User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 130

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best films of 2013. Mads Mikkelsen gives an amazing performance worthy of an Oscar nomination. I can't say I'd want to watch it again, but this film is deeply powerful. A
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Wow! Very difficult subject matter handled expertly by "The Celebration" director, Thomas Vinterberg, again showing his talent for getting incredible performances. The script is well-written and everything is believable in its detail and complexity. Mads Mikkelsen is quickly becoming one of the world's best actors and this film is certainly one of the must-sees of the year. I do not give out many tens, but this earned it. Collapse
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Difficult subject matter is subtly and convincingly handled by director Thomas Vinterberg. Mads Mikkelsen is outstanding as the persecuted innocent, His quiet desperation ultimately turning into uncontrollable rage is truly rousing. The ending whilst ambiguous is not unsatisfying.
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    The movie was astonishing! I really loved it. It was so realistic and so true and ''raw'' showing the reactions of the people's Dutch town. How easy is to judge and behave foolishly, without even bothering checking both sides. The elevation of the film was marvelous and Mads Mikkelsen just perfect! Hes is unbelievably talented and amazing on any film he participated. This is definitely a movie you must watch Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    If you want to see an actor doing his job as well as you've ever seen, you must see this movie. However, if you want to see a good film that amuse you for nearly a couple of hours, you'd better think twice in double-clicking in that one... For me, the worst film i have seen since i saw 'To the wonder'. 1h 40 minutes to tell you not to believe every word the children say. I think there's no need in seeing that film to acquire that knowledge. The plot is based in a lie said by a little girl that her parents hardly ever listen and everybody knew was special. My score for this film is ZERO, but, i must insist, my score for the main actor is 10, amazing, as usually. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    A taut tale of a rush to judgement. A little girl's fantasy is turned into fact and fast friends turn into fast foes. We've seen this story before. Meager evidence is turned into hysterical reality, and no-one questions the messenger and her attempts to change course are ignored. Mads (the face) Mikkelsen is wonderful as the innocent accused in the village of the happy Danes that turns into the Village of the Damned. The only question is how will it end, and here the movie makes a big mistake by veering from authentic tale to fantasy, from horror story to amnesiacs united. Expand
  7. Lyn
    Feb 20, 2014
    9
    One reviewer notes that for some, this film "may prove stressful." More like excruciating, I would say! But a worthwhile experience if you appreciate challenging films. The lead actor's performance is riveting, frustrating, heartbreaking. I have no idea how often a child's claim of this type of abuse turns out to be false, but the film makes an interesting case for how this seemingly impossible thing could happen. Also interesting is the fact that after "The Celebration," his earlier film that explores some similar issues in a scathing way, the director this time narrows his focus to the accused. Great filmmaking. Expand
  8. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    A film hard to watch because it unravels how ephemeral everything around us is, how ones life can turn upside down in a blink of an eye and become the victim of a modern day witch hunt by being pronounced guilty before having a chance to prove their innocence. Mads Mikkelsen is truly outstanding in his portrayal of the hunted in a restrained and expressive performance and together with the assured direction of Vinterberg comes a film not easily forgotten. Expand
  9. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Mads Mikkelsen plays a kindergarten teacher who's wrongfully accused of inappropriate action with one of the children. This causes the majority of the small Swedish village to turn viciously against him. This film is stark and bleak (it is, after all Sweden). There's almost no music or manipulative filmmaking by director Thomas Vinterberg ("Celebration"). Still, it packs a powerful punch. Obviously, the subject matter adds to the gravity of the film, but Mikkelsen's subtle, sensitive portrayal lends quiet depth and powerful emotion. (subtitles) Expand
  10. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    How easy can your life and reputation be destroyed? Easy, and fast. Especially if you work around little kids. From a popular guy with many friends the main character Lukas becomes an outcast, a pariah. Trying to protect little kids from child abuse we are prone to believe anything they say.
    This movie is a Danish film about a pre-school teacher who is falsely accused based on his best
    friend's daughter's remark.
    The worst part of the situation is that once a reputation is marred it will never be the same. People do not forget and do not forgive even if you are innocent...
    I find the movie excellent but the ending brilliant. No wonder Mads Mikkelsen who plays Lukas won he Best Actor Award at the 2012 Cannes Film Festival.
    Expand
  11. Mar 25, 2014
    1
    The only reason I don't give this movie a zero is Mads Mikkelsen's flawless performance.Story is laughable and totally unreal-5 year old girl falls in love with mature man??Then false accuse him for sexual abuse??How's that possible,she doesn't even know what penis is at that age.And whole town believes her-why?'Because little children don't lie!'-says director of kindergarten.REALLY?? And then for the rest of the movie we have basically a witch hunt like it's not 21st century Denmark but 15th century or something-system does not exist,no psychologist,no police,no law,no press,no anything except mad crowd thirsty for blood on one side and innocent victim on the other.Waste of time. Expand
  12. Mar 6, 2014
    7
    THIS MOVIE WOULD HAVE GOTTEN A 10, if not for it ending. Really, the idea is incredible, the acting is awesome, but in the end, is just a sadic experience. I did not like suffering for 2 hours and not get a good ending.
  13. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    One of the best movies of the year. The direction, acting and screenplay are superb. There are times the moive is hard to watch but you still are riveted to the screen. Loved the ending.
  14. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Back in 1998, Danish filmmaker Thomas Vinterberg shook up the cinematic establishment with "The Celebration," a devastatingly powerful debut which explores shocking revelations and the power of a lie, and the incalculable, irreparable damage it can cause. Fourteen years later, Vinterberg returns with "The Hunt," which shares many similarities with its celebrated predecessor, and it has received high praise at both the Cannes and London film festivals. "The Hunt," a Palme d'Or nominee, revisits familiar ground, where Vinterberg continues to fan the flames of social unrest in a far more conventional manner.

    Lucas (Mads Mikkelsen) is a kindergarten teacher in a small, hunting village in Denmark, who is recovering from a painful divorce and working to receive greater custody of his teenage son. He is best friends with the couple that lives next door, Theo and Agnes (Larsen and Hassing), and has a fond relationship with their daughter Klara (Wedderkopp), who is also one of his young pupils. One day, the young girl says some odd things which imply that Lucas is a sexual predator. Suddenly, the town closes ranks against him, and everyone assumes that children don't lie about such things. Klara, though she tries, is unable to take back her words.

    It’s a childlike act of revenge orchestrated by a little girl who doesn't know any better, and who is trying to avoid further embarrassment or torment. However, the narrative of the story is driven by the adults of this small town. Quickly shunned by a community that once welcomed him, Lucas is left to absorb the nightmare alone, finding even his closest companions unsure of his innocence.

    Vinterberg maintains a human focus to the story, emphasizing strained relationships and universal suspicion, while capturing the essence of despair as the characters struggle to make sense out of a confusing and volatile situation. "The Hunt” is unsettling and enraging to watch because of Lindholm’s forceful script and the incredibly vivid performances, most notably Mikkelsen’s sensational performance as the condemned man. The film's premise isn't anything particularly new, however, Mikkelsen's powerful performance creates a strong sense of empathy for Lucas which transcends this engrossing nightmare, where simply surviving doesn't mean your days as a target are over.
    Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Thomas Vinterberg- This film dredges up the "other side" of sexual abuse accusations, a much needed discourse that we all choose to ignore. This is what can happen when our rampant paranoia that every man over the age of 15 is a pedophile. How many innocent men have paid a price, but committed no crime?
  16. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    I would like to know what Vinterberg knows how an investigation like this proceeds. Because the guy who came in to quiz the little girl, did he even introduce himself, did it al wrong. He really led her in a certain direction. Now if Vinterberg consciously knows how a proper interview of a 5/6 year old should be done, and he chose to have him screw it up, then OK. Otherwise that part was not handled right, meaning inaccurate script.
    After that I thought everything was realistic & believable & very well done. These days in my book great acting is pretty well a given. The lead character was excellent.
    I also had trouble with the ending. It was going great, he helps the little girl get across the lines in the floor,
    beautiful. But the last scene when he is shot at. I actually thought it was kind of Hollywood.
    It's not the celebration but still well worth seeing
    Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    .................................................................................................Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!............................................................................................................
  18. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    In one word: obsessive. Oustanding performance from Mads Mikkelsen put Jagten to the highest stage. One of the best for sure, but not the type for everybody to watch.
  19. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Mads Mikkelsen gives one of the best performance of this controversial subject. This story shows in a subtle way how people's mentality can be changed so easily by an insignificant word. It's a hyper realistic approach to a lot of aspects of life. In my opinion, it was a brilliant idea to create the martyr-protagonist, the one who shake once again the hands that once had punched him. He shows the courage to live in a society where the equilibrium is shattered even when an apparently peace is restored. Expand
  20. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    Great film with some great acting and a satisfying ending. Worth the time and won't let you down, a movie that drags you in and keeps you there until the end.
  21. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    One of the best movies of last year. Enjoying the acting while suffering from the plot. The performance made by Mads Mikkelsen was simply just amazing. He didn't really left much impression in the 007 movie, but he sure has got my attention from now on!!!看这片痛苦并且快乐着
  22. May 27, 2014
    10
    Very deep movie.i couldn't control my tears!May be this is the only one movie I cried so much after long time!As my child is in kinder and that thought ,what if it is true?I was patiently waiting to see the ending.is it going to continue as part 2?Who tried to shoot the hero of the movie in the end?!Who killed the dog?Who threw the stones on the window?Whats the story about Khlara's older brother?He was looking so suspicious?!Madds and even the little girl acted so well.Beauty of this movie is,it will drag you completely into it until the end but you will not dare to watch it again!The lesson I learnt from this movie is,not to jump into conclusion without knowing what exactly happened! Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 16, 2013
    60
    Imbued as it is with a sense of discomforting truth, it is a worthwhile examination of human nature -- and one with a message well worth heeding.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Houlihan
    Aug 5, 2013
    88
    Vinterberg has created a modern horror story about a man’s descent into a Kafkaesque nightmare.
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jul 26, 2013
    75
    Danish actor Mads Mikkelsen delivers an astonishingly restrained and expressive central performance in The Hunt, an engrossing psycho-social drama by Thomas Vinterberg.