Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1387 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,014
Mixed:
143
Negative:
230
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ScottA.Jul 22, 2009
One of the best films of the year or any year. Masterful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TDKinDallasJul 22, 2009
I can't believe this movie is not in wide release. Extremely suspenseful! I had to keep telling myself to stop clenching my fists, repeatedly. I would have gave it a 10 if it had been more believable, but who cares? Go see this film. I I can't believe this movie is not in wide release. Extremely suspenseful! I had to keep telling myself to stop clenching my fists, repeatedly. I would have gave it a 10 if it had been more believable, but who cares? Go see this film. I agree with the other reviewer that this is a movie for civilians and thank goodness. I will be going again. I disagree with the reviewer about shaky camera work. I had to leave Cloverfield, but I never felt bad in this one and I really don't remember the shakiness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkSJul 22, 2009
I've given myself a few days for the experience of "The Hurt Locker" to sink in, and am now convinced that it deserves a place on the same altar as "Full Metal Jacket," "Platoon," and "Saving Private Ryan." It is an entirely apolitical I've given myself a few days for the experience of "The Hurt Locker" to sink in, and am now convinced that it deserves a place on the same altar as "Full Metal Jacket," "Platoon," and "Saving Private Ryan." It is an entirely apolitical Iraq war film, but what's more: a thoroughly engrossing human drama about working in the most hazardous and unpredictable of conditions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BritJul 21, 2009
The film IS both realistic and accurate. See it really puts a perspective on things.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexLJul 20, 2009
A very gripping character study.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardJJul 19, 2009
This is an excellent depiction of this most unusual war where the enemy has little to identify them to our military. It is the best film about the war with terrorists that we will see for a long, long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JudCJul 19, 2009
This is possibly the best war movie ever. You feel like you should take a shower by the time you get home. Short of doing a tour of duty in Iraq, it can't get any more realistic and harrowing than this. Is it possible to get This is possibly the best war movie ever. You feel like you should take a shower by the time you get home. Short of doing a tour of duty in Iraq, it can't get any more realistic and harrowing than this. Is it possible to get post-traumatic syndrome from a film? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinaR.W.Jul 18, 2009
The best movie I've seen in years! Jeremy Renner is insanely good in this movie. As are Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty. I haven't watched the Oscars since the late 90s, but if Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal and all the actors are The best movie I've seen in years! Jeremy Renner is insanely good in this movie. As are Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty. I haven't watched the Oscars since the late 90s, but if Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal and all the actors are nominated, you bet I'll be sitting in front of my TV rooting for them all to win statues in 2010. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisB.Jul 18, 2009
WOW! Unbelievable film. From the virtual cameos of James Morse and Guy Pearce, to the main players, nobody misses a beat. If you liked HBO's "Generation Kill," you'll love this film as a logical progression of the telling of the WOW! Unbelievable film. From the virtual cameos of James Morse and Guy Pearce, to the main players, nobody misses a beat. If you liked HBO's "Generation Kill," you'll love this film as a logical progression of the telling of the story of the Iraqi War. The performances and filming are so real, this movie makes you (MAKES YOU) empathize with the characters. You don't just watch this film; you become a part of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GraceM.Jul 17, 2009
Offers the most realistic suspense and action I have ever seen. Mesmerizing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimHJul 15, 2009
Pretty good, but for a movie about a explosives specialist defusing bombs in Iraq there weren't nearly enough explosions OR transforming robots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJul 15, 2009
A tremendous movie on the war in Iraq. It is a war we can never win as it is about two different cultures. We value life and the enemy doesn't. None of our boys want to be there but they are pawns in a game of life. Once we leave Iraq A tremendous movie on the war in Iraq. It is a war we can never win as it is about two different cultures. We value life and the enemy doesn't. None of our boys want to be there but they are pawns in a game of life. Once we leave Iraq the two religious warring factions will kill each other. Democracy will never take a foothold in the Middle East. As for our hero he has an obvious deathwish that sooner or later will be fulfilled. The acting, script, and directing is first rate. No holds barred look as to how ugly this war truly is. NO one will ever win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMJul 15, 2009
And Why Is This Movie Only In Limited Release? This is an absolute amazing movie, suspense, thrilling, nail bitting, hanging by a thread, on the edge of your seat fantastic. If this movie was in Wide Release, It would've made a lot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisCJul 15, 2009
One of the best directed films I've ever seen. Manages to be realistic while still telling a compelling narrative, which is hard. Perfectly portrays the tension and constant threat from all sides you imagine the soldiers in Iraq have to One of the best directed films I've ever seen. Manages to be realistic while still telling a compelling narrative, which is hard. Perfectly portrays the tension and constant threat from all sides you imagine the soldiers in Iraq have to face. Film of the year so far for me, by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Z.H-RJul 13, 2009
One of the best war films I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Jul 13, 2009
Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, her fine cast of relative unknowns and a first rate techinical crew deliver an intense, incredibly absorbing visceral experience. The film is amazing in its ability to transport you right into the fray. As a previous comment states-the tension in this film is almost agonzing. Every element of filmmaking combines to create an almost out of body experience. It's also the rare action picture made with intelligence as well as skill. 'The Hurt Locker' is fully deserving of every bit of acclaim it has (and will yet) recieve. Multiple Oscar noms are quite possible and a Best Director Oscar for Ms. Bigelow is very much deserving. DON'T MISS THIS ON A BIG SCREEN! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChaseRJul 12, 2009
The best Iraq war film to date, and one of the best war films of all-time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveHJul 11, 2009
Very realistic movie with great acting. I'm not an Iraq veteren so I cannot vouch for authenticity but it seemed real. I think the movie was a bit too long and a few scenes didn't quite make it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CydneySJul 10, 2009
Last week a real stinker (public enemies)... to this week and one of the best films ever (hurt locker). No one breathed for the first hour. A film for both sexes. Fabulous fabulous fabulous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekDJul 2, 2009
By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the Iraq war on the soldiers who risk their lives every day fighting; or in this films case defusing bombs in hopes to save the lives of soldiers and citizens. Bigelow does an excellent job with this film and deserves much acclaim. Her use of little to no music really enhances the tension. The cinematography is also very well done. The performances are fantastic, especially from Jeremy Renner and Anthony Mackie, both deserving of an Oscar nomination. This film needs to be seen by everyone. It is not a political war film, it doesn Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KennyRJul 1, 2009
Incredible movie. If you have to choose between this movie and Transformers 2. Save your money and check out this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
lolaluluJul 1, 2009
One of the most realistic war movies that I've ever seen.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EdNJun 29, 2009
Easily the best war movie since Saving Private Ryan and on par with Platoon. The film is real, restrained, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat for two and half hours. In a season dominated by movies inspired by and meant to sell toys, Easily the best war movie since Saving Private Ryan and on par with Platoon. The film is real, restrained, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat for two and half hours. In a season dominated by movies inspired by and meant to sell toys, here at last is some honest-to-God filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesCJun 29, 2009
One of the greatest war films ever made (by man or woman). It's wonderful to see Kathryn Bigelow at the height of her artistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatNJun 28, 2009
Just watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NotaryDJun 28, 2009
A nearly flawless film. The plot is simple, the characters complex, and the tension unbearable at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinS.Jun 28, 2009
This first great Iraq war film. Visceral and powerful. A character based film without any ugly Hollywood agenda. Up until this point, American soldiers have been portrayed as either ignorant southern hicks (Stop-Loss) or blood thirsty This first great Iraq war film. Visceral and powerful. A character based film without any ugly Hollywood agenda. Up until this point, American soldiers have been portrayed as either ignorant southern hicks (Stop-Loss) or blood thirsty rapists (Redacted). The Hurt Locker gets the US soldier right - they are warriors for peace, trying to make a difference. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MatthewMJun 27, 2009
Bigelow's POV work is incredible, sucking you into this hot, confusing, and terrifying world. Renner nails the gung-ho army ranger, who loves to stand out from his comrades but at the same time treat them like family. What I loved is Bigelow's POV work is incredible, sucking you into this hot, confusing, and terrifying world. Renner nails the gung-ho army ranger, who loves to stand out from his comrades but at the same time treat them like family. What I loved is how the soldiers are in a pointless battle that they cannot win or really change, yet they are committed and hooked to it... I am a film snob, but this is the only movie all year besides Sin Nombre that I really enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanZJun 27, 2009
The Hurt Locker is a stunning and horrific achievement that will leave you with shattered tears. I would suggest not having any social plans after seeing this movie, you might be too broken for speech. I only wish that those who bear the The Hurt Locker is a stunning and horrific achievement that will leave you with shattered tears. I would suggest not having any social plans after seeing this movie, you might be too broken for speech. I only wish that those who bear the responsibility of bringing us to this tragic place could be forced to watch what they have so recklessly created. This film borders on the masterful but proceed with caution. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Jun 26, 2009
Absolutely my favorite film so far in 2009. Incredibly tense action with a truly breakout performance by Renner. And Kathryn Bigelow fulfills her promise as a director, too. Just plain exceptional filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful