Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Andrew Niccol
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Romance
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 125 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 28
  2. Negative: 12 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Mar 28, 2013
    63
    A silly, if fun, futuristic sci-fi romance.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 28, 2013
    60
    The Host gets bogged down in its “who’s kissing whom now?” dynamics, and it becomes all too easy to snicker at it.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Mar 29, 2013
    50
    As with the Twilight series, The Host's infelicities—drab dialogue, ridiculous plotting, more emotional crises than there is story—are enlivened by its thematic eccentricities.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 28, 2013
    40
    Watch closely and you might even spy a better film inside, straining to break free.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    The Host basically comes down to a vote for Team Jared or Team Ian. I voted myself into oblivion about half an hour in. Niccol, who once added mystery and suspense to the sci-fi of 1997's "Gattaca," is no match for the giant marshmallow that is The Host.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 28, 2013
    30
    Dopey, derivative and dull, The Host is a brazen combination of unoriginal science-fiction themes, young-adult pandering and bottom-line calculation. That sounds like it should work (really!), but it never does, largely because the story is as drained of energy as are its moony aliens.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 29, 2013
    0
    It's really a dramatic sinkhole.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 48
  2. Negative: 20 out of 48
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Twilight aside, please allow me to comment on the cinematic masterpiece that was The Host. The poignancy of this quality film stemmed from a script that allowed the characters to truly tap into a world of emotion far beyond human comprehension. Indeed, this movie is quite literally, "out of this world," as alien lifeforms--nay "souls," as they are called--take over all bipedal hominids. All bipedal hominids, that is, save for a group of hardy individuals called The Resistance. Though originally unable to accept Wanderer/Melanie as one of their own, they eventually [spoiler alert] learn to accept her as the lovable, alien-infested being that she is. The striking originality and angst-ridden drama of this film lended itself to a powerfully emotional experience that will remain with me for many a year to come.
    #love #this #movie
    Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    I went into this film with expectations based on the trailers I had seen. Basically, the movie studio apparently was afraid of what they had created, and released promotional material that was so pedantic, so wanton of a touristed veneer, that it completely obscured the artistic and dramatic genius that this film engenders.

    I'm a hard-core science fiction fan. I cried when Defying Gravity was killed. Sunshine is one of the best SciFi movies ever made... so.

    The Host is nothing like the trailers would suggest. It is hardcore Sc-ifi presented in one of the most dramatic and believable scenarios I can think of in recent times. This movie is at least on par, if not more monumental then Close Encounters of the Third Kind.

    Andrew Niccol has directed his opus. While his work to date has been good, this finally distinguishes him as a great director of film.

    Saoirse Ronan once again demonstrates an unbelievable talent for acting. She is able to portray the conflicted alien inhabiting the human body as well as the trapped human soul with amazing skill. The Academy will have no choice but to recognize her acting talent sooner rather then later.

    The story is simple but deep. While I might have liked a more empirical explanation of the how and why the aliens conquered us, what is portrayed manages to imply just enough to make the story believable and understandable.

    To go into more detail would rob the next curious mind of the wonder of the film. Suffice it to say that this movie is worth watching.
    Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    Was a great movie! Finally something different that doesn't have a terrible ending. Was a little worried about the film because of the other reviews but the story seemed so interesting and was! I feel like it was better the a 8 but can go into a 9 just because of other films I have seen! Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    4
    Well, the ad industry certainly takes a nosedive after alien occupation, but Detroit will rejoice because chrome sports cars, it seems, are a universal desire. The Host is "Twilight for Aliens," complete with all those teenage moments of "what would be really cool to include in a sci-fi movie" that Stephanie is known for. I just wish that the aliens weren't quite so boring, that the pace of the story was closer to jogging than strolling, and while I was expecting a lot of footage shot in caves, the caves looked strangely like props from the original Star Trek. Very roomy. I didn't hate the movie... just kind of hate myself for going to see it. But I always felt that way at Twilight films ...At least it finally explains those voices in my head. Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ending was laughable due to poor lighting effects. Every other scene was beautiful. Hollywood severely rewrote events. Unlike Harry Potter, what was cut or changed seriously effected the book ideology. A person was killed with a gun, which shocked the heck out of me just because (spoiler?) no gun was fired in the book. This movie showed that only books can be entertaining w/o firearm usage. I'm sure someone else will remark on the voice-over for Melanie's internal dialogue. But that's basically another reason to read the book. At least I can better picture the setting. I thought the movie was beautiful, with tacky story-telling. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    1
    Why waste our time with these love triangle, teenage girl romantic fantasies? Same material in different packages every year to fulfill the fantasies of young female audiences. Andrew Niccol writer of "The Truman Show" and director "Gattaca" can make better than that. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    Stephenie Meyer is a one trick pony who apparently only has one story in her which she now is trying to milk in every which way possible. Melanie (Ronan) gets taken over by a soul-alien and wadda ya know: she loves one guy and the soul loves another guy...sounds familiar (Bella loves Vampire/Werewolf)? Although this film is not as bad as Twillight, it sure is long, boring and slow. 125 mins and almost nothing happens. We also get the same old tiring messages of hope and peacefull coexistence and yada yada yada. By the end you'll be fighting to stay awake. Fell asleep twice. This is only scifi in concept, there is no science to be seen anywhere in the film and how are those glowy small soul aliens who live in little metal containers ever going to conquer the universe without opposable thumbs? How did they make the containers? How are they even going to get out of them (no thumbs remember)? What are they doing in there (sleeping, thinking about nothing, being bored out of their minds)? The story is very simplistic and superficial and clearly Meyer has no idea what scifi is all about. She probably thought it was a nice backdrop for yet another slimy teen love story. One last thing: I'm pretty sure they put a gun to Andrew Niccol's head and forced him to make this crap. I don't even want to consider why the man who gave us 'Lord of War' and 'Gattaca' -two of the best films of all time- would willingly accept to make this vommit. So yes, I didn't like it, go see it if you want. You'll never get those 125 mins of your life back! Collapse

See all 48 User Reviews

Trailers