Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1387 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,014
Mixed:
143
Negative:
230
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
I understand the importance of creating heroes surrounding the American military; however, I found this depiction overly run-of-the-mill. Sure, Jeremy Renner gives a fine performance--but I'm left missing some much needed heart.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
KivaJun 9, 2013
I really didn't like this movie. it obviously didn't deserve an Oscar as Avatar was nominated this year...
What is the point of that movie? War is great? America f**k yeah? I dont know but I think 94/100 is too much as well as 7.1/10 I
I really didn't like this movie. it obviously didn't deserve an Oscar as Avatar was nominated this year...
What is the point of that movie? War is great? America f**k yeah? I dont know but I think 94/100 is too much as well as 7.1/10 I watched that film with good friends and all of them didn't like it. It was truly unacceptable as a movie. Thumbs down
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
Arthur_S_PoeFeb 11, 2015
I cannot deny that 'The Hurt Locker' has a very specific power that does, in a way, attract people to it. It is a very boldly done war film about all the individual consequences of a war, something that has not been a standard topic of theI cannot deny that 'The Hurt Locker' has a very specific power that does, in a way, attract people to it. It is a very boldly done war film about all the individual consequences of a war, something that has not been a standard topic of the genre. Yet, I was bitterly disappointed by it all, as it proved to be a disgustingly blatant work of American propaganda, whereby their political aggression is presented as a burden to those that willingly participated it. Who the f**k cares about what the war did to someone who, under the pretext of 'liberalization and democracy', behaved like a bloody dictator? I was utterly disappointed by all the awards the movie gained and I must say that the critical universal acclaim somehow escapes me, as I don't see any relevant acclaim that should be attributed to the movie. It is slow, effectively boring and dull, one-sided and biased and it actually borders some propaganda work, but without the chauvinistic subtext. But, yes, the glorification of the American Soldier (just to make it clear - America is not the problem here, it is the glorification of a phenomenon that should be condemned and I would say the exact same things if the film was about Congo, Cambodia, Britain or Guatemala) is there and it is absolutely sickening (I actually fell asleep for 20 minutes and when I woke up I concluded that I haven't missed a thing - enough said).

I detested Jeremy Renner after seeing the movie and I was glad he lost the Oscar that year. In time, my opinion of him did improve, but the role was disastrous. It wasn't bad, quite the contrary, but the character itself, his portrayal and all of that combined with the movie itself was dreadful.

So, 'The Hurt Locker', albeit a well designed war film, offers little to nothing of the potential it has, becoming thus a propaganda work and the glorification of a war-raging policy that should be forgotten within the history books and not glorified on screen.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
RedfordstoJun 8, 2012
This is an excellent example of the politics of movie making. It's been said that this movie will demonstrate how the war in Iraq is remembered. This upsets me due to the lack of realism. Most noticeably, the fact that three soldiers do notThis is an excellent example of the politics of movie making. It's been said that this movie will demonstrate how the war in Iraq is remembered. This upsets me due to the lack of realism. Most noticeably, the fact that three soldiers do not run into the darkness alone to chase something that they may have seen. Nor did we risk soldiers to defuse bombs past the first months. Further, it's a rip off of the Lethal Weapon prototype. Unstable white guy paired with veteran black guy and they have over the top adventure. But the real insult? From the accounts of multiple vets, I have been told that District 9 was more realistic as far as reminding them of combat situations. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
egovirusMar 8, 2011
That people are giving this movie a ten, and that it won an Oscar shows just how desperately out of touch Americans are. Gross inaccuracies aside, and this movie is riven with them, the fact that this director had so much going for her inThat people are giving this movie a ten, and that it won an Oscar shows just how desperately out of touch Americans are. Gross inaccuracies aside, and this movie is riven with them, the fact that this director had so much going for her in terms of the innate interest stories like this generate, and the timeliness of its release, and she blew it so completely, is very telling. It tells of incompetence, and indifference to the people she pretends to care for and about. If she really cared, then the amateur to the stark errors she makes in this movie would have been removed, and she would have gotten at least some things right. Otherwise you're just out to make a name for yourself, and f*** you for that. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
AtomicDogSep 24, 2014
I suspect the high reviews that critics have given this is due more to the fact the media is filled with liberal defeatist cowards because the film itself was boring, boring, boring. I could hardly stay awake.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
Sebe2012Jan 18, 2015
It is an absolutely horrible , one sided movie that brings nothing new to the white screen . Oscar winning ? It is rather embarrassing . I would expect from bigelow something brave and innovative. I wonder we Hollywood will be brave enough toIt is an absolutely horrible , one sided movie that brings nothing new to the white screen . Oscar winning ? It is rather embarrassing . I would expect from bigelow something brave and innovative. I wonder we Hollywood will be brave enough to the Iraq war and face with reality . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
epictvsagaDec 13, 2010
This movie gets a 2, reason being because CG effects were great and acting was as well. However, the cast didn't fit together also these little cameos by famous actors were just boring and pointless. This movie won a bunch of academy awardsThis movie gets a 2, reason being because CG effects were great and acting was as well. However, the cast didn't fit together also these little cameos by famous actors were just boring and pointless. This movie won a bunch of academy awards and I don't know how? Hollywood is just lame in giving awards sometimes. They just give them to look good and to either make people mad or happy. This movie just makes you feel like you should die or try to die as you keep watching or living out your life. Yeah you could watch it, but don't expect to feel anything after this boring anti-war movie. It's basically just about being obsessed and it's like who cares give me something with meaning, you're taking up my life's precious hours! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
dsj556Mar 7, 2014
Please for anyone watching this move it is not at all accurate. EOD rarely disarms bombs as it is too dangerous. NCO's don't punch superiors in the face, you certainly would never find a SFC getting hammered drunk or sneaking off the fob byPlease for anyone watching this move it is not at all accurate. EOD rarely disarms bombs as it is too dangerous. NCO's don't punch superiors in the face, you certainly would never find a SFC getting hammered drunk or sneaking off the fob by himself to interrogate someone, it is simply false. These are huge falsehoods that completely turn the move into 100% fiction beyond the fact that the war in Iraq actually happened. These would be the kinds of stories you would hear from an EOD private who was in the Green Zone for 12 months. Anyone else who ever set foot in the middle east can tell you what a complete load of BS this movie really is.

People may think that even an inaccurate war movie is better than none but that is simply not the case. This movie is an insult to everyone who spent even one second in Iraq and I am still amazed that it actually won an Oscar. That is just a travesty.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
NoBSJan 24, 2011
Meh, I'm just gonna cut the **** this is one horrible movie. The fact that it won best picture of the year just shows how hollywood is all biased and about politics and congress. Over the years, the oscars have become nothing but a pitifulMeh, I'm just gonna cut the **** this is one horrible movie. The fact that it won best picture of the year just shows how hollywood is all biased and about politics and congress. Over the years, the oscars have become nothing but a pitiful embarrassing sham with incredibly ridiculous nominees and arrogant hosts. You might as well pin it next to the VGAs in how pathetic it is. It's plot? You've heard it before, some guy goes to iraq, shows the hardships of the war, some people die, comes back to america, goes back, done. Nothing of interest or originality at ALL in this movie. Hell there's not even a story. Best part of all is the stereotypical black guy as the tough militant, nothin against black people, but the way they always portray them as bad ass military guys in tight uniforms is laughable. Really it's just an advertisement for the american military and government. It has what the government wants. Portray the US as the good guy and Iraq as the bad guy. Make working for the military look bad ass with some sniper rifle scenes and you got yourself a subliminal message "join the military" and a good ol **** you to avatar. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
guitarmahnDec 10, 2010
Its a downward spiral with overated movies. Inception,Monsters. I cant help but think its the pitch and the hype that does it when the Emperor has no clothes. Lets say its 'Eagerly awaited, theirs 'Oscar Buzz' before it even comes out andIts a downward spiral with overated movies. Inception,Monsters. I cant help but think its the pitch and the hype that does it when the Emperor has no clothes. Lets say its 'Eagerly awaited, theirs 'Oscar Buzz' before it even comes out and without paying attention that the 'Buzz' is coming from the people who market the movie. I dont care who your are and how much you say you like this, I say your lying to yourself as its slow paced and boring (odd for a explosives movie) yet I argue with a mass of people who are eager for the new McMsg burger because someone on tv told them to. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
DamianFeb 4, 2011
this movie is a disgrace to the armed forces and has debased the Academy Awards by winning the Oscar for best movie. If you like cowboy movies, you'll recognise the characters but feel let down by pretty much everything else.
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
1
1234Sep 7, 2011
I seriously felt like shooting my self in the head...... over Americanised **** basically all hyped up trying to say Americans are the heroes even though they have killed more of their own than they have saved (SPASTICS) XD
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
Prowler477Jun 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some cool moments (like the sniping, didn't make any sense that a guy who disarms bombs knows how to spot and snipe guys makes no sense, to their own expertise or the story-line) but the plot and characters, especially the main character ticked me off. The black guy constantly trying to kill the main character was the breaking point for me. We need to support our troops not act like every CO is a bastard with his men trying to kill him. The unpatriotic views makes me sick. The and the fact it has gotten great critic reviews is slander. One of the worst war movies I have ever seen. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
JakeSTALIN_RUSJun 10, 2012
I dont know WHAT have everyone found in this movie.Absolutely NO realism , horrible stroy about the stupid war done by American politiciand only for their own joy.Even the soldiers of US army laugh at it. You can call me stupid or somethingI dont know WHAT have everyone found in this movie.Absolutely NO realism , horrible stroy about the stupid war done by American politiciand only for their own joy.Even the soldiers of US army laugh at it. You can call me stupid or something but i think - the only reason this film has got the Oscar - is because the women.You know what i am talking about.
P.S I didnt want to hurt anyones feeling with my report - sorry if i did.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
ItchyDec 11, 2012
I realize this review is coming a little late but I see the same director is now birthing another one of her 'realistic' films about war (Zero Dark Thirty). I love hard hitting action films as much as I HATE political propaganda and that isI realize this review is coming a little late but I see the same director is now birthing another one of her 'realistic' films about war (Zero Dark Thirty). I love hard hitting action films as much as I HATE political propaganda and that is what the Hurt Locker is. I was completely bored with the "crazy-American-cowboy standing-alone -against-all-the-whimps" theme. Maybe this film director/writer should join up and see what a real war feels like. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
StPaul1Aug 26, 2011
One of the more over-praised movies in recent memory - really just another hyperkinetic mess from Kathryn Bigelow (one of the more over-praised directors working today). The main character is a cliche, the "loose-cannon" action hero, only inOne of the more over-praised movies in recent memory - really just another hyperkinetic mess from Kathryn Bigelow (one of the more over-praised directors working today). The main character is a cliche, the "loose-cannon" action hero, only in this case there is no explanation for his risk taking. Jeremy Renner plays the character with his typical lack of range or subtlety. The only interesting actor is Ralph Fiennes as the leader of a band of mercenaries, but he's only on screen for a few minutes. Altogether a waste of time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
John154Jun 24, 2016
This movie came out while i was in Afghanistan hunting IEDs. This hero filled war porn does not reflect what we did and makes a mockery of the teams of men who worked as professional, cohesive units to do this very difficult job that theThis movie came out while i was in Afghanistan hunting IEDs. This hero filled war porn does not reflect what we did and makes a mockery of the teams of men who worked as professional, cohesive units to do this very difficult job that the cowboy protagonist does all my himself while in a constant state of rebellion and with total neglect for the intricacies of army teamwork. My mother saw this film it put all sorts of new dread into her for my safety. That pissed me off too. Clearly I'm biased and maybe if I were a civilian I might like this sort of film but from this Vet's perspective Hurker Locker gets two raging thumbs down. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
RicardoL.Feb 15, 2010
An only-American movie!!!! No one else in the world can understand that patriotic feeling, without it the movie is complete poor.
3 of 16 users found this helpful
1
MelC.Mar 9, 2010
I'm not sure which movie the critics saw, but Hurt Locker is unskilled at just about every level.
3 of 10 users found this helpful
1
RIckyBlueJan 2, 2010
I'm with RW on this one. I thought this was a dumb, empty movie and haven't found a single review that points out what I've missed other than it was some kind of adrenaline rush. "It was so real, man." What kind of ivory tower I'm with RW on this one. I thought this was a dumb, empty movie and haven't found a single review that points out what I've missed other than it was some kind of adrenaline rush. "It was so real, man." What kind of ivory tower institution do you people come from? This movie is disrespectful to American soldiers and Iraqi civilians alike. It's just another lame Hollywood vision of reality that allows people to pat themselves on the back for saying absolutely nothing. I don't know. It's an empty movie with bad dialogue and ridiculous, two-dimensional characters. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful
3
ThomasH.Feb 2, 2010
Watch The Messenger instead, why the critics are rating this so highly is a mystery. It doesn't even compare to Apocalypse Now and Platoon. Heck it's just awful, watch Jarhead instead.
5 of 15 users found this helpful
1
TimC.Feb 3, 2010
I have completed 2 tours in Iraq and Afghanistan with the US ARMY. This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. Nothing in this movie is the way things are done over there. Nobody drives around by themselves! Nobody leaves their FOB by I have completed 2 tours in Iraq and Afghanistan with the US ARMY. This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. Nothing in this movie is the way things are done over there. Nobody drives around by themselves! Nobody leaves their FOB by themselves to "investigate" somebody. EOD does not even come out at night. They wait until the next day to use the robot to blow up the IED. They hardly ever, ever make "the walk" as the movie so ridiculously put it. Anyway, do not think this movie is the way it is. This movie is complete make believe!!! Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful
1
JesseL.Feb 8, 2010
Anybody who has been over to Iraq will laugh at this movie. It's a joke. It's almost as if the creators of this movie didn't get any professional military input at all. Whats frustrating for me, as well as everybody else who Anybody who has been over to Iraq will laugh at this movie. It's a joke. It's almost as if the creators of this movie didn't get any professional military input at all. Whats frustrating for me, as well as everybody else who has been there and done that, is that they sold this movie and advertised it as the "real deal" and how this is a good example of "what things are really like over there". There are so many innaccuracies in this movie, some downright lies, that it was hard for me to watch and take it seriously. From that viewpoint, this was absolutely the worst movie of the year. It could have been a decent movie had they not made it out to be this realistic war drama about life in Iraq. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful
0
MiKEFeb 9, 2010
What a BORE of a movie! Badly directed as well. AVOID
2 of 6 users found this helpful
3
KyleD.May 21, 2010
Hello, I pirated this movie, and I didn't like it very much. From all of the hype, I was expecting a lot more. The rise to the climax felt loosely strung together, and there was hardly any character development at all. If you've Hello, I pirated this movie, and I didn't like it very much. From all of the hype, I was expecting a lot more. The rise to the climax felt loosely strung together, and there was hardly any character development at all. If you've seen the trailers, you've seen the best parts already. It also came to my attention that the director indirectly called me an idiot and wished for innocent people's children and spouses to be locked up in jail. I can't support someone with such a sick sense of morality. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
SammyS.May 20, 2010
What a stinker. Ironic how this retard is now suing people that pirated it, just because no one wanted to pay to see this piece of trash film. Get out of the film business PLEASE.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
PeterRAug 10, 2009
I am so glad some of our men and women in the armed forces are speaking up about the inaccuracies in this film. I didn't like this film for other reasons, but know that I have read their comments here, I am angry, appalled and I am so glad some of our men and women in the armed forces are speaking up about the inaccuracies in this film. I didn't like this film for other reasons, but know that I have read their comments here, I am angry, appalled and embarrassed. Bigelow didn't claim this film is realistic, but she sure seemed to try to pass it off as such, and the critics and others ate it right up. I truely am embarrassed that this film is getting the "special treatment" from critics that should know better. Sad. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful
0
GordieAAug 2, 2009
Clearly there are people voting here that are working for the studio because this film is not at all engaging and people that say it is good are either being payed to say so or are movie morons.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
BillTAug 9, 2009
This film was garbage. I couldn't help laughing during the dramatic chase scene at the end of the movie, the tense sniper battle in the desert, the vigilante soldier's escape from his FOB, and the crazy soldiers drinking whiskey in This film was garbage. I couldn't help laughing during the dramatic chase scene at the end of the movie, the tense sniper battle in the desert, the vigilante soldier's escape from his FOB, and the crazy soldiers drinking whiskey in their room. All four of these scenes were unrealistic. A British merc is unable to use a .50 cal sniper rifle to kill an insurgent sniper who is 350 meters away? Want to know how to kill an insurgent at 350 meters away? Pick-up your M-4 and use your scope to shoot him. I had trouble watching this film because it was so unrealistic and boring. I hope people don't consider The Hurt Locker to be THE Iraq War movie. If you want to see a good movie about the war, watch Generation Kill. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful