The Hurt Locker

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1348 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. John
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    Fantastic Movie with an outstanding performance by the leading actor.
  2. AlexS
    Jan 4, 2010
    8
    A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not tried to get into politics also.
  3. DimitriK
    Mar 8, 2010
    8
    A great film but you have to be in the right mood to watch it. Not worth an Oscar by any stretch. However there should be more film like this...ones where you need at least half a functioning brain to enjoy.
  4. JasonB
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're portrayed in the media? Either you get the anti-war 'death machine' portrayal or the pro-war 'ubermensch' portrayal. The characters in this movie are relateable to civilians and were put into situations where a single mistake or oversight could mean death. It strips back the pro-war and anti-war propaganda and makes you feel for the situation the soldiers have been put into. But I suppose you just wanted the military portrayed as a bunch of Rambos. Expand
  5. J
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an "authentic" experience. This is the first war movie in ages that paints its soldiers as real, complex people instead of cartoons or psychos, and all you can do is complain? Sheesh. Luckily, for the rest of us, this film will do just fine, because the enlightened viewer will realize that The Hurt Locker isn't about the details, but the big picture. It's a document of what a war like this means and how it affects the participants on both sides. It's neither pro-war nor anti-war, but instead just shows the ways things are without pronouncing judgment on its characters or their actions. It's also a showcase for some of the most impressive action and suspense set pieces to grace the cinema in a very long time. Hard, sharp, and honest, The Hurt Locker is one of the year's very best films. THAT'S the reality. Expand
  6. RyanS
    Jan 20, 2010
    8
    Truly an immersive war movie. An eye-opener. As I was watching it I was thinking about whether this is as good as classics like "Full Metal Jacket," and it's nearly at that level.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    A very good film with some memorable scenes, it is very easy to give this film a high rating however on reflection it certainly does not desrve the 10/10 that many critics have dished out so easily for this film. I would say Moon is a better film and that got a 67 (84 from users) from the critics, who I believe have been a little out of touch with reviews for 2009 films.
  8. ForrestL.
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war movies are laden false events and dramatic devices and political "messages" but Hurt Locker embraces the realities of war and the people in them. This is a movie I'll keep for my children and grandchildren to show when they ask me what war was like. Expand
  9. MichaelT.
    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that this film is a brilliant spectacle worthy of its praise. (I think The Hurt Locker will contract Any Other Year Syndrome, in terms of the Oscars anyway... damn Avatar). Expand
  10. AmirF.
    Mar 12, 2010
    7
    After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the walking of James toward hell and I answered myself : " Hell it did its job " movie begins with great atmosphere giving you the feeling that you are After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the walking of James toward hell and I answered myself : " Hell it did its job " movie begins with great atmosphere giving you the feeling that you are really in that location and it triggers the feeling of compassion with characters , you feel the rising of their Adrenalins , you feel their sweats , you feel the god-damn hot air , and so on . the story takes you to its deep and dark resolution of showing what really is life in that messy city , the city of women crying for the loss of their beloveds , children still playing soccer in the street joyful and some others selling porn movies in order to earn their livings , men watching American from their balconies and wondering " What will be the future of Baghdad ? " You simply just hold your breath in some scenes , leaping to the edge of your seat , crying just for compassion , just for realizing the truth [ I didn't cry ;-) ] ... I don't wanna spoil the story for you cause the plot is available everywhere and I'm not here to repeat those plots again and just bore you , I just want that it be clarified for you that this movie is well directed , although I didn't like the performings very much , Jeremy Renner [Staff Sergeant William James ] wasn't at his peak , he could do better . the cinematography [Barry Ackroyd] is lifelike and that's what gives you the sympathy with the characters . The writer I don't know him/her but he has done a great job. Expand
  11. Mitchellk
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    Great Intense and Suspenseful Movie with great direction, who knew she had it in her.
  12. lolalulu
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    One of the most realistic war movies that I've ever seen.
  13. JoyceT
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Relentless, devastating and totally awesome. Not a political soapbox, but a good war movie is always a moral one. Go see it. Make everybody you know go see it. An effort this fine deserves some box office heat.
  14. TomB
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    Really good film focusing on character study and interaction in extreme circumstances. Take it for what it is! Don't let Hollywood ruin it!
  15. johnB
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and never lets go. I find myself tempted to say this is the best war movie I
  16. BobW
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    Intense, suspenseful, engrossing.
  17. richardh
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film. Tense and riviting drama. Realistic and genuine.
  18. SamR
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is fantastic and the other two are fantastic as well adding to the tension of their relationships and missions. All in all, this movie blew me away. And although I thought that it took a small step into becoming one of the Bourne movies when Renner is running around Baghdad. I can find no other major critiques. A solid 9 out of 10. Expand
  19. AlexP
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    This is the "Platoon" for this generation. Simply brilliant filmmaking.
  20. michaelj
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service experience in Vietnam? Apocalypse Now is an incredible movie, as is this one. Expand
  21. ThayerH.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, standard, unrealistic story arcs, and some sort of solid antagonist, The kind of people who are uncomfortable in a movie experience that doesn't tell them how to feel and what to think. Expand
  22. EricO.
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    The best movie of 2009. It is not a fantascy science fiction kind of a movie. It is real and it brings you down to earth. These type of soldiers are the bravest in the history of human warfare.
  23. BryanB
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    As another Vet and EOD tech I give this film a 7. Yeah it
  24. S
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, especially by main actor Jeremy Renner, whose performance is totally real, raw, and brilliant. Renner deserves an Academy Award for Best Actor. I warn you that you won Expand
  25. roberti
    Jan 17, 2010
    8
    True to the pumped up, hormonal realities of combat.
  26. JacobT
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen about war. I don't know what people dislike about this movie, but I loved every fucking second of it.
  27. JohnL
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    This movie is a total rush with no political overtones. Extremely intense!
  28. chrisb.
    Feb 12, 2010
    10
    This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a non-standard plot with lots of hidden stories hidden within the movie itself.I think that it is extremely hard to portray and show the emotion at the level that they did, this is achieved by a superb production team and an amazing crew. Outstanding movie everyone, outstanding job, best movie all year!!! Expand
  29. DoreneN
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I was glued to the TV screen throughout the whole movie; great acting by the whole cast and great direction...deserves an award! for me it was just better than Avatar.
  30. HenryK.
    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such realism its hard not be interested.
  31. PeterF.
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    Amazing, different, great scenes and excellent character depth!! One of the best war/(Iraq) movies I've seen. Not much in the way of violence, except the bombs...which is refreshing in a "war" movie. The Hurt Locker makes you feel like you could be there, in Iraq... I like how it points out the real issues with warfare and the people who choose to go to war.
  32. JoesephP.
    Feb 6, 2010
    9
    Excellent film. I do not understand all the people who "served" in Iraq and complain about the inaccuracies of the film. Just ignore the faults. It was masterpiece of film making. All you grunts and jarheads can take dying for Israel well, but you can't watch 2 hours of a tactical inaccuracies.
  33. JoeyT.
    Mar 11, 2010
    9
    Oh boy, the smear campaign still ensues. Wow, if you love dying for your country go back to Iraq or Afghanistan.
  34. NeilJ.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    This the best film I have ever seen! It portrays the true horror and tension of war without glorifying it. Compared with the so called blockbusters costing obscene amounts of money and relying too much on special effects it wins hands down.
  35. benjin
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    A Must Watch, It May Not Have Flashy Lights like Avatar But it makes up for it In every Detail that Bigelow Shows. The Sniper Scene Is one i will not forget for a Long time.
  36. RandyT
    Mar 9, 2010
    8
    I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and it probably didn't deserve best picture. Now, to all of the veterans giving this movie 0, can you please try to imagine what this movie would be I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and it probably didn't deserve best picture. Now, to all of the veterans giving this movie 0, can you please try to imagine what this movie would be like if it really was accurate to what is actually happening in Iraq? Sure, you guys would probably think it was great and super realistic, but then think how much everybody else would like it... Not so much. This movie was made with entertainment for the general public in mind. Only stupid people are going to watch the movie and think "Wow, that's what Iraq really is like!" since smarter people know that it's just a movie and is dramatized and exaggerated to make it more suspenseful. Yes I know, I haven't been down to Iraq so I don't know what it's like, but I can confidently say that the majority of the tasks and missions you take part in wouldn't make a very good action movie, which this film is trying to be. I hope some people understand this. Expand
  37. TroyR
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good Men" or "Michael Clayton" were terrible films because I did not find the technical minutiae fulfilling. It is a movie. It is fiction. If you want It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good Men" or "Michael Clayton" were terrible films because I did not find the technical minutiae fulfilling. It is a movie. It is fiction. If you want hyper-accurate realism, go watch a documentary or a training film. This movie isn't about the military, per se. Nor is it about Iraq or a particular war or conflict. It is about three guys--one of whom feels quite at home and has found his niche dealing in dangerous situations which, for better or for worse, create a lot of stress for his peers while he is also impressing the hell out of the bosses. Conflicts arise, and the wartime setting itself takes its toll on everyone to one extent or another. Great movie. Do not miss. Expand
  38. DavidC.
    Apr 12, 2010
    7
    Not a bad movie, but how can you go wrong when the main character is constantly in danger of getting blown up? I think it could have been better; there was a little too much Riggs from Lethal Weapon in that guy, but the actor did a good job. I'm really tired of the shaky camera too.
  39. ChrisK.
    Apr 2, 2010
    7
    It may not be very accurate but I enjoyed watching this reckless guy disable bombs.
  40. Tex
    Jun 2, 2010
    7
    Above-average war movie. It has its moments but quickly fizzles out in the end.
  41. KeithP
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    I like The Hurt Locker. The movie isn't boring. This movie gets an A+ from me. I highly recommend this movie.
  42. JimP.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    An awesome film about the adrenaline of war, and why those who do it well, do it very well!
  43. KevinS.
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    This first great Iraq war film. Visceral and powerful. A character based film without any ugly Hollywood agenda. Up until this point, American soldiers have been portrayed as either ignorant southern hicks (Stop-Loss) or blood thirsty rapists (Redacted). The Hurt Locker gets the US soldier right - they are warriors for peace, trying to make a difference.
  44. KennyR
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Incredible movie. If you have to choose between this movie and Transformers 2. Save your money and check out this one.
  45. AaronS.
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, her fine cast of relative unknowns and a first rate techinical crew deliver an intense, incredibly absorbing visceral experience. The film is amazing Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, her fine cast of relative unknowns and a first rate techinical crew deliver an intense, incredibly absorbing visceral experience. The film is amazing in its ability to transport you right into the fray. As a previous comment states-the tension in this film is almost agonzing. Every element of filmmaking combines to create an almost out of body experience. It's also the rare action picture made with intelligence as well as skill. 'The Hurt Locker' is fully deserving of every bit of acclaim it has (and will yet) recieve. Multiple Oscar noms are quite possible and a Best Director Oscar for Ms. Bigelow is very much deserving. DON'T MISS THIS ON A BIG SCREEN! Expand
  46. RichardJ
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    This is an excellent depiction of this most unusual war where the enemy has little to identify them to our military. It is the best film about the war with terrorists that we will see for a long, long time.
  47. JanshcD
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    Superb pacing. To the point. Reminds me of an excellent English series called UXB. The question is not why are we doing this, rather - if we are doing this, how shall we succeed. Or is it all a dream? It may very well be - that is but one of several question left hanging. Highly recommended.
  48. KenF.
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other voters who have been in the military (and perhaps even in Iraq) and who say that some aspects of this film are very unrealistic. I appreciate their Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other voters who have been in the military (and perhaps even in Iraq) and who say that some aspects of this film are very unrealistic. I appreciate their service too. But even if The Hurt Locker falls short in some of its military details (just like most war films, even the best of them), it is an outstanding film. Expand
  49. DerekD
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the Iraq war on the soldiers who risk their lives every day fighting; or in this films case defusing bombs in hopes to save the lives of soldiers and By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the Iraq war on the soldiers who risk their lives every day fighting; or in this films case defusing bombs in hopes to save the lives of soldiers and citizens. Bigelow does an excellent job with this film and deserves much acclaim. Her use of little to no music really enhances the tension. The cinematography is also very well done. The performances are fantastic, especially from Jeremy Renner and Anthony Mackie, both deserving of an Oscar nomination. This film needs to be seen by everyone. It is not a political war film, it doesn Expand
  50. ChrisB
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Best war movie since Private Ryan and Platoon. Not for the fain of heart. Truly riveting and intense. Why would one ever go back once their tour is over?
  51. mrcritic
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    Ok so many soldiers and military ppl are not liking this movie cuz they say its not real ok good maybe it not BUT the movie is brilliant specially the tension they have created in few of the scenes SOOOOO my militants pal ITS MOVIESSSS enjoy them.
  52. JeffreyS.
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Realistic depiction of Army soldiers action, emotions, pain and suffering.Suspenseful as their rotation winds down. The audience never knows who if any will survive till the end.
  53. AnnM
    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    Primarily a character study of three unusual soldiers and their takes on the war - love it, hate it, and stop-this-improvising. James is an exaggerated but unforgettable character. Interesting scenery. Suspenseful. Much of the action was unrealistic; derived from other war movies instead of from Army procedures.
  54. RobM
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes it off as crap probably just doesn't have the mental capability to see it for what it is. Movie critics usually have some idea of what Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes it off as crap probably just doesn't have the mental capability to see it for what it is. Movie critics usually have some idea of what they're talking about and in this case I can't agree more with them, except maybe the last two. Expand
  55. DomoR
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and one up the old boys' network. Great movie. Expand
  56. sa
    Aug 6, 2009
    8
    I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I didn't have any difficulty believing in the fantasy. Also, it effectively created a sense of irony as I sat in the theater sipping my soda and munching on popcorn while some soldiers were trapped in a firefight while baking in the desert. Expand
  57. JoshE
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point with this film. It's not the "How," it's the "Who" and the "What." The mundane for these men is life or death at the flip of a coin or, in this case, switch. It's about a man who is overwhelmed by choosing 1 cereal in a crowded aisle and only knows peace when he is alone with a bomb because it's the only time he knows what to do... disarm it. Despite the lack of realism, this movie only improves my admiration for the men that risk their lives in any capacity for our freedom and that of others. "The Hurt Locker" is a film, not a documentary. It is compelling for its intensity and the how close these characters are to oblivion as part of their daily routine. I think it's an excellent film and hope that others can look at it is a situation with probable characters, and what this situation does to them, and not how they aren't travelling with the right amount of Humvees or aren't using the robot enough. It's a story, and one that is well told and acted... Something that is truly rare in the cinemaplex now-a-days. Expand
  58. jeffh
    Aug 8, 2009
    9
    The most intense and realistic war movie I have ever seen.The cast of unknowns keeps you on the edge of your seat and to think that this masterpiece was directed by a woman is remarkable.
  59. KingH
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    No need to wait 10 years for this film to become a classic. It is one NOW!
  60. AKhan
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    This is a very intelligent and gripping thriller.
  61. JamesO
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Anyone who gave this movie below a 6 is being dumb. Its a great movie, go see it.
  62. PepijnSchmidt
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    byfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it's the little details about the movie that make it good. The gloves they use, the MRE tabasko bottle in the molly webbing. All the different iraqibyfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it's the little details about the movie that make it good. The gloves they use, the MRE tabasko bottle in the molly webbing. All the different iraqi military forces look identical and their uniforms arn't hard pressed. god that was a great movie..... Collapse
  63. NeilF
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    "Total bore"? "Forced tension"? What are the people knocking this film on?
  64. SethA.
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Excellent film. Don't let extreme liberals stray you from watching one of the best war films of the decade. Everything seems very real, including the psychological damage the war causes the soldiers. A must see for any person who calls themselves a war film appreciator.
  65. Andre
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This is a great film about the personal battles faced during war. I don't think it set out to make a statement about the Iraq War itself but how we as humans learn to cope. It's a small story with some very intense action and a handful of heart. Renner gives a helluva performance. Worth seeing!!!
  66. KyleM
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    If Avatar beats out this, and the other nominees for that matter, I'll be mad.
  67. RL
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Wow! What a movie. Outstanding . I dont watch many flicks because so many are crap. But this one is different: Suspenseful. Believable and pushed every emotional button. Watch it.
  68. halb
    Jan 24, 2010
    7
    A very good film about a small contingent of soldiers (explosive ordinance disposal -- i.e., bomb squad) in Baghdad in 2004. Well directed, well acted, well plotted and paced... and blessedly non-political. But for me, it didn't live up to the hype. Yes, Renner does a fine job in the lead role. Yes, there are moments of tension, moments of mute horror, and moments of dramatic A very good film about a small contingent of soldiers (explosive ordinance disposal -- i.e., bomb squad) in Baghdad in 2004. Well directed, well acted, well plotted and paced... and blessedly non-political. But for me, it didn't live up to the hype. Yes, Renner does a fine job in the lead role. Yes, there are moments of tension, moments of mute horror, and moments of dramatic catharsis. But I found this film oddly 'flat' overall. Still, it's worth seeing this if you want to see a compelling story about the war in Iraq. [I think it would have been better to see this on the big screen, rather than on my little 27" flat screen.] Expand
  69. BenF.
    Feb 8, 2010
    8
    One of the best war films in recent memory. The suspense almost kills you at times. Renner is a revelation.
  70. ReganH
    Mar 13, 2010
    10
    The quiet intensity, the lack of quick-cuts, the facets of the lead character that slowly revealed themselves throughout the movie -- it added up to riveting, engrossing movie that has stuck with me. I cannot wait to watch again.
  71. Chris
    Mar 15, 2010
    10
    I think a lot of people don't understand what this movie is about. Hint: it's not about the action. The crux of the movie is contained in the final 30 seconds of dialogue between the main character and his son.
  72. Owain
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    Possibly the best war film I've seen since 'full metal jacket', The Hurt Locker deserves every good review it gets. I'm the first to admit that I don't know anything about the accuracy of the film contents, but I also fail to see how that should matter. If, like me, you don't care if the soldiers are carrying the right weapons or wearing the exact uniforms Possibly the best war film I've seen since 'full metal jacket', The Hurt Locker deserves every good review it gets. I'm the first to admit that I don't know anything about the accuracy of the film contents, but I also fail to see how that should matter. If, like me, you don't care if the soldiers are carrying the right weapons or wearing the exact uniforms for 2004, then what you experience is blend of supreme nerve wrecking tension, amazing action and a really good story. If you are a stickler for historical accuracy, then maybe it's not for you, but for the 99% of people who watch a film to be entertained, the this is a must see. Expand
  73. MatthewP.
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    What the Hell is everyone's problem with this movie? Are they all gay for Avatar or something? Look retards, every movie is going to have inaccuracies in the storyline, but saying stuff like "Its SO inaccurate! They actually changed the name of the camp TO Camp Liberty! What the hell were they thinking?!?" is ridiculous. This movie is amazing, hands down. Retards.
  74. Dee
    Mar 8, 2010
    9
    One of the most gripping and psychologically rich movies ever made - a real "page-turner", if you can call a movie that - though I also strongly agree with Salon.com's comment of "The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is extremely effective in places, it ultimately feels unformed and somewhat unfinished." Like the above implies, to me, it seems like the movie's only One of the most gripping and psychologically rich movies ever made - a real "page-turner", if you can call a movie that - though I also strongly agree with Salon.com's comment of "The drawback is that even though The Hurt Locker is extremely effective in places, it ultimately feels unformed and somewhat unfinished." Like the above implies, to me, it seems like the movie's only real "point" is to inform you of how soldiers in Iraqi bomb squads think and feel. After you see the movie, you remember what it FELT like, but not what actually happened. Expand
  75. PeterC.
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    Excellent character study in a war-movie's clothing. Suggestions that it lacks focus overlook this fact. Brilliantly shot, empathetically acted, simmering film that takes its cue from the likes of Lawrence of Arabia and The English Patient much more than Black Hawk Down or Saving Private Ryan, or any other fighting-man's war film. The critics who fails to see past its Excellent character study in a war-movie's clothing. Suggestions that it lacks focus overlook this fact. Brilliantly shot, empathetically acted, simmering film that takes its cue from the likes of Lawrence of Arabia and The English Patient much more than Black Hawk Down or Saving Private Ryan, or any other fighting-man's war film. The critics who fails to see past its innaccuracies -- and no-doubt there are a few of those and a few exaggerations toom all in the interests of strengthening narrative or drama -- rob themselves of what it a truely moving portrait of a man, who just happens to be a bomb disposal expert working in Iraq. Expand
  76. FrankA
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    This movie to me shows not just an action packed kick ass war movie about heroes and such, it shows the slower more suspenseful part of war, the entire time i was so uneasy as to what could happen i just loved it.
  77. AnaI
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Wow! One of the best movies I have ever seen. The directing of the movie was spectacular. The acting was good. So realistic, and just outstanding film.
  78. LeahM.
    Apr 15, 2010
    9
    Jeremy Renner was amazing and the movie made me anxious - I could feel the tension.
  79. caseyk.
    May 14, 2010
    7
    It was okay, sure it's tense and good acting but doesn't show any terrifying battle scenes or sad emotionally wrenching scenes (which made other war films classics like Saving Private Ryan and Platoon), definitely didn't deserve best picture, which the film Avatar should have won.
  80. alano.
    Jun 17, 2010
    7
    This got so much critical acclaim that made me see it for myself. It turns out this film was excellent in the war category. It was also Oscar-worthy, just not Best Picture-worthy.
  81. barbaraw
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    I really liked this movie. It made the confusion, fear of the war real. The humanism, the desire to do a job well, how the three members of this team got through the days differently..I thought it was great film making.
  82. JodyT
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    If this movie does not get an Oscar, something is terribly wrong in Hollywood!
  83. EF
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    I hate films that obey the Hollywood formula, with pointless explosions designed for 14 yr olds. This is not one of those films. Every year less than half a dozen films are actually any good in my opinion and this IS one of those. Good story involving unlikely friends, which doesn't try to embellish war. Some rope moments but generally good, not too sure about the ending. Good Solid Film.
  84. MichaelB.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Absolutely my favorite film so far in 2009. Incredibly tense action with a truly breakout performance by Renner. And Kathryn Bigelow fulfills her promise as a director, too. Just plain exceptional filmmaking.
  85. AlanZ
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    The Hurt Locker is a stunning and horrific achievement that will leave you with shattered tears. I would suggest not having any social plans after seeing this movie, you might be too broken for speech. I only wish that those who bear the responsibility of bringing us to this tragic place could be forced to watch what they have so recklessly created. This film borders on the masterful but The Hurt Locker is a stunning and horrific achievement that will leave you with shattered tears. I would suggest not having any social plans after seeing this movie, you might be too broken for speech. I only wish that those who bear the responsibility of bringing us to this tragic place could be forced to watch what they have so recklessly created. This film borders on the masterful but proceed with caution. Expand
  86. NotaryD
    Jun 28, 2009
    9
    A nearly flawless film. The plot is simple, the characters complex, and the tension unbearable at times.
  87. JamesC
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest war films ever made (by man or woman). It's wonderful to see Kathryn Bigelow at the height of her artistry.
  88. ChaseR
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    The best Iraq war film to date, and one of the best war films of all-time.
  89. CydneyS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Last week a real stinker (public enemies)... to this week and one of the best films ever (hurt locker). No one breathed for the first hour. A film for both sexes. Fabulous fabulous fabulous.
  90. ChrisC
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best directed films I've ever seen. Manages to be realistic while still telling a compelling narrative, which is hard. Perfectly portrays the tension and constant threat from all sides you imagine the soldiers in Iraq have to face. Film of the year so far for me, by far.
  91. ZeeM
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    And Why Is This Movie Only In Limited Release? This is an absolute amazing movie, suspense, thrilling, nail bitting, hanging by a thread, on the edge of your seat fantastic. If this movie was in Wide Release, It would've made a lot!
  92. TimH
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    Pretty good, but for a movie about a explosives specialist defusing bombs in Iraq there weren't nearly enough explosions OR transforming robots.
  93. GraceM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    Offers the most realistic suspense and action I have ever seen. Mesmerizing.
  94. DennisB.
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    WOW! Unbelievable film. From the virtual cameos of James Morse and Guy Pearce, to the main players, nobody misses a beat. If you liked HBO's "Generation Kill," you'll love this film as a logical progression of the telling of the story of the Iraqi War. The performances and filming are so real, this movie makes you (MAKES YOU) empathize with the characters. You don't just WOW! Unbelievable film. From the virtual cameos of James Morse and Guy Pearce, to the main players, nobody misses a beat. If you liked HBO's "Generation Kill," you'll love this film as a logical progression of the telling of the story of the Iraqi War. The performances and filming are so real, this movie makes you (MAKES YOU) empathize with the characters. You don't just watch this film; you become a part of it. Expand
  95. Brit
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    The film IS both realistic and accurate. See it really puts a perspective on things.
  96. AlexL
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    A very gripping character study.
  97. TDKinDallas
    Jul 22, 2009
    8
    I can't believe this movie is not in wide release. Extremely suspenseful! I had to keep telling myself to stop clenching my fists, repeatedly. I would have gave it a 10 if it had been more believable, but who cares? Go see this film. I agree with the other reviewer that this is a movie for civilians and thank goodness. I will be going again. I disagree with the reviewer about shaky I can't believe this movie is not in wide release. Extremely suspenseful! I had to keep telling myself to stop clenching my fists, repeatedly. I would have gave it a 10 if it had been more believable, but who cares? Go see this film. I agree with the other reviewer that this is a movie for civilians and thank goodness. I will be going again. I disagree with the reviewer about shaky camera work. I had to leave Cloverfield, but I never felt bad in this one and I really don't remember the shakiness. Expand
  98. MarkS
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    I've given myself a few days for the experience of "The Hurt Locker" to sink in, and am now convinced that it deserves a place on the same altar as "Full Metal Jacket," "Platoon," and "Saving Private Ryan." It is an entirely apolitical Iraq war film, but what's more: a thoroughly engrossing human drama about working in the most hazardous and unpredictable of conditions.
  99. JosephB
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    Extremely tense from the get go! Very much like the tension in from the Clouzet movie Wages of Fear. I found myself not breathing so as not to set something off.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. The result is an intense, action-driven war pic, a muscular, efficient standout that simultaneously conveys the feeling of combat from within as well as what it looks like on the ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    A near-perfect movie about men in war, men at work. Through sturdy imagery and violent action, it says that even Hell needs heroes.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    60
    Boal's script stirs a little of everything into the pot, which boils down into seven setpieces divided by brief intervals of camaraderie/conflict among the three protags.