The Hunt Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 11, 2013
    100
    An outstanding lead performance by Mads Mikkelsen (who won best actor for the role at Cannes in 2012) anchors this hauntingly layered and nuanced drama of a man falsely accused of a terrible deed.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    This is filmmaking of a high order, even though the production's scale is modest and the climax is not without its facile contrivances.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jul 11, 2013
    88
    Thomas Vinterberg (“The Celebration”) directs with restraint that makes the story all the more affecting.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 15, 2013
    80
    It is forthright, powerful, composed and directed with clarity and overwhelming force, yet capable of great subtlety and nuance.
  5. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 12, 2013
    75
    This is thematically rich material; unfortunately, like a few too many dramas from the past decade, The Hunt resists expressive uses of style, opting instead for gently bobbing handheld camerawork. It's an actor-friendly approach.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jul 11, 2013
    70
    While The Hunt skillfully puts viewers through the wringer, it’s often for no higher purpose than pushing buttons and generating outrage.
  7. Reviewed by: Jon Frosch
    Jul 9, 2013
    50
    Unlike in The Celebration, the cruelty and suffering in The Hunt feel both overly schematic and intellectually muddled.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best films of 2013. Mads Mikkelsen gives an amazing performance worthy of an Oscar nomination. I can't say I'd want to watch it again, but this film is deeply powerful. A Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    Great film with some great acting and a satisfying ending. Worth the time and won't let you down, a movie that drags you in and keeps you there until the end. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Difficult subject matter is subtly and convincingly handled by director Thomas Vinterberg. Mads Mikkelsen is outstanding as the persecuted innocent, His quiet desperation ultimately turning into uncontrollable rage is truly rousing. The ending whilst ambiguous is not unsatisfying. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    How easy can your life and reputation be destroyed? Easy, and fast. Especially if you work around little kids. From a popular guy with many friends the main character Lukas becomes an outcast, a pariah. Trying to protect little kids from child abuse we are prone to believe anything they say.
    This movie is a Danish film about a pre-school teacher who is falsely accused based on his best friend's daughter's remark.
    The worst part of the situation is that once a reputation is marred it will never be the same. People do not forget and do not forgive even if you are innocent...
    I find the movie excellent but the ending brilliant. No wonder Mads Mikkelsen who plays Lukas won he Best Actor Award at the 2012 Cannes Film Festival.
    Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Mads Mikkelsen plays a kindergarten teacher who's wrongfully accused of inappropriate action with one of the children. This causes the majority of the small Swedish village to turn viciously against him. This film is stark and bleak (it is, after all Sweden). There's almost no music or manipulative filmmaking by director Thomas Vinterberg ("Celebration"). Still, it packs a powerful punch. Obviously, the subject matter adds to the gravity of the film, but Mikkelsen's subtle, sensitive portrayal lends quiet depth and powerful emotion. (subtitles) Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    A taut tale of a rush to judgement. A little girl's fantasy is turned into fact and fast friends turn into fast foes. We've seen this story before. Meager evidence is turned into hysterical reality, and no-one questions the messenger and her attempts to change course are ignored. Mads (the face) Mikkelsen is wonderful as the innocent accused in the village of the happy Danes that turns into the Village of the Damned. The only question is how will it end, and here the movie makes a big mistake by veering from authentic tale to fantasy, from horror story to amnesiacs united. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    If you want to see an actor doing his job as well as you've ever seen, you must see this movie. However, if you want to see a good film that amuse you for nearly a couple of hours, you'd better think twice in double-clicking in that one... For me, the worst film i have seen since i saw 'To the wonder'. 1h 40 minutes to tell you not to believe every word the children say. I think there's no need in seeing that film to acquire that knowledge. The plot is based in a lie said by a little girl that her parents hardly ever listen and everybody knew was special. My score for this film is ZERO, but, i must insist, my score for the main actor is 10, amazing, as usually. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews