The Hurt Locker

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1342 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. roberti
    Jan 17, 2010
    8
    True to the pumped up, hormonal realities of combat.
  2. CraigL
    Jan 25, 2010
    5
    Don't believe the hype very average.
  3. Sarah
    Mar 8, 2010
    4
    What a disappointment. Like others have already said it lacked a real plot line, the acting seemed too "cheesy" and "artificial", the script was boring, and to me it actual gave off a negative representation towards the US military. I have to say though that the idea did have potential; some parts were believably realistic, but others were just over the top and almost "awkward". I What a disappointment. Like others have already said it lacked a real plot line, the acting seemed too "cheesy" and "artificial", the script was boring, and to me it actual gave off a negative representation towards the US military. I have to say though that the idea did have potential; some parts were believably realistic, but others were just over the top and almost "awkward". I understand it's not "your typical movie" but it can't be classified as a "documentary" to me either. I'm still unsure of what to think... and I am SO surprised it won Best Picture at the Academy Awards. I think the recent hype with the US military's involvement in that country is the one thing that fed it's popularity. It seems everyone has been brainwashed with that topic. Expand
  4. DavidC.
    Apr 12, 2010
    7
    Not a bad movie, but how can you go wrong when the main character is constantly in danger of getting blown up? I think it could have been better; there was a little too much Riggs from Lethal Weapon in that guy, but the actor did a good job. I'm really tired of the shaky camera too.
  5. ChrisK.
    Apr 2, 2010
    7
    It may not be very accurate but I enjoyed watching this reckless guy disable bombs.
  6. PatrickM
    Apr 2, 2010
    5
    I spent two tours in Iraq. Way too many military inaccuracies -- smoking in the barracks, drinking, the Colonel outside the wire and being called a colonel while outside, and carrying an M16, getting outside the wire with a handgun and then returning to the gate without getting in trouble, and the list goes on... -- for this picture to be rated anything better than an average.
  7. Tex
    Jun 2, 2010
    7
    Above-average war movie. It has its moments but quickly fizzles out in the end.
  8. RichardB
    Jul 20, 2009
    4
    This was a taut, well-acted, intense movie which could have been better if the director had not used the hand-held camera method for much of the film. People shouldn't have to take doses of Dramamine before seeing a movie in order to keep their last meal in place. I propose a rating system that let's viewers know in advance that jerky camera techniques are used in a movie so This was a taut, well-acted, intense movie which could have been better if the director had not used the hand-held camera method for much of the film. People shouldn't have to take doses of Dramamine before seeing a movie in order to keep their last meal in place. I propose a rating system that let's viewers know in advance that jerky camera techniques are used in a movie so that those of us who are subject to motion sickness can avoid the film. Expand
  9. AnnM
    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    Primarily a character study of three unusual soldiers and their takes on the war - love it, hate it, and stop-this-improvising. James is an exaggerated but unforgettable character. Interesting scenery. Suspenseful. Much of the action was unrealistic; derived from other war movies instead of from Army procedures.
  10. RobM
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes it off as crap probably just doesn't have the mental capability to see it for what it is. Movie critics usually have some idea of what Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes it off as crap probably just doesn't have the mental capability to see it for what it is. Movie critics usually have some idea of what they're talking about and in this case I can't agree more with them, except maybe the last two. Expand
  11. RobinS
    Aug 4, 2009
    3
    Good acting & camera work but didn't feel an emotional attachment to the characters.
  12. DomoR
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and one up the old boys' network. Great movie. Expand
  13. sa
    Aug 6, 2009
    8
    I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I didn't have any difficulty believing in the fantasy. Also, it effectively created a sense of irony as I sat in the theater sipping my soda and munching on popcorn while some soldiers were trapped in a firefight while baking in the desert. Expand
  14. JoshE
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point with this film. It's not the "How," it's the "Who" and the "What." The mundane for these men is life or death at the flip of a coin or, in this case, switch. It's about a man who is overwhelmed by choosing 1 cereal in a crowded aisle and only knows peace when he is alone with a bomb because it's the only time he knows what to do... disarm it. Despite the lack of realism, this movie only improves my admiration for the men that risk their lives in any capacity for our freedom and that of others. "The Hurt Locker" is a film, not a documentary. It is compelling for its intensity and the how close these characters are to oblivion as part of their daily routine. I think it's an excellent film and hope that others can look at it is a situation with probable characters, and what this situation does to them, and not how they aren't travelling with the right amount of Humvees or aren't using the robot enough. It's a story, and one that is well told and acted... Something that is truly rare in the cinemaplex now-a-days. Expand
  15. jeffh
    Aug 8, 2009
    9
    The most intense and realistic war movie I have ever seen.The cast of unknowns keeps you on the edge of your seat and to think that this masterpiece was directed by a woman is remarkable.
  16. KingH
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    No need to wait 10 years for this film to become a classic. It is one NOW!
  17. AKhan
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    This is a very intelligent and gripping thriller.
  18. HugoS
    Sep 1, 2009
    6
    The Hurt Locker is another pointless attempt at glorifying the act of bravery and the demon that is war but it fails as a reflection of it and as a movie. I'm not an army guy, you could say i'm actually the opposiste of it and was incredibly hyped to watch this film; what an incredible dissapointment. I'm not an expert on how the military works but I can see where the army The Hurt Locker is another pointless attempt at glorifying the act of bravery and the demon that is war but it fails as a reflection of it and as a movie. I'm not an army guy, you could say i'm actually the opposiste of it and was incredibly hyped to watch this film; what an incredible dissapointment. I'm not an expert on how the military works but I can see where the army guys in the comments section are coming from, it really feels like they had a series of unrealistic set pieces before having a script and that's what they went for. It simplifies a conflict, it shakes the camera constantly missing the point of shaking a camera on a movie. It is extremely pretentious and goes on and on without any form of narrative. When it looks like an interesting idea is about to start and develop a plot it just stops and moves on into another annoying moment of camaradery and funny portraying of one of the most annoying main characters of the year. Don't believe the hype, this is just another example of how critics tired of being forced to watch Dance Flick and any other film their boss asks them, watch a movie that it's not awful and think it's the second coming of Christ. This is just another movie with a few ideas but poorly executed. Expand
  19. JamesO
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Anyone who gave this movie below a 6 is being dumb. Its a great movie, go see it.
  20. PepijnSchmidt
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    byfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it's the little details about the movie that make it good. The gloves they use, the MRE tabasko bottle in the molly webbing. All the different iraqibyfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it's the little details about the movie that make it good. The gloves they use, the MRE tabasko bottle in the molly webbing. All the different iraqi military forces look identical and their uniforms arn't hard pressed. god that was a great movie..... Expand
  21. NeilF
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    "Total bore"? "Forced tension"? What are the people knocking this film on?
  22. SethA.
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Excellent film. Don't let extreme liberals stray you from watching one of the best war films of the decade. Everything seems very real, including the psychological damage the war causes the soldiers. A must see for any person who calls themselves a war film appreciator.
  23. Andre
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This is a great film about the personal battles faced during war. I don't think it set out to make a statement about the Iraq War itself but how we as humans learn to cope. It's a small story with some very intense action and a handful of heart. Renner gives a helluva performance. Worth seeing!!!
  24. JoeS
    Jan 13, 2010
    6
    Has two or three memorable set pieces that have one or two memorable action sequences. All the Iraqi's are little more than placeholders to move the story along ("cowering moron," "fawning kid who likes soccer," "guy with cell phone and bad timing," etc.) The American soldiers' behavior and their repercussions make no realistic sense either. An action movie with better pedigree Has two or three memorable set pieces that have one or two memorable action sequences. All the Iraqi's are little more than placeholders to move the story along ("cowering moron," "fawning kid who likes soccer," "guy with cell phone and bad timing," etc.) The American soldiers' behavior and their repercussions make no realistic sense either. An action movie with better pedigree than Michael Bay, but hardly the film that the critic's are gushing about. Lower your expectations and you'll be fine. Expand
  25. KyleM
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    If Avatar beats out this, and the other nominees for that matter, I'll be mad.
  26. JohnB.
    Jan 18, 2010
    5
    Very average movie, not sure what all the hype is about.
  27. EricS.
    Jan 2, 2010
    0
    I hated the War Lover, directed by Katheryn Bigelow. I am shocked to see that critics are falling all over themselves to praise and push it on the American public, which has already soundly rejected it at the box office. No one has acknowledged that "The Hurt Locker" is an exploitative ripoff of "The War Lover", a 1956 film with Steve McQueen. "Hurt"takes the psychological complexities of I hated the War Lover, directed by Katheryn Bigelow. I am shocked to see that critics are falling all over themselves to praise and push it on the American public, which has already soundly rejected it at the box office. No one has acknowledged that "The Hurt Locker" is an exploitative ripoff of "The War Lover", a 1956 film with Steve McQueen. "Hurt"takes the psychological complexities of "Lover" and sensationalizes and simplifies them to make a blatant pro-war propaganda piece. Katheryn Bigelow is our equivalent of Leni Riefenstahl, a female director who glorified war and Nazi invasions. Katheryn Bigelow took the premise of "The War Lover", originally a novel by John Hersey, without transferring one iota of the intelligence of the original. In "Hurt" Bigelow unselfconsciously supports the war in Iraq and suppresses the reality of war and the nature of the American involvement there. She glorifies the lead character, a blind killer, who is shown in "The War Lover" as a maniac. How naive to think one could make a war movie about Iraq without having a political POV! This is why all war movies about this war are flops. They are all idiotic in the same way. The Hurt Locker does not reveal any truth, they are in denial of the truth. In my own review, I point out that Bigelow's "Hurt" tries to resurrect the permanently discredited Western genre, an old canard that male directors couldn't touch with a ten foot pole. A male director making "Hurt" would risk accusations of chauvinism, racism, and sensationalism, if not open complicity with the Pentagon in an effort to recruit new cannon-fodder. At the very least, SOME movie critic should point out that Bigelow uses every cliche in the Western book, and her characters are superficial and nonsensical, archetypes that even her apparent target audience, 12-year-old-boys, would reject. The most disturbing thing is that many critics have heaped high praise on this dumbed-down debacle, as if they are also complicit in supporting the war aims of the military. At least those critics who laud The Hurt Locker will inadvertently expose their incompetence as reviewers and complicity in prolonging the slaughter of civilians in ugly imperialist wars. Duly noted. Expand
  28. halb
    Jan 24, 2010
    7
    A very good film about a small contingent of soldiers (explosive ordinance disposal -- i.e., bomb squad) in Baghdad in 2004. Well directed, well acted, well plotted and paced... and blessedly non-political. But for me, it didn't live up to the hype. Yes, Renner does a fine job in the lead role. Yes, there are moments of tension, moments of mute horror, and moments of dramatic A very good film about a small contingent of soldiers (explosive ordinance disposal -- i.e., bomb squad) in Baghdad in 2004. Well directed, well acted, well plotted and paced... and blessedly non-political. But for me, it didn't live up to the hype. Yes, Renner does a fine job in the lead role. Yes, there are moments of tension, moments of mute horror, and moments of dramatic catharsis. But I found this film oddly 'flat' overall. Still, it's worth seeing this if you want to see a compelling story about the war in Iraq. [I think it would have been better to see this on the big screen, rather than on my little 27" flat screen.] Expand
  29. AdiP.
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    I do not know what to say so I just say it will lose Oscars.
  30. Bullitt
    Jan 3, 2010
    4
    Was suspicious from the start, this could have been a good film if there was at least a plot. But it also seemed totally inaccurate to me, and I'm no soldier, but I'm smart enough to identify this film has more in common with point break than anything in real world war conflicts. Avatar has more realism.
  31. James
    Jan 8, 2010
    5
    I absolutely cannot figure out why the critics are raving over this. It was a suspenseful made for TV drama with no plot, unnecessary scenes, mediocre acting, little character development, no deep probing as to their cause - AND TOTALLY FAKE and UNBELIEVABLE SCENES. All you people saying it was 'realistic' need to read the reviews by ex-soldiers who say it was not only tripe - I absolutely cannot figure out why the critics are raving over this. It was a suspenseful made for TV drama with no plot, unnecessary scenes, mediocre acting, little character development, no deep probing as to their cause - AND TOTALLY FAKE and UNBELIEVABLE SCENES. All you people saying it was 'realistic' need to read the reviews by ex-soldiers who say it was not only tripe - but that they were borderline offended by it - and in fact it poorly portrayed Iraqis as well. 5 points for keeping me on the edge of my seat, 0 for everything else. Expand
  32. SamM
    Feb 11, 2010
    0
    This movie is an upside down reflection of truth. It is sad the movie is nominated for the academy award.
  33. DK
    Feb 14, 2010
    3
    Rather weak movie. I lost interest halfway through and walked out. It wasn't very realistic and lacked cohesion. I still don't know what the plot was about by midway through the story. Mixed with amateurish acting and photography, I'm surprised that there was potential under the surface but not surprised that it didn't break through. Nothing like Generation Kill as Rather weak movie. I lost interest halfway through and walked out. It wasn't very realistic and lacked cohesion. I still don't know what the plot was about by midway through the story. Mixed with amateurish acting and photography, I'm surprised that there was potential under the surface but not surprised that it didn't break through. Nothing like Generation Kill as someone else mentioned. A lemon. It has it's moments, but they don't make a movie. Expand
  34. ann
    Feb 14, 2010
    0
    I went to rent this movie at the same time someone else was returning it. I was really exited to get it. The person told me it was something she would not spend money on by I did not believed her since after all it was an Oscar contender. What a disappointment! Lousy acting. Did not look realistic. It was actually stupid and boring. After 30 minutes my husband and I gave up on it and I went to rent this movie at the same time someone else was returning it. I was really exited to get it. The person told me it was something she would not spend money on by I did not believed her since after all it was an Oscar contender. What a disappointment! Lousy acting. Did not look realistic. It was actually stupid and boring. After 30 minutes my husband and I gave up on it and returned it. One of the worst movies I have seen. I do not understand the critics. And now I know why it did not last in the theaters. It will definitely not get the Oscar. Expand
  35. DerekK
    Feb 5, 2010
    0
    Absolutely horrible, with the high reviews and Oscar nominations,i wanted to check it out, Dosnt deserve any of it!! I should have known by the box office numbers, my fault. Just bad! its funny how all the reviews of people who actually went overseas gave it a low rating.
  36. BenF.
    Feb 8, 2010
    8
    One of the best war films in recent memory. The suspense almost kills you at times. Renner is a revelation.
  37. JakeA.
    Feb 8, 2010
    0
    Don't believe the hype. Extremely inaccurate. Extremely cheesy dialogue. The action is mediocre. Empty plot. If you don't mind all of inaccurate content, and don't care about a plot, but just want to see some slow motion explosions, this is the movie for you. But if you are really interested in what life is like in Iraq, avoid this movie. It's funny how most reviewers Don't believe the hype. Extremely inaccurate. Extremely cheesy dialogue. The action is mediocre. Empty plot. If you don't mind all of inaccurate content, and don't care about a plot, but just want to see some slow motion explosions, this is the movie for you. But if you are really interested in what life is like in Iraq, avoid this movie. It's funny how most reviewers and critics are proclaiming this is the movie to define this war generation, saying how it captures the emotions and hardships soldiers go through perfectly, when they themselves don't even know what those emotions are. They have never been there, so how can they possibly know what its like, and then make judgments? Pretty much, if you don't mind depth in a movie and just want to see some explosions and firefights, you'll enjoy it. If you care about plot, and accuracy, you'll hate it. If you're an Iraq veteran, like me, you'll laugh at it. Not the humor, the silliness. Expand
  38. BrianS
    Feb 9, 2010
    2
    Civilians will praise this movie just because it has soldiers in it. Like Tim C and most of the other soldiers on here, I've got 2 tours for the army under my belt and could not stop laughing the whole movie. The opening scene when EOD shows up and everyone else has abandoned their humvees and are hiding just set the tone. Then the AWAL but, the headset nonsense, EOD turning into Civilians will praise this movie just because it has soldiers in it. Like Tim C and most of the other soldiers on here, I've got 2 tours for the army under my belt and could not stop laughing the whole movie. The opening scene when EOD shows up and everyone else has abandoned their humvees and are hiding just set the tone. Then the AWAL but, the headset nonsense, EOD turning into scout snipers interlaced with a 15 minute juice drinking scene... all nonsensical inaccurate crap. An actual EOD movie would be 15 minutes long and feature dudes in PT's sleeping and playing on the internet followed by a 3 hour response time to go pick up some ordinance. Expand
  39. AlbertaP
    Mar 12, 2010
    5
    This wasn't a movie - it was the most horrific human video game imaginable where the goal is to kill or be killed and to immensely enjoy the adrenaline rush caused by that type of behavior.
  40. ReganH
    Mar 13, 2010
    10
    The quiet intensity, the lack of quick-cuts, the facets of the lead character that slowly revealed themselves throughout the movie -- it added up to riveting, engrossing movie that has stuck with me. I cannot wait to watch again.
  41. Chris
    Mar 15, 2010
    10
    I think a lot of people don't understand what this movie is about. Hint: it's not about the action. The crux of the movie is contained in the final 30 seconds of dialogue between the main character and his son.
  42. Rickh
    Mar 24, 2010
    5
    You get a 10 for the story but a 0 for technical accuracy. I was a Military Analyst in Baghdad from 2004 to 2005. At the beginning the movie say Baghdad 2004. They should have said Baghdad 2006 and maybe you would been better. In 2004, we weren't wearing the Advanced Combat Uniforms, we were in the Desert Camouflage Uniforms. The soldiers or even elite soldier didn't have M4 MWS You get a 10 for the story but a 0 for technical accuracy. I was a Military Analyst in Baghdad from 2004 to 2005. At the beginning the movie say Baghdad 2004. They should have said Baghdad 2006 and maybe you would been better. In 2004, we weren't wearing the Advanced Combat Uniforms, we were in the Desert Camouflage Uniforms. The soldiers or even elite soldier didn't have M4 MWS (Modular Weapon System) most just had the M16 some had the plain M4 with the carrying handle without a scope. We didn't drive up-armored HMMWV's (HUM-V's), we had basic issue HMMWV's. Then we took steel plate and strapped it to our vehicles, we called it Hillbilly Armor. Up-armored HMMWV's until the middle of 2005. Then one thing they got totally wrong that didn't change with time was t name of the camp. There was a time when Camp Victory grew expanded and grew into two camps North and South Victory, South being the original Camp, the huge PX going into the North. Later they changed the name of the camp to Camp Liberty. In the movie they said the opposite, the name went from Camp Liberty to Camp Victory...Wrong. Next time get a technical advisor who is either a Military Analyst or was there. Expand
  43. Owain
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    Possibly the best war film I've seen since 'full metal jacket', The Hurt Locker deserves every good review it gets. I'm the first to admit that I don't know anything about the accuracy of the film contents, but I also fail to see how that should matter. If, like me, you don't care if the soldiers are carrying the right weapons or wearing the exact uniforms Possibly the best war film I've seen since 'full metal jacket', The Hurt Locker deserves every good review it gets. I'm the first to admit that I don't know anything about the accuracy of the film contents, but I also fail to see how that should matter. If, like me, you don't care if the soldiers are carrying the right weapons or wearing the exact uniforms for 2004, then what you experience is blend of supreme nerve wrecking tension, amazing action and a really good story. If you are a stickler for historical accuracy, then maybe it's not for you, but for the 99% of people who watch a film to be entertained, the this is a must see. Expand
  44. MatthewP.
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    What the Hell is everyone's problem with this movie? Are they all gay for Avatar or something? Look retards, every movie is going to have inaccuracies in the storyline, but saying stuff like "Its SO inaccurate! They actually changed the name of the camp TO Camp Liberty! What the hell were they thinking?!?" is ridiculous. This movie is amazing, hands down. Retards.
  45. rick
    Mar 7, 2010
    2
    I heard this movie was good some months ago but just watched it last week. What a disappointment. And now I know why that kid was so keen to join the military. Thats right - in my neighborhood a kid has joined the military because he wants to be a bomb defuser ... just like in the movies. Probably he won't get a chance. For sure he will find the reality very different that what he I heard this movie was good some months ago but just watched it last week. What a disappointment. And now I know why that kid was so keen to join the military. Thats right - in my neighborhood a kid has joined the military because he wants to be a bomb defuser ... just like in the movies. Probably he won't get a chance. For sure he will find the reality very different that what he imagines from "The Hurt Locker". How many kids are going to die because they were seduced by "Hurt Locker"? Expand
  46. SteveS
    Mar 7, 2010
    1
    I fell asleep half way through. The first explosion, that killed one of the technicians, was edited in such a way that defied believability. Hence the problem with this movie. It doesn't portray a sense of believability as it supposedly re-creates the real life exploits of this bomb disposal squad. Much has been written about how marvellous this film is. But it did nothing for me. I fell asleep half way through. The first explosion, that killed one of the technicians, was edited in such a way that defied believability. Hence the problem with this movie. It doesn't portray a sense of believability as it supposedly re-creates the real life exploits of this bomb disposal squad. Much has been written about how marvellous this film is. But it did nothing for me. What made it even more grating, is that I found this movie to be unwatchable. It bored me senseless. The acting, supposedly in the documentary style, is just nothing much in the scheme of things. The camera angles are just here and there and not overly interesting. the suspense ... er, what suspense? Men walking slowly in big fat rubber suits towards 'the bomb'. I watched the film receive all its Oscar triumphs and Kathryn Bigelow win her award for some supposed brilliance. Hmmmm, if I had the chance to vote I wouldn't have voted for this film. One has to wonder what the criteria is for 'best film' at the Oscar ceremony? I understand the theory behind what was of interest in this film. But the execution is abysmal. And it didn't touch me on any level. One has to wonder in a world gone mad on political correctness, reality t.v., equal opportunity and acknowledgement for woman, minorities, the religiously persecuted etc, etc ... you would have to wonder if the brouhaha this film has received is simply a fashionable statement of acceptance in the same way as a Toyota Prius being lauded as a supreme technological achievement. After all, a Prius is simply ugly and neither celebrates nor acknowledges genius. Hurt Locker is the same, it is a novelty that has not captured the popular heart. It cost $11 million to make and has to date recouped $15 million at the box office. The recognized critics loved it but the people with common sense, the movie goers have stayed away from it in droves. And this is for good reason. It's boring. Expand
  47. JesseJ
    Mar 7, 2010
    4
    Not a very good movie. No were near as good as some critics say it is. And it definetly did not deserve 6 oscars. Best Director: Inglorious Bastards Best Picture: District 9 Best Sound Mixing: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen Writing (original): Inglorious Bastards Sure maybe it deserved the other 2 as I am not a professional in those areas but it definitely did not deserve these 4. Not a very good movie. No were near as good as some critics say it is. And it definetly did not deserve 6 oscars. Best Director: Inglorious Bastards Best Picture: District 9 Best Sound Mixing: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen Writing (original): Inglorious Bastards Sure maybe it deserved the other 2 as I am not a professional in those areas but it definitely did not deserve these 4. The voters were all biased since its a movie based on war and america's so called glories. I can already think of many (MANY) war movies that are so much better than this, Pearl Harbor, Black Hawk Down, etc. etc. etc. The academy is so biased towards animation movies, anti american movies (including District 9) and movies with a lot of action. Seriously, last year I was greatly disappointed in the oscars, but I still stood by their side, but from this year on, I am never watching the oscars again as they make the most stupid and sadistic choices. Expand
  48. Dee
    Mar 8, 2010
    9
    One of the most gripping and psychologically rich movies ever made - a real "page-turner", if you can call a movie that - though I also strongly agree with Salon.com's comment of "The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is extremely effective in places, it ultimately feels unformed and somewhat unfinished." Like the above implies, to me, it seems like the movie's only One of the most gripping and psychologically rich movies ever made - a real "page-turner", if you can call a movie that - though I also strongly agree with Salon.com's comment of "The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is extremely effective in places, it ultimately feels unformed and somewhat unfinished." Like the above implies, to me, it seems like the movie's only real "point" is to inform you of how soldiers in Iraqi bomb squads think and feel. After you see the movie, you remember what it FELT like, but not what actually happened. Expand
  49. PeterC.
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    Excellent character study in a war-movie's clothing. Suggestions that it lacks focus overlook this fact. Brilliantly shot, empathetically acted, simmering film that takes its cue from the likes of Lawrence of Arabia and The English Patient much more than Black Hawk Down or Saving Private Ryan, or any other fighting-man's war film. The critics who fails to see past its Excellent character study in a war-movie's clothing. Suggestions that it lacks focus overlook this fact. Brilliantly shot, empathetically acted, simmering film that takes its cue from the likes of Lawrence of Arabia and The English Patient much more than Black Hawk Down or Saving Private Ryan, or any other fighting-man's war film. The critics who fails to see past its innaccuracies -- and no-doubt there are a few of those and a few exaggerations toom all in the interests of strengthening narrative or drama -- rob themselves of what it a truely moving portrait of a man, who just happens to be a bomb disposal expert working in Iraq. Expand
  50. FrankA
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    This movie to me shows not just an action packed kick ass war movie about heroes and such, it shows the slower more suspenseful part of war, the entire time i was so uneasy as to what could happen i just loved it.
  51. AnaI
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Wow! One of the best movies I have ever seen. The directing of the movie was spectacular. The acting was good. So realistic, and just outstanding film.
  52. LeahM.
    Apr 15, 2010
    9
    Jeremy Renner was amazing and the movie made me anxious - I could feel the tension.
  53. NathanaelG
    Apr 4, 2010
    1
    Mike J had it dead on. THL was just a terrible bore. How could this film win Best Picture?! Inglorious Basterds and Precious were excellent contenders, and District 9 was mind-blowing, and clearly the BPOY. This was Slumdog all over again.
  54. NickJ.
    Apr 8, 2010
    2
    Upon finally seeing this film we were sorely disappointed. The hype is amazing for a film that is at best mediocre, and at worst a sad glorification of present day war. The phrase that best comes to mind is: American propaganda. How pathetic!
  55. caseyk.
    May 14, 2010
    7
    It was okay, sure it's tense and good acting but doesn't show any terrifying battle scenes or sad emotionally wrenching scenes (which made other war films classics like Saving Private Ryan and Platoon), definitely didn't deserve best picture, which the film Avatar should have won.
  56. AugureA.
    May 20, 2010
    1
    Way overrated movie, this is just army propaganda, and it made the oscar look ridiculous and not credible anymore.
  57. ChrisS
    Jun 2, 2010
    4
    The problem with this movie is that it keeps up the suspense until the end, and you keep thinking something is going to happen, but then it starts a whole new story. The only reason this won the oscar is because Hollywood is desperate for movies that are boring enough to look deep. Anything so they wouldn't need to give it to Avatar. Overall, 09 was a crappy movie year. Just give the The problem with this movie is that it keeps up the suspense until the end, and you keep thinking something is going to happen, but then it starts a whole new story. The only reason this won the oscar is because Hollywood is desperate for movies that are boring enough to look deep. Anything so they wouldn't need to give it to Avatar. Overall, 09 was a crappy movie year. Just give the award to MW2. Expand
  58. JohnS.
    Jun 9, 2010
    4
    This movie was reasonable for a war movie, but it shamefully pushed the director's media based view any chance it got.
  59. barbaraw
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    I really liked this movie. It made the confusion, fear of the war real. The humanism, the desire to do a job well, how the three members of this team got through the days differently..I thought it was great film making.
  60. JodyT
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    If this movie does not get an Oscar, something is terribly wrong in Hollywood!
  61. rm
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    Walked out of the theater. Boring movie full of negative cliches.
  62. EF
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    I hate films that obey the Hollywood formula, with pointless explosions designed for 14 yr olds. This is not one of those films. Every year less than half a dozen films are actually any good in my opinion and this IS one of those. Good story involving unlikely friends, which doesn't try to embellish war. Some rope moments but generally good, not too sure about the ending. Good Solid Film.
  63. KevinV
    Oct 31, 2009
    4
    The Hurt Locker has been done before, only not in Iraq, and perhaps not so intelligently. The conflict between strict protocol and an independent rule-breaking soldier is nothing new. In fact, none of the characters in The Hurt Locker break army stereotypes. This doesn't make the movie any less poignant, but leaves it feeling stagnant. The only way this movie breaks new ground is by The Hurt Locker has been done before, only not in Iraq, and perhaps not so intelligently. The conflict between strict protocol and an independent rule-breaking soldier is nothing new. In fact, none of the characters in The Hurt Locker break army stereotypes. This doesn't make the movie any less poignant, but leaves it feeling stagnant. The only way this movie breaks new ground is by setting the story in Iraq. Expand
  64. MichaelB.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Absolutely my favorite film so far in 2009. Incredibly tense action with a truly breakout performance by Renner. And Kathryn Bigelow fulfills her promise as a director, too. Just plain exceptional filmmaking.
  65. AlanZ
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    The Hurt Locker is a stunning and horrific achievement that will leave you with shattered tears. I would suggest not having any social plans after seeing this movie, you might be too broken for speech. I only wish that those who bear the responsibility of bringing us to this tragic place could be forced to watch what they have so recklessly created. This film borders on the masterful but The Hurt Locker is a stunning and horrific achievement that will leave you with shattered tears. I would suggest not having any social plans after seeing this movie, you might be too broken for speech. I only wish that those who bear the responsibility of bringing us to this tragic place could be forced to watch what they have so recklessly created. This film borders on the masterful but proceed with caution. Expand
  66. NotaryD
    Jun 28, 2009
    9
    A nearly flawless film. The plot is simple, the characters complex, and the tension unbearable at times.
  67. JamesC
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest war films ever made (by man or woman). It's wonderful to see Kathryn Bigelow at the height of her artistry.
  68. ChaseR
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    The best Iraq war film to date, and one of the best war films of all-time.
  69. CydneyS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Last week a real stinker (public enemies)... to this week and one of the best films ever (hurt locker). No one breathed for the first hour. A film for both sexes. Fabulous fabulous fabulous.
  70. ShazK.
    Jul 10, 2009
    4
    Morally, is it fair to fashion an action/thriller out of misery (American or Iraqi)? Or we are supposed to ignore that, as well? If you praise this film because it is ambivalent or not passing any "facile" judgments about war you admit war is too complex, is that not an opinion too? Are American critics falling over this film and calling it the "best american film about Iraq war" because Morally, is it fair to fashion an action/thriller out of misery (American or Iraqi)? Or we are supposed to ignore that, as well? If you praise this film because it is ambivalent or not passing any "facile" judgments about war you admit war is too complex, is that not an opinion too? Are American critics falling over this film and calling it the "best american film about Iraq war" because it does not show the torture and the suffering gone through by the Iraqi people? Oh, that would be passing a "facile judgement" right? By focusing on a group of American bomb squad is maybe a good cinematic decision. It makes the film more tense and compact but ignoring the plight of the invaded and make them come across as a tribe deserving of such treatment makes this film more dubious than ambiguous. While I did enjoy the film's various action set-pieces, I find the idea that it took a film about the plight of the soldiers rather than the other sides to get the critics sympathy flowing, disturbing. Expand
  71. ChrisC
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best directed films I've ever seen. Manages to be realistic while still telling a compelling narrative, which is hard. Perfectly portrays the tension and constant threat from all sides you imagine the soldiers in Iraq have to face. Film of the year so far for me, by far.
  72. ZeeM
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    And Why Is This Movie Only In Limited Release? This is an absolute amazing movie, suspense, thrilling, nail bitting, hanging by a thread, on the edge of your seat fantastic. If this movie was in Wide Release, It would've made a lot!
  73. TimH
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    Pretty good, but for a movie about a explosives specialist defusing bombs in Iraq there weren't nearly enough explosions OR transforming robots.
  74. LeifJ.
    Jul 17, 2009
    5
    This film is a very weakly scripted, so it is hard to find anything compelling in the film... except for the action which revolves around a character's private obsession with stoic victory in battle. A manipulatively gloomy soundtrack, lipstick-red blood show and slow-motion blow-ups say "Yes ma'am" to the director's vision. What we get is an inadvertent picture of a This film is a very weakly scripted, so it is hard to find anything compelling in the film... except for the action which revolves around a character's private obsession with stoic victory in battle. A manipulatively gloomy soundtrack, lipstick-red blood show and slow-motion blow-ups say "Yes ma'am" to the director's vision. What we get is an inadvertent picture of a military bending toward breakdown in discipline; there's no sense of higher command or political certainty. The audience I sat with lightly applauded the end of the film. It was hard to tell if they were glad it was over, or were swept up in the fictional heroics. Expand
  75. GraceM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    Offers the most realistic suspense and action I have ever seen. Mesmerizing.
  76. DennisB.
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    WOW! Unbelievable film. From the virtual cameos of James Morse and Guy Pearce, to the main players, nobody misses a beat. If you liked HBO's "Generation Kill," you'll love this film as a logical progression of the telling of the story of the Iraqi War. The performances and filming are so real, this movie makes you (MAKES YOU) empathize with the characters. You don't just WOW! Unbelievable film. From the virtual cameos of James Morse and Guy Pearce, to the main players, nobody misses a beat. If you liked HBO's "Generation Kill," you'll love this film as a logical progression of the telling of the story of the Iraqi War. The performances and filming are so real, this movie makes you (MAKES YOU) empathize with the characters. You don't just watch this film; you become a part of it. Expand
  77. Brit
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    The film IS both realistic and accurate. See it really puts a perspective on things.
  78. AlexL
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    A very gripping character study.
  79. TDKinDallas
    Jul 22, 2009
    8
    I can't believe this movie is not in wide release. Extremely suspenseful! I had to keep telling myself to stop clenching my fists, repeatedly. I would have gave it a 10 if it had been more believable, but who cares? Go see this film. I agree with the other reviewer that this is a movie for civilians and thank goodness. I will be going again. I disagree with the reviewer about shaky I can't believe this movie is not in wide release. Extremely suspenseful! I had to keep telling myself to stop clenching my fists, repeatedly. I would have gave it a 10 if it had been more believable, but who cares? Go see this film. I agree with the other reviewer that this is a movie for civilians and thank goodness. I will be going again. I disagree with the reviewer about shaky camera work. I had to leave Cloverfield, but I never felt bad in this one and I really don't remember the shakiness. Expand
  80. MichaelS
    Jul 20, 2009
    3
    I totally agree with Brad M's review. If you have any military training whatsoever, you are going to hate this movie. I left this movie angry because of all the tactical aspects of this movie that were just completely wrong. Things were done that no one in their right mind would do. Also, the sniper rifle scene was just pure fantasy. I wanted to like this movie. I was real excited I totally agree with Brad M's review. If you have any military training whatsoever, you are going to hate this movie. I left this movie angry because of all the tactical aspects of this movie that were just completely wrong. Things were done that no one in their right mind would do. Also, the sniper rifle scene was just pure fantasy. I wanted to like this movie. I was real excited about seeing it. It also just went on too long. Expand
  81. MarkS
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    I've given myself a few days for the experience of "The Hurt Locker" to sink in, and am now convinced that it deserves a place on the same altar as "Full Metal Jacket," "Platoon," and "Saving Private Ryan." It is an entirely apolitical Iraq war film, but what's more: a thoroughly engrossing human drama about working in the most hazardous and unpredictable of conditions.
  82. StephenJ.
    Jul 24, 2009
    4
    I didn't hate it, but was never grabbed by it either. Some meandering sub-plots overly long sequences. Wait for it on DVD.
  83. JosephB
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    Extremely tense from the get go! Very much like the tension in from the Clouzet movie Wages of Fear. I found myself not breathing so as not to set something off.
  84. NormG
    Jul 28, 2009
    4
    Maybe I have seen too many war movies. Too many World War II movies, too many Vietnam War movies, too many Iraq War movies. I get it. War is chaotic, terrible, brutal and attracts wackos. The Hurt Locker taught me nothing new. I didn't care about the characters and I certainly didn't learn anything about the U.S. mission in the middle east. I am not an expert on combat Maybe I have seen too many war movies. Too many World War II movies, too many Vietnam War movies, too many Iraq War movies. I get it. War is chaotic, terrible, brutal and attracts wackos. The Hurt Locker taught me nothing new. I didn't care about the characters and I certainly didn't learn anything about the U.S. mission in the middle east. I am not an expert on combat operations but I would guess some of the activity was unrealistic. I was bored and the movies seemed way to long. Expand
  85. TravisT
    Jul 30, 2009
    1
    Echoing the voices of the veterans here. This movie seems to be what the director thought people wanted to think the war is like. It is not a war movie, it is a fantasy, done up to make the masses think it is reality. Simply terrible, and bordering on disrespectful in my opinion. I think though that the most appalling thing is how many people, professional critics and otherwise, actually Echoing the voices of the veterans here. This movie seems to be what the director thought people wanted to think the war is like. It is not a war movie, it is a fantasy, done up to make the masses think it is reality. Simply terrible, and bordering on disrespectful in my opinion. I think though that the most appalling thing is how many people, professional critics and otherwise, actually use the word "realistic" when talking about it. I watched it with a couple of other soldiers and we were quite literally alternating between laughing and wondering "what the hell". "The Hurt Locker" is more like a cable TV drama. I was glad when it was over, and immediately rushed home to voice my displeasure over the internet (albeit against the shouting voices of the masses who think this thing was delivered by god). Also, while I'm at it, you want to see realistic, watch Frontline's "A Company of Soldiers" or "Waltz With Bashir". Those hit so close to home they were hard to watch. Expand
  86. um.....yum?
    Aug 11, 2009
    7
    Its a good movie, hovering above okay. The critics went high wire with this. I don't really support the troops, I don't think this war is necessary. We did this out of reaction and not thinking. This film definitely did not convince to have a respect for the troops but them again that wasn't the point of the movie. I don't like the characters especially the main Its a good movie, hovering above okay. The critics went high wire with this. I don't really support the troops, I don't think this war is necessary. We did this out of reaction and not thinking. This film definitely did not convince to have a respect for the troops but them again that wasn't the point of the movie. I don't like the characters especially the main character. He's annoying and arrogant. Their all overly masculine people and there was that conversation between the two guys talking and one if them makes fun of the other, teasing him that he probably went to Harvard. Its as if going to a good school is a pussy thing to do and war is for strong big boys that are real men, its all bull shit. I'm happy he got shot. There was some images that turned simple things like a bullet hitting the sand really beautiful. Overall, I liked this film. I came with a open mind and enjoyed myself. Its probably not gonna become the years best and I'm not sure if its gonna be up there but its better than a lot of stuff that came out this year especially this summer. Expand
  87. AronR
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Regardless of the technical or militaristic accuracy of the film, (and I feel like I have to remind some reviewers here that making training videos and/or documentaries is NOT what Hollywood does) - this IS a fantastic piece of film-making that director, cast and crew should be enormously proud of. A must see for all film enthusiasts!
  88. GeoffR
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Superb story, acting and cinematography. Definitely agree with Damion K, people need to know how to rate a movie, and th fact that this movie isn't totally realistic isn't the point. Its fantastic.
  89. 89D40
    Aug 10, 2009
    3
    I should begin by saying that I have never in my 41 years been so excited to see a film. You see, I am a recently retired 89D (that's EOD, or Explosive Ordnance Disposal) Master Sergeant. The last 16 of my 22 years in the Army were spent in EOD, including two full tours in Iraq and a short stint in Afghanistan. As it happens, I was an E-7 section chief in Baghdad in 2004 (this is the I should begin by saying that I have never in my 41 years been so excited to see a film. You see, I am a recently retired 89D (that's EOD, or Explosive Ordnance Disposal) Master Sergeant. The last 16 of my 22 years in the Army were spent in EOD, including two full tours in Iraq and a short stint in Afghanistan. As it happens, I was an E-7 section chief in Baghdad in 2004 (this is the same position and rank as the main character in the movie). So, again as it happens, it seemed to me like Hollywood made a movie about...me (and my soldiers). I'd never felt so honored by and excited about a film. That is, until I saw it. From the very beginning, it was very unfortunately clear that Ms. Bigelow was attempting to recreate what I'll call "the Iraq experience", but tragically, without a good faith effort of consulting those who have actually HAD that experience. THAT, my civilian friends, is why the servicemembers here are (I think, to a man) appalled and angered by this film. It isn't that it is mildly inaccurate in the military-specific details...it is that the film as a whole is little more than sheer fantasy. While that in itself is not a bad thing, it becomes VERY obnoxious when the fanciful characters and events are worshipped as worthwhile or profound by folks who simply don't know any better. Why this is so frustrating is because this movie has gotten much attention for its focus on "the experiences of the individual soldier". Ironically enough, what you saw in this film bore absolutely no resemblance to either my wartime experiences or my military experiences as a whole, and I do not think that I am alone with this perspective. All that said, I enjoyed the acting, and the scenery was quite good. Not enough, though, to salvage this flawed and borderline insulting interpretation of a war that is in desperate need of some real lucidity. Expand
  90. shawn
    Aug 14, 2009
    8
    Nicely acted. a taut thriller. and some really damn good cinematography. what i really appreciated was they didn't try to load the movie down with a central plot. the idea of some super sly enemy bomb maker would have ruined this movie. we've been there and done that one enough. barring the rampant inaccuracies i do lament that there was a missed opportunity to show the real Nicely acted. a taut thriller. and some really damn good cinematography. what i really appreciated was they didn't try to load the movie down with a central plot. the idea of some super sly enemy bomb maker would have ruined this movie. we've been there and done that one enough. barring the rampant inaccuracies i do lament that there was a missed opportunity to show the real carnage and utter horror these bomb makers inflict on the iraqi ppl. it was alluded to when the main character was back home. after reading a number of these reviews it occurs to me how polarizing this movie is. by those that have never served and those that have. i have served in one capacity or another for close to 20 years.13 yrs in uniform, these past 6 as a private contractor. its understandable why the military experienced will blanche and boil about this movie. but ur judging a HOLLYWOOD movie based on realism. that alone seems flawed in the extreme. u are applying a high level of bias to a purely fictional account because it doesn't sync with the reality we have experienced. its a movie ppl. rating this based on realism is like rating Star Wars on its realism. Hollywood is not in the business of realism its in the business of selling movies. get over yourselves. Expand
  91. BM
    Aug 14, 2009
    5
    Overrated. The movie is basically a series of well crafted set pieces without anything to hold it all together. The director attempts to fill in those gaps with much pontificating about what war means and how it affects those involved. It's all been said before, but in much more effective ways.
  92. Robn
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed it. It is entertaining and well-made, but does seem to lack some cohesion as far as plot and theme. Each scene feels like an independent episode from a mini-series rather than part of a film with an overall theme. The theme itself is not apparent until the end, at which point it is anti-climactic. The camera work and acting is great. I would describe it as an action/suspense I enjoyed it. It is entertaining and well-made, but does seem to lack some cohesion as far as plot and theme. Each scene feels like an independent episode from a mini-series rather than part of a film with an overall theme. The theme itself is not apparent until the end, at which point it is anti-climactic. The camera work and acting is great. I would describe it as an action/suspense popcorn movie more than a serious war film. Expand
  93. AngryVet
    Aug 15, 2009
    3
    I borrowed this from a buddy while stationed here in Afghanistan. The movie was so poorly done and the acting and script were so bad that I thought it was an official Army movie in order to stop PTSD. It made me sick to my stomach when I went on Metacritic and saw what high ratings the movie received from the critics. Which goes to show that those critics have absolutely no idea what I borrowed this from a buddy while stationed here in Afghanistan. The movie was so poorly done and the acting and script were so bad that I thought it was an official Army movie in order to stop PTSD. It made me sick to my stomach when I went on Metacritic and saw what high ratings the movie received from the critics. Which goes to show that those critics have absolutely no idea what it's really like out here and in Iraq. I'm ashamed to have even watched the ripped copy of this 'film', if you can call it that. What a joke. Expand
  94. JonathanB
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    Just superb. Hush up all veterans and appreciate a rollicking good ride. Thanks.
  95. NedW
    Aug 16, 2009
    8
    I completely understand why the service personnel here are angered by this film and I sympathize with them. An inaccurate portrayal of this war would anger me, too, had I been in the service, I am sure. However, I am not a soldier and was not one in 2004. I have little knowledge of how this kind of work really is carried out. I, too, wish that Ms. Bigelow and her writer had spent more I completely understand why the service personnel here are angered by this film and I sympathize with them. An inaccurate portrayal of this war would anger me, too, had I been in the service, I am sure. However, I am not a soldier and was not one in 2004. I have little knowledge of how this kind of work really is carried out. I, too, wish that Ms. Bigelow and her writer had spent more time making sure that they had their facts straight. As a viewer I wish that I had been shown a more correct picture of how the modern Expand
  96. TomA
    Aug 17, 2009
    2
    The big mistake that Bigelow made here is setting the movie in Iraq, with American soldiers as the focal point. If you're going to set a movie in a modern theater of war and attempt to portray real soldiers doing real things, then GET IT RIGHT. Otherwise, set your crappy movie in The Shire and make the hobbits your EOD squad. That'd have about the same level of realism.
  97. KevinR.
    Aug 18, 2009
    2
    I don't know where to start. Anyone who gave this movie a rating of 7 or higher (10....are you kidding me!) has been duped. They must be people that only like a movie because it gets good reviews from critics that have no clue about what is actually going on in Iraq (especially what an EOD team does). I was looking forward to seeing this movie because of the good reviews and was I don't know where to start. Anyone who gave this movie a rating of 7 or higher (10....are you kidding me!) has been duped. They must be people that only like a movie because it gets good reviews from critics that have no clue about what is actually going on in Iraq (especially what an EOD team does). I was looking forward to seeing this movie because of the good reviews and was extremely disappointed. I'll start with the good. Pros: Good camera work, a realistic display of the landscape of Iraq and the explosions of IEDs. Some tension filled moments. Unfortunately, the good moments can Expand
  98. MarkS
    Aug 18, 2009
    1
    I find it almost unbelievably ironic that someone here ("Jason B") suggested that servicemembers aren't liking this movie because it is not "propaganda". Actually, Jason, most of the nonsense that you just saw in "The Hurt Locker" is EXACTLY that...the guys in this film ARE playing Rambo, and that is what we hate so much. It speaks to your complete ignorance of the reality ofI find it almost unbelievably ironic that someone here ("Jason B") suggested that servicemembers aren't liking this movie because it is not "propaganda". Actually, Jason, most of the nonsense that you just saw in "The Hurt Locker" is EXACTLY that...the guys in this film ARE playing Rambo, and that is what we hate so much. It speaks to your complete ignorance of the reality of situation in Iraq and what we've experienced of it that you think this piece of trash film actually portrays soldiers. Expand
  99. Wes
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    As a service member I think some of my fellow colleagues are missing the point of the movie. Who cares how Hollywood is portraying us? We know the truth, and if civilians are dumb enough to think that's how we are then let them. I thought it was a good movie and worth the price of admission.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. The result is an intense, action-driven war pic, a muscular, efficient standout that simultaneously conveys the feeling of combat from within as well as what it looks like on the ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    A near-perfect movie about men in war, men at work. Through sturdy imagery and violent action, it says that even Hell needs heroes.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    60
    Boal's script stirs a little of everything into the pot, which boils down into seven setpieces divided by brief intervals of camaraderie/conflict among the three protags.