Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1359 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
989
Mixed:
142
Negative:
228
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JohnMar 8, 2010
Fantastic Movie with an outstanding performance by the leading actor.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
8
AlexSJan 4, 2010
A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not A very, very good " Iraq war" movie. I liked it, but still the critics are pissing themselves too much it seems. The ratings for this movie are so great everywhere that my expectations were too high. I liked the fact that this film did not tried to get into politics also. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DimitriKMar 8, 2010
A great film but you have to be in the right mood to watch it. Not worth an Oscar by any stretch. However there should be more film like this...ones where you need at least half a functioning brain to enjoy.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
9
JasonBAug 15, 2009
What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. What's with all this military elitism in the other comments? Would you be satisfied with any portrayal of the military short of outright propaganda? This movie is not intended to be an absolutely realistic portrayal of the military. It's intended to huumanize and de-politicize the military experience, which it does brilliantly. Seriously, do you have any idea the way you're portrayed in the media? Either you get the anti-war 'death machine' portrayal or the pro-war 'ubermensch' portrayal. The characters in this movie are relateable to civilians and were put into situations where a single mistake or oversight could mean death. It strips back the pro-war and anti-war propaganda and makes you feel for the situation the soldiers have been put into. But I suppose you just wanted the military portrayed as a bunch of Rambos. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JAug 3, 2009
To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an "authentic" experience. This is the first war movie in ages that paints its soldiers as real, complex people instead of cartoons or psychos, and all you can do is complain? Sheesh. Luckily, for the rest of us, this film will do just fine, because the enlightened viewer will realize that The Hurt Locker isn't about the details, but the big picture. It's a document of what a war like this means and how it affects the participants on both sides. It's neither pro-war nor anti-war, but instead just shows the ways things are without pronouncing judgment on its characters or their actions. It's also a showcase for some of the most impressive action and suspense set pieces to grace the cinema in a very long time. Hard, sharp, and honest, The Hurt Locker is one of the year's very best films. THAT'S the reality. Expand
12 of 18 users found this helpful
8
RyanSJan 20, 2010
Truly an immersive war movie. An eye-opener. As I was watching it I was thinking about whether this is as good as classics like "Full Metal Jacket," and it's nearly at that level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Feb 1, 2010
A very good film with some memorable scenes, it is very easy to give this film a high rating however on reflection it certainly does not desrve the 10/10 that many critics have dished out so easily for this film. I would say Moon is a better A very good film with some memorable scenes, it is very easy to give this film a high rating however on reflection it certainly does not desrve the 10/10 that many critics have dished out so easily for this film. I would say Moon is a better film and that got a 67 (84 from users) from the critics, who I believe have been a little out of touch with reviews for 2009 films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ForrestL.Feb 3, 2010
I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war movies are laden false events and dramatic devices and political "messages" but Hurt Locker embraces the realities of war and the people in them. This is a movie I'll keep for my children and grandchildren to show when they ask me what war was like. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
9
MichaelT.Feb 4, 2010
This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying This is an incredibly tense film, I was on the edge of my seat for just about all of it, and the bits I had time to slide back were moving and harrowing. I kinda felt like I was getting yanked in two directions though; one side glorifying the intense, adrenaline-packed army lifestyle, and the other demonizing war, tackling the themes of shell-shock, PTSD and sacrifice. Having said that this film is a brilliant spectacle worthy of its praise. (I think The Hurt Locker will contract Any Other Year Syndrome, in terms of the Oscars anyway... damn Avatar). Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
AmirF.Mar 12, 2010
After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the After watching this movie I thought with myself : " Did this piece of art merit winning Oscars !? " I paused for a moment , I back warded the movie to the beginning , watched it again , then I flash-forwarded to the end , and reviewed the walking of James toward hell and I answered myself : " Hell it did its job " movie begins with great atmosphere giving you the feeling that you are really in that location and it triggers the feeling of compassion with characters , you feel the rising of their Adrenalins , you feel their sweats , you feel the god-damn hot air , and so on . the story takes you to its deep and dark resolution of showing what really is life in that messy city , the city of women crying for the loss of their beloveds , children still playing soccer in the street joyful and some others selling porn movies in order to earn their livings , men watching American from their balconies and wondering " What will be the future of Baghdad ? " You simply just hold your breath in some scenes , leaping to the edge of your seat , crying just for compassion , just for realizing the truth [ I didn't cry ;-) ] ... I don't wanna spoil the story for you cause the plot is available everywhere and I'm not here to repeat those plots again and just bore you , I just want that it be clarified for you that this movie is well directed , although I didn't like the performings very much , Jeremy Renner [Staff Sergeant William James ] wasn't at his peak , he could do better . the cinematography [Barry Ackroyd] is lifelike and that's what gives you the sympathy with the characters . The writer I don't know him/her but he has done a great job. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MitchellkMar 9, 2010
Great Intense and Suspenseful Movie with great direction, who knew she had it in her.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
lolaluluJul 1, 2009
One of the most realistic war movies that I've ever seen.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoyceTAug 2, 2009
Relentless, devastating and totally awesome. Not a political soapbox, but a good war movie is always a moral one. Go see it. Make everybody you know go see it. An effort this fine deserves some box office heat.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TomBAug 20, 2009
Really good film focusing on character study and interaction in extreme circumstances. Take it for what it is! Don't let Hollywood ruin it!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
johnBAug 6, 2009
The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and never lets go. I find myself tempted to say this is the best war movie I Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BobWAug 7, 2009
Intense, suspenseful, engrossing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
richardhAug 9, 2009
Fantastic film. Tense and riviting drama. Realistic and genuine.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SamRAug 9, 2009
A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE A lot of people are giving this movie bad reviews because they think its unrealistic. Well, first of all, it is. Second of all, who cares! This movie is not a true story its simple a fictional chapter of what a three man EOD squad COULD HAVE have been like. So please stop quibbling and enjoy it. This was by far the best film I have seen in 09, just edging out Public Enemies. Renner is fantastic and the other two are fantastic as well adding to the tension of their relationships and missions. All in all, this movie blew me away. And although I thought that it took a small step into becoming one of the Bourne movies when Renner is running around Baghdad. I can find no other major critiques. A solid 9 out of 10. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexPSep 1, 2009
This is the "Platoon" for this generation. Simply brilliant filmmaking.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
michaeljSep 13, 2009
I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie I enjoyed this movie and thought it was very tense. I am suprised by the reaction from current armed service members. What if the criticisms of the inaccuracies and unrealistic nature of this movie are totally true? Does that make this movie automatically shitty? Is "Apocalypse Now" an insulting, bad or offensive movie because Vets feel it didn't reflect their actual service experience in Vietnam? Apocalypse Now is an incredible movie, as is this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ThayerH.Jan 11, 2010
Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, standard, unrealistic story arcs, and some sort of solid antagonist, The kind of people who are uncomfortable in a movie experience that doesn't tell them how to feel and what to think. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricO.Jan 10, 2010
The best movie of 2009. It is not a fantascy science fiction kind of a movie. It is real and it brings you down to earth. These type of soldiers are the bravest in the history of human warfare.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BryanBJan 12, 2010
As another Vet and EOD tech I give this film a 7. Yeah it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SJan 13, 2010
I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, especially by main actor Jeremy Renner, whose performance is totally real, raw, and brilliant. Renner deserves an Academy Award for Best Actor. I warn you that you won Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
robertiJan 17, 2010
True to the pumped up, hormonal realities of combat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobTJan 19, 2010
Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen about war. I don't know what people dislike about this movie, but I loved every fucking second of it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnLJan 19, 2010
This movie is a total rush with no political overtones. Extremely intense!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chrisb.Feb 12, 2010
This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a non-standard plot with lots of hidden stories hidden within the movie itself.I think that it is extremely hard to portray and show the emotion at the level that they did, this is achieved by a superb production team and an amazing crew. Outstanding movie everyone, outstanding job, best movie all year!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DoreneNFeb 2, 2010
I was glued to the TV screen throughout the whole movie; great acting by the whole cast and great direction...deserves an award! for me it was just better than Avatar.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HenryK.Feb 4, 2010
This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such This is a war film for people who don't go round shooting animals with bbguns then retiring to their parents basements to play call of duty. It is a technical marvel in its execution as a film, and its subject. Shot and filmed with such realism its hard not be interested. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful