The Hunt Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 11, 2013
    100
    An outstanding lead performance by Mads Mikkelsen (who won best actor for the role at Cannes in 2012) anchors this hauntingly layered and nuanced drama of a man falsely accused of a terrible deed.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    This is filmmaking of a high order, even though the production's scale is modest and the climax is not without its facile contrivances.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jul 11, 2013
    88
    Thomas Vinterberg (“The Celebration”) directs with restraint that makes the story all the more affecting.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 15, 2013
    80
    It is forthright, powerful, composed and directed with clarity and overwhelming force, yet capable of great subtlety and nuance.
  5. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 12, 2013
    75
    This is thematically rich material; unfortunately, like a few too many dramas from the past decade, The Hunt resists expressive uses of style, opting instead for gently bobbing handheld camerawork. It's an actor-friendly approach.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jul 11, 2013
    70
    While The Hunt skillfully puts viewers through the wringer, it’s often for no higher purpose than pushing buttons and generating outrage.
  7. Reviewed by: Jon Frosch
    Jul 9, 2013
    50
    Unlike in The Celebration, the cruelty and suffering in The Hunt feel both overly schematic and intellectually muddled.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best films of 2013. Mads Mikkelsen gives an amazing performance worthy of an Oscar nomination. I can't say I'd want to watch it again, but this film is deeply powerful. A Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Mads Mikkelsen gives one of the best performance of this controversial subject. This story shows in a subtle way how people's mentality can be changed so easily by an insignificant word. It's a hyper realistic approach to a lot of aspects of life. In my opinion, it was a brilliant idea to create the martyr-protagonist, the one who shake once again the hands that once had punched him. He shows the courage to live in a society where the equilibrium is shattered even when an apparently peace is restored. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Difficult subject matter is subtly and convincingly handled by director Thomas Vinterberg. Mads Mikkelsen is outstanding as the persecuted innocent, His quiet desperation ultimately turning into uncontrollable rage is truly rousing. The ending whilst ambiguous is not unsatisfying. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    A film hard to watch because it unravels how ephemeral everything around us is, how ones life can turn upside down in a blink of an eye and become the victim of a modern day witch hunt by being pronounced guilty before having a chance to prove their innocence. Mads Mikkelsen is truly outstanding in his portrayal of the hunted in a restrained and expressive performance and together with the assured direction of Vinterberg comes a film not easily forgotten. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Thomas Vinterberg- This film dredges up the "other side" of sexual abuse accusations, a much needed discourse that we all choose to ignore. This is what can happen when our rampant paranoia that every man over the age of 15 is a pedophile. How many innocent men have paid a price, but committed no crime? Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    The movie was astonishing! I really loved it. It was so realistic and so true and ''raw'' showing the reactions of the people's Dutch town. How easy is to judge and behave foolishly, without even bothering checking both sides. The elevation of the film was marvelous and Mads Mikkelsen just perfect! Hes is unbelievably talented and amazing on any film he participated. This is definitely a movie you must watch Collapse
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    If you want to see an actor doing his job as well as you've ever seen, you must see this movie. However, if you want to see a good film that amuse you for nearly a couple of hours, you'd better think twice in double-clicking in that one... For me, the worst film i have seen since i saw 'To the wonder'. 1h 40 minutes to tell you not to believe every word the children say. I think there's no need in seeing that film to acquire that knowledge. The plot is based in a lie said by a little girl that her parents hardly ever listen and everybody knew was special. My score for this film is ZERO, but, i must insist, my score for the main actor is 10, amazing, as usually. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews