Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: July 12, 2013
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 192 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
177
Mixed:
12
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BrianMcCriticDec 21, 2013
This is one of the best films of 2013. Mads Mikkelsen gives an amazing performance worthy of an Oscar nomination. I can't say I'd want to watch it again, but this film is deeply powerful. A
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
nutterjrAug 16, 2013
A film hard to watch because it unravels how ephemeral everything around us is, how ones life can turn upside down in a blink of an eye and become the victim of a modern day witch hunt by being pronounced guilty before having a chance toA film hard to watch because it unravels how ephemeral everything around us is, how ones life can turn upside down in a blink of an eye and become the victim of a modern day witch hunt by being pronounced guilty before having a chance to prove their innocence. Mads Mikkelsen is truly outstanding in his portrayal of the hunted in a restrained and expressive performance and together with the assured direction of Vinterberg comes a film not easily forgotten. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Friskytiger81Jul 24, 2013
Wow! Very difficult subject matter handled expertly by "The Celebration" director, Thomas Vinterberg, again showing his talent for getting incredible performances. The script is well-written and everything is believable in its detail andWow! Very difficult subject matter handled expertly by "The Celebration" director, Thomas Vinterberg, again showing his talent for getting incredible performances. The script is well-written and everything is believable in its detail and complexity. Mads Mikkelsen is quickly becoming one of the world's best actors and this film is certainly one of the must-sees of the year. I do not give out many tens, but this earned it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
foxgroveJul 12, 2013
Difficult subject matter is subtly and convincingly handled by director Thomas Vinterberg. Mads Mikkelsen is outstanding as the persecuted innocent, His quiet desperation ultimately turning into uncontrollable rage is truly rousing. TheDifficult subject matter is subtly and convincingly handled by director Thomas Vinterberg. Mads Mikkelsen is outstanding as the persecuted innocent, His quiet desperation ultimately turning into uncontrollable rage is truly rousing. The ending whilst ambiguous is not unsatisfying. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MariaGalAug 22, 2013
The movie was astonishing! I really loved it. It was so realistic and so true and ''raw'' showing the reactions of the people's Dutch town. How easy is to judge and behave foolishly, without even bothering checking both sides. The elevationThe movie was astonishing! I really loved it. It was so realistic and so true and ''raw'' showing the reactions of the people's Dutch town. How easy is to judge and behave foolishly, without even bothering checking both sides. The elevation of the film was marvelous and Mads Mikkelsen just perfect! Hes is unbelievably talented and amazing on any film he participated. This is definitely a movie you must watch Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jeremypDec 18, 2013
A taut tale of a rush to judgement. A little girl's fantasy is turned into fact and fast friends turn into fast foes. We've seen this story before. Meager evidence is turned into hysterical reality, and no-one questions the messenger and herA taut tale of a rush to judgement. A little girl's fantasy is turned into fact and fast friends turn into fast foes. We've seen this story before. Meager evidence is turned into hysterical reality, and no-one questions the messenger and her attempts to change course are ignored. Mads (the face) Mikkelsen is wonderful as the innocent accused in the village of the happy Danes that turns into the Village of the Damned. The only question is how will it end, and here the movie makes a big mistake by veering from authentic tale to fantasy, from horror story to amnesiacs united. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LynFeb 20, 2014
One reviewer notes that for some, this film "may prove stressful." More like excruciating, I would say! But a worthwhile experience if you appreciate challenging films. The lead actor's performance is riveting, frustrating, heartbreaking. IOne reviewer notes that for some, this film "may prove stressful." More like excruciating, I would say! But a worthwhile experience if you appreciate challenging films. The lead actor's performance is riveting, frustrating, heartbreaking. I have no idea how often a child's claim of this type of abuse turns out to be false, but the film makes an interesting case for how this seemingly impossible thing could happen. Also interesting is the fact that after "The Celebration," his earlier film that explores some similar issues in a scathing way, the director this time narrows his focus to the accused. Great filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryAug 19, 2013
Mads Mikkelsen plays a kindergarten teacher who's wrongfully accused of inappropriate action with one of the children. This causes the majority of the small Swedish village to turn viciously against him. This film is stark and bleak (it is,Mads Mikkelsen plays a kindergarten teacher who's wrongfully accused of inappropriate action with one of the children. This causes the majority of the small Swedish village to turn viciously against him. This film is stark and bleak (it is, after all Sweden). There's almost no music or manipulative filmmaking by director Thomas Vinterberg ("Celebration"). Still, it packs a powerful punch. Obviously, the subject matter adds to the gravity of the film, but Mikkelsen's subtle, sensitive portrayal lends quiet depth and powerful emotion. (subtitles) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JalemanyDec 11, 2014
Very powerful film. Tremendous pace and suspense. Fantastic acting, so subtle, so good. Thomas Vinterberg and all the cast do an awesome job with this film. Congratulations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
netflicJul 23, 2013
How easy can your life and reputation be destroyed? Easy, and fast. Especially if you work around little kids. From a popular guy with many friends the main character Lukas becomes an outcast, a pariah. Trying to protect little kids fromHow easy can your life and reputation be destroyed? Easy, and fast. Especially if you work around little kids. From a popular guy with many friends the main character Lukas becomes an outcast, a pariah. Trying to protect little kids from child abuse we are prone to believe anything they say.
This movie is a Danish film about a pre-school teacher who is falsely accused based on his best friend's daughter's remark.
The worst part of the situation is that once a reputation is marred it will never be the same. People do not forget and do not forgive even if you are innocent...
I find the movie excellent but the ending brilliant. No wonder Mads Mikkelsen who plays Lukas won he Best Actor Award at the 2012 Cannes Film Festival.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
duncan1964Apr 17, 2015
The story of a quiet man, working in a school, who is falsely accused of abusing children doesn't sound like thrilling watch, but in the hands of Thomas Vinterberg this is an absorbing and unsettling film, with a towering performance fromThe story of a quiet man, working in a school, who is falsely accused of abusing children doesn't sound like thrilling watch, but in the hands of Thomas Vinterberg this is an absorbing and unsettling film, with a towering performance from Mads Mikkleson at the centre. If this was a Hollywood film you can imagine how exploitative it could have been, but what we have here is a quietly devastating drama that will stay with you for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AndrouMar 6, 2014
THIS MOVIE WOULD HAVE GOTTEN A 10, if not for it ending. Really, the idea is incredible, the acting is awesome, but in the end, is just a sadic experience. I did not like suffering for 2 hours and not get a good ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeDec 14, 2013
One of the best movies of the year. The direction, acting and screenplay are superb. There are times the moive is hard to watch but you still are riveted to the screen. Loved the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 15, 2015
I cannot explain how much this movie pissed me off. From the baseless accusation to the brainwashed belief of clearly unfounded lies to the way he is treated in the aftermath is just so aggravating. In this way, the film is brilliant. I hadI cannot explain how much this movie pissed me off. From the baseless accusation to the brainwashed belief of clearly unfounded lies to the way he is treated in the aftermath is just so aggravating. In this way, the film is brilliant. I had to pause many a time to just try and collect myself a bit and not punch my computer screen. Mads Mikkelsen is absolutely stunning in this film and turns in a terrifically believable and authentic performance as the accused teacher. The film does a great job portraying the hysteria that surrounds an accusation of this magnitude and the resulting anger and confusion. The cinematography is absolutely breathtaking at times and the direction from Thomas Vinterberg is fantastic. Overall, The Hunt is a great film that may move slow at times, but really sucks you in and makes you feel something for the protagonist as you watch this injustice take place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Nov 27, 2016
Starting from an interesting premise, The Hunt, it manages to surprise and attract attention with its history, very well designed characters and a great outcome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Nesbitt10Dec 12, 2013
Back in 1998, Danish filmmaker Thomas Vinterberg shook up the cinematic establishment with "The Celebration," a devastatingly powerful debut which explores shocking revelations and the power of a lie, and the incalculable, irreparable damageBack in 1998, Danish filmmaker Thomas Vinterberg shook up the cinematic establishment with "The Celebration," a devastatingly powerful debut which explores shocking revelations and the power of a lie, and the incalculable, irreparable damage it can cause. Fourteen years later, Vinterberg returns with "The Hunt," which shares many similarities with its celebrated predecessor, and it has received high praise at both the Cannes and London film festivals. "The Hunt," a Palme d'Or nominee, revisits familiar ground, where Vinterberg continues to fan the flames of social unrest in a far more conventional manner.

Lucas (Mads Mikkelsen) is a kindergarten teacher in a small, hunting village in Denmark, who is recovering from a painful divorce and working to receive greater custody of his teenage son. He is best friends with the couple that lives next door, Theo and Agnes (Larsen and Hassing), and has a fond relationship with their daughter Klara (Wedderkopp), who is also one of his young pupils. One day, the young girl says some odd things which imply that Lucas is a sexual predator. Suddenly, the town closes ranks against him, and everyone assumes that children don't lie about such things. Klara, though she tries, is unable to take back her words.

It’s a childlike act of revenge orchestrated by a little girl who doesn't know any better, and who is trying to avoid further embarrassment or torment. However, the narrative of the story is driven by the adults of this small town. Quickly shunned by a community that once welcomed him, Lucas is left to absorb the nightmare alone, finding even his closest companions unsure of his innocence.

Vinterberg maintains a human focus to the story, emphasizing strained relationships and universal suspicion, while capturing the essence of despair as the characters struggle to make sense out of a confusing and volatile situation. "The Hunt” is unsettling and enraging to watch because of Lindholm’s forceful script and the incredibly vivid performances, most notably Mikkelsen’s sensational performance as the condemned man. The film's premise isn't anything particularly new, however, Mikkelsen's powerful performance creates a strong sense of empathy for Lucas which transcends this engrossing nightmare, where simply surviving doesn't mean your days as a target are over.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
theseparatorDec 30, 2013
Thomas Vinterberg- This film dredges up the "other side" of sexual abuse accusations, a much needed discourse that we all choose to ignore. This is what can happen when our rampant paranoia that every man over the age of 15 is a pedophile.Thomas Vinterberg- This film dredges up the "other side" of sexual abuse accusations, a much needed discourse that we all choose to ignore. This is what can happen when our rampant paranoia that every man over the age of 15 is a pedophile. How many innocent men have paid a price, but committed no crime? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mikemcnerneyOct 17, 2013
I would like to know what Vinterberg knows how an investigation like this proceeds. Because the guy who came in to quiz the little girl, did he even introduce himself, did it al wrong. He really led her in a certain direction. Now ifI would like to know what Vinterberg knows how an investigation like this proceeds. Because the guy who came in to quiz the little girl, did he even introduce himself, did it al wrong. He really led her in a certain direction. Now if Vinterberg consciously knows how a proper interview of a 5/6 year old should be done, and he chose to have him screw it up, then OK. Otherwise that part was not handled right, meaning inaccurate script.
After that I thought everything was realistic & believable & very well done. These days in my book great acting is pretty well a given. The lead character was excellent.
I also had trouble with the ending. It was going great, he helps the little girl get across the lines in the floor,
beautiful. But the last scene when he is shot at. I actually thought it was kind of Hollywood.
It's not the celebration but still well worth seeing
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
asdfghjkl123Nov 15, 2013
.................................................................................................Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!............................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sad0mas0ch1smDec 27, 2013
In one word: obsessive. Oustanding performance from Mads Mikkelsen put Jagten to the highest stage. One of the best for sure, but not the type for everybody to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
claudiuanophelFeb 23, 2014
Mads Mikkelsen gives one of the best performance of this controversial subject. This story shows in a subtle way how people's mentality can be changed so easily by an insignificant word. It's a hyper realistic approach to a lot of aspects ofMads Mikkelsen gives one of the best performance of this controversial subject. This story shows in a subtle way how people's mentality can be changed so easily by an insignificant word. It's a hyper realistic approach to a lot of aspects of life. In my opinion, it was a brilliant idea to create the martyr-protagonist, the one who shake once again the hands that once had punched him. He shows the courage to live in a society where the equilibrium is shattered even when an apparently peace is restored. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Scott27Feb 22, 2014
Great film with some great acting and a satisfying ending. Worth the time and won't let you down, a movie that drags you in and keeps you there until the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TommyxuMar 16, 2014
One of the best movies of last year. Enjoying the acting while suffering from the plot. The performance made by Mads Mikkelsen was simply just amazing. He didn't really left much impression in the 007 movie, but he sure has got my attentionOne of the best movies of last year. Enjoying the acting while suffering from the plot. The performance made by Mads Mikkelsen was simply just amazing. He didn't really left much impression in the 007 movie, but he sure has got my attention from now on!!!看这片痛苦并且快乐着 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Sharu143May 27, 2014
Very deep movie.i couldn't control my tears!May be this is the only one movie I cried so much after long time!As my child is in kinder and that thought ,what if it is true?I was patiently waiting to see the ending.is it going to continue asVery deep movie.i couldn't control my tears!May be this is the only one movie I cried so much after long time!As my child is in kinder and that thought ,what if it is true?I was patiently waiting to see the ending.is it going to continue as part 2?Who tried to shoot the hero of the movie in the end?!Who killed the dog?Who threw the stones on the window?Whats the story about Khlara's older brother?He was looking so suspicious?!Madds and even the little girl acted so well.Beauty of this movie is,it will drag you completely into it until the end but you will not dare to watch it again!The lesson I learnt from this movie is,not to jump into conclusion without knowing what exactly happened! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ParsaSadriMar 5, 2015
A flawless movie with excellent acting by everyone, excellent directing, excellent writing, excellent character development, strong realistic dialogue, some characters that I liked 10 out of 10 and definitely a lot of characters that I hatedA flawless movie with excellent acting by everyone, excellent directing, excellent writing, excellent character development, strong realistic dialogue, some characters that I liked 10 out of 10 and definitely a lot of characters that I hated 10 out of 10. A flawless movie that definitely deserves to be in my top 15 movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VzhikFeb 10, 2016
Очень хороший фильм. Неспешный и грустный. Про людские жизни и истории. Смотреть одному и в темноте.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pdw123Sep 19, 2016
Although the production values seemed a bit melodramatic and soap opera-ish (a trademark of Swedish/Danish cinema which had the great Bergman who started in TV dramas certainly), this is a must-see story (and based on a collage of newsAlthough the production values seemed a bit melodramatic and soap opera-ish (a trademark of Swedish/Danish cinema which had the great Bergman who started in TV dramas certainly), this is a must-see story (and based on a collage of news columns) about how GOSSIP can go so awry in a small school setting, and by folks who are obviously supposed to be professionals, BUT who ACT like the little kids they are supposed to be supervising...and another 2014 AA nominee that probably got snubbed. For another great American film about GOSSIP, I also highly recommend "DOUBT" with the late great Philip Hoffman, but also Amy Adams and Meryl Streep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews