User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 154
  2. Negative: 66 out of 154

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    0
    This movie is my **** nightmare! Do not watch this movie, spare yourselves from the mental scarring that this movie will inflict upon you. Ever since I have watched this movie I have not been able to get my full nights rest. The image of the human centipede was, and still is, stuck in my head. I seriously regret watching this movie. Please do yourselves a favour, and do not watch this movie. You will be thanking me for my advice for the rest of your lives. I wish I could invent a time machine to just erase the very thought of this movie from my head. I get the chills just thinking about the movie. Please, just don't watch this movie. I think I'm going to catch Hannah Montana from the Disney Channel. Have a nice day everyone. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    0
    This film shouldn't be categorized as a horror, there's nothing scary about it at all. The film's plot is so full of holes, and that "100% Medically Accurate" tag is a joke. If you want to keep your sanity, skip this film.
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    0
    Run for the hills. Not only does this film cross foreseen boundaries, it fails to do it with any form of success. It's vile, full of boring dialogue, and a movie that should be skipped by even those who can stomach its atrocious premise.
  4. Oct 7, 2010
    0
    I love sick films, but this movie was just retarded. 100 % medically accurate? Really? Tom Six is known for a horrible film about gay guys, and I think 300 people saw that. So he decided to put his face on the map with this art-house crap, that isn't artistic, but it is crap. Feces, though fun to say, does not make a movie. It's not really graphic, it's not scary, it's not well-acted, and it really isn't that disturbing. The idea of it is, but it's just another way to kill people. In reality, parts b and c wouldn't last more than a day or two. If that... wow. What a sh!t film. Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    awfull disturbing horrible, the biggest crap i have ever seen in my whole life, the person that created this "work of art" must be sick, HAS to be sick...
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    There are certain horror movies that are gross and that is their general appeal. Some horror movies attempt to be original and that is their general appeal. The Human Centipede's appeal? Well it attempts to try to mix these together, but the lack of substance already puts it below what you would normally expect. In addition though, the Human Centipede is a sick and disturbing movie that has no general appeal in its story, and absolutely no substance. The graphic content alone makes the movie nearly unwatchable, but the rest of the movie is just as painful. From laughable dialogue and situations, acting, and a bland mood that doesn't make the movie more exciting or scary. The Human Centipede: First Sequence is just a sick, horrendous movie that no one should watch. From a film and general perspective, this movie is abysmal. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    2
    Could not bear to watch, scarred the surface of my brain. Gross and gruesome, not for the faint-hearted. Giving a 2 out of 10 for score is dedicated to Dieter Laser, playing the role of the sadistic character, Dr. Josef Heiter.
  8. Oct 25, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's certainly not boring, and it was fun seeing exactly how the doctor would get the people into the configuration, but after that, it's pretty darned gross. When he urges the front guy to "eat, eat", so he can get the whole process going, I came about as close as I've ever come to dry heaving in a movie. So yeah, I'm glad I saw what all the fuss is about. But I can now see why Roger Ebert didn't want to give it a star rating. It's really pointless to do so. But I have seen worse! Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2010
    0
    A creepy, disgusting concept that shouldn't have made it into production. The plot and acting are horrendous, and once you actually see what happens to the girls and the asian guy, there's no reason to keep watching.
  10. Oct 16, 2010
    1
    Oh dear. What a mess of a film, in so many ways. The only reason I've given it a 1/10 is because maybe, just maybe, a very forgiving fan of the Saw movies could derive some entertainment from this. Otherwise, in terms of acting, narrative, psychological intensity, inventiveness, and just about every other aspect of the film, it is a failure.
  11. Sep 10, 2010
    4
    Hahahaha! I watched the first 20 minutes of this then was on first forward through the rest of it. I honestly do not think I've seen anything more bizarre than this throughout the year. It was truly revolting but the only reason I haven't given it 0 is because I think there is something to the underlying story. As it is, it drags itself from minute to minute with lousy dialogue and some really bad acting. With some tweaks here and there it could be a decent horror movie. In its current I'd recommend staying away from it. Expand
  12. Dec 22, 2010
    2
    There are some things that should not be made into movies; splicing people ass-to-mouth is one such thing. There is absolutely nothing interesting, thrilling, or remotely entertaining about this film.
  13. Jul 31, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That movie was insane. It was kind of funny when the Asian guy had to take a **** I hated the ending. I didn't really like the movie. I'd like those hours of my life back. Expand
  14. Oct 14, 2010
    4
    I'm not gonna follow the trend of these reviews and say that this is a horrible horror movie. It actually isn't, it just suffers from a bad use of its budget, which is a shame, because the idea of a, "Human Centipede," is just the disgustingly nasty thing the horror genre needs. The story basically follows a crazy ex-surgeon in Europe who kidnaps two American female tourists and some Japanese guy. You can pretty much tell what is gonna happen to them just by looking at the title, and yeah, he does turn the three people into a human centipede. And yeah, it is pretty effing nasty, and you might gag more than once. Without going into too much detail, I'll just say that they are fused from mouth to rear end, so going number 2 isn't pleasant but quite graphic (Yeah, they show it, and that is one of the nastiest parts of the whole movie.) but the fact that this movie does something any other horror film hasn't shows that it is unique. And unique is something much-needed with all these crappy horror flicks managing to crawl out of the Sci-Fi channel and onto the store shelves where they suffocate the stuff that is managing to separate itself from the group. I'm actually not gonna recommend this movie to anyone, but if you are willing to manage through some sick stuff then I guess this is worth a shot. Otherwise, just stay in your safe cubby-hole and don't try anything new, that's what you have been taught. Expand
  15. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    This movie could have been a 10, but since the doctor gets off with a painless death I must say its the biggest pile of crap ever made. I hate Tom Six!!!!
  16. Dec 3, 2010
    3
    After hearing about how sick and disturbing movie this is I was severely let down. This is only disturbing to those who mostly watch Pixar animations, if you've ever seen a properly disgusting cat III flick where everything is shown in gruesome detail this movie will only anger you. Acting is surprisingly not painful to watch, direction & other technical aspects are fine for a horror flick. Too bad the horror itself, which is supposed to be the main thing here, is severely lacking. Expand
  17. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Just terrible. Boring and disgusting. Pointless. The most horrifying thing about this film (terrible acting aside) is the fact that someone actually came up with this ridiculous concept.
  18. May 31, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is poor. The original idea is the only thing holding it up, and if that isn't making you vomit, which it really isn't for most people, then there's just nothing here. As a movie, this is poor. Characters do not get much more shallow than this. You have the blonde bimbos, the crazy scientist and the random asian guy. After the first twenty minutes you begin to realise this movie has no idea what to do with the idea it has, and instead of giving a plotline, the human centipede meanders around aimlessly for half an hour before a bold escape scene. That's it. That's all there is. That is The Human Centipede.

    That's not a good movie guys, no matter how much it made you puke. There's nothing here.
    Expand
  19. Jan 23, 2012
    3
    Probably the most disturbing, repulsive, stomach churning film I have ever seen. Truly horrific but done simply for the gag effect. The actor who portrayed the "doctor" was pretty good but the other actors were terrible. Characters did unbelievably stupid things. It was just too much.
  20. Feb 19, 2014
    0
    Truth be told I've only actually seen about five minutes of this movie whilst flicking through the movie channels late one night but can anybody tell me how this can in anyway be considered entertainment? Gory horror is one thing (I'm not a fan personally) but The Human Centipede takes things to a whole new level.

    I'm not quite sure how anyone could look at the plot for this movie and
    still want to see. Expand
  21. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    This is easily the worst movie ever made. From the start, you regret watching this cinematic abortion. The image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing thing you will ever see. Watching this movie makes you wonder if there is hope for humanity in the future. It makes you wonder if there is hope for the horror genre in the future, or if everything else will just be pieces of **** like this horrible film. This film (I don't even want to call it a film) goes beyond the so bad you want to see it. This is a film so bad that after watching it you want to wash your eyes out with vinegar. It goes beyond torture porn films such as Saw, and creates its own genre. Films this bad will now be known as Human Centipede's. Also, it should have had an NC-17 rating. Expand
  22. Jan 2, 2012
    0
    This movie was just terrible. It just has so many things where you ask why the heck is the happening? I mean. I guess the moral of the story is LEARN TO CHANGE A TIRE. or... DON'T DRINK THINGS GIVEN TO YOU BY CREEPY OLD MEN. It lost it's shock value halfway through the movie. It begs the question why they didn't try to separate themselves. I can't believe this was actually made into a full movie and it's just laughable at best. 0/10 Expand
  23. Feb 1, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's been a lot of interest in this film since it was released. Not to do with the actors, the acting, the acclaim or the director, but because of the gross subject matter. This film will disgust you. It's not completely bad; the scene where the Japanese guy has a moment of meta-awareness and existentialism is almost a good scene. Almost.

    The film itself is filled with hammy acting, the likes of which you've probably never seen. not to be too harsh, but I doubt anyone attached to this is going to go one to have a stellar acting career. Like the original Saw idea, the whole film is based around a simple premise, the Saw's case, how to constraint a budget by keeping two people in a room for the majority of the film. Unlike Saw, you never really engage in the film in the same way, mainly due to the aforementioned acting.

    Maybe one day this film will be seen as a B Movie classic. but not yet. Expand

  24. Dec 27, 2013
    1
    The most disgusting vomiting trash I have ever seen. It's barely watchable and the image of the human centipede is one of the most disturbing images in any movie. It's a sick film by a sick director. Make sure you bring a barf bag to this nauseating so called horror film.
  25. Jan 5, 2014
    1
    My head hurts, my mind feels violated, and my eyes are damaged after watching this absolute mess of a film. Painfully boring and unimaginably disgusting. The real sicko is not the guy in the film, but whoever decided this story should be put to cinema.
  26. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    After what I heard I was expecting something worse than Two girls One Cup but what I got was 3 people crying and a German dude shouting for an hour and a half. The film has a grossly inspiring story (if a bit crap). Dr Heiter is an ex surgeon who decides to kidnap 3 tourists and connect them together mouth to anus to form the human centipede. A simple concept, well filmed but poorly executed at times, puts more emphasis on trying to shock than being an entertaining experience. Expand
  27. Apr 7, 2012
    1
    There is nothing good about this film. Director Six claims that his movie is 100% scientifically accurate, but this could not be further from the truth. Incredibly gory, bad and stupid acting, and loaded with movie mistakes, this is by far the worst movie I have ever seen in my life.
  28. Apr 16, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I want my life back. I now cannot hear the word centipede without remembering this atrocity of a movie. I think I abused someone about this on another website's comment section just for making a centipede remark that had nothing to do with this movie. I was as disbelieving as the characters as to what was going on until the first time the front guy took his first long call. Yes I said it, the one you take after that first cup of coffee in the morning. If do not want to feel violated psychologically, please spare yourself and don't watch this sick s**t. I give it a 1 coz I hear there is a Human Centipede 2 out there so I'll probably need room for a lesser review. Expand
  29. Nov 3, 2013
    3
    Terrible. Disgusting. Ridiculous. Those are the first three words that comes to mind. "The Human Centipede (First Sequence)", directed by Tom Six, is a sick-minded mess. This is an example on how not to make a film. And the worst part is, by looking at the title, I have a feeling that a sequel is yet to come.
  30. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    A totally disgusting movie.
  31. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    I was curious about this film and so I gave it a shot. That's really the only reason I'd recommend it to anyone. Besides an intriguing and grotesque concept, the acting is dreadful, the writing is weak, and nothing happens except naked people screaming and crying.
  32. Aug 9, 2014
    2
    The Human Centipede (First Sequence) is so grotesque and exploitive that you feel like you have to take a shower after watching it. Although this is the point of the movie, it doesn't try to connect its disturbing ideas to the real world in any way, which would've made the movie work. Instead, it relies on shock value to make it good. It tries to scream "cult classic", but it will never get there. Expand
  33. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    If you are deciding whether or not to watch it, don't watch it. While not as gruesome as I thought it would be, proves that a plot based off one gross-out idea can get tedious. Earns it's points for acting. Also, I won't be going to Germany any time soon.
  34. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    It does its job at shocking the audience extremely well, going for a dark approach rather than just torture porn. It even has some legitimate tension. However, it's not enjoyable in the slightest in the way some exploitation films are.
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 8 out of 15
  1. More of a stunt than a script, The Human Centipede (First Sequence) should get a modest amount of I-dare-you ticket sales, but it's about as mass market as a dogfight.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter DeBruge
    20
    Only real payoff is seeing the monstrosity assembled, and though that will surely earn the Dutch writer-director a cult reputation on the genre circuit, "going there" does not a movie make.
  3. The movie stinks to heaven.