Open Road Films | Release Date: March 29, 2013
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 201 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
73
Mixed:
51
Negative:
77
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ThegodfathersonMar 29, 2013
The Host just didn't feel like the Twilight movies, it was completely different! It's an odd romance movie with no potential, no target, nothing but the film is fun and it has ALIENS! And I am not a Twilight fan but this film was actually aThe Host just didn't feel like the Twilight movies, it was completely different! It's an odd romance movie with no potential, no target, nothing but the film is fun and it has ALIENS! And I am not a Twilight fan but this film was actually a good time! It had everything, magic, kisses, aliens and Pathetic Romeos. The film was slow but we gave it time and its still slow. The pace drops towards the end and its lore doesn't amuse you. It's not a great movie but its good for a Sunday night after work. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Jan 11, 2015
Director Andrew Niccol (Gattaca, In Time) is known for taking ideas presented in short stories and turning them into something magical for the big screen. The Host is loosely based on Robert Silverberg's classic, Passengers, and tells theDirector Andrew Niccol (Gattaca, In Time) is known for taking ideas presented in short stories and turning them into something magical for the big screen. The Host is loosely based on Robert Silverberg's classic, Passengers, and tells the story of aliens who come to earth and use human beings as host bodies. Once inside, the aliens replace their humans consciousness for their own purposes, but some are able to resist this process and even control their alien host. Melanie Stryder (Saoirse Ronan) is one of those people, and while she can't rid herself of the alien presents inside of her, she can control it. Saoirse Ronan stars and it is great to finally see her in a movie that is worth while. Ronan is one of the top young actresses in Hollywood, but she keep playing roles like Hanna, in terrible films that do little more than to allow her to show off her talent. In those films, she was the only thing worth watching, so putting her in a film that's actually good, really gave her the opportunity to shine and she was amazing. Ronan played the role of Melanie, trapped in her own body but also played the alien Wanda that was inside of her. Once gaining control of Wanda, Melanie seeks out her family, which are part of the resistance. He main love interest is played by Max Irons, who was also terrific. Known more as a model and background character, this was really one of his first starring roles, and he was fantastic, playing a man caught between his love for this girl and his hatred for the alien inhabiting her. The Host has it all, an alien race, chasing a fugitive on the run, leading up to a major dilemma, wrapped inside a love story. Silverberg's Passenger is a favorite of mine and I knew with Andrew Niccol at the helm that this was going to be a good film, but I had no idea how innovative and intense the story would be, and for that, The Host is the latest film to join our list of must see movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscDec 16, 2014
Why Would the writer-director of "In Time" make a Stephenie Meyer adaptation? In time was a good suspenseful science fiction thriller film Niccol has some good imagination with science so why is he making a movie about Meyers book? i doWhy Would the writer-director of "In Time" make a Stephenie Meyer adaptation? In time was a good suspenseful science fiction thriller film Niccol has some good imagination with science so why is he making a movie about Meyers book? i do not know or care all i am just saying is i did not see Twilight cause i hate the movies also i hate Lautner and Pattinson. So anyways when i watch this movie all of the cliche's of Meyers and her books are exactly the same also its exactly like twilight so why don't critics who get paid to watch her failed movies should bring a check list each time when you a Meyer movie. this movie i found entertaining , interesting the reason why i give this a 7/10 is its corny cheese vampire romance bull **** Grade B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Jul 9, 2013
Believe it or not, The Host is actually hurt by the fact that it was written by Stephenie Meyer, the famed creator of the "Twilight Saga". Because of that, it seems as though the critics and viewers alike cannot let go of that comparison.Believe it or not, The Host is actually hurt by the fact that it was written by Stephenie Meyer, the famed creator of the "Twilight Saga". Because of that, it seems as though the critics and viewers alike cannot let go of that comparison. Meanwhile, this story is not even remotely close to Twilight and if a different person was credited with creating it, I honestly feel that the ratings would be so much higher. That's because this is actually an incredibly original plot that develops really well throughout. If you want to say that the premise is silly or whatever, go ahead. It's an alien movie for crying out loud. If you don't lower you suspension of disbelief a little bit then every single science-fiction movie also becomes silly, what makes this one different? Go in expecting the premise to be out there because that's the foundation of the plot. Now, the acting, while solid, could've delivered more emotion but that also seemed to be part of the point. Some of the plot points were also a little weak but not enough to ruin the viewing experience. Overall I was very pleased with this film and found it quite entertaining. If people would open their minds a bit and let go of the Twilight relationship, I think most of them would as well. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Apr 26, 2013
Stephanie Meyer is derided and praised in equal measure so with her movie follow up to the twilight saga, The Host, she had something to prove. She had to prove that her patented romance formula could translate from the supernatural to theStephanie Meyer is derided and praised in equal measure so with her movie follow up to the twilight saga, The Host, she had something to prove. She had to prove that her patented romance formula could translate from the supernatural to the science fiction genre. Unfortunately for The Host hardly anyone wanted to find out despite the fact in most ways, The Host is better than any of the Twilight films if only for one reason, there is a sense of meaning to what happens in this world where as with Twilight, someone couldn't pay me to care. The Host tells the tale of Melanie Stryder (Saoirse Ronan) one of the few surviving humans on Earth. When she is captured she is implanted with an alien life and becomes a prisoner in her own body. The alien, known as Wanderer begins to experience human emotions and Melanie's memories and she struggles to live normally and is forced to seek out those Melanie has left behind. The film is odd because its deeply planted in the Sci-Fi genre but it feels like a deep character piece with a typically western feel. It's a cross genre story that carefully balances each genre while never forgetting the rules of this new world the characters live in. The film doesn't really concentrate on action and feels more comfortable in the small personal moments. Sure the film has its action sequences but they are always coupled with an emotional character moment as though juxtaposing the two. This does make the action rather drawn out and lackluster but like I said, this film really isn't about the action. The music (by Antonio Pinto) is unique and an odd amalgam of conventional western tones and electronic western notes. It provides an interesting context to the world that has been built, the solitary nature of this new human life but also the presence of the futuristic and the good and bad that comes from this intrusion. It has an Eric Serra (The Fifth Element) feel to it and because of it, the music proves well suited to moments of emotion but also sudden action. The film is grounded in a sense of reality, be it a slightly 12A reality where all anyone ever talks about is kissing (It's a film aimed at the young and idealistic after all) and the film relies heavily on Ronan to keep the film flowing and from becoming overly complicated. She delivers in both roles (despite Melanie being mostly voice-over) making them both sympathetic protagonists despite the twisted nature of their joint habitation. It's a film about morality (like many westerns are) more than anything and the idea that no one is perfect is rampant in the film. The film has the tendency to break its own established rules to serve the story so there are a fair few plot holes making segments of the film unbelievable (beyond the whole aliens from another planet thing). It depicts a world and a girl at war with itself and it does so in a subtle way by concentrating on the small moments, the ones that depict the voice and ideals of the people and why they fight to begin with. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"The Host" 10 Scale Rating: 1.0 (Historically Bad) ...

The Good: The idea, which was similar to "Invasion of the Body Snatchers", was a decent one. The Bad: Just about everything. Poorly written and poorly acted. I've seen better
"The Host" 10 Scale Rating: 1.0 (Historically Bad) ...

The Good: The idea, which was similar to "Invasion of the Body Snatchers", was a decent one.

The Bad: Just about everything. Poorly written and poorly acted. I've seen better special effects on Syfy. That isn't a knock on the Syfy channel, but this is a Hollywood movie and the bar is set higher. The lead character has a lot of internal discussions since she has an alien host inside of her and the back and forth was poorly done and unconvincing. Incredibly boring and slow with characters I couldn't care less about. Worst film of 2013 ... so far.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KadeemluvmusicMar 31, 2013
I was feeling a bit dragged about The Host. I thought the trailer was better than the movie itself. I agree with the critics. This is not the Stephanie Meyer movie I know about. But now since the "Twilight" series finished, maybe I'll give itI was feeling a bit dragged about The Host. I thought the trailer was better than the movie itself. I agree with the critics. This is not the Stephanie Meyer movie I know about. But now since the "Twilight" series finished, maybe I'll give it a shot on The Host. It may be a disappointment just like Beautiful Creatures, but I'll rent it. Maybe I'll just read the novel instead. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"What was actually an intriguing premise and somewhat clever story-line, gets butchered admist on the path for destruction. The Host, fails in conjuring any sense of emotion and depth and instead makes you wanna take an aspirin because your"What was actually an intriguing premise and somewhat clever story-line, gets butchered admist on the path for destruction. The Host, fails in conjuring any sense of emotion and depth and instead makes you wanna take an aspirin because your head hurts." F Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Khunter4382Apr 1, 2013
I liked this film. The presence of Ronan, Hurt, Kruger, and a few others really made up for some of film's weak spots. The story is somewhat generic, but it still works. They add an interesting twist to the "love triangle" formula which isI liked this film. The presence of Ronan, Hurt, Kruger, and a few others really made up for some of film's weak spots. The story is somewhat generic, but it still works. They add an interesting twist to the "love triangle" formula which is what I believe proves to be one of the stronger aspects here. It's beautifully filmed and that along with several other strong points truly makes up for the film's transgressions. At least we are dealing with a genre that's a bit more forgiving as opposed to glittery vampires. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
StevieGJDMar 31, 2013
This is not scifi. It is yet another teen romance drama. There couldn't be worse dialogue if you tried. The story is insipid and corny. Revenge of the body snatchers crossed with twilight. I hope this doesn't get a sequel.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
oliver1hMar 29, 2013
Why waste our time with these love triangle, teenage girl romantic fantasies? Same material in different packages every year to fulfill the fantasies of young female audiences. Andrew Niccol writer of "The Truman Show" and director "Gattaca"Why waste our time with these love triangle, teenage girl romantic fantasies? Same material in different packages every year to fulfill the fantasies of young female audiences. Andrew Niccol writer of "The Truman Show" and director "Gattaca" can make better than that. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
Apemonkey666Jul 29, 2013
Stephenie Meyer is a one trick pony who apparently only has one story in her which she now is trying to milk in every which way possible. Melanie (Ronan) gets taken over by a soul-alien and wadda ya know: she loves one guy and the soul lovesStephenie Meyer is a one trick pony who apparently only has one story in her which she now is trying to milk in every which way possible. Melanie (Ronan) gets taken over by a soul-alien and wadda ya know: she loves one guy and the soul loves another guy...sounds familiar (Bella loves Vampire/Werewolf)? Although this film is not as bad as Twillight, it sure is long, boring and slow. 125 mins and almost nothing happens. We also get the same old tiring messages of hope and peacefull coexistence and yada yada yada. By the end you'll be fighting to stay awake. Fell asleep twice. This is only scifi in concept, there is no science to be seen anywhere in the film and how are those glowy small soul aliens who live in little metal containers ever going to conquer the universe without opposable thumbs? How did they make the containers? How are they even going to get out of them (no thumbs remember)? What are they doing in there (sleeping, thinking about nothing, being bored out of their minds)? The story is very simplistic and superficial and clearly Meyer has no idea what scifi is all about. She probably thought it was a nice backdrop for yet another slimy teen love story. One last thing: I'm pretty sure they put a gun to Andrew Niccol's head and forced him to make this crap. I don't even want to consider why the man who gave us 'Lord of War' and 'Gattaca' -two of the best films of all time- would willingly accept to make this vommit. So yes, I didn't like it, go see it if you want. You'll never get those 125 mins of your life back! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Tessara_VejganNov 21, 2014
Horrible movie to watch. Alien parasite like creatures taking over human bodies to accomplish, well, something. I don't really know, I was bored most of the time watching it. Acting was bad, story was bad, characters were boring. Waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Mad_Hatter91Jul 16, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Host is a science fiction film of 2013 directed by Andrew Niccol, based on the novel by Stephenie Meyer with Saoirse Ronan, William Hurt and Diane Kruger.
In a not too distant future our planet has been invaded by an alien race called "Souls" that to live must take the body of another living being. Most of the people were "owned" by the "Soul" but a small part resists including Melanie (Saoirse Ronan), a girl who was captured and in which the cover you have entered a '"Soul" to find out where are the last survivors. But the girl is strong and the '"Soul" called Wanderer, is slowly infected by his human emotions. Having escaped from the clutches of those who held them captive, Melanie, along with the Wayfarer will start a journey to return home and to embrace the people he loves the most.
The film is a real failure. Fails to bring the viewer into the story and even to appreciate certain characters. Besides, the film proves tedious and has not found any original (even though he had an idea based not bad). Some scenes unwittingly create laughter especially in those romantic. A film that leaves nothing to the viewer. The direction is discreet while Saoirse Ronan has proved an excellent actress.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
OnAnarchyApr 3, 2013
I really wanted to like this movie. Some of the effects are absolutely captivating, but the terrible acting and downright silliness of the plot take away from any of the positives. The original score is one of the better to come out of aI really wanted to like this movie. Some of the effects are absolutely captivating, but the terrible acting and downright silliness of the plot take away from any of the positives. The original score is one of the better to come out of a sci-fi movie in recent memory, but the cliches (chrome plated everything, for example) destroy what could have been a decent film. Skip it, but get the music. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
jacob4Jul 21, 2014
Multiple one word sentences can sum up this mess easily: Boring! Slow! Lame! Dumb! etc. The film was dull, unexciting, and had boring acting and a lame cast. It had one interesting action chase scene, the rest was a boring love triangle. TheMultiple one word sentences can sum up this mess easily: Boring! Slow! Lame! Dumb! etc. The film was dull, unexciting, and had boring acting and a lame cast. It had one interesting action chase scene, the rest was a boring love triangle. The trailer might be interesting, but the actual movie is just a complete waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wornoutspinesApr 16, 2015
The host - the book - was the very first book that I stop reading after three chapters, I gave up because I thought it was tedious and boring. It's also the reason why I have this rule, whenever I pick up I read up to three or four chaptersThe host - the book - was the very first book that I stop reading after three chapters, I gave up because I thought it was tedious and boring. It's also the reason why I have this rule, whenever I pick up I read up to three or four chapters and if by then I'm not not hook or interested in the story I put it down. So when the host - the movie - came out in 2013 the only thing that got me interested was Saoirse Ronan. At the time, I remember thinking "What the F*ck is she doing in that movie?" but she was in it, so I gave it a shot, putting all of my preconceived ideas about it aside.

Once I saw it, I was pleasantly surprised, the plot was far more interesting that I gave it credit for. I was not sure where it stemmed from but when I realized that it was The Truman Show, Lord of War, The Terminal Andrew Niccol behind The Host I got the idea. The movie is intriguing, engaging, and quite riveting, it's a lot less cheesy than what I expected, actually less than what the marketing suggested. The Host is smart with good action sequences and another stunning performance by Saoirse Ronan.

The acting is probably the other thing that makes this movie a better one. Ronan is completely badass in The Host because she manages to show you two different characters in that one film. They have the same body and same voice but there is not doubt that it is two characters on screen. Her co-stars Jake Abel, Max Irons, Diane Kruger, Frances Fisher & William Hurt are holding their own. The Host is a well rounded movie, So I wonder what went wrong? My guess is a bit of timing and marketing faux-pas. The movie came out in the wake of Twilight fatigue, which was not a smart move, and it was Marketed as another cheesy love story when we already had five years of cheesy Edward & Bella love story. And also let's face it the pace was a little slow but I don't think that hurt the movie.

Andrew Niccol's take on The Host was intriguing, sophisticated and entertaining. @wornoutspines
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jelenabiebs31Jan 10, 2016
Another great story from Stephenie Meyer, great actors, great plot, great ending.

Watch it online here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2484887-The-Host-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jhepApr 11, 2013
Ignore the basically clueless media reviews…..this is a very intelligent
and deeply intuitive film by the man who wrote the screenplay for “The
Truman Show” and who both wrote and directed “Gattaca”…..so forget the “Twilight”-related
Ignore the basically clueless media reviews…..this is a very intelligent
and deeply intuitive film by the man who wrote the screenplay for “The
Truman Show” and who both wrote and directed “Gattaca”…..so
forget the “Twilight”-related baggage (which the critics apparently can't)…..go to it with fresh eyes and
enjoy the entirely believable and cohesive sci-fi world that Andrew
Niccol has created……this is better film than (the interesting) “Looper”
and an infinitely better film than the current darling of the media
critics “Amour”.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
hollyvMar 29, 2013
Well, the ad industry certainly takes a nosedive after alien occupation, but Detroit will rejoice because chrome sports cars, it seems, are a universal desire. The Host is "Twilight for Aliens," complete with all those teenage moments ofWell, the ad industry certainly takes a nosedive after alien occupation, but Detroit will rejoice because chrome sports cars, it seems, are a universal desire. The Host is "Twilight for Aliens," complete with all those teenage moments of "what would be really cool to include in a sci-fi movie" that Stephanie is known for. I just wish that the aliens weren't quite so boring, that the pace of the story was closer to jogging than strolling, and while I was expecting a lot of footage shot in caves, the caves looked strangely like props from the original Star Trek. Very roomy. I didn't hate the movie... just kind of hate myself for going to see it. But I always felt that way at Twilight films ...At least it finally explains those voices in my head. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
scoleyApr 1, 2013
Not sure why this film is getting suck bad reviews the story is good and for a near two hours movie i was never bored and did not look at my phone for the time once unlike so many films with better scores. Saoirse Ronan was great i thoughtNot sure why this film is getting suck bad reviews the story is good and for a near two hours movie i was never bored and did not look at my phone for the time once unlike so many films with better scores. Saoirse Ronan was great i thought she gave a really good performance its not a complete sci fi or a romance drama so don't think it another Twilight So make your own mind up but its worth a watch in my book Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
Dimitris01Nov 22, 2013
‘The Host’ starts promisingly as the heroine finds herself in a terrible situation and the stakes are very high. There are also some nice images and Saoirse Ronan is fine, as usually. However the movie slowly degenerates into a metamodern‘The Host’ starts promisingly as the heroine finds herself in a terrible situation and the stakes are very high. There are also some nice images and Saoirse Ronan is fine, as usually. However the movie slowly degenerates into a metamodern mess: souls, bodies, aliens, humans, personalities and memories are mixed together, different concepts are confused and the story becomes meaningless. Furthermore, the pacing suffers during the second half and there is almost no action.
argonautis.eu
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RaygirlApr 5, 2013
This movie wasn't that bad. I had read the book about a year ago, so "filled in" a lot of information myself that wasn't there in the movie. However, if a person HADN'T read the book, they would probably give it a 4 because it was slowThis movie wasn't that bad. I had read the book about a year ago, so "filled in" a lot of information myself that wasn't there in the movie. However, if a person HADN'T read the book, they would probably give it a 4 because it was slow moving. There were poignant moments that I enjoyed seeing come to life, but this is really a movie for those who have read the book. It doesn't stand on it's own. There's so much more detail in the book about Wanderer (her life, history, struggle between being a Soul and reconciling it with her new feelings and behavior, dealing with Melanie, etc.) and you only get 1/20th of that from watching the movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ivan_terribleMar 29, 2013
I haven't read the book, so i found this movie very enjoyable, interesting and kinda of fresh for me. I didn't realize that the time went by so quick but it still a good one. This movie shows human interactions and emotions such as hate,I haven't read the book, so i found this movie very enjoyable, interesting and kinda of fresh for me. I didn't realize that the time went by so quick but it still a good one. This movie shows human interactions and emotions such as hate, love, fear, trust, courage and hope.

If you are after a non stop action movie, then don't go watch this. If others said that the book was much better than the movie, then maybe i will go buy and read the book. Again, i enjoy this movie and it's a very entertaining one for me compared to horrible die hard 5.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
4
joey-clemenzaApr 14, 2013
A silly "teen beat" approach to typical sci-fi invader tropes, this overly done and half baked psuedo love story provides more laughs than gasps. exhibit a) the chemistry between these kids is non existent, making for some unintentionallyA silly "teen beat" approach to typical sci-fi invader tropes, this overly done and half baked psuedo love story provides more laughs than gasps. exhibit a) the chemistry between these kids is non existent, making for some unintentionally hilarious scenes. not the fault of our young cast, who struggles with utterly ridiculous dialogue though with promising conviction. exhibit b) the narrative get's lost into an ostentatious dive by the whim of over dramatic "love cues" or quite simply, poor writing. let's face it, Stephanie Meyer doesn't really know what she's doing. an unlearned writer who got lucky with 'The Twilight Series' by tapping into the narrative routine that was more like a "teen idol poster" to a novel, Meyer was able to exploit what teenage girls "really want"; having been undermined with sexist literary schemes that harken back to the "damsels in distress" or "suzie homemakers in white aprons", with a twist. what's her modus operandi? a subversive heroin who balks and crumbles at the feet of a prototypical blue-eyes, who reminds them what it's like to be a woman. you couldn't write dialogue anymore jarring to 50 years of women's lib if you tried. exhibit c) there must have been a better way to engage the audience with the pivotal "two voices in my head" scene. a scene wherein both the writer and director attempt to circumvent the drama with a true, honest to god commentary on the anagonist's jungian state, which would translate into this sort of thematic reveal and open up the plot and central theme of the movie. unfortunately, it's far more sillier on screen than it was on paper. in fact, who even writes this stuff? oh, yeah.....exhibit b.

cold special effects that add to the atmosphere but operate as nothing more than breaks of eye-candy, this story will expose Meyer for what she really is. a fake. *2 out of 5 stars*
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
RalphsReviewsApr 28, 2013
The biggest sin of this film is that it is so dull, it is completely forgettable. I saw the movie a while ago but I can't remember a single thing about it. Acting is subpar, the story is sloppy, action is dull, interesting sci-fi concepts areThe biggest sin of this film is that it is so dull, it is completely forgettable. I saw the movie a while ago but I can't remember a single thing about it. Acting is subpar, the story is sloppy, action is dull, interesting sci-fi concepts are barely explored and the hackney love story is generic and boring. There is nothing about this movie that I hate, but there is also nothing I like. It is just lazy garbage made to cash off of the success of Stephanie Myers far more popular and unintentionally funny Twilight franchise. I would recommend this movie if you enjoy watching paint dry. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
5
GabiiRRSJun 4, 2013
The movie is not a Sci-Fi movie, it’s a love story with some science fiction elements. The plot is dull, the acting is regular and the visual effects are fine. I believe it is a hard book to adapt (cause half of the story takes place on theThe movie is not a Sci-Fi movie, it’s a love story with some science fiction elements. The plot is dull, the acting is regular and the visual effects are fine. I believe it is a hard book to adapt (cause half of the story takes place on the head of the main character) and they did what they could in 2 hours, but I felt it all in a weird dull-rush, some of the things didn’t make sense. The idea is good but the movie didn’t quite capture it. Didn’t love it, didn’t hate it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
rkeincJul 13, 2013
I like Sci Fi but I like a great movie with a beautiful story even better. This is both so it is a winner. Very well done and I usually read the book before I watch the movie. I am glad I did not in this case. I had just watched Pacific RimI like Sci Fi but I like a great movie with a beautiful story even better. This is both so it is a winner. Very well done and I usually read the book before I watch the movie. I am glad I did not in this case. I had just watched Pacific Rim with my son at the local IMAX 3D and was amazed at the special effects but it was missing something, like a story. The Host filled in the gap and I am very glad I watched it. I guess I am saying it was better than Pacific Rim in my book! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FinfidJul 15, 2013
I went into this film with expectations based on the trailers I had seen. Basically, the movie studio apparently was afraid of what they had created, and released promotional material that was so pedantic, so wanton of a touristed veneer,I went into this film with expectations based on the trailers I had seen. Basically, the movie studio apparently was afraid of what they had created, and released promotional material that was so pedantic, so wanton of a touristed veneer, that it completely obscured the artistic and dramatic genius that this film engenders.

I'm a hard-core science fiction fan. I cried when Defying Gravity was killed. Sunshine is one of the best SciFi movies ever made... so.

The Host is nothing like the trailers would suggest. It is hardcore Sc-ifi presented in one of the most dramatic and believable scenarios I can think of in recent times. This movie is at least on par, if not more monumental then Close Encounters of the Third Kind.

Andrew Niccol has directed his opus. While his work to date has been good, this finally distinguishes him as a great director of film.

Saoirse Ronan once again demonstrates an unbelievable talent for acting. She is able to portray the conflicted alien inhabiting the human body as well as the trapped human soul with amazing skill. The Academy will have no choice but to recognize her acting talent sooner rather then later.

The story is simple but deep. While I might have liked a more empirical explanation of the how and why the aliens conquered us, what is portrayed manages to imply just enough to make the story believable and understandable.

To go into more detail would rob the next curious mind of the wonder of the film. Suffice it to say that this movie is worth watching.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
IonXtremeMar 29, 2013
This movie is garbage. Yes, there is Sci-Fi, in it, and its thought-provocative, but it has such bad acting i can only give it a negative review here.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews