IFC Films | Release Date: April 28, 2010
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 192 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
52
Mixed:
54
Negative:
86
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
MoviebuffreviewOct 4, 2011
There are certain horror movies that are gross and that is their general appeal. Some horror movies attempt to be original and that is their general appeal. The Human Centipede's appeal? Well it attempts to try to mix these together, but theThere are certain horror movies that are gross and that is their general appeal. Some horror movies attempt to be original and that is their general appeal. The Human Centipede's appeal? Well it attempts to try to mix these together, but the lack of substance already puts it below what you would normally expect. In addition though, the Human Centipede is a sick and disturbing movie that has no general appeal in its story, and absolutely no substance. The graphic content alone makes the movie nearly unwatchable, but the rest of the movie is just as painful. From laughable dialogue and situations, acting, and a bland mood that doesn't make the movie more exciting or scary. The Human Centipede: First Sequence is just a sick, horrendous movie that no one should watch. From a film and general perspective, this movie is abysmal. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
3
MarcDoyleOct 25, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's certainly not boring, and it was fun seeing exactly how the doctor would get the people into the configuration, but after that, it's pretty darned gross. When he urges the front guy to "eat, eat", so he can get the whole process going, I came about as close as I've ever come to dry heaving in a movie. So yeah, I'm glad I saw what all the fuss is about. But I can now see why Roger Ebert didn't want to give it a star rating. It's really pointless to do so. But I have seen worse! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
HadesMay 1, 2010
My advice is: do not go and see this movie, it's not worth the 15 bucks. This is not a horror movie, it's just really sick.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DeVr33zDec 21, 2010
A creepy, disgusting concept that shouldn't have made it into production. The plot and acting are horrendous, and once you actually see what happens to the girls and the asian guy, there's no reason to keep watching.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
CunningLinguistDec 22, 2010
There are some things that should not be made into movies; splicing people ass-to-mouth is one such thing. There is absolutely nothing interesting, thrilling, or remotely entertaining about this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
TheBeastReviewsApr 7, 2011
This movie is my **** nightmare! Do not watch this movie, spare yourselves from the mental scarring that this movie will inflict upon you. Ever since I have watched this movie I have not been able to get my full nights rest. The image of theThis movie is my **** nightmare! Do not watch this movie, spare yourselves from the mental scarring that this movie will inflict upon you. Ever since I have watched this movie I have not been able to get my full nights rest. The image of the human centipede was, and still is, stuck in my head. I seriously regret watching this movie. Please do yourselves a favour, and do not watch this movie. You will be thanking me for my advice for the rest of your lives. I wish I could invent a time machine to just erase the very thought of this movie from my head. I get the chills just thinking about the movie. Please, just don't watch this movie. I think I'm going to catch Hannah Montana from the Disney Channel. Have a nice day everyone. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
pamzitaJan 16, 2011
awfull disturbing horrible, the biggest crap i have ever seen in my whole life, the person that created this "work of art" must be sick, HAS to be sick...
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
CalamityCNov 27, 2011
This film shouldn't be categorized as a horror, there's nothing scary about it at all. The film's plot is so full of holes, and that "100% Medically Accurate" tag is a joke. If you want to keep your sanity, skip this film.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
asdfqMay 15, 2010
Probably the best horror film of all time, in that you don't even need to see it to have nightmares. Just reading the plot description was enough to give me nightmares, and put me off food for several days.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DaveMJun 14, 2010
Is this really what horror films have come to?
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JonnyBigBossJan 4, 2011
Run for the hills. Not only does this film cross foreseen boundaries, it fails to do it with any form of success. It's vile, full of boring dialogue, and a movie that should be skipped by even those who can stomach its atrocious premise.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
TexasPsychoOct 7, 2010
I love sick films, but this movie was just retarded. 100 % medically accurate? Really? Tom Six is known for a horrible film about gay guys, and I think 300 people saw that. So he decided to put his face on the map with this art-houseI love sick films, but this movie was just retarded. 100 % medically accurate? Really? Tom Six is known for a horrible film about gay guys, and I think 300 people saw that. So he decided to put his face on the map with this art-house crap, that isn't artistic, but it is crap. Feces, though fun to say, does not make a movie. It's not really graphic, it's not scary, it's not well-acted, and it really isn't that disturbing. The idea of it is, but it's just another way to kill people. In reality, parts b and c wouldn't last more than a day or two. If that... wow. What a sh!t film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
OptixalNov 1, 2012
Could not bear to watch, scarred the surface of my brain. Gross and gruesome, not for the faint-hearted. Giving a 2 out of 10 for score is dedicated to Dieter Laser, playing the role of the sadistic character, Dr. Josef Heiter.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
lilkillpappyJan 16, 2011
This movie could have been a 10, but since the doctor gets off with a painless death I must say its the biggest pile of crap ever made. I hate Tom Six!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MikeODec 3, 2010
After hearing about how sick and disturbing movie this is I was severely let down. This is only disturbing to those who mostly watch Pixar animations, if you've ever seen a properly disgusting cat III flick where everything is shown inAfter hearing about how sick and disturbing movie this is I was severely let down. This is only disturbing to those who mostly watch Pixar animations, if you've ever seen a properly disgusting cat III flick where everything is shown in gruesome detail this movie will only anger you. Acting is surprisingly not painful to watch, direction & other technical aspects are fine for a horror flick. Too bad the horror itself, which is supposed to be the main thing here, is severely lacking. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
TheRedPikminOct 16, 2010
Oh dear. What a mess of a film, in so many ways. The only reason I've given it a 1/10 is because maybe, just maybe, a very forgiving fan of the Saw movies could derive some entertainment from this. Otherwise, in terms of acting, narrative,Oh dear. What a mess of a film, in so many ways. The only reason I've given it a 1/10 is because maybe, just maybe, a very forgiving fan of the Saw movies could derive some entertainment from this. Otherwise, in terms of acting, narrative, psychological intensity, inventiveness, and just about every other aspect of the film, it is a failure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
olegregJul 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That movie was insane. It was kind of funny when the Asian guy had to take a **** I hated the ending. I didn't really like the movie. I'd like those hours of my life back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MichaeIDec 27, 2013
Just terrible. Boring and disgusting. Pointless. The most horrifying thing about this film (terrible acting aside) is the fact that someone actually came up with this ridiculous concept.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SuperTakashiiMay 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is poor. The original idea is the only thing holding it up, and if that isn't making you vomit, which it really isn't for most people, then there's just nothing here. As a movie, this is poor. Characters do not get much more shallow than this. You have the blonde bimbos, the crazy scientist and the random asian guy. After the first twenty minutes you begin to realise this movie has no idea what to do with the idea it has, and instead of giving a plotline, the human centipede meanders around aimlessly for half an hour before a bold escape scene. That's it. That's all there is. That is The Human Centipede.

That's not a good movie guys, no matter how much it made you puke. There's nothing here.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jarcJan 23, 2012
Probably the most disturbing, repulsive, stomach churning film I have ever seen. Truly horrific but done simply for the gag effect. The actor who portrayed the "doctor" was pretty good but the other actors were terrible. Characters didProbably the most disturbing, repulsive, stomach churning film I have ever seen. Truly horrific but done simply for the gag effect. The actor who portrayed the "doctor" was pretty good but the other actors were terrible. Characters did unbelievably stupid things. It was just too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
drlowdonFeb 19, 2014
Truth be told I've only actually seen about five minutes of this movie whilst flicking through the movie channels late one night but can anybody tell me how this can in anyway be considered entertainment? Gory horror is one thing (I'm not aTruth be told I've only actually seen about five minutes of this movie whilst flicking through the movie channels late one night but can anybody tell me how this can in anyway be considered entertainment? Gory horror is one thing (I'm not a fan personally) but The Human Centipede takes things to a whole new level.

I'm not quite sure how anyone could look at the plot for this movie and still want to see.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
This is easily the worst movie ever made. From the start, you regret watching this cinematic abortion. The image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing thing you will ever see. Watching this movie makes you wonder if there isThis is easily the worst movie ever made. From the start, you regret watching this cinematic abortion. The image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing thing you will ever see. Watching this movie makes you wonder if there is hope for humanity in the future. It makes you wonder if there is hope for the horror genre in the future, or if everything else will just be pieces of **** like this horrible film. This film (I don't even want to call it a film) goes beyond the so bad you want to see it. This is a film so bad that after watching it you want to wash your eyes out with vinegar. It goes beyond torture porn films such as Saw, and creates its own genre. Films this bad will now be known as Human Centipede's. Also, it should have had an NC-17 rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
snowman4839Jan 2, 2012
This movie was just terrible. It just has so many things where you ask why the heck is the happening? I mean. I guess the moral of the story is LEARN TO CHANGE A TIRE. or... DON'T DRINK THINGS GIVEN TO YOU BY CREEPY OLD MEN. It lost it'sThis movie was just terrible. It just has so many things where you ask why the heck is the happening? I mean. I guess the moral of the story is LEARN TO CHANGE A TIRE. or... DON'T DRINK THINGS GIVEN TO YOU BY CREEPY OLD MEN. It lost it's shock value halfway through the movie. It begs the question why they didn't try to separate themselves. I can't believe this was actually made into a full movie and it's just laughable at best. 0/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AdamJFeb 1, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's been a lot of interest in this film since it was released. Not to do with the actors, the acting, the acclaim or the director, but because of the gross subject matter. This film will disgust you. It's not completely bad; the scene where the Japanese guy has a moment of meta-awareness and existentialism is almost a good scene. Almost.

The film itself is filled with hammy acting, the likes of which you've probably never seen. not to be too harsh, but I doubt anyone attached to this is going to go one to have a stellar acting career. Like the original Saw idea, the whole film is based around a simple premise, the Saw's case, how to constraint a budget by keeping two people in a room for the majority of the film. Unlike Saw, you never really engage in the film in the same way, mainly due to the aforementioned acting.

Maybe one day this film will be seen as a B Movie classic. but not yet. Expand

0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Dec 27, 2013
The most disgusting vomiting trash I have ever seen. It's barely watchable and the image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing images in any movie. It's a sick film by a sick director. Make sure you bring a barf bag to thisThe most disgusting vomiting trash I have ever seen. It's barely watchable and the image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing images in any movie. It's a sick film by a sick director. Make sure you bring a barf bag to this nauseating so called horror film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Jan 5, 2014
My head hurts, my mind feels violated, and my eyes are damaged after watching this absolute mess of a film. Painfully boring and unimaginably disgusting. The real sicko is not the guy in the film, but whoever decided this story should be putMy head hurts, my mind feels violated, and my eyes are damaged after watching this absolute mess of a film. Painfully boring and unimaginably disgusting. The real sicko is not the guy in the film, but whoever decided this story should be put to cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AndeePApr 7, 2012
There is nothing good about this film. Director Six claims that his movie is 100% scientifically accurate, but this could not be further from the truth. Incredibly gory, bad and stupid acting, and loaded with movie mistakes, this is by farThere is nothing good about this film. Director Six claims that his movie is 100% scientifically accurate, but this could not be further from the truth. Incredibly gory, bad and stupid acting, and loaded with movie mistakes, this is by far the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PennyApr 16, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I want my life back. I now cannot hear the word centipede without remembering this atrocity of a movie. I think I abused someone about this on another website's comment section just for making a centipede remark that had nothing to do with this movie. I was as disbelieving as the characters as to what was going on until the first time the front guy took his first long call. Yes I said it, the one you take after that first cup of coffee in the morning. If do not want to feel violated psychologically, please spare yourself and don't watch this sick s**t. I give it a 1 coz I hear there is a Human Centipede 2 out there so I'll probably need room for a lesser review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
OfficialNov 3, 2013
Terrible. Disgusting. Ridiculous. Those are the first three words that comes to mind. "The Human Centipede (First Sequence)", directed by Tom Six, is a sick-minded mess. This is an example on how not to make a film. And the worst part is, byTerrible. Disgusting. Ridiculous. Those are the first three words that comes to mind. "The Human Centipede (First Sequence)", directed by Tom Six, is a sick-minded mess. This is an example on how not to make a film. And the worst part is, by looking at the title, I have a feeling that a sequel is yet to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RikiegeNov 14, 2012
A totally disgusting movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
worleyjamersFeb 24, 2013
I was curious about this film and so I gave it a shot. That's really the only reason I'd recommend it to anyone. Besides an intriguing and grotesque concept, the acting is dreadful, the writing is weak, and nothing happens except naked peopleI was curious about this film and so I gave it a shot. That's really the only reason I'd recommend it to anyone. Besides an intriguing and grotesque concept, the acting is dreadful, the writing is weak, and nothing happens except naked people screaming and crying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
bmaster4616May 21, 2015
Is there a rating for -10. Only movie to warrant a zero. This however managed to do that and isn't only disturbing. It poses a questions. How **** up do you have to be to like this movie let alone make it. Also it poses that "humans are moreIs there a rating for -10. Only movie to warrant a zero. This however managed to do that and isn't only disturbing. It poses a questions. How **** up do you have to be to like this movie let alone make it. Also it poses that "humans are more **** up than I thought" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MovieGuysAug 9, 2014
The Human Centipede (First Sequence) is so grotesque and exploitive that you feel like you have to take a shower after watching it. Although this is the point of the movie, it doesn't try to connect its disturbing ideas to the real world inThe Human Centipede (First Sequence) is so grotesque and exploitive that you feel like you have to take a shower after watching it. Although this is the point of the movie, it doesn't try to connect its disturbing ideas to the real world in any way, which would've made the movie work. Instead, it relies on shock value to make it good. It tries to scream "cult classic", but it will never get there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
If you are deciding whether or not to watch it, don't watch it. While not as gruesome as I thought it would be, proves that a plot based off one gross-out idea can get tedious. Earns it's points for acting. Also, I won't be going to GermanyIf you are deciding whether or not to watch it, don't watch it. While not as gruesome as I thought it would be, proves that a plot based off one gross-out idea can get tedious. Earns it's points for acting. Also, I won't be going to Germany any time soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
thewonnahMay 23, 2015
This movie hols no entertain value whatsoever.
The acting is bad
The gore is not here This isn't shocking the plot sucks. I am able to find redeeming qualities in bad movies like twilight and worse even, but this is something you don't
This movie hols no entertain value whatsoever.
The acting is bad
The gore is not here
This isn't shocking
the plot sucks.

I am able to find redeeming qualities in bad movies like twilight and worse even, but this is something you don't need to watch. Except if you are drunk with friends, maybe
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
davidscp22May 23, 2015
Nothing positive in this "The Human Centipede", bad story, bad acting. It's a waste of time watch this film. This shouldn't be classified as Horror, there's nothing of horror in it. It's a very disgusting film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JumpmanJan 6, 2016
If this is considered the best of the trilogy i cannot imagine how terrible the other two can be. It is not bad because of the gore scenes, i wish in fact it was somewhat shocking but it was boring as hell
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews