User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 209
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers. It is often difficult to identify with foreign films as we don't "get" the inside stuff. This film was done throughout the 1950's on small budgets. Yet there were believable monsters or forces and the characters dealt with them almost the way we think we would have. There also were many "monster" films that spent no attention to detail, poorly developed characters, inept dialogue, and maybe a political statement or some pathos thrown in. We have the latter here.
    The acting is at times silly and then serious. Why does the monster kidnap people? A snack later? And the bad government including the U.S. made to look inept. If the film takes place in the present there is technology that could have easily found the monster and destroyed it. Oh yeah, couldn't because of the virus.
    Why critics have chosen to heap praise on this is beyond my understanding. It seems like the makers of the film tried but it just doesn't play to American sensibilities. I fast forwarded through most of it. Not impressed with the monster or the humans. But maybe that's just my American perspective. It got raves in Korea. For these reasons I rate it a U for unratable or maybe unwatchable. You want to see a good foreign monster movie, try Big Man Japan.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    1
    Wow i really was expecting such a great monster movie with plenty of scares and good effects and acting, or at least that's what all of the movie critics were saying. So when i saw this movie at blockbuster, i decided "why not? everyone says its a good movie" so i rented it, little did i know that i was being lured into the biggest crap-fest that i have ever seen in my life. For starters,Wow i really was expecting such a great monster movie with plenty of scares and good effects and acting, or at least that's what all of the movie critics were saying. So when i saw this movie at blockbuster, i decided "why not? everyone says its a good movie" so i rented it, little did i know that i was being lured into the biggest crap-fest that i have ever seen in my life. For starters, the plot really made no sense at all, I mean, why would toxic acid turn a fish into a giant monster?, and if so, then how come only ONE fish was affected by the acid, when there's at least a couple hundred fish in the lake. Secondly, the acting was laughable and couldn't fool a four year old, and quite frankly, neither could the "monster". Lastly, the dubbing, I really hated how this was a Korean movie and was meant to STAY in Korea but some idiot decided to translate it to English so they could bring this garbage film over to America, and the dubbing sucked so bad, i ,mean when the people were done talking , their mouths were still moving. this movie sucked, bottom line, and if you want to see a GOOD monster film then i recommend "the mist" Expand
  3. SteveK
    Sep 18, 2007
    3
    Wow, this movie is overrated. Movies that make no sense are not enjoyable. Even fantasy/sci-fi movies must play by their own rules, and this one definitely does not. Why does the monster only eat certain people that are not crucial to the plot? Why does chemical gas only affect people who are not crucial to the plot? Why is it that a full-frontal lobotomy does absolutely nothing to a Wow, this movie is overrated. Movies that make no sense are not enjoyable. Even fantasy/sci-fi movies must play by their own rules, and this one definitely does not. Why does the monster only eat certain people that are not crucial to the plot? Why does chemical gas only affect people who are not crucial to the plot? Why is it that a full-frontal lobotomy does absolutely nothing to a person's brain function? (well, you guessed it... he's crucial to the plot.) The creature effects are kinda cool, but the creature doesn't seem to have any definition, we're not really sure about anything about this creature except for that it only eats/kills people half of the time, and it is really quiet (even though it's huge, it can sneak up on people without making a sound). I didn't even mention the terrible translations in the subtitles. "He's always B-minus, not A-positive! Don't give him a hard time!" WTH? This movie had some potential, but it's a senseless, frustrating mess with way too many holes. Avoid, avoid, avoid. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2010
    0
    That was not a horror movie, it was a terrible piece of a movie!
    Even if this was a parody of a horror movie it wasnt good.
    No scary parts.... really.
    It sucked, waste of time :(
  5. NickJones
    May 26, 2008
    0
    This MOvie Sucks MOre Balls Then A Whore I HATED THIS FILM SO FUCKING MUCH IT MADE ME WANT TO PUKE
    AFTER I WATCHED 1 HOUR I LOOKED ON THE CASE AND SAW 2 HOURS AND PRETTY MUCH WANTED TO COMIT SUSICIDE BECAUSE I ALREADY HAD ENOUGH FUCKING SHIT IN MY BRAIN FROM WAYCHING AN HOUR IT AND THIS MOVIE SUCKS SO MUCH IT SHOULD BE TOOK OFF THE SHELVES!!!!!1 REMEMBER THIS ALWAYS
    -YOURS FUCKING
    This MOvie Sucks MOre Balls Then A Whore I HATED THIS FILM SO FUCKING MUCH IT MADE ME WANT TO PUKE
    AFTER I WATCHED 1 HOUR I LOOKED ON THE CASE AND SAW 2 HOURS AND PRETTY MUCH WANTED TO COMIT SUSICIDE BECAUSE I ALREADY HAD ENOUGH FUCKING SHIT IN MY BRAIN FROM WAYCHING AN HOUR IT AND THIS MOVIE SUCKS SO MUCH IT SHOULD BE TOOK OFF THE SHELVES!!!!!1 REMEMBER THIS ALWAYS

    -YOURS FUCKING TRULY NICK JOES!!!
    Expand
  6. BlancoA.
    Mar 16, 2007
    4
    Sadly, for the majority of the film, I was just bored. If you want to make a funy scary movie, try the Slither script, or Evil Dead, etc. This one really missed the mark.
  7. SamO.
    Mar 8, 2007
    2
    Tries to hard to achieve the laugh/scare factor, and falls flat on its knees, looking like a fool.
  8. TonyG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    2
    The professional critics must be high on something, seeing things which are barely there. What a boring movie..
  9. RitB.
    Apr 9, 2007
    2
    There's a difference between a 'horror' movie and a 'horrible' movie. The Host falls into the second category. If this is the highest grossing movie in South Korean history, that means the SK film industry is on life-support. If you want to see a good horror movie with plenty of dark humor, rent "Slither."
  10. JamesB
    Sep 16, 2007
    2
    Dear Mr Joon-Ho, I am writing to you in the hope you can give me back the 2hrs of my life I wasted watching your movie. In the event you cannot travel back in time and stop me from watching The Host, please stop making movies. Yours Sincerely James PS. I'd also like my $3.99 back, and a written apology from the Korean government if possible. The Host is perhaps the greatest movie Dear Mr Joon-Ho, I am writing to you in the hope you can give me back the 2hrs of my life I wasted watching your movie. In the event you cannot travel back in time and stop me from watching The Host, please stop making movies. Yours Sincerely James PS. I'd also like my $3.99 back, and a written apology from the Korean government if possible. The Host is perhaps the greatest movie ever made about a monster born from toxic formaldehyde in a Korean river. Expand
  11. JonathanP
    Sep 3, 2007
    0
    This movie just no worth a rental, it`s a waste of time.
  12. FJ
    Sep 7, 2007
    2
    What looked like a promising film turned into a boring, dumb story with no suspense or terror. I don't see how this was well reviewed. Bad acting, silly characters....too bad.
  13. MikeJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    1
    Boring.
  14. SeanF
    Oct 14, 2007
    1
    Just a horrible piece of 'film making'. Nothing about this movie worked, from the monster (wasn't scary or engaging in any way), to the humor (I hesitate to call it that, none of it was funny), to the narrative of the dysfunctional yet loving family, to the ineptitude of the government's response to a city in crisis. None of it made me the least bit interested in a Just a horrible piece of 'film making'. Nothing about this movie worked, from the monster (wasn't scary or engaging in any way), to the humor (I hesitate to call it that, none of it was funny), to the narrative of the dysfunctional yet loving family, to the ineptitude of the government's response to a city in crisis. None of it made me the least bit interested in a family running from a beast that looked something like a stegosaurus meets a rhinoceros. Do not see this movie, do not believe the mind boggling positive reviews of the critics... Only a masochist would put himself though the suffering that is work of cinematic drivel. Expand
  15. JaredC.
    Aug 13, 2007
    0
    Probably the worst overrated movie of all time.
  16. CraigA.
    Aug 20, 2007
    0
    I have been coming to this site for years and have never posted. But after watching this, I had no choice. This movie is not good. I had to talk my wife into watching it and kept telling her how it received great reviews. Once we saw the monster for the first big scene we could do nothing but laugh. I tried to keep giving it a chance, but finally had to just turn it off. I cannot remember I have been coming to this site for years and have never posted. But after watching this, I had no choice. This movie is not good. I had to talk my wife into watching it and kept telling her how it received great reviews. Once we saw the monster for the first big scene we could do nothing but laugh. I tried to keep giving it a chance, but finally had to just turn it off. I cannot remember ever turning a movie off that I paid to watch. I'm a big fan of the horror/monster genre, but this was unbearable. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!! Expand
  17. DonaldD.
    Aug 31, 2007
    2
    This movie is painful. I do not understand what the critics see in this movie at all.
  18. SeanD.
    Aug 3, 2007
    1
    I want my money back, what a trash movie this was.
  19. Jasonl.
    Aug 3, 2007
    1
    A complete waste of time and money.
  20. DannH.
    Aug 9, 2007
    3
    The reviews and acclaim had this on my must see list for quite a while so I admit my expectations were set very high. Unfortunately this film did not even come remotely close. A predictable plot, flat characters, and witless humor ruin what could have been a decent movie. The fact that this movie is billed as "One of the greatest monster movies of all time" speaks volumes for the quality The reviews and acclaim had this on my must see list for quite a while so I admit my expectations were set very high. Unfortunately this film did not even come remotely close. A predictable plot, flat characters, and witless humor ruin what could have been a decent movie. The fact that this movie is billed as "One of the greatest monster movies of all time" speaks volumes for the quality of its monster predecessors (no offense Gamora). Expand
  21. Arman
    Sep 5, 2007
    3
    No way is this so high on metacritic. I was burned into renting this. CGI is low budget!! Painful to watch at times. I eventually fast forwarded to end the misery.
  22. MichaelFinnigan
    Aug 20, 2009
    0
    This was the worst movie I have seen in quite some time. Incredibly corny with random attempts to beat the audience about the head with slapstick and physical humor that falls well short of the mark. A CGI monster that is way overrated. Ridiculously bad acting and dialogue. Far too long and drawn out with a middle portion that is almost entirely unnecessary. The attempts at politcalThis was the worst movie I have seen in quite some time. Incredibly corny with random attempts to beat the audience about the head with slapstick and physical humor that falls well short of the mark. A CGI monster that is way overrated. Ridiculously bad acting and dialogue. Far too long and drawn out with a middle portion that is almost entirely unnecessary. The attempts at politcal statements are paper-thin and blatantly obvious. The critical reception for this movie honestly perplexes me more so than the reception for any other film I thought sucked, even Gladiator. Expand
  23. DonB.
    Mar 14, 2007
    1
    What a piece of junk!! Terrible acting and not the least bit scary. Somewhat comical; but overall a waste of time.
  24. KenG.
    Mar 16, 2007
    3
    I don't understand the good reviews this is getting. It didn't work at all for me. I didn't find it scary, tense, or suspenseful, nor was it funny at those times that it is trying to be. It is more clumsy, sloppy and awkward then anything else. I didn't even find it to be that orginal (as it is getting a lot of credit for being) It just felt like a lame rip-off of a I don't understand the good reviews this is getting. It didn't work at all for me. I didn't find it scary, tense, or suspenseful, nor was it funny at those times that it is trying to be. It is more clumsy, sloppy and awkward then anything else. I didn't even find it to be that orginal (as it is getting a lot of credit for being) It just felt like a lame rip-off of a 1950's monster film. Expand
  25. JayW.
    Apr 19, 2007
    3
    I could hardly wait to leave the cinema. This is really a terrible motion picture, on virtually every level, from the hokey lizard to the terrible plot to the pathetic dialogue to the overheated, high-school level acting. How on Earth it's drawn such high praise is a mystery to me.
  26. ShaneG
    Aug 20, 2007
    0
    This is proof that critics have no idea what they are talking about. I couldn't even finish the movie it was so sad. Then The Invasion gets bad reviews, that movie was awesome. Stay away from this movie.
  27. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    One of the worst films I have ever seen. Not believable or thrilling in the least. The acting is so bad that it nixes the possibility of any suspension of disbelief. The film has no consistent tone and the characters are utterly ridiculous.
  28. MartinF.
    Mar 11, 2007
    4
    Entertaining at times with distracting comedic slapstick interludes. The movie attempts to be more than a monster/horror formula but the distractions are too numerous and are at times boring. The monster is a silly accrobatic cross between the worm creatures of Tremors and a lizzard like dinosaur who chases down the locals ala Godzilla. Yawn.
  29. BobH
    Aug 25, 2007
    4
    I wanted to like it, but it's not a good movie. There was so much undeveloped potential with the plot, character development, satire, climax. The only worthwhile thing I got out of my two hours was a libertarian story, like Katrina & New Orleans, that demonstrates that the government and its associated bureaucracy is the real monster.
  30. GlennD.
    Aug 29, 2007
    1
    What on earth are the critics doing?!? Watched this movie and it's so bad it isn't even funny-bad!! Am a New Zealander and used to 'cheese' schlock, for example early Peter (Bad Taste, Meet the Feebles) Jackson as well as other old school badtaste classics-Re-animator, Blood Diner, etc. etc...this is not worth watching period. Tremors a better plot, scares, etc. Maid What on earth are the critics doing?!? Watched this movie and it's so bad it isn't even funny-bad!! Am a New Zealander and used to 'cheese' schlock, for example early Peter (Bad Taste, Meet the Feebles) Jackson as well as other old school badtaste classics-Re-animator, Blood Diner, etc. etc...this is not worth watching period. Tremors a better plot, scares, etc. Maid in Manhattan better plot, scares, etc...are you watching these movies critics? Expand
  31. RichieV.
    Sep 2, 2007
    0
    I think an investigation should be held into movie critics receiving cash from movie studios for good ratings. This movie makes any of the Godzilla films look like Schindler's List! Some critics have compared this movie to Jaws???!!!! Do these critics need to give good ratings to international films just to be hip? Is it because they are foreign that the critics seem to kiss their I think an investigation should be held into movie critics receiving cash from movie studios for good ratings. This movie makes any of the Godzilla films look like Schindler's List! Some critics have compared this movie to Jaws???!!!! Do these critics need to give good ratings to international films just to be hip? Is it because they are foreign that the critics seem to kiss their butts???!!! I had respect for the Metacritic score but not anymore. This is a real joke. Expand
  32. KresimirJ
    Sep 2, 2007
    2
    I agree that the dubbing must have ruined the DVD version. However, I fail to see how this could have been perfect movie even in Korean.
  33. sehanb.
    Sep 3, 2007
    1
    The worst movie I've ever seen. Some rich kid fresh out of film school. nothing makes sense. one inane scene linked to some stupid ideas. they made the movie just to have the monster do backflips. a waste of time watching it. have your fast-forward on your remote ready!
  34. matthewk.
    Sep 7, 2007
    3
    I don't know how people could like this. I must say I give this movie 3, and thats only for the animated monster. This movie had really bad acting, the story line was so so but the acting was sooo bad. I just laughed the whole time. I think the one screen that got me just saying what the hell is this, is then they think that girl is dead, so they start crying and hitting each other I don't know how people could like this. I must say I give this movie 3, and thats only for the animated monster. This movie had really bad acting, the story line was so so but the acting was sooo bad. I just laughed the whole time. I think the one screen that got me just saying what the hell is this, is then they think that girl is dead, so they start crying and hitting each other and falling on the ground. MY GOD, it looked so bad, like little kids not getting what they want. I pity people that watched this in theater. Expand
  35. MH
    Dec 14, 2007
    4
    The whole movie acts as an insult to film-making. the plot itself is illogical and has stupidity written all over it. i wonder why no critic mentioned the horrible and irrational script this movie is based on. the movie only succeeds in portraying the Korean government as a irresponsible bunch of people with no idea what so ever as to what they are up against or what they are doing to The whole movie acts as an insult to film-making. the plot itself is illogical and has stupidity written all over it. i wonder why no critic mentioned the horrible and irrational script this movie is based on. the movie only succeeds in portraying the Korean government as a irresponsible bunch of people with no idea what so ever as to what they are up against or what they are doing to identify and solve the crisis at hand. the stereotypical portrayal of the american goverment is another thing which only worsens the experience. last but not least the acting is one of the worst i've seen in years. Expand
  36. JoelB.
    Apr 19, 2007
    1
    One of the most excrutiatingly boring films I've ever seen. Not a moment of suspense or levity in the entire thing. Don't waste your time with this one!
  37. DuaneD
    Jul 31, 2007
    3
    What a disappointment. I read three reviews before seeing this film and they all had nothing but praise for it. I kept thinking, "When does it start to get good?" I was never scared during the movie, more often annoyed. Parts were slightly amusing. I thought, "This must be what passes for Korean humor."
  38. TerryL.
    Aug 29, 2007
    0
    I'm not sure what movie the critics watched, but I want to see that one. They report seeing biting commentary in a funny monster movie - I saw a movie that bites. I want my 2 hours back.
  39. MelanieG
    Aug 31, 2007
    0
    Terrible movie. My husband kept telling me that it got good reviews, so I gave in and watched it. I don't think I have ever seen a "Horror" movie that was as lame as this was. A complete waste of about 45 mins. We had to turn it off because it was just so stupid.
  40. RobertG.
    Aug 31, 2007
    0
    This is an awful film. Please I beg you, for your own sanity, do not watch this.
  41. PaulS.
    Sep 18, 2007
    0
    The only reason I don't regret watching this movie is to have been able to read some of the hilarious negative reviews/comments here. Some positive reviews say that you need to have an in depth understanding of Korean culture and even the cliques and classes of their society. Well, what in the hell are the chances that most people are going to know about that? Would you expect us to? The only reason I don't regret watching this movie is to have been able to read some of the hilarious negative reviews/comments here. Some positive reviews say that you need to have an in depth understanding of Korean culture and even the cliques and classes of their society. Well, what in the hell are the chances that most people are going to know about that? Would you expect us to? Also, some people have said that the problem is the translation. Well that's not our fault, and if that's the case, how could ANYONE seeing it translated enjoy it then? It's going to give me an aneurysm if I think about how many US mainstream critics gave this movie praise. Well, maybe they understood the intricacies of Korean culture better than me. Expand
  42. JeremyB.
    Jan 13, 2008
    0
    Hands down, one of the worst movies I've ever seen, and by far the most critically overrated ("A masterpiece of monster cinema"?) After seeing its high ratings on other sites ( I think rotten tomatoes even named it in the top five of the top 100 highest rated sci-fi horror films ever) I rented it anticipating a new masterpiece. terrible, terrible, terrible, I can't stress this Hands down, one of the worst movies I've ever seen, and by far the most critically overrated ("A masterpiece of monster cinema"?) After seeing its high ratings on other sites ( I think rotten tomatoes even named it in the top five of the top 100 highest rated sci-fi horror films ever) I rented it anticipating a new masterpiece. terrible, terrible, terrible, I can't stress this enough. In reading through the viewer reviews one might notice the disparity between all 10s or all 0s and 1s. there is a reason (my only guess is that all of the 10s must be Korean culture majors and have never seen a scary movie in their lives). Scary? not in the least, not even remotely suspenseful. Boring? yes! and tedious.. Both my girlfriend and I fell asleep, and thinking we might have missed something good, promptly rewound it (we didn't miss a thing). Funny? unless your'e korean, find slap-stick funny, or know the inside scoop on the subtle complexities of korean humor, NO! The movie's only redeeming moments are the credits, when you realise it is finally over! do not be fooled be fooled by all the great reviews. Expand
  43. DieFroggie
    Jan 17, 2008
    1
    Boring! Do not believe the critics. Save your money, rent something else.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    88
    When the movie isn't being scary, it's crazily funny, so much so that critical watchers will wonder if Bong might tilt the balance of the picture too far in a comic direction and water down the scares. He doesn't.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kerr
    70
    Bong has pulled together a multilayered horror-drama that works more often than not. The film gets back on track after a clumsy middle section that's too long and finishes strong, and Bong fans, horror fans and Asiaphiles are likely to be thoroughly satisfied.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    80
    On almost every level, there's never quite been a monster movie like The Host. Egregiously subverting its own genre while still delivering shocks at a pure genre level, and marbled with straight-faced character humor that constantly throws the viewer off balance.