The Hurt Locker

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1352 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. John
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    Fantastic Movie with an outstanding performance by the leading actor.
  2. AlexS
    Jan 4, 2010
    8
    A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not tried to get into politics also.
  3. RicardoL.
    Feb 15, 2010
    0
    An only-American movie!!!! No one else in the world can understand that patriotic feeling, without it the movie is complete poor.
  4. charlesn
    Mar 10, 2010
    5
    This is a very average movie - I don't understand all the hype. The story is cliched and simplistic, the acting is adequate. The actions of the protagonist are barely believable. Visually, very pretty, but really, nothing we haven't seen before. Can anyone honestly say they would look forward to watching it a second time?
  5. DimitriK
    Mar 8, 2010
    8
    A great film but you have to be in the right mood to watch it. Not worth an Oscar by any stretch. However there should be more film like this...ones where you need at least half a functioning brain to enjoy.
  6. MelC.
    Mar 9, 2010
    1
    I'm not sure which movie the critics saw, but Hurt Locker is unskilled at just about every level.
  7. hzac
    Oct 10, 2009
    4
    This movie was good for the first 20 minutes of the movie suspenseful then the rest had me rumbling my lis and slouching in my chair don't see it
  8. JasonB
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're portrayed in the media? Either you get the anti-war 'death machine' portrayal or the pro-war 'ubermensch' portrayal. The characters in this movie are relateable to civilians and were put into situations where a single mistake or oversight could mean death. It strips back the pro-war and anti-war propaganda and makes you feel for the situation the soldiers have been put into. But I suppose you just wanted the military portrayed as a bunch of Rambos. Expand
  9. J
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an "authentic" experience. This is the first war movie in ages that paints its soldiers as real, complex people instead of cartoons or psychos, and all you can do is complain? Sheesh. Luckily, for the rest of us, this film will do just fine, because the enlightened viewer will realize that The Hurt Locker isn't about the details, but the big picture. It's a document of what a war like this means and how it affects the participants on both sides. It's neither pro-war nor anti-war, but instead just shows the ways things are without pronouncing judgment on its characters or their actions. It's also a showcase for some of the most impressive action and suspense set pieces to grace the cinema in a very long time. Hard, sharp, and honest, The Hurt Locker is one of the year's very best films. THAT'S the reality. Expand
  10. Fistsoflove69
    Jan 17, 2010
    5
    It was not what I would call an action movie, it was a good drama but not an action movie. The ending is sadly more true to life than you'd imagine.
  11. RIckyBlue
    Jan 2, 2010
    1
    I'm with RW on this one. I thought this was a dumb, empty movie and haven't found a single review that points out what I've missed other than it was some kind of adrenaline rush. "It was so real, man." What kind of ivory tower institution do you people come from? This movie is disrespectful to American soldiers and Iraqi civilians alike. It's just another lame I'm with RW on this one. I thought this was a dumb, empty movie and haven't found a single review that points out what I've missed other than it was some kind of adrenaline rush. "It was so real, man." What kind of ivory tower institution do you people come from? This movie is disrespectful to American soldiers and Iraqi civilians alike. It's just another lame Hollywood vision of reality that allows people to pat themselves on the back for saying absolutely nothing. I don't know. It's an empty movie with bad dialogue and ridiculous, two-dimensional characters. Expand
  12. RyanS
    Jan 20, 2010
    8
    Truly an immersive war movie. An eye-opener. As I was watching it I was thinking about whether this is as good as classics like "Full Metal Jacket," and it's nearly at that level.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    A very good film with some memorable scenes, it is very easy to give this film a high rating however on reflection it certainly does not desrve the 10/10 that many critics have dished out so easily for this film. I would say Moon is a better film and that got a 67 (84 from users) from the critics, who I believe have been a little out of touch with reviews for 2009 films.
  14. ThomasH.
    Feb 2, 2010
    3
    Watch The Messenger instead, why the critics are rating this so highly is a mystery. It doesn't even compare to Apocalypse Now and Platoon. Heck it's just awful, watch Jarhead instead.
  15. ForrestL.
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war movies are laden false events and dramatic devices and political "messages" but Hurt Locker embraces the realities of war and the people in them. This is a movie I'll keep for my children and grandchildren to show when they ask me what war was like. Expand
  16. TimC.
    Feb 3, 2010
    1
    I have completed 2 tours in Iraq and Afghanistan with the US ARMY. This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. Nothing in this movie is the way things are done over there. Nobody drives around by themselves! Nobody leaves their FOB by themselves to "investigate" somebody. EOD does not even come out at night. They wait until the next day to use the robot to blow up the IED. They I have completed 2 tours in Iraq and Afghanistan with the US ARMY. This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. Nothing in this movie is the way things are done over there. Nobody drives around by themselves! Nobody leaves their FOB by themselves to "investigate" somebody. EOD does not even come out at night. They wait until the next day to use the robot to blow up the IED. They hardly ever, ever make "the walk" as the movie so ridiculously put it. Anyway, do not think this movie is the way it is. This movie is complete make believe!!! Expand
  17. MichaelT.
    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that this film is a brilliant spectacle worthy of its praise. (I think The Hurt Locker will contract Any Other Year Syndrome, in terms of the Oscars anyway... damn Avatar). Expand
  18. JesseL.
    Feb 8, 2010
    1
    Anybody who has been over to Iraq will laugh at this movie. It's a joke. It's almost as if the creators of this movie didn't get any professional military input at all. Whats frustrating for me, as well as everybody else who has been there and done that, is that they sold this movie and advertised it as the "real deal" and how this is a good example of "what things are Anybody who has been over to Iraq will laugh at this movie. It's a joke. It's almost as if the creators of this movie didn't get any professional military input at all. Whats frustrating for me, as well as everybody else who has been there and done that, is that they sold this movie and advertised it as the "real deal" and how this is a good example of "what things are really like over there". There are so many innaccuracies in this movie, some downright lies, that it was hard for me to watch and take it seriously. From that viewpoint, this was absolutely the worst movie of the year. It could have been a decent movie had they not made it out to be this realistic war drama about life in Iraq. Expand
  19. MiKE
    Feb 9, 2010
    0
    What a BORE of a movie! Badly directed as well. AVOID
  20. AmirF.
    Mar 12, 2010
    7
    After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the walking of James toward hell and I answered myself : " Hell it did its job " movie begins with great atmosphere giving you the feeling that you are After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the walking of James toward hell and I answered myself : " Hell it did its job " movie begins with great atmosphere giving you the feeling that you are really in that location and it triggers the feeling of compassion with characters , you feel the rising of their Adrenalins , you feel their sweats , you feel the god-damn hot air , and so on . the story takes you to its deep and dark resolution of showing what really is life in that messy city , the city of women crying for the loss of their beloveds , children still playing soccer in the street joyful and some others selling porn movies in order to earn their livings , men watching American from their balconies and wondering " What will be the future of Baghdad ? " You simply just hold your breath in some scenes , leaping to the edge of your seat , crying just for compassion , just for realizing the truth [ I didn't cry ;-) ] ... I don't wanna spoil the story for you cause the plot is available everywhere and I'm not here to repeat those plots again and just bore you , I just want that it be clarified for you that this movie is well directed , although I didn't like the performings very much , Jeremy Renner [Staff Sergeant William James ] wasn't at his peak , he could do better . the cinematography [Barry Ackroyd] is lifelike and that's what gives you the sympathy with the characters . The writer I don't know him/her but he has done a great job. Expand
  21. Mitchellk
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    Great Intense and Suspenseful Movie with great direction, who knew she had it in her.
  22. KyleD.
    May 21, 2010
    3
    Hello, I pirated this movie, and I didn't like it very much. From all of the hype, I was expecting a lot more. The rise to the climax felt loosely strung together, and there was hardly any character development at all. If you've seen the trailers, you've seen the best parts already. It also came to my attention that the director indirectly called me an idiot and wished for Hello, I pirated this movie, and I didn't like it very much. From all of the hype, I was expecting a lot more. The rise to the climax felt loosely strung together, and there was hardly any character development at all. If you've seen the trailers, you've seen the best parts already. It also came to my attention that the director indirectly called me an idiot and wished for innocent people's children and spouses to be locked up in jail. I can't support someone with such a sick sense of morality. Expand
  23. SammyS.
    May 20, 2010
    0
    What a stinker. Ironic how this retard is now suing people that pirated it, just because no one wanted to pay to see this piece of trash film. Get out of the film business PLEASE.
  24. lolalulu
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    One of the most realistic war movies that I've ever seen.
  25. PeterR
    Aug 10, 2009
    1
    I am so glad some of our men and women in the armed forces are speaking up about the inaccuracies in this film. I didn't like this film for other reasons, but know that I have read their comments here, I am angry, appalled and embarrassed. Bigelow didn't claim this film is realistic, but she sure seemed to try to pass it off as such, and the critics and others ate it right up. I I am so glad some of our men and women in the armed forces are speaking up about the inaccuracies in this film. I didn't like this film for other reasons, but know that I have read their comments here, I am angry, appalled and embarrassed. Bigelow didn't claim this film is realistic, but she sure seemed to try to pass it off as such, and the critics and others ate it right up. I truely am embarrassed that this film is getting the "special treatment" from critics that should know better. Sad. Expand
  26. JoyceT
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Relentless, devastating and totally awesome. Not a political soapbox, but a good war movie is always a moral one. Go see it. Make everybody you know go see it. An effort this fine deserves some box office heat.
  27. TomB
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    Really good film focusing on character study and interaction in extreme circumstances. Take it for what it is! Don't let Hollywood ruin it!
  28. GordieA
    Aug 2, 2009
    0
    Clearly there are people voting here that are working for the studio because this film is not at all engaging and people that say it is good are either being payed to say so or are movie morons.
  29. johnB
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and never lets go. I find myself tempted to say this is the best war movie I
  30. BobW
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    Intense, suspenseful, engrossing.
  31. richardh
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film. Tense and riviting drama. Realistic and genuine.
  32. BillT
    Aug 9, 2009
    1
    This film was garbage. I couldn't help laughing during the dramatic chase scene at the end of the movie, the tense sniper battle in the desert, the vigilante soldier's escape from his FOB, and the crazy soldiers drinking whiskey in their room. All four of these scenes were unrealistic. A British merc is unable to use a .50 cal sniper rifle to kill an insurgent sniper who is 350 This film was garbage. I couldn't help laughing during the dramatic chase scene at the end of the movie, the tense sniper battle in the desert, the vigilante soldier's escape from his FOB, and the crazy soldiers drinking whiskey in their room. All four of these scenes were unrealistic. A British merc is unable to use a .50 cal sniper rifle to kill an insurgent sniper who is 350 meters away? Want to know how to kill an insurgent at 350 meters away? Pick-up your M-4 and use your scope to shoot him. I had trouble watching this film because it was so unrealistic and boring. I hope people don't consider The Hurt Locker to be THE Iraq War movie. If you want to see a good movie about the war, watch Generation Kill. Expand
  33. SamR
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is fantastic and the other two are fantastic as well adding to the tension of their relationships and missions. All in all, this movie blew me away. And although I thought that it took a small step into becoming one of the Bourne movies when Renner is running around Baghdad. I can find no other major critiques. A solid 9 out of 10. Expand
  34. AlexP
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    This is the "Platoon" for this generation. Simply brilliant filmmaking.
  35. michaelj
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service experience in Vietnam? Apocalypse Now is an incredible movie, as is this one. Expand
  36. ThayerH.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, standard, unrealistic story arcs, and some sort of solid antagonist, The kind of people who are uncomfortable in a movie experience that doesn't tell them how to feel and what to think. Expand
  37. EricO.
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    The best movie of 2009. It is not a fantascy science fiction kind of a movie. It is real and it brings you down to earth. These type of soldiers are the bravest in the history of human warfare.
  38. BryanB
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    As another Vet and EOD tech I give this film a 7. Yeah it
  39. S
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, especially by main actor Jeremy Renner, whose performance is totally real, raw, and brilliant. Renner deserves an Academy Award for Best Actor. I warn you that you won Expand
  40. roberti
    Jan 17, 2010
    8
    True to the pumped up, hormonal realities of combat.
  41. JacobT
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen about war. I don't know what people dislike about this movie, but I loved every fucking second of it.
  42. JohnL
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    This movie is a total rush with no political overtones. Extremely intense!
  43. CraigL
    Jan 25, 2010
    5
    Don't believe the hype very average.
  44. Jeff
    Jan 6, 2010
    0
    As a Soldier, I had high hopes for this film. I'd heard great things, and couldn't wait to check it out. I was utterly disappointed - I heard over and over again that this movie captured what it's "really like over there." All it proved is that no one in Hollywood has a clue. Still.
  45. chrisb.
    Feb 12, 2010
    10
    This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a non-standard plot with lots of hidden stories hidden within the movie itself.I think that it is extremely hard to portray and show the emotion at the level that they did, this is achieved by a superb production team and an amazing crew. Outstanding movie everyone, outstanding job, best movie all year!!! Expand
  46. DarenP.
    Feb 2, 2010
    0
    More like crap locker,not like it was at all. EOD doesn't cruse around all by themselves in summer 04,let alone wear some bomb suit in 120+ heat AND not brake sweet. Stopped it 18min into what crap.
  47. DoreneN
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I was glued to the TV screen throughout the whole movie; great acting by the whole cast and great direction...deserves an award! for me it was just better than Avatar.
  48. HenryK.
    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such realism its hard not be interested.
  49. PeterF.
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    Amazing, different, great scenes and excellent character depth!! One of the best war/(Iraq) movies I've seen. Not much in the way of violence, except the bombs...which is refreshing in a "war" movie. The Hurt Locker makes you feel like you could be there, in Iraq... I like how it points out the real issues with warfare and the people who choose to go to war.
  50. JoesephP.
    Feb 6, 2010
    9
    Excellent film. I do not understand all the people who "served" in Iraq and complain about the inaccuracies of the film. Just ignore the faults. It was masterpiece of film making. All you grunts and jarheads can take dying for Israel well, but you can't watch 2 hours of a tactical inaccuracies.
  51. JoeyT.
    Mar 11, 2010
    9
    Oh boy, the smear campaign still ensues. Wow, if you love dying for your country go back to Iraq or Afghanistan.
  52. LilyS.
    Mar 12, 2010
    0
    Disjointed, unrealistic, slow, dull, and pathetic are all word that should be on the cover of this movie. It had the potential to be good if it had dived into story a bit more and chosen what it wanted to be about. Did it want to be about the relationship between the team or with the little kid? The difficulty of being in Iraq or the struggle of returning home? It touched all of those but Disjointed, unrealistic, slow, dull, and pathetic are all word that should be on the cover of this movie. It had the potential to be good if it had dived into story a bit more and chosen what it wanted to be about. Did it want to be about the relationship between the team or with the little kid? The difficulty of being in Iraq or the struggle of returning home? It touched all of those but left you wanting more. There was a lot of deep in thought staring when not easily clipping the wires of bombs. I could rant all day about how much I was disappointed but I'll just stop abruptly like the entire movie. Expand
  53. JimmyR
    Mar 12, 2010
    5
    This movie was average at best. To compare this with Platoon is a complete joke. I only gave it a 5 because of the last 15 min, best part of the movie. You dont even need to be in the military to see what crap most of this movie was, the sniper scene was hysterical, what were they doing out there to begin with? Why did they need to stay out in the sun all day? How long does it take to This movie was average at best. To compare this with Platoon is a complete joke. I only gave it a 5 because of the last 15 min, best part of the movie. You dont even need to be in the military to see what crap most of this movie was, the sniper scene was hysterical, what were they doing out there to begin with? Why did they need to stay out in the sun all day? How long does it take to determine there is no more threat? All day I guess..LOL And the best, how is that guy so accurate with that sniper rifle..What BS..still laughing..hahaha. Expand
  54. ErinT
    Mar 13, 2010
    0
    I really looked forward to seeing this (especially after the Oscars) but was totally disappointed. I found the characters wooden, the plot repetitive, and the entire film TEDIOUS. I have now read the many military comments that it is factually inaccurate as WELL and I struggle to see a point to the movie at all. Boring - not engaging at all. Don't bother.
  55. bleof
    Mar 14, 2010
    2
    I really don't understand why so many reviwers give more than 2 points to a movie that is downright boring. After 45min every viewer should ask himself weather something will happen or he can just switch off. the whole movie is nothing more than a documentary and not a motion picture worth mentioning it...
  56. AlT
    Mar 14, 2010
    3
    12th greatest film of all time? Give me a break!! Absurdly overrated, notably by American critics. The characters are unrealistic and are insulting to the highly trained extremely well disciplined soldiers that risk their lives detecting and disposing of IED every day. The sniper section is unrealistic, with a headshot on a moving target at some considerable distance. There is no plot - 12th greatest film of all time? Give me a break!! Absurdly overrated, notably by American critics. The characters are unrealistic and are insulting to the highly trained extremely well disciplined soldiers that risk their lives detecting and disposing of IED every day. The sniper section is unrealistic, with a headshot on a moving target at some considerable distance. There is no plot - this film is just a sequence of set pieces. The film has no emotional centre and lacks character development - you feel nothing for the characters at the end. The score is unmemorable. The acting average. It does have good ideas, but on the whole it is poorly executed. 9 oscars was a vote in support of the war effort, not in support of the quality of this film. Downright poor. Expand
  57. FranciscoA.
    Mar 15, 2010
    2
    Very bad movie in deed... Un Accurate, bad plot, had a couple of great moments, but a suspense war TV movie all the way.
  58. NeilJ.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    This the best film I have ever seen! It portrays the true horror and tension of war without glorifying it. Compared with the so called blockbusters costing obscene amounts of money and relying too much on special effects it wins hands down.
  59. GuillermoA.
    Mar 21, 2010
    1
    Boring, really boring. How can someone stress up with so many cliches? It should be a short film. Maybe it is as someone said an only-american movie. Nationalism aside, I don't get why critic love it. Big disappointment.
  60. benjin
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    A Must Watch, It May Not Have Flashy Lights like Avatar But it makes up for it In every Detail that Bigelow Shows. The Sniper Scene Is one i will not forget for a Long time.
  61. DenC
    Mar 8, 2010
    0
    Terrible garbage. Not worth watching. The director should go back to film school and actually learn how to film a movie. Do not waste your time. There is a reason this film did not get wide release. It is utter garbage.
  62. Sarah
    Mar 8, 2010
    4
    What a disappointment. Like others have already said it lacked a real plot line, the acting seemed too "cheesy" and "artificial", the script was boring, and to me it actual gave off a negative representation towards the US military. I have to say though that the idea did have potential; some parts were believably realistic, but others were just over the top and almost "awkward". I What a disappointment. Like others have already said it lacked a real plot line, the acting seemed too "cheesy" and "artificial", the script was boring, and to me it actual gave off a negative representation towards the US military. I have to say though that the idea did have potential; some parts were believably realistic, but others were just over the top and almost "awkward". I understand it's not "your typical movie" but it can't be classified as a "documentary" to me either. I'm still unsure of what to think... and I am SO surprised it won Best Picture at the Academy Awards. I think the recent hype with the US military's involvement in that country is the one thing that fed it's popularity. It seems everyone has been brainwashed with that topic. Expand
  63. LarryB
    Mar 8, 2010
    0
    His movie has absolutly no business of even being in the Academy talk...I actually turned the movie off 10 minutes into it as it was boring to say the least. I am totally unsure as to what critics are looking at when raving about this looser of a movie.
  64. RandyT
    Mar 9, 2010
    8
    I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and it probably didn't deserve best picture. Now, to all of the veterans giving this movie 0, can you please try to imagine what this movie would be I found this movie to be pretty entertaining. The acting was good and some of the scenes were pretty nail-biting. I like how each of the main characters had contrasting personalities. But, I didn't think the movie was 10 material, and it probably didn't deserve best picture. Now, to all of the veterans giving this movie 0, can you please try to imagine what this movie would be like if it really was accurate to what is actually happening in Iraq? Sure, you guys would probably think it was great and super realistic, but then think how much everybody else would like it... Not so much. This movie was made with entertainment for the general public in mind. Only stupid people are going to watch the movie and think "Wow, that's what Iraq really is like!" since smarter people know that it's just a movie and is dramatized and exaggerated to make it more suspenseful. Yes I know, I haven't been down to Iraq so I don't know what it's like, but I can confidently say that the majority of the tasks and missions you take part in wouldn't make a very good action movie, which this film is trying to be. I hope some people understand this. Expand
  65. GrantS.
    Mar 9, 2010
    2
    This piece of crap won Academy Awards? What a sad state of affairs the film industry is in.
  66. TroyR
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good Men" or "Michael Clayton" were terrible films because I did not find the technical minutiae fulfilling. It is a movie. It is fiction. If you want It seems the Avatards may have arrived at this particular party. As for the technical innacuracies many like to pick on, I guarantee you that every lawyer movie ever made is not based in reality, either. Still, I would not argue "A Few Good Men" or "Michael Clayton" were terrible films because I did not find the technical minutiae fulfilling. It is a movie. It is fiction. If you want hyper-accurate realism, go watch a documentary or a training film. This movie isn't about the military, per se. Nor is it about Iraq or a particular war or conflict. It is about three guys--one of whom feels quite at home and has found his niche dealing in dangerous situations which, for better or for worse, create a lot of stress for his peers while he is also impressing the hell out of the bosses. Conflicts arise, and the wartime setting itself takes its toll on everyone to one extent or another. Great movie. Do not miss. Expand
  67. DavidC.
    Apr 12, 2010
    7
    Not a bad movie, but how can you go wrong when the main character is constantly in danger of getting blown up? I think it could have been better; there was a little too much Riggs from Lethal Weapon in that guy, but the actor did a good job. I'm really tired of the shaky camera too.
  68. ChrisK.
    Apr 2, 2010
    7
    It may not be very accurate but I enjoyed watching this reckless guy disable bombs.
  69. billt
    Apr 2, 2010
    2
    Not the best movie of the year, not even the best movie of the month. How this movie won an oscar beats me, it is a mess.
  70. PatrickM
    Apr 2, 2010
    5
    I spent two tours in Iraq. Way too many military inaccuracies -- smoking in the barracks, drinking, the Colonel outside the wire and being called a colonel while outside, and carrying an M16, getting outside the wire with a handgun and then returning to the gate without getting in trouble, and the list goes on... -- for this picture to be rated anything better than an average.
  71. StevenH
    Apr 23, 2010
    0
    The Hurt Locker did not have a single moment where I felt like I was watching a movie. No, this has nothing to do with special effects or cliches off different movies. I felt like I watching a documentary of a bunch of random people ACTING like soldiers. This movie did not have one part that sparked my mind.
  72. Joeshmo
    Jun 1, 2010
    3
    You know, i haven't even seen the movie, but I can't imagine this movie could be so good. Seeing the user score is an average 7.1, (before my comment) the only reason the critics gave it an overall 94 is because they didn't want to make anyone mad just because the film is about wars in Afghanistan, or something. Avatar, the best created movie in my book, was well thought You know, i haven't even seen the movie, but I can't imagine this movie could be so good. Seeing the user score is an average 7.1, (before my comment) the only reason the critics gave it an overall 94 is because they didn't want to make anyone mad just because the film is about wars in Afghanistan, or something. Avatar, the best created movie in my book, was well thought out, with amazing visual effects, and voice overs. That movie only got a 84!! That is still a really good rating, but i think Avatar should have gotten the 94 and The Hurt Locker get the 84. Also I want to talk about The Dark Knight. That movie really makes you think. Heath Ledger's psychopathic, insanely evil performance won him an academy award for being a mad dog whose main goal in life is to show everyone that they can become a mirror image of himself. Leading actor Christian Bale's performance of darkly kind night watcher over gotham city known as Batman was so amazing I was stunned. They really capitalized in this movie how much The Joker can aggrivate him and make him uncontrollably mad to the point of almost killing someone. The Hurt Locker is no where as amazing as the writing of Avatar, and the amazing, horrific, and violently great acting of the Dark Knight. It dosen' deserve the publicity it has gotten. Expand
  73. Tex
    Jun 2, 2010
    7
    Above-average war movie. It has its moments but quickly fizzles out in the end.
  74. MatthewS.
    Jun 9, 2010
    0
    I stopped watching when they got drunk and started wrestling each other half naked in the barracks. Oh, sorry ... SPOILER ALERT!
  75. BobbyT.
    Jun 9, 2010
    0
    Inaccurate, poor acting, slow, boring, poorly written nonsense.
  76. KeithP
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    I like The Hurt Locker. The movie isn't boring. This movie gets an A+ from me. I highly recommend this movie.
  77. JimP.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    An awesome film about the adrenaline of war, and why those who do it well, do it very well!
  78. KevinS.
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    This first great Iraq war film. Visceral and powerful. A character based film without any ugly Hollywood agenda. Up until this point, American soldiers have been portrayed as either ignorant southern hicks (Stop-Loss) or blood thirsty rapists (Redacted). The Hurt Locker gets the US soldier right - they are warriors for peace, trying to make a difference.
  79. KennyR
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Incredible movie. If you have to choose between this movie and Transformers 2. Save your money and check out this one.
  80. AaronS.
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, her fine cast of relative unknowns and a first rate techinical crew deliver an intense, incredibly absorbing visceral experience. The film is amazing Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, her fine cast of relative unknowns and a first rate techinical crew deliver an intense, incredibly absorbing visceral experience. The film is amazing in its ability to transport you right into the fray. As a previous comment states-the tension in this film is almost agonzing. Every element of filmmaking combines to create an almost out of body experience. It's also the rare action picture made with intelligence as well as skill. 'The Hurt Locker' is fully deserving of every bit of acclaim it has (and will yet) recieve. Multiple Oscar noms are quite possible and a Best Director Oscar for Ms. Bigelow is very much deserving. DON'T MISS THIS ON A BIG SCREEN! Expand
  81. RichardJ
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    This is an excellent depiction of this most unusual war where the enemy has little to identify them to our military. It is the best film about the war with terrorists that we will see for a long, long time.
  82. RichardB
    Jul 20, 2009
    4
    This was a taut, well-acted, intense movie which could have been better if the director had not used the hand-held camera method for much of the film. People shouldn't have to take doses of Dramamine before seeing a movie in order to keep their last meal in place. I propose a rating system that let's viewers know in advance that jerky camera techniques are used in a movie so This was a taut, well-acted, intense movie which could have been better if the director had not used the hand-held camera method for much of the film. People shouldn't have to take doses of Dramamine before seeing a movie in order to keep their last meal in place. I propose a rating system that let's viewers know in advance that jerky camera techniques are used in a movie so that those of us who are subject to motion sickness can avoid the film. Expand
  83. JanshcD
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    Superb pacing. To the point. Reminds me of an excellent English series called UXB. The question is not why are we doing this, rather - if we are doing this, how shall we succeed. Or is it all a dream? It may very well be - that is but one of several question left hanging. Highly recommended.
  84. KenF.
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other voters who have been in the military (and perhaps even in Iraq) and who say that some aspects of this film are very unrealistic. I appreciate their Outstanding -- one of the best war films I've seen in years. It seemed incredibly realistic to me, but I haven't been there and I don't know what "realistic" actually looks like. I appreciate the comments from several other voters who have been in the military (and perhaps even in Iraq) and who say that some aspects of this film are very unrealistic. I appreciate their service too. But even if The Hurt Locker falls short in some of its military details (just like most war films, even the best of them), it is an outstanding film. Expand
  85. DerekD
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the Iraq war on the soldiers who risk their lives every day fighting; or in this films case defusing bombs in hopes to save the lives of soldiers and By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the Iraq war on the soldiers who risk their lives every day fighting; or in this films case defusing bombs in hopes to save the lives of soldiers and citizens. Bigelow does an excellent job with this film and deserves much acclaim. Her use of little to no music really enhances the tension. The cinematography is also very well done. The performances are fantastic, especially from Jeremy Renner and Anthony Mackie, both deserving of an Oscar nomination. This film needs to be seen by everyone. It is not a political war film, it doesn Expand
  86. MimiS
    Aug 10, 2009
    2
    Add me to the list of those who squirmed in my seat and tanked this movie's rating. Congratulations to Hollywood that it took a movie that wasn't distracted by well-known, high-vis movie stars for the general public to think this was a great movie in comparison to other Iraq War movies recently released, almost all as equally unrealistic but blessed with having the name power to Add me to the list of those who squirmed in my seat and tanked this movie's rating. Congratulations to Hollywood that it took a movie that wasn't distracted by well-known, high-vis movie stars for the general public to think this was a great movie in comparison to other Iraq War movies recently released, almost all as equally unrealistic but blessed with having the name power to carry the movie. It is also no surprise that many military folks, especially those of us who have been deployed, really hate the unrealistic portrayals, the many inaccuracies that this movie has. I suppose I can be like the average civilian and just enjoy this movie as being entertaining I just can't do it. The was just so much wrong with it from the unitforms (in 2004 we were still in desert uniforms) to the scene where the EOD team had to take over the sniper duty over a bunch of Brit mercenaries? The real deal are not that inept. Wish they used better military consultants, then we wouldn't have to suffer the indignity of yet another unrealistic Iraq War movie Expand
  87. ChrisB
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Best war movie since Private Ryan and Platoon. Not for the fain of heart. Truly riveting and intense. Why would one ever go back once their tour is over?
  88. mrcritic
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    Ok so many soldiers and military ppl are not liking this movie cuz they say its not real ok good maybe it not BUT the movie is brilliant specially the tension they have created in few of the scenes SOOOOO my militants pal ITS MOVIESSSS enjoy them.
  89. PeterB
    Aug 10, 2009
    3
    I realize I'm way in the minority on not liking this movie. Like Jarhead, this is another movie that portrays most in the military as pychos or malcontents. Is it too hard to have a more balanced view? Yes, there are some of these types in the military, but the majority are great Americans. On a side note, anyone in the military will just shake their heads at quite a few implausible I realize I'm way in the minority on not liking this movie. Like Jarhead, this is another movie that portrays most in the military as pychos or malcontents. Is it too hard to have a more balanced view? Yes, there are some of these types in the military, but the majority are great Americans. On a side note, anyone in the military will just shake their heads at quite a few implausible situations. Expand
  90. simonf.
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    Good idea for a film, however you feel no connection with the actors at all, you really don't care what happens to them.
  91. JeffreyS.
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Realistic depiction of Army soldiers action, emotions, pain and suffering.Suspenseful as their rotation winds down. The audience never knows who if any will survive till the end.
  92. AnnM
    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    Primarily a character study of three unusual soldiers and their takes on the war - love it, hate it, and stop-this-improvising. James is an exaggerated but unforgettable character. Interesting scenery. Suspenseful. Much of the action was unrealistic; derived from other war movies instead of from Army procedures.
  93. RobM
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes it off as crap probably just doesn't have the mental capability to see it for what it is. Movie critics usually have some idea of what Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes it off as crap probably just doesn't have the mental capability to see it for what it is. Movie critics usually have some idea of what they're talking about and in this case I can't agree more with them, except maybe the last two. Expand
  94. RobinS
    Aug 4, 2009
    3
    Good acting & camera work but didn't feel an emotional attachment to the characters.
  95. SGTK
    Aug 6, 2009
    0
    this is the worst movie about iraq. its totally inaccurate. it maks EOD out to be some sort of Special Forces and they're NOT. the things they do in this awful movie are not what the do over here.
  96. DomoR
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and one up the old boys' network. Great movie. Expand
  97. sa
    Aug 6, 2009
    8
    I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I didn't have any difficulty believing in the fantasy. Also, it effectively created a sense of irony as I sat in the theater sipping my soda and munching on popcorn while some soldiers were trapped in a firefight while baking in the desert. Expand
  98. JoshE
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point with this film. It's not the "How," it's the "Who" and the "What." The mundane for these men is life or death at the flip of a coin or, in this case, switch. It's about a man who is overwhelmed by choosing 1 cereal in a crowded aisle and only knows peace when he is alone with a bomb because it's the only time he knows what to do... disarm it. Despite the lack of realism, this movie only improves my admiration for the men that risk their lives in any capacity for our freedom and that of others. "The Hurt Locker" is a film, not a documentary. It is compelling for its intensity and the how close these characters are to oblivion as part of their daily routine. I think it's an excellent film and hope that others can look at it is a situation with probable characters, and what this situation does to them, and not how they aren't travelling with the right amount of Humvees or aren't using the robot enough. It's a story, and one that is well told and acted... Something that is truly rare in the cinemaplex now-a-days. Expand
  99. jeffh
    Aug 8, 2009
    9
    The most intense and realistic war movie I have ever seen.The cast of unknowns keeps you on the edge of your seat and to think that this masterpiece was directed by a woman is remarkable.
  100. KingH
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    No need to wait 10 years for this film to become a classic. It is one NOW!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. The result is an intense, action-driven war pic, a muscular, efficient standout that simultaneously conveys the feeling of combat from within as well as what it looks like on the ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    A near-perfect movie about men in war, men at work. Through sturdy imagery and violent action, it says that even Hell needs heroes.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    60
    Boal's script stirs a little of everything into the pot, which boils down into seven setpieces divided by brief intervals of camaraderie/conflict among the three protags.