Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1381 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,009
Mixed:
142
Negative:
230
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
AndrewJul 29, 2009
I am still deployed and this is truly the worst war movie I have ever watched. Without even acknolwedging how far from the truth the tactics are and lack of security in every scene, EOD is falsely portrayed as some sort of special forces I am still deployed and this is truly the worst war movie I have ever watched. Without even acknolwedging how far from the truth the tactics are and lack of security in every scene, EOD is falsely portrayed as some sort of special forces unit. I have sat on many IED's and regardless of the fact that units are not allowed to travel outside of a 3 vehicle or 4 vehicle security concept, EOD is not comprised of 3 enlisted defusing bombs. The robot is always extensively used and more importantly EOD personnel are never foolish enough to handle ready to go large ordnance to diffuse it. Every time we found an IED from 155 shells to mortar rounds, they were always blown in place. The few times an IED was taken was when it was fully dismembered by a disrupting detonation. I watched a little over half of this movie before turning it off as it was too painful and ridiculous to watch. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
RayK.Aug 23, 2009
I was excited to see this movie for a number of reasons, not the least of which was it's critical buzz. When I walked out, I was appalled. Not by the technical inaccuracies or the unbelievably inane behavior and portrayal of the I was excited to see this movie for a number of reasons, not the least of which was it's critical buzz. When I walked out, I was appalled. Not by the technical inaccuracies or the unbelievably inane behavior and portrayal of the characters. That just makes it fiction. What offends me and what will offend anyone whose put in his time downrange is that everyone out there seems to think this is such a great movie. Every gushing review I read talks about Hurt Locker's harsh and uncompromising realism. BS! Do NOT watch this movie thinking that anything happening on screen is even remotely close to true to life. Nothing, NOTHING about this movie is close to being "real." From my perspective, GI Joe is a better movie because it doesn't pretend to be something it's not and then fail miserably at it. Katherine Bigelow might have fooled all the civilians but she's not fooling anyone else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
HannahFAug 28, 2009
Oh dear... What a serious serious disappointment....! I genuinely feel like I have wasted 2 hours of my life... After watching what I thought was a great trailer, I went to see this and felt totally cheated by the speed, excitement & nitty Oh dear... What a serious serious disappointment....! I genuinely feel like I have wasted 2 hours of my life... After watching what I thought was a great trailer, I went to see this and felt totally cheated by the speed, excitement & nitty gritty detail it's supposed to portray. The pretentious and unimpactful slow scenes did little to inspire the imagination of what clearly is a grueling job these men have to endure. And what was with the way they portrayed the British Army to be a bunch of dithering fools? There was nothing intense about it, so many reviews comment on the thought provoking insight to the Iraqi war. The result for me was slow, unsubtle and laboured. So many scenes felt disjointed and unnecessary to me, it was like watching Big Brother! I absolutely would not recommend watching this movie, in fact I even feel that a complaint to Odeon for picking such a dull film is in order. Pants! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RWSep 21, 2009
Really!?!? 10's for this garbage. This movie was so painful to actually sit through. There of course were all the stereotypes of us military people. If this movie was about a race or sexual orientation all those 10's given by the Really!?!? 10's for this garbage. This movie was so painful to actually sit through. There of course were all the stereotypes of us military people. If this movie was about a race or sexual orientation all those 10's given by the masses of clueless people would have been 0's with long rants about how insensitive and demeaning the movie was toward people it was supposed to be about. This movie is a fairy tale set in a current event setting. Characters are ridiculous stereotypes who apparently have no oversight which is sort of an inherent part of the military (for those of you who have never bothered to serve). The situations are erroneous and overly contrived. Basically this movie was an atrocity. If it fits your political stance and reinforces your beliefs great, but please don't try and pass this off as an example of what is going on in Iraq. Thanks. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
egovirusMar 8, 2011
That people are giving this movie a ten, and that it won an Oscar shows just how desperately out of touch Americans are. Gross inaccuracies aside, and this movie is riven with them, the fact that this director had so much going for her inThat people are giving this movie a ten, and that it won an Oscar shows just how desperately out of touch Americans are. Gross inaccuracies aside, and this movie is riven with them, the fact that this director had so much going for her in terms of the innate interest stories like this generate, and the timeliness of its release, and she blew it so completely, is very telling. It tells of incompetence, and indifference to the people she pretends to care for and about. If she really cared, then the amateur to the stark errors she makes in this movie would have been removed, and she would have gotten at least some things right. Otherwise you're just out to make a name for yourself, and f*** you for that. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
NoBSJan 24, 2011
Meh, I'm just gonna cut the **** this is one horrible movie. The fact that it won best picture of the year just shows how hollywood is all biased and about politics and congress. Over the years, the oscars have become nothing but a pitifulMeh, I'm just gonna cut the **** this is one horrible movie. The fact that it won best picture of the year just shows how hollywood is all biased and about politics and congress. Over the years, the oscars have become nothing but a pitiful embarrassing sham with incredibly ridiculous nominees and arrogant hosts. You might as well pin it next to the VGAs in how pathetic it is. It's plot? You've heard it before, some guy goes to iraq, shows the hardships of the war, some people die, comes back to america, goes back, done. Nothing of interest or originality at ALL in this movie. Hell there's not even a story. Best part of all is the stereotypical black guy as the tough militant, nothin against black people, but the way they always portray them as bad ass military guys in tight uniforms is laughable. Really it's just an advertisement for the american military and government. It has what the government wants. Portray the US as the good guy and Iraq as the bad guy. Make working for the military look bad ass with some sniper rifle scenes and you got yourself a subliminal message "join the military" and a good ol **** you to avatar. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
0
nannaJan 29, 2011
the worst movie I've seen.... is not about war.... is about American idea of hero... Its boring and don't have argument ... I can't understand how this movie won an oscar
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
0
ItchyDec 11, 2012
I realize this review is coming a little late but I see the same director is now birthing another one of her 'realistic' films about war (Zero Dark Thirty). I love hard hitting action films as much as I HATE political propaganda and that isI realize this review is coming a little late but I see the same director is now birthing another one of her 'realistic' films about war (Zero Dark Thirty). I love hard hitting action films as much as I HATE political propaganda and that is what the Hurt Locker is. I was completely bored with the "crazy-American-cowboy standing-alone -against-all-the-whimps" theme. Maybe this film director/writer should join up and see what a real war feels like. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
uxoguy05Feb 12, 2013
all my EOD friends thing this movie is the best comedy scifi they've ever seen. complete garbage, oscar winning my ass. I know people complain that it's a movie not a documentry, but come on you have to stick to reality at least a little bit.all my EOD friends thing this movie is the best comedy scifi they've ever seen. complete garbage, oscar winning my ass. I know people complain that it's a movie not a documentry, but come on you have to stick to reality at least a little bit. the scene where he pulls all those heavy artillary pieces out of the ground by the det cord and blasting caps... come on was he superman? each one of those wieghs at least 50 pounds. This movie was "based" off of a soldiers EOD experience, if he had done half of what he said he did in the movie he'd still be jail. this is just another movie made to get an Oscar, nothing more Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
dsj556Mar 7, 2014
Please for anyone watching this move it is not at all accurate. EOD rarely disarms bombs as it is too dangerous. NCO's don't punch superiors in the face, you certainly would never find a SFC getting hammered drunk or sneaking off the fob byPlease for anyone watching this move it is not at all accurate. EOD rarely disarms bombs as it is too dangerous. NCO's don't punch superiors in the face, you certainly would never find a SFC getting hammered drunk or sneaking off the fob by himself to interrogate someone, it is simply false. These are huge falsehoods that completely turn the move into 100% fiction beyond the fact that the war in Iraq actually happened. These would be the kinds of stories you would hear from an EOD private who was in the Green Zone for 12 months. Anyone else who ever set foot in the middle east can tell you what a complete load of BS this movie really is.

People may think that even an inaccurate war movie is better than none but that is simply not the case. This movie is an insult to everyone who spent even one second in Iraq and I am still amazed that it actually won an Oscar. That is just a travesty.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
John154Jun 24, 2016
This movie came out while i was in Afghanistan hunting IEDs. This hero filled war porn does not reflect what we did and makes a mockery of the teams of men who worked as professional, cohesive units to do this very difficult job that theThis movie came out while i was in Afghanistan hunting IEDs. This hero filled war porn does not reflect what we did and makes a mockery of the teams of men who worked as professional, cohesive units to do this very difficult job that the cowboy protagonist does all my himself while in a constant state of rebellion and with total neglect for the intricacies of army teamwork. My mother saw this film it put all sorts of new dread into her for my safety. That pissed me off too. Clearly I'm biased and maybe if I were a civilian I might like this sort of film but from this Vet's perspective Hurker Locker gets two raging thumbs down. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews