit look weak. It can at times feel stretched too thin, because adapting one book into a trilogy of 2+ hour films was always going to be ambitious. The lack of a decent quantity of source material can make the film feel needlessly dragged out at times to, but, we are back in Middle-Earth!Comparisons to The Lord of the Rings are inevitable, but these comparisons certainly won't make The Hobbit look weak. It can at times feel stretched too thin, because adapting one book into a trilogy of 2+ hour films was always going to be ambitious. The lack of a decent quantity of source material can make the film feel needlessly dragged out at times to, but, we are back in Middle-Earth! The Hobbit tells the story of Bilbo Baggins, a cautious yet caring hobbit, who I like more than Frodo. Perhaps due to Martin Freeman's on-screen brilliance. I found the characters in the story much more admirable and realistic than those in the first LOTR outing, Fellowship. This meant I truly cared more about the fate of the characters and as a result, felt more involved during their dangerous encounters. This is a very introductory film in terms of the plot, but, we do learn things. How Smaug claimed Erebor. How Bilbo acquired the ring from Gollum which is one of the film's best scenes. The conflicts and history between the secondary antagonist Azog and the dwarves. The Hobbit also sees the return of many classic LOTR locations, which brought a smile to my face. The music is gripping which only enhances true feelings. An Unexpected Journey is a steady yet strong film that sets the trilogy on the right path through great characters, great history and most of all, great anticipation. Expand
  26. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    Everything is about money, including this new and unnecessary trilogy.

    This new trilogy is far away when it comes to Middle-earth magic, as we know it. The main issue is that there are three movies on one book that’s only one-third of The Lord of The Rings; this can only result in a worse trilogy than Lord of the Rings. It’s all about money. One result of this is that it took like 25
    Everything is about money, including this new and unnecessary trilogy.

    This new trilogy is far away when it comes to Middle-earth magic, as we know it. The main issue is that there are three movies on one book that’s only one-third of The Lord of The Rings; this can only result in a worse trilogy than Lord of the Rings. It’s all about money. One result of this is that it took like 25 minutes for the movie to really start; there are so much slow scenes in the beginning. There’s also much slow and silly scenes in the film, there’s no LotR-magic. But at the same time are there some highly entertaining and funny things that I totally enjoyed to see, and the action is great, but not as unique as in The Lord of the Rings. The biggest problem with the action is that there’s too much CGI, and by that I mean bad CGI. It doesn’t look real. Some of the villains that are only CGI are superb, but when it comes to other living objects like trees and fires am I not impressed. The movie is overall very entertaining because it gives us a greater backstory of Bilbo’s life, which hasn’t been fully explained before. There are lots of connections between the two trilogies, which I truly love! The extended edition is even greater, so much more material. The last aspect of the film that I really enjoyed is the soundtrack. It’s so touching. But not as epic as The Lord of the Rings.

    This movie gives the audience a greater backstory of Bilbo’s life, before everything in one of the greatest trilogies ever made. Even though Peter Jackson directed this film, it got some flaws. The silliness and a big lack of innovation and dramatic scenes don’t make this film even close to matching The Fellowship of the Ring.

    The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey gets a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  27. Dec 8, 2014
    10
    Great movie, I enjoyed and I think that Peter Jackson had and will do a great job with middle earth because Middle earth is very difficult to make in a movie. Great actors comes with great effects and movie making.
  28. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    ThE hobbit an unexpected journey, is the prequel of the Lord of the rings saga, therefore it contains some of the characters from the Lord of the rings movies such as gandalf the grey. This is the first of the three instalments so it can get a bit boring as you're getting to know the characters. You will see the races like the orcs making big appearances. It does contain scenes of actionThE hobbit an unexpected journey, is the prequel of the Lord of the rings saga, therefore it contains some of the characters from the Lord of the rings movies such as gandalf the grey. This is the first of the three instalments so it can get a bit boring as you're getting to know the characters. You will see the races like the orcs making big appearances. It does contain scenes of action but there are not so many of them that you get overwhelmed. If you are going to watch this and you find it boring then I'd watch the second instalment, the desolation of smaug. Expand
  29. Nov 9, 2014
    8
    The first installment of the Hobbit franchise spends a lot of time laying its foundations then uses it to create an immersive experience for its audience.
  30. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    The adventure follows the journey of title character Bilbo Baggins, who is swept into an epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor from the fearsome dragon Smaug. Approached out of the blue by the wizard Gandalf the Grey, Bilbo finds himself joining a company of thirteen dwarves led by the legendary warrior, Thorin Oakenshield. Their journey will take them into the Wild;The adventure follows the journey of title character Bilbo Baggins, who is swept into an epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor from the fearsome dragon Smaug. Approached out of the blue by the wizard Gandalf the Grey, Bilbo finds himself joining a company of thirteen dwarves led by the legendary warrior, Thorin Oakenshield. Their journey will take them into the Wild; through treacherous lands swarming with Goblins and Orcs, deadly Wargs and Sorcerers. Although their goal lies to the East and the wastelands of the Lonely Mountain, first they must escape the goblin tunnels, where Bilbo meets the creature that will change his life forever…Gollum. Here, alone with Gollum, on the shores of an underground lake, the unassuming Bilbo Baggins not only discovers depths of ingenuity and courage that surprise even him, he also gains possession of Gollum’s “precious” ring that holds unexpected and useful qualities… A simple, gold ring that is tied to the fate of all Middle-earth in ways Bilbo cannot begin to know. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 14, 2012
    58
    My first thought in watching The Hobbit was: Do we really need this movie? It was my last thought, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Dec 14, 2012
    63
    In this fitfully engaging, but often patience-straining preamble to Hobbit adventures to come, there is one transporting 10 minutes of screen time. It happens when Bilbo meets the freakish, ring-obsessed creature Gollum.
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 13, 2012
    38
    It's a bloated, shockingly tedious trudge that manages to look both overproduced and unforgivably cheesy.