The Hurt Locker

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1342 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Great movie! Unlike other war movies about recent conflicts such as Jarhead, this movie is actually entertaining, with some of the best tension filled scenes you will see. And the performance by Jeremy Renner in the lead role is fantastic. I understand that many parts of the movie are "unrealistic", as many people have complained about, but 100% of fictional movies are unrealistic. TheyGreat movie! Unlike other war movies about recent conflicts such as Jarhead, this movie is actually entertaining, with some of the best tension filled scenes you will see. And the performance by Jeremy Renner in the lead role is fantastic. I understand that many parts of the movie are "unrealistic", as many people have complained about, but 100% of fictional movies are unrealistic. They have spice up aspects of life to make the film entertaining. I don't believe they mean any disrespect to those in uniform. They're merely trying to make the movie entertaining for the audience. But I understand this is a sensitive subject. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2016
    8
    As a character study, the film does a pretty decent job at exploring the psychological impact of war. Following a three man EOD team, there's no plot in the traditional sense, but we see how the group dynamics unfold and the eventual revealing of all their own hurts that were previously locked away. For example, William James' addiction to danger and inability to enjoy civilian life, andAs a character study, the film does a pretty decent job at exploring the psychological impact of war. Following a three man EOD team, there's no plot in the traditional sense, but we see how the group dynamics unfold and the eventual revealing of all their own hurts that were previously locked away. For example, William James' addiction to danger and inability to enjoy civilian life, and Sanborn's fear of dying unloved with no family to remember him by. This helps add a layer of complexity that subverts the idea of the unfazed and glorified soldier. This isn't anything new, but I thought it was an interesting character portrayal nonetheless. The film's erratic cinematography and effective use of sound also do a good job at heightening the tension and paranoia during particular scenes.

    As a realistic portrayal of war however, I say this is where things start to fall apart. I understand that there have to be some constraints in order to get the right atmosphere and drama, but the movie frames itself as one that is supposedly realistic and ends up failing this on many fronts, mainly the ridiculous military conduct of certain characters that even average moviegoers with no army experience will recognize immediately. This somewhat detracts from the authenticity and validity of whatever message the film was trying to establish.
    Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    Something about this movie is really interesting to me and I can't quite put my finger on exactly what it was. I think it was partly due to the style and way the film was presented, where anything could happen at any time, and how suspenseful each scene was. However, there were some problems that I feel it had (excluding all the comments about how non accurate it was to what REALLY happensSomething about this movie is really interesting to me and I can't quite put my finger on exactly what it was. I think it was partly due to the style and way the film was presented, where anything could happen at any time, and how suspenseful each scene was. However, there were some problems that I feel it had (excluding all the comments about how non accurate it was to what REALLY happens with EOD teams in iraq, cuz everyone seems to be commenting on that) I feel it lacked a solid meaning in the end. I understand the theme of his "war addiction" but the movie as a whole didn't seem to touch on that at all until the end. if the film makers were going for that feeling to be taken away from the movie, they didn't seem to stress it enough. Nonetheless i enjoyed it and I am a fan of war movies that aren't just about the typical war fighting and this is one of them. Props to the filmmakers for this new style. Expand
  4. May 2, 2016
    10
    An important, intense, nail-biting experience -- really quite unforgettable.

    Check out the movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-278-The-Hurt-Locker-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  5. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Easily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilarating and gripping than most high-budget blockbusters. Also, wtf with people complaining about the movie's real-life credibility? It's not like "ApocalypseEasily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilarating and gripping than most high-budget blockbusters. Also, wtf with people complaining about the movie's real-life credibility? It's not like "Apocalypse Now" represented the Vietnam War as it was, it just tried to be a great movie, which it was and "The Hurt Locker" is the same. Expand
  6. J
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an "authentic" experience. This is the first war movie in ages that paints its soldiers as real, complex people instead of cartoons or psychos, and all you can do is complain? Sheesh. Luckily, for the rest of us, this film will do just fine, because the enlightened viewer will realize that The Hurt Locker isn't about the details, but the big picture. It's a document of what a war like this means and how it affects the participants on both sides. It's neither pro-war nor anti-war, but instead just shows the ways things are without pronouncing judgment on its characters or their actions. It's also a showcase for some of the most impressive action and suspense set pieces to grace the cinema in a very long time. Hard, sharp, and honest, The Hurt Locker is one of the year's very best films. THAT'S the reality. Expand
  7. DimitriK
    Mar 8, 2010
    8
    A great film but you have to be in the right mood to watch it. Not worth an Oscar by any stretch. However there should be more film like this...ones where you need at least half a functioning brain to enjoy.
  8. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    The movie's quiet tension adds realism to the movie, making it one of the true modern war films. However, the film's noticeably lethargic pace will make you bored. In the end, "The Hurt Locker" is just a decent movie that presents real life situations in modern warfare; no more, no less.
  9. ForrestL.
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war movies are laden false events and dramatic devices and political "messages" but Hurt Locker embraces the realities of war and the people in them. This is a movie I'll keep for my children and grandchildren to show when they ask me what war was like. Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    Personally, I don't feel that "The Hurt Locker" deserved all those Oscar awards and that it's slightly overrated but I don't deny that it's a really damn good film. It's tense, complex, violent and action-packed. The story is well planned and written and the acting is fabulous.
  11. AlexS
    Jan 4, 2010
    8
    A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not tried to get into politics also.
  12. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    When Sergeant James takes over a highly trained bomb disposal team stationed in Iraq, he surprises his team with his reckless and dangerous methods. As the battle continues all around them the team attempt to curb their new leader before his actions have serious consequences for everyone.

    With explosives everywhere and every civilian a potential enemy The Hurt Locker brilliantly
    When Sergeant James takes over a highly trained bomb disposal team stationed in Iraq, he surprises his team with his reckless and dangerous methods. As the battle continues all around them the team attempt to curb their new leader before his actions have serious consequences for everyone.

    With explosives everywhere and every civilian a potential enemy The Hurt Locker brilliantly portrays the intense nature of working and living in war torn territory. The movie is about far more than just men blowing things up however and as the movie unfolds we learn about the motivations of each of the men involved giving us a fascinating insight into their world.

    With brilliant performances all round The Hurt Locker is one of the best war movies ever made.
    Expand
  13. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    The Hurter Locker might not be the best movie of the year but it certainly deserves more recongnition. A movie with such intense scenes and perfect editing that combines the drug of war within and on the ground.
  14. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    One of the most outstanding war movies this century. I am a surprised a woman could even direct something as good as this one. Some people should really think about it, because it is kind of true. I am sure some people jsut hate it just because it beat Avatar in the oscars
  15. alano.
    Jun 17, 2010
    7
    This got so much critical acclaim that made me see it for myself. It turns out this film was excellent in the war category. It was also Oscar-worthy, just not Best Picture-worthy.
  16. Sep 3, 2010
    10
    Realistic or not this is a great film. The plot was laid out in an organized fashion, no cliche twists that make the viewer feel smart. The characters were well written and are open to interpretation. The amount of small details and varied sequence of events makes an easily film to watch multiple times.
    But, don't expect an ACTION FILM. @ForrestL I could not agree more.
  17. May 8, 2012
    10
    Entirely typical wartime propaganda that actually very forcefully tries to paint the citizens of the country being attacked and exploited as the bad guys. Absolutely vile.
  18. JonM
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    One of the best films of the year thus far, and certainly the best Iraq war film. Well performed and well directed -- hopefully this baby will earn some Oscars.
  19. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    **** awesome movie. Enough said but since there is a 150 character min I mus say random **** Blahahahahah Dick fart lolololololololllllllllllllllllllllllgfgfgf
  20. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    Hurt Locker was very good. The acting was really fine, the plot moved along and it exceeded my expectations. There was a nice sense of humor within the continued suspense. The connection between the protagonist and the boy selling DVDs humanized the already very human story.
  21. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    I went into this movie expecting Black Hawk Down but I wasn't disappointed when i didn't get it, instead i really enjoyed the slow paced yet interesting story. Critics enjoyed this movie for a reason, they are professionals who have studied hard in the field of film, they know what they're talking about.
  22. John
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    Fantastic Movie with an outstanding performance by the leading actor.
  23. JasonB
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're portrayed in the media? Either you get the anti-war 'death machine' portrayal or the pro-war 'ubermensch' portrayal. The characters in this movie are relateable to civilians and were put into situations where a single mistake or oversight could mean death. It strips back the pro-war and anti-war propaganda and makes you feel for the situation the soldiers have been put into. But I suppose you just wanted the military portrayed as a bunch of Rambos. Expand
  24. MichaelT.
    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that this film is a brilliant spectacle worthy of its praise. (I think The Hurt Locker will contract Any Other Year Syndrome, in terms of the Oscars anyway... damn Avatar). Expand
  25. AmirF.
    Mar 12, 2010
    7
    After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the walking of James toward hell and I answered myself : " Hell it did its job " movie begins with great atmosphere giving you the feeling that you are After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the walking of James toward hell and I answered myself : " Hell it did its job " movie begins with great atmosphere giving you the feeling that you are really in that location and it triggers the feeling of compassion with characters , you feel the rising of their Adrenalins , you feel their sweats , you feel the god-damn hot air , and so on . the story takes you to its deep and dark resolution of showing what really is life in that messy city , the city of women crying for the loss of their beloveds , children still playing soccer in the street joyful and some others selling porn movies in order to earn their livings , men watching American from their balconies and wondering " What will be the future of Baghdad ? " You simply just hold your breath in some scenes , leaping to the edge of your seat , crying just for compassion , just for realizing the truth [ I didn't cry ;-) ] ... I don't wanna spoil the story for you cause the plot is available everywhere and I'm not here to repeat those plots again and just bore you , I just want that it be clarified for you that this movie is well directed , although I didn't like the performings very much , Jeremy Renner [Staff Sergeant William James ] wasn't at his peak , he could do better . the cinematography [Barry Ackroyd] is lifelike and that's what gives you the sympathy with the characters . The writer I don't know him/her but he has done a great job. Collapse
  26. Mitchellk
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    Great Intense and Suspenseful Movie with great direction, who knew she had it in her.
  27. lolalulu
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    One of the most realistic war movies that I've ever seen.
  28. JoyceT
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Relentless, devastating and totally awesome. Not a political soapbox, but a good war movie is always a moral one. Go see it. Make everybody you know go see it. An effort this fine deserves some box office heat.
  29. TomB
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    Really good film focusing on character study and interaction in extreme circumstances. Take it for what it is! Don't let Hollywood ruin it!
  30. johnB
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and never lets go. I find myself tempted to say this is the best war movie I
  31. BobW
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    Intense, suspenseful, engrossing.
  32. richardh
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film. Tense and riviting drama. Realistic and genuine.
  33. SamR
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is fantastic and the other two are fantastic as well adding to the tension of their relationships and missions. All in all, this movie blew me away. And although I thought that it took a small step into becoming one of the Bourne movies when Renner is running around Baghdad. I can find no other major critiques. A solid 9 out of 10. Expand
  34. AlexP
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    This is the "Platoon" for this generation. Simply brilliant filmmaking.
  35. michaelj
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service experience in Vietnam? Apocalypse Now is an incredible movie, as is this one. Expand
  36. ThayerH.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, standard, unrealistic story arcs, and some sort of solid antagonist, The kind of people who are uncomfortable in a movie experience that doesn't tell them how to feel and what to think. Expand
  37. EricO.
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    The best movie of 2009. It is not a fantascy science fiction kind of a movie. It is real and it brings you down to earth. These type of soldiers are the bravest in the history of human warfare.
  38. S
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, especially by main actor Jeremy Renner, whose performance is totally real, raw, and brilliant. Renner deserves an Academy Award for Best Actor. I warn you that you won Expand
  39. JacobT
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen about war. I don't know what people dislike about this movie, but I loved every fucking second of it.
  40. JohnL
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    This movie is a total rush with no political overtones. Extremely intense!
  41. chrisb.
    Feb 12, 2010
    10
    This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a non-standard plot with lots of hidden stories hidden within the movie itself.I think that it is extremely hard to portray and show the emotion at the level that they did, this is achieved by a superb production team and an amazing crew. Outstanding movie everyone, outstanding job, best movie all year!!! Expand
  42. DoreneN
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I was glued to the TV screen throughout the whole movie; great acting by the whole cast and great direction...deserves an award! for me it was just better than Avatar.
  43. HenryK.
    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such realism its hard not be interested.
  44. PeterF.
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    Amazing, different, great scenes and excellent character depth!! One of the best war/(Iraq) movies I've seen. Not much in the way of violence, except the bombs...which is refreshing in a "war" movie. The Hurt Locker makes you feel like you could be there, in Iraq... I like how it points out the real issues with warfare and the people who choose to go to war.
  45. JoesephP.
    Feb 6, 2010
    9
    Excellent film. I do not understand all the people who "served" in Iraq and complain about the inaccuracies of the film. Just ignore the faults. It was masterpiece of film making. All you grunts and jarheads can take dying for Israel well, but you can't watch 2 hours of a tactical inaccuracies.
  46. JoeyT.
    Mar 11, 2010
    9
    Oh boy, the smear campaign still ensues. Wow, if you love dying for your country go back to Iraq or Afghanistan.
  47. NeilJ.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    This the best film I have ever seen! It portrays the true horror and tension of war without glorifying it. Compared with the so called blockbusters costing obscene amounts of money and relying too much on special effects it wins hands down.
  48. benjin
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    A Must Watch, It May Not Have Flashy Lights like Avatar But it makes up for it In every Detail that Bigelow Shows. The Sniper Scene Is one i will not forget for a Long time.
  49. RandyT
    Mar 9, 2010
    8
    I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and it probably didn't deserve best picture. Now, to all of the veterans giving this movie 0, can you please try to imagine what this movie would be I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and it probably didn't deserve best picture. Now, to all of the veterans giving this movie 0, can you please try to imagine what this movie would be like if it really was accurate to what is actually happening in Iraq? Sure, you guys would probably think it was great and super realistic, but then think how much everybody else would like it... Not so much. This movie was made with entertainment for the general public in mind. Only stupid people are going to watch the movie and think "Wow, that's what Iraq really is like!" since smarter people know that it's just a movie and is dramatized and exaggerated to make it more suspenseful. Yes I know, I haven't been down to Iraq so I don't know what it's like, but I can confidently say that the majority of the tasks and missions you take part in wouldn't make a very good action movie, which this film is trying to be. I hope some people understand this. Expand
  50. TroyR
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good Men" or "Michael Clayton" were terrible films because I did not find the technical minutiae fulfilling. It is a movie. It is fiction. If you want It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good Men" or "Michael Clayton" were terrible films because I did not find the technical minutiae fulfilling. It is a movie. It is fiction. If you want hyper-accurate realism, go watch a documentary or a training film. This movie isn't about the military, per se. Nor is it about Iraq or a particular war or conflict. It is about three guys--one of whom feels quite at home and has found his niche dealing in dangerous situations which, for better or for worse, create a lot of stress for his peers while he is also impressing the hell out of the bosses. Conflicts arise, and the wartime setting itself takes its toll on everyone to one extent or another. Great movie. Do not miss. Expand
  51. KeithP
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    I like The Hurt Locker. The movie isn't boring. This movie gets an A+ from me. I highly recommend this movie.
  52. JimP.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    An awesome film about the adrenaline of war, and why those who do it well, do it very well!
  53. KevinS.
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    This first great Iraq war film. Visceral and powerful. A character based film without any ugly Hollywood agenda. Up until this point, American soldiers have been portrayed as either ignorant southern hicks (Stop-Loss) or blood thirsty rapists (Redacted). The Hurt Locker gets the US soldier right - they are warriors for peace, trying to make a difference.
  54. KennyR
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Incredible movie. If you have to choose between this movie and Transformers 2. Save your money and check out this one.
  55. AaronS.
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, her fine cast of relative unknowns and a first rate techinical crew deliver an intense, incredibly absorbing visceral experience. The film is amazing Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, her fine cast of relative unknowns and a first rate techinical crew deliver an intense, incredibly absorbing visceral experience. The film is amazing in its ability to transport you right into the fray. As a previous comment states-the tension in this film is almost agonzing. Every element of filmmaking combines to create an almost out of body experience. It's also the rare action picture made with intelligence as well as skill. 'The Hurt Locker' is fully deserving of every bit of acclaim it has (and will yet) recieve. Multiple Oscar noms are quite possible and a Best Director Oscar for Ms. Bigelow is very much deserving. DON'T MISS THIS ON A BIG SCREEN! Expand
  56. RichardJ
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    This is an excellent depiction of this most unusual war where the enemy has little to identify them to our military. It is the best film about the war with terrorists that we will see for a long, long time.
  57. JanshcD
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    Superb pacing. To the point. Reminds me of an excellent English series called UXB. The question is not why are we doing this, rather - if we are doing this, how shall we succeed. Or is it all a dream? It may very well be - that is but one of several question left hanging. Highly recommended.
  58. KenF.
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other voters who have been in the military (and perhaps even in Iraq) and who say that some aspects of this film are very unrealistic. I appreciate their Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other voters who have been in the military (and perhaps even in Iraq) and who say that some aspects of this film are very unrealistic. I appreciate their service too. But even if The Hurt Locker falls short in some of its military details (just like most war films, even the best of them), it is an outstanding film. Expand
  59. DerekD
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the Iraq war on the soldiers who risk their lives every day fighting; or in this films case defusing bombs in hopes to save the lives of soldiers and By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the Iraq war on the soldiers who risk their lives every day fighting; or in this films case defusing bombs in hopes to save the lives of soldiers and citizens. Bigelow does an excellent job with this film and deserves much acclaim. Her use of little to no music really enhances the tension. The cinematography is also very well done. The performances are fantastic, especially from Jeremy Renner and Anthony Mackie, both deserving of an Oscar nomination. This film needs to be seen by everyone. It is not a political war film, it doesn Expand
  60. ChrisB
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Best war movie since Private Ryan and Platoon. Not for the fain of heart. Truly riveting and intense. Why would one ever go back once their tour is over?
  61. mrcritic
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    Ok so many soldiers and military ppl are not liking this movie cuz they say its not real ok good maybe it not BUT the movie is brilliant specially the tension they have created in few of the scenes SOOOOO my militants pal ITS MOVIESSSS enjoy them.
  62. JeffreyS.
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Realistic depiction of Army soldiers action, emotions, pain and suffering.Suspenseful as their rotation winds down. The audience never knows who if any will survive till the end.
  63. RL
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Wow! What a movie. Outstanding . I dont watch many flicks because so many are crap. But this one is different: Suspenseful. Believable and pushed every emotional button. Watch it.
  64. ScottA.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    One of the best films of the year or any year. Masterful.
  65. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    this movie is beast!!!!!!!!! all the negative reviewers suck. thats right mofos.... you suck!!!!! the best war movie that ive seen, and the greatest movie since shawshank!!!!! hell yea!!!!!
  66. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    A war movie with real complicated protagonists. Great tension, great action but great psychological intrigue too. War is a drug, and so is the movie
  67. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    Well deserved Oscars. Jeremy Renner's performance was memorably outstanding. I watched both HL and Avatar the week before the Oscars and I found this to be more engaging and thrilling than the flashing lights and sounds of Avatar. I'm not saying that Avatar wasn't a good movie but how many people actually saw HL before Avatar? 48 million to 2 billion box office gross (rounded down)
  68. May 10, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I certainly did enjoy this movie. Characters were more likeable than I thought. However, I felt the plot involving the Beckham kid wasn't resolved, and that still bugs me. Expand
  69. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Direction is excellent the actors are perfect but the plot is a little weak. The director has done a perfect work also the main actor is absolutely perfect.
  70. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This is a great movie, the film captures the real emotion of being and war- People have empathy during this movie, you can feel the bullets. It is one of the best movies of the decade. It's sad if you can't handle violence but you wanted to see it. It was one of my favorites
  71. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    Certainly one of the most emotional movies I have ever watched. I was completely immersed in the characters and story line. I was left both breathless and aching for more. I was still thinking about it months later. Can any film expect more than that?
  72. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    Unconventional war film - Kathryn Bigelows independent film puts all politics aside and portrays the genre of war film in a fresh and different way.

    During the post-invasion period in Iraq 2004, bomb disarmer Will James Arrives at the American EOD unit company Bravo which is located in the midst of an explosive conflict in Baghdad as the new team leader. Seargent J.T Sanborn and
    Unconventional war film - Kathryn Bigelows independent film puts all politics aside and portrays the genre of war film in a fresh and different way.

    During the post-invasion period in Iraq 2004, bomb disarmer Will James Arrives at the American EOD unit company Bravo which is located in the midst of an explosive conflict in Baghdad as the new team leader. Seargent J.T Sanborn and specialist Owen Eldridge are not overly enthusiastic about the new leader which they are going to spend the next 38 days with, and their willingness to give him the benefit of the doubt is diminished when James early on shows himself of as a headstrong and hazardous danger seeker who fearlessly enters the line of fire to disarm bombs while they have to stand as frightened bystanders in the background. "The Hurt Locker" is directed by Kathryn Bigelow "Point Break" (1991) and "Strange Days" (1995), and is based on the observations of freelance writer Mark Boal "In the valley of Elah" (2007), who was embedded with a US bomb-squad during the Iraq war. In a minimalistic and documentaric way it describes the relationship between three soldiers and their individual ways of coping with life in a war zone where death is always breathing down their necks. With hand-held camera movements, extreme close ups, slow-motion scenes, long takes and extreme long shots, Kathryn Bigelow creates a knife-edged intensity and a grayed realism which is remarkable. Her intimate and continuous focus on the three main characters creates a compressed narrative which strengthens the viewers empathy.

    "The Hurt Locker" is a film about young men who voluntarily enlist to serve in Iraq well aware that the risk of dying is immense. It asks no questions about why they choose this kind of job, but rather focuses on how they deal with life in an uncontrollable death zone and how this affects their mentality. Even though this is a war movie at first hand, it's also a pulsating action thriller, a psychological drama and a concentrated character study about three men, their rivalry and their evolving friendship. The acting is captivating, but Jeremy Renner stands out as adrenalin rush-seeker Will James in an impressive role interpretation. "The Hurt Locker" is one of the first films to recognize the bomb disarmers and to depict war as something addictive. This an unconventional war film with brilliant war scenes, skilled photography and convincing milieu depictions.
    Expand
  73. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    Good to see a war movie that is not all about shootouts and gunfire but it's not the best war movie by a long shot. The acting and directing is good and it held my interest but that's about it.
  74. Apr 30, 2011
    8
    I did not care about watching this movie, yet having seen it I can agree that it is a great action film. The Hurt Locker creates a great amount of tension in many of its scenes, and it is a very exciting film. The acting is brilliant, particularly that of the lead, which contributes to the story's believability. In different times it probably wouldn't have won an oscar, but ultimatelyI did not care about watching this movie, yet having seen it I can agree that it is a great action film. The Hurt Locker creates a great amount of tension in many of its scenes, and it is a very exciting film. The acting is brilliant, particularly that of the lead, which contributes to the story's believability. In different times it probably wouldn't have won an oscar, but ultimately whether it did or did not is irrelevant. The Hurt Locker is more than worthy of watching and very entertaining. Expand
  75. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    The Hurt Locker is no ordinary war film. In fact, setting aside the iconography and setting of the Iraq war, it's scarcely a war film at all. Rather than making an explicit judgement about the Iraq War, the film instead shifts focus to people and relationships, and how a single moment can change your life forever, or suddenly end it. The best, and most thought provoking scene in the filmThe Hurt Locker is no ordinary war film. In fact, setting aside the iconography and setting of the Iraq war, it's scarcely a war film at all. Rather than making an explicit judgement about the Iraq War, the film instead shifts focus to people and relationships, and how a single moment can change your life forever, or suddenly end it. The best, and most thought provoking scene in the film is one of relative calm, when EOD Seargeant Will James (Jeremy Renner) is on leave from active duty, and looks simply lost while wandering down the cereal isle of an American supermarket. Renner is excellent as James, who is essentially an adrenaline junkie, an addict to thrills and near death experiences, and who is obsessed with getting his next fix. Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty also impress as James' squad-mates, a by-the-book straight man to James' impulsive maverick leader and a jittery and inexperienced young specialist respectively. Guy Pierce and Ralph Fiennes are good as always in minor but quite pivotal roles. The characters are layered and interesting, the expertly paced, sweat-inducing bomb disposal scenes smartly replace the standard running-and-gunning battles found in almost all other war films (there's only one straight gunfight, and even that is drawn-out and minimalistic) and Mark Boal's script is believable and dramatically affecting. I'm quite ashamed to admit that this is the only one of Kathryn Bigelow's films I've seen, but she's undeniably talented behind the camera, grounded and naturalistic in her style (other than using a little well-executed slow-motion for the biggest set pieces) and most pleasingly, unlike her ex-husband Mr Moneybags Cameron, she doesn't yet appear to have been consumed by her own hype. The Hurt Locker is a masterful piece of dramatic storytelling, an excellent analysis of the driving forces of humanity, and one of the cleverest examinations of the impact of war to ever grace the silver screen. It's a crime that no woman before Bigelow has won the Best Picture Academy Award, but The Hurt Locker sets a fine example as the first film to break this trend, and it didn't need in excess of $200,000,000 to do it. Expand
  76. May 24, 2011
    9
    This is a great picture that is able to capture a tense moment on film. There will be a great deal of intensity that will place you on the end of your seat. This is the best war movie of the decade.
  77. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    This little Kathryn Bigelow box-office failure ended up proving that it was the little engine that could. It defied the odds: it was a Summer release that was under-viewed but somehow managed enough buzz to rightfully overtake the box-office behemoth "Avatar" at the Academy Awards and take Best Picture. It may not be a film for the actors, but it is a film for anybody who likes to be wowedThis little Kathryn Bigelow box-office failure ended up proving that it was the little engine that could. It defied the odds: it was a Summer release that was under-viewed but somehow managed enough buzz to rightfully overtake the box-office behemoth "Avatar" at the Academy Awards and take Best Picture. It may not be a film for the actors, but it is a film for anybody who likes to be wowed by amazing sights and amazing direction. Expand
  78. j30
    Oct 7, 2011
    8
    If I had the choice between The Hurt Locker and Avatar winning Best Picture. I probably would have gone with this movie. I watched 60 minutes segment of the real bomb squads in Afghanistan and this movie was really accurate. The movie is really intense and has electrifying performances.
  79. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I watched this movie a long time ago, and i jut recently came back to this review because this movie was featured in the "biggest gap between critics and fans article" so i thought I should look into it because this movie was just fantastic, and I'm really disappointed as to why this movie was on that article. First things first, this movie is not a patriotic movie; this movie is there toI watched this movie a long time ago, and i jut recently came back to this review because this movie was featured in the "biggest gap between critics and fans article" so i thought I should look into it because this movie was just fantastic, and I'm really disappointed as to why this movie was on that article. First things first, this movie is not a patriotic movie; this movie is there to show the dehumanizing effects warfare can have upon a person, so I don't know why people can call this a "flag-waving" film when it clearly shows a man practically abandoning his own child to re-immerse himself in warfare. Second, a lot of people complain about the "Sniping" scene as being too boring or just plain unrealistic; this is not Call of Duty, okay... When it comes to sniping in real life, it can take hours to kill a specified target, there is no killstreaks and no quickscoping and if staying in the hot sun all day means that the enemy won't snipe at you back, then that's the best option to take to make sure you get out of there alive (the only thing that seems unrealistic is how an IED Unit has great skill when it comes to using an M107, that evades even me, but that's not reason enough for me to call the whole scene unreal). In truth, this is one of the greater military movies that I have ever seen (It defiantly stacks up mo movies like Apocalypse Now and Platoon, not saying its better, that's up to you, the viewers) and this movie didn't deserve to be in the previously mentioned article just because its not CoD-leveled action or just cause it doesn't have explosions every single microsecond. Definitely a movie worth watching (if you haven't already) if you are into the classical Vietnam-era films, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  80. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    I am not quite sure what exactly Kathryn Bigelow is trying to accomplish here. She makes a good work by adding tension and realism in some scenes and film itself is well-shoted, but 'The Hurt Locker' spends too much time talking about, well, nothing.
  81. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    THE HURT LOCKER is an emotional, well-directed and well-acted war film that is quite well made.
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The Hurt Locker is an energetic, pulverizing movie that really shows you what its like for the troops on the other side of the country, and, is supremely well acted. Go see the hurt locker while you can
  83. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    In a few short moments...everything will change, in this instance, for all war films to come.
    The Hurt Locker clutched to this notion and never wained it's grasp through every 130+ minutes of this movie.
    Within minutes of this dramatic realisation beginning, my heart is beating to the point of me believing "I could just reach over and let Guy Pearce know whats going on", my point to this
    In a few short moments...everything will change, in this instance, for all war films to come.
    The Hurt Locker clutched to this notion and never wained it's grasp through every 130+ minutes of this movie.
    Within minutes of this dramatic realisation beginning, my heart is beating to the point of me believing "I could just reach over and let Guy Pearce know whats going on", my point to this is that director Kathryn Bigelow (Point break) has created this epic yet simple, unprecedented, sometimes frightening, drama/war film that shows then relatively unknown actors, portraying just more numbers on a document sent on 365 day rotation in Iraq, in particular an EOD squad, just what can happen in a regular day in war.
    This film deals with the emotional barriers that soldiers face in the line of duty, the difficulties of 'routine' life but most of all, it deals with everlasting effect of what being a soldier does to not just your physical well-being, but your mind.
    After an explosive opening, we see Sergeant First Class William James (Jeremy Renner), team leader of the specialised EOD unit also consisting of Sergeant Sandborn (Anthony Mackie) and Specialist Owen Eldridge (Brian Geraghty). The two soldiers see their leader as a reckless redneck due to his lack of safety and disregard for the rules when it comes to a POA on disposing bombs.
    Jeremy Renner carries this film to greater heights than one could possibly have hoped for. As the film progresses we watch the team unravel and get an insight into the day to day activities, or lives of these embedded heroes, a dramatisation, yes, but one so close to the heart it could throw a juggernaut suit on you and take the dreaded steps in the searing sun.
    I can't say much more because a film like this needs to be seen and not read about, a masterpiece in every aspect, beautiful, frightening, realism taken to new heights and pushing boundaries like no other, easily in contention for one of the best films in the past decade.
    Expand
  84. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    7 out of 10 by users as of December 2011, really? It deserves better than that! Sure, it is no Saving Private Ryan but it has a VERY intelligent plot involving bombs and the war sequences are entertaining. Besides, the reconnaissance scenes are very unfolding and suspenseful which is the most thrilling part of the movie.
  85. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    I liked it. I thought the movie was original (which is rare these days) and well worth the watch. The acting was good, the movie was suspensful. The one flaw with it is that the climax wasnt satisfying. The entire film built up to this point that just totally let me down, Even to the point where it was a bit predictable. Still, It was a good film and worth the watch.

    IMO - Definently
    I liked it. I thought the movie was original (which is rare these days) and well worth the watch. The acting was good, the movie was suspensful. The one flaw with it is that the climax wasnt satisfying. The entire film built up to this point that just totally let me down, Even to the point where it was a bit predictable. Still, It was a good film and worth the watch.

    IMO - Definently more worthy than Avatar to win the oscar for best picture.
    Expand
  86. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This is a very good movie. I don't know why so many people are whining about the fact that this isn't realistic. It's a film, it's art, it's fiction, if you can't watch a movie without thinking it's ALL true, and it's all realistic, then you shouldn't watch any movie. Of course the protagonist takes risks which can not be the reality, but it's movie - use your imagination, this is made toThis is a very good movie. I don't know why so many people are whining about the fact that this isn't realistic. It's a film, it's art, it's fiction, if you can't watch a movie without thinking it's ALL true, and it's all realistic, then you shouldn't watch any movie. Of course the protagonist takes risks which can not be the reality, but it's movie - use your imagination, this is made to entertain people, it's not a documentary, just enjoy it, don't think too much. Great acting by all actors - I believed the emotions, very well done - nice cinematography as well! Expand
  87. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    An intelligent movie that intrigues and excites. It is dramatic, tense and the odd bit humorous. This is one of the few films that I would actually call a masterpiece
  88. Feb 6, 2012
    7
    Typically for the US. Don't get me wrong this is a really good movie. But the whole time I had the feeling this is a "come on and join the army - it's great here" movie. Sure there is violence and war and bad times and everything but the way it's shown to the audience is like a propaganda movie pro army - and that's what I ment by typically for the US. Hollywood can't produce moviesTypically for the US. Don't get me wrong this is a really good movie. But the whole time I had the feeling this is a "come on and join the army - it's great here" movie. Sure there is violence and war and bad times and everything but the way it's shown to the audience is like a propaganda movie pro army - and that's what I ment by typically for the US. Hollywood can't produce movies without this sideeffect and that's a little bit annoying. It should be an anti-war movie but it's more like a pro-war movie. Beside that it's a really good movie! Expand
  89. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Near perfect. Acting is really good. Everyone give a really good job. Score is really good. Story is really great and is also intense. It's a great war tale of the US bomb squad. Plus some scenes in the movie can be so intense that'll it'll keep you guessing what'll happen. Overall, this is a amazing movie. One of the greatest war movies ever. Highly,First off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Near perfect. Acting is really good. Everyone give a really good job. Score is really good. Story is really great and is also intense. It's a great war tale of the US bomb squad. Plus some scenes in the movie can be so intense that'll it'll keep you guessing what'll happen. Overall, this is a amazing movie. One of the greatest war movies ever. Highly, highly recommended. Expand
  90. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    It's a great movie very good story the only part I didn't like is when he sees bekham again after he thinks he's dead and he disses him??? WTF?? All he wants is to do is play some soccer and he disses him? Really??? I really hated that scene and for that I give it an 8 but overall good movie way better than jarhead tho.
  91. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    A well crafted, well acted, tense war movie. The book ends of this movie are about as entertaining as a film can be. My problem with this movie comes in the middle third. There are some things at play here that took me out of the film completely and seem very out of place with the rest of the movie. Overall this is a very strong film.
  92. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    Finally a war film about the middle east that doesn't try to be too intelligent yet is seemingly aimed at intelligent people. A wonderful film which was hands down better than Avatar though I did think that other films were overlooked for Best Picture. Jeremy Renner evolved in this film from supporting actor in an action film to a fantastic lead in a serious film. This was a huge turningFinally a war film about the middle east that doesn't try to be too intelligent yet is seemingly aimed at intelligent people. A wonderful film which was hands down better than Avatar though I did think that other films were overlooked for Best Picture. Jeremy Renner evolved in this film from supporting actor in an action film to a fantastic lead in a serious film. This was a huge turning point within his career. Expand
  93. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    This is a great movie and one of the best war films I ever watched. The only thing that I didn't like was the use of the shaky camera, but it doesn't really distract from actually telling the story. Personally, I just don't like shaky camera but most of the time it was used in this film was from the main characters' perspective (you got a glimpse of what they saw). When I actually did seeThis is a great movie and one of the best war films I ever watched. The only thing that I didn't like was the use of the shaky camera, but it doesn't really distract from actually telling the story. Personally, I just don't like shaky camera but most of the time it was used in this film was from the main characters' perspective (you got a glimpse of what they saw). When I actually did see the shaky camera it didn't really physically make me nauseated but it did annoyed me. Expand
  94. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    I found myself liking the first half of the film a lot, but when the film hits the unnecessarily long sniper sequence, it all starts to go down hill. I never really found the 2nd half to be as compelling as the first half, and I started to care less and less with where the plot was going. In the end, The Hurt Locker is a decent, but severely over-rated movie.
  95. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    : This movie told that war is a terrible place to live and when go in so deep in the war it becomes a drug and you don
  96. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    Oh my God! One of the most perfect movies I've ever known. You could probably split this thing in half, and make two great works of cinema. There is so much suspense and drama packed into each and every beautifully shot scene that it almost calls forth the sweat on your brow. I ventured further onto the edge of my seat than I knew was humanly possible. When these soldiers are attempting toOh my God! One of the most perfect movies I've ever known. You could probably split this thing in half, and make two great works of cinema. There is so much suspense and drama packed into each and every beautifully shot scene that it almost calls forth the sweat on your brow. I ventured further onto the edge of my seat than I knew was humanly possible. When these soldiers are attempting to diffuse mysterious explosives, it almost feels like your well-being is in the balance as well. This long, exhilarating piece is just pumping at the edges with pounds upon pounds of heart-racing, pipe-bursting tension. The Hurt Locker is slow, punishing and weighs down upon you with a pressure that you don't want to stop. Masterful cinematography, directing, acting and vision. Everything is flawlessly clear both visually and intellectually. At no point did I find myself asking about the plot or wondering why something happened. It carries the mark of a great movie which is, you come close to forgetting that it is a movie at all. It becomes real. It leaves you utterly and hopelessly captivated. This was a film made with clarity, vigilance and purpose. So damn good I can't stand it. One for the ages. Expand
  97. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    This is a very good movie about the Iraq war. I like Jeremy Renner a lot. the cast is very good and the story is awesome. I like this movie a lot. Best movie of 2009
  98. May 19, 2013
    8
    Despite the high degree i gave to the film, but the film was a disappointment, think it's not worth to win the Oscar for best film, there are no any surprises in the film at all, and there are some stupid behaviors of the film main character Jeremy Renner and also the film pictures the Iraqi people are very weak and I am an Iraqi I do not deny that, but say it was exaggerated, but whatDespite the high degree i gave to the film, but the film was a disappointment, think it's not worth to win the Oscar for best film, there are no any surprises in the film at all, and there are some stupid behaviors of the film main character Jeremy Renner and also the film pictures the Iraqi people are very weak and I am an Iraqi I do not deny that, but say it was exaggerated, but what I liked most in the film is the realism in the presentation of the facts, And location of the filming that is very similar to the Iraqi environment despite the fact that the film images in Jordan Expand
  99. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    Though it seems its inaccuracy and marketing hooks have struck a chord with a few, I found The Hurt Locker to be an enjoyable film. Ironically, it gives you a nice break from the typical explosion-after-explosion-war-action flick despite it focusing on EOD, with a slower pace and likable characters. It holds just enough tension without crossing over into tedium, and uses it to itsThough it seems its inaccuracy and marketing hooks have struck a chord with a few, I found The Hurt Locker to be an enjoyable film. Ironically, it gives you a nice break from the typical explosion-after-explosion-war-action flick despite it focusing on EOD, with a slower pace and likable characters. It holds just enough tension without crossing over into tedium, and uses it to its advantage to progress the story. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. The result is an intense, action-driven war pic, a muscular, efficient standout that simultaneously conveys the feeling of combat from within as well as what it looks like on the ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    A near-perfect movie about men in war, men at work. Through sturdy imagery and violent action, it says that even Hell needs heroes.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    60
    Boal's script stirs a little of everything into the pot, which boils down into seven setpieces divided by brief intervals of camaraderie/conflict among the three protags.