Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1393 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,017
Mixed:
145
Negative:
231
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JoeshmoJun 1, 2010
You know, i haven't even seen the movie, but I can't imagine this movie could be so good. Seeing the user score is an average 7.1, (before my comment) the only reason the critics gave it an overall 94 is because they didn't You know, i haven't even seen the movie, but I can't imagine this movie could be so good. Seeing the user score is an average 7.1, (before my comment) the only reason the critics gave it an overall 94 is because they didn't want to make anyone mad just because the film is about wars in Afghanistan, or something. Avatar, the best created movie in my book, was well thought out, with amazing visual effects, and voice overs. That movie only got a 84!! That is still a really good rating, but i think Avatar should have gotten the 94 and The Hurt Locker get the 84. Also I want to talk about The Dark Knight. That movie really makes you think. Heath Ledger's psychopathic, insanely evil performance won him an academy award for being a mad dog whose main goal in life is to show everyone that they can become a mirror image of himself. Leading actor Christian Bale's performance of darkly kind night watcher over gotham city known as Batman was so amazing I was stunned. They really capitalized in this movie how much The Joker can aggrivate him and make him uncontrollably mad to the point of almost killing someone. The Hurt Locker is no where as amazing as the writing of Avatar, and the amazing, horrific, and violently great acting of the Dark Knight. It dosen' deserve the publicity it has gotten. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
0
MatthewS.Jun 9, 2010
I stopped watching when they got drunk and started wrestling each other half naked in the barracks. Oh, sorry ... SPOILER ALERT!
0 of 4 users found this helpful
1
JCTSep 4, 2009
Critics who gave high scores are mostly boring movies and this is one of them. With limited music and tons of slow suspense drama, this movie is not quite popular and epic enough for people to watch. If this movie ever goes for a Oscar Critics who gave high scores are mostly boring movies and this is one of them. With limited music and tons of slow suspense drama, this movie is not quite popular and epic enough for people to watch. If this movie ever goes for a Oscar nomination, be it that way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PeterGJan 12, 2010
"Critics" did it once again.... so inaccurate. It allmost hurts that much better movies are getting terrible reviews and boring crap like this (well, someone will get a edification or just good time...maybe) gets so many 100s. We should end "Critics" did it once again.... so inaccurate. It allmost hurts that much better movies are getting terrible reviews and boring crap like this (well, someone will get a edification or just good time...maybe) gets so many 100s. We should end reading their bullshits so they will lose their pointless work. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
StephenWFeb 4, 2010
I've served in Northern Ireland during the Troubles, and if this movie is indicative of the US drills in Iraq, I'm surprised there not lots more body bags being flown back home. Terrible - just terrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TimK.May 20, 2010
The Hurt Locker was kind of boring, and now that I know the true feeling of the producer, I cannot recommend it to anyone.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BrianKMay 27, 2010
Just another war movie. Nothing special, if you want a good war movie rent Apocalypse Now.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
RGozinyaJun 11, 2010
Drivel. Self serving and boring. Save your money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MatthewG.Jun 6, 2010
The worst movie I have ever seen, or should I say fell asleep to. Only an american would like this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KurtK.Jun 9, 2010
Voltage pictures is garbage.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BrettF.Jun 9, 2010
The director's crusade against net neutrality is intolerable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ericmJun 9, 2010
Horrible movie, not remotely realistic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PeterWMay 23, 2010
Don't believe the hype. This movie is millitary propaganda garbage and the producers are thugs. I downloaded this movie off the internet and it was a complete waste. Glad I didn't pay for it though! Hahahahah!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JulioG.May 31, 2010
When I watched this movie, I expected something original, mind-blowing,super special effects,great storyline even good music (which for me all oscar best picture winners must have). Plain and simple, i saw nothing of that at all, I dont When I watched this movie, I expected something original, mind-blowing,super special effects,great storyline even good music (which for me all oscar best picture winners must have). Plain and simple, i saw nothing of that at all, I dont understand why it has so many good reviews, please tell me why Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RayK.Aug 23, 2009
I was excited to see this movie for a number of reasons, not the least of which was it's critical buzz. When I walked out, I was appalled. Not by the technical inaccuracies or the unbelievably inane behavior and portrayal of the I was excited to see this movie for a number of reasons, not the least of which was it's critical buzz. When I walked out, I was appalled. Not by the technical inaccuracies or the unbelievably inane behavior and portrayal of the characters. That just makes it fiction. What offends me and what will offend anyone whose put in his time downrange is that everyone out there seems to think this is such a great movie. Every gushing review I read talks about Hurt Locker's harsh and uncompromising realism. BS! Do NOT watch this movie thinking that anything happening on screen is even remotely close to true to life. Nothing, NOTHING about this movie is close to being "real." From my perspective, GI Joe is a better movie because it doesn't pretend to be something it's not and then fail miserably at it. Katherine Bigelow might have fooled all the civilians but she's not fooling anyone else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RWSep 21, 2009
Really!?!? 10's for this garbage. This movie was so painful to actually sit through. There of course were all the stereotypes of us military people. If this movie was about a race or sexual orientation all those 10's given by the Really!?!? 10's for this garbage. This movie was so painful to actually sit through. There of course were all the stereotypes of us military people. If this movie was about a race or sexual orientation all those 10's given by the masses of clueless people would have been 0's with long rants about how insensitive and demeaning the movie was toward people it was supposed to be about. This movie is a fairy tale set in a current event setting. Characters are ridiculous stereotypes who apparently have no oversight which is sort of an inherent part of the military (for those of you who have never bothered to serve). The situations are erroneous and overly contrived. Basically this movie was an atrocity. If it fits your political stance and reinforces your beliefs great, but please don't try and pass this off as an example of what is going on in Iraq. Thanks. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RobinSAug 4, 2009
Good acting & camera work but didn't feel an emotional attachment to the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricS.Jan 2, 2010
I hated the War Lover, directed by Katheryn Bigelow. I am shocked to see that critics are falling all over themselves to praise and push it on the American public, which has already soundly rejected it at the box office. No one has I hated the War Lover, directed by Katheryn Bigelow. I am shocked to see that critics are falling all over themselves to praise and push it on the American public, which has already soundly rejected it at the box office. No one has acknowledged that "The Hurt Locker" is an exploitative ripoff of "The War Lover", a 1956 film with Steve McQueen. "Hurt"takes the psychological complexities of "Lover" and sensationalizes and simplifies them to make a blatant pro-war propaganda piece. Katheryn Bigelow is our equivalent of Leni Riefenstahl, a female director who glorified war and Nazi invasions. Katheryn Bigelow took the premise of "The War Lover", originally a novel by John Hersey, without transferring one iota of the intelligence of the original. In "Hurt" Bigelow unselfconsciously supports the war in Iraq and suppresses the reality of war and the nature of the American involvement there. She glorifies the lead character, a blind killer, who is shown in "The War Lover" as a maniac. How naive to think one could make a war movie about Iraq without having a political POV! This is why all war movies about this war are flops. They are all idiotic in the same way. The Hurt Locker does not reveal any truth, they are in denial of the truth. In my own review, I point out that Bigelow's "Hurt" tries to resurrect the permanently discredited Western genre, an old canard that male directors couldn't touch with a ten foot pole. A male director making "Hurt" would risk accusations of chauvinism, racism, and sensationalism, if not open complicity with the Pentagon in an effort to recruit new cannon-fodder. At the very least, SOME movie critic should point out that Bigelow uses every cliche in the Western book, and her characters are superficial and nonsensical, archetypes that even her apparent target audience, 12-year-old-boys, would reject. The most disturbing thing is that many critics have heaped high praise on this dumbed-down debacle, as if they are also complicit in supporting the war aims of the military. At least those critics who laud The Hurt Locker will inadvertently expose their incompetence as reviewers and complicity in prolonging the slaughter of civilians in ugly imperialist wars. Duly noted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdiP.Jan 26, 2010
I do not know what to say so I just say it will lose Oscars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamMFeb 11, 2010
This movie is an upside down reflection of truth. It is sad the movie is nominated for the academy award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DKFeb 14, 2010
Rather weak movie. I lost interest halfway through and walked out. It wasn't very realistic and lacked cohesion. I still don't know what the plot was about by midway through the story. Mixed with amateurish acting and photography, Rather weak movie. I lost interest halfway through and walked out. It wasn't very realistic and lacked cohesion. I still don't know what the plot was about by midway through the story. Mixed with amateurish acting and photography, I'm surprised that there was potential under the surface but not surprised that it didn't break through. Nothing like Generation Kill as someone else mentioned. A lemon. It has it's moments, but they don't make a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
annFeb 14, 2010
I went to rent this movie at the same time someone else was returning it. I was really exited to get it. The person told me it was something she would not spend money on by I did not believed her since after all it was an Oscar contender. I went to rent this movie at the same time someone else was returning it. I was really exited to get it. The person told me it was something she would not spend money on by I did not believed her since after all it was an Oscar contender. What a disappointment! Lousy acting. Did not look realistic. It was actually stupid and boring. After 30 minutes my husband and I gave up on it and returned it. One of the worst movies I have seen. I do not understand the critics. And now I know why it did not last in the theaters. It will definitely not get the Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DerekKFeb 5, 2010
Absolutely horrible, with the high reviews and Oscar nominations,i wanted to check it out, Dosnt deserve any of it!! I should have known by the box office numbers, my fault. Just bad! its funny how all the reviews of people who actually went Absolutely horrible, with the high reviews and Oscar nominations,i wanted to check it out, Dosnt deserve any of it!! I should have known by the box office numbers, my fault. Just bad! its funny how all the reviews of people who actually went overseas gave it a low rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JakeA.Feb 8, 2010
Don't believe the hype. Extremely inaccurate. Extremely cheesy dialogue. The action is mediocre. Empty plot. If you don't mind all of inaccurate content, and don't care about a plot, but just want to see some slow motion Don't believe the hype. Extremely inaccurate. Extremely cheesy dialogue. The action is mediocre. Empty plot. If you don't mind all of inaccurate content, and don't care about a plot, but just want to see some slow motion explosions, this is the movie for you. But if you are really interested in what life is like in Iraq, avoid this movie. It's funny how most reviewers and critics are proclaiming this is the movie to define this war generation, saying how it captures the emotions and hardships soldiers go through perfectly, when they themselves don't even know what those emotions are. They have never been there, so how can they possibly know what its like, and then make judgments? Pretty much, if you don't mind depth in a movie and just want to see some explosions and firefights, you'll enjoy it. If you care about plot, and accuracy, you'll hate it. If you're an Iraq veteran, like me, you'll laugh at it. Not the humor, the silliness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrianSFeb 9, 2010
Civilians will praise this movie just because it has soldiers in it. Like Tim C and most of the other soldiers on here, I've got 2 tours for the army under my belt and could not stop laughing the whole movie. The opening scene when EOD Civilians will praise this movie just because it has soldiers in it. Like Tim C and most of the other soldiers on here, I've got 2 tours for the army under my belt and could not stop laughing the whole movie. The opening scene when EOD shows up and everyone else has abandoned their humvees and are hiding just set the tone. Then the AWAL but, the headset nonsense, EOD turning into scout snipers interlaced with a 15 minute juice drinking scene... all nonsensical inaccurate crap. An actual EOD movie would be 15 minutes long and feature dudes in PT's sleeping and playing on the internet followed by a 3 hour response time to go pick up some ordinance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
rickMar 7, 2010
I heard this movie was good some months ago but just watched it last week. What a disappointment. And now I know why that kid was so keen to join the military. Thats right - in my neighborhood a kid has joined the military because he wants I heard this movie was good some months ago but just watched it last week. What a disappointment. And now I know why that kid was so keen to join the military. Thats right - in my neighborhood a kid has joined the military because he wants to be a bomb defuser ... just like in the movies. Probably he won't get a chance. For sure he will find the reality very different that what he imagines from "The Hurt Locker". How many kids are going to die because they were seduced by "Hurt Locker"? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveSMar 7, 2010
I fell asleep half way through. The first explosion, that killed one of the technicians, was edited in such a way that defied believability. Hence the problem with this movie. It doesn't portray a sense of believability as it supposedly I fell asleep half way through. The first explosion, that killed one of the technicians, was edited in such a way that defied believability. Hence the problem with this movie. It doesn't portray a sense of believability as it supposedly re-creates the real life exploits of this bomb disposal squad. Much has been written about how marvellous this film is. But it did nothing for me. What made it even more grating, is that I found this movie to be unwatchable. It bored me senseless. The acting, supposedly in the documentary style, is just nothing much in the scheme of things. The camera angles are just here and there and not overly interesting. the suspense ... er, what suspense? Men walking slowly in big fat rubber suits towards 'the bomb'. I watched the film receive all its Oscar triumphs and Kathryn Bigelow win her award for some supposed brilliance. Hmmmm, if I had the chance to vote I wouldn't have voted for this film. One has to wonder what the criteria is for 'best film' at the Oscar ceremony? I understand the theory behind what was of interest in this film. But the execution is abysmal. And it didn't touch me on any level. One has to wonder in a world gone mad on political correctness, reality t.v., equal opportunity and acknowledgement for woman, minorities, the religiously persecuted etc, etc ... you would have to wonder if the brouhaha this film has received is simply a fashionable statement of acceptance in the same way as a Toyota Prius being lauded as a supreme technological achievement. After all, a Prius is simply ugly and neither celebrates nor acknowledges genius. Hurt Locker is the same, it is a novelty that has not captured the popular heart. It cost $11 million to make and has to date recouped $15 million at the box office. The recognized critics loved it but the people with common sense, the movie goers have stayed away from it in droves. And this is for good reason. It's boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NathanaelGApr 4, 2010
Mike J had it dead on. THL was just a terrible bore. How could this film win Best Picture?! Inglorious Basterds and Precious were excellent contenders, and District 9 was mind-blowing, and clearly the BPOY. This was Slumdog all over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickJ.Apr 8, 2010
Upon finally seeing this film we were sorely disappointed. The hype is amazing for a film that is at best mediocre, and at worst a sad glorification of present day war. The phrase that best comes to mind is: American propaganda. How pathetic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AugureA.May 20, 2010
Way overrated movie, this is just army propaganda, and it made the oscar look ridiculous and not credible anymore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful