Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Hurt Locker is an intense portrayal of elite soldiers who have one of the most dangerous jobs in the world: disarming bombs in the heat of combat. When a new sergeant, James, takes over a highly trained bomb disposal team amidst violent conflict, he surprises his two subordinates, Sanborn and Eldridge, by recklessly plunging them into a deadly game of urban combat. James behaves as if he's indifferent to death. As the men struggle to control their wild new leader, the city explodes into chaos, and James' true character reveals itself in a way that will change each man forever. (Summit Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    A great film, an intelligent film, a film shot clearly so that we know exactly who everybody is and where they are and what they’re doing and why.
  2. The result is an intense, action-driven war pic, a muscular, efficient standout that simultaneously conveys the feeling of combat from within as well as what it looks like on the ground.
  3. 100
    Such is the extraordinary achievement of The Hurt Locker: it has the perspective of years when those years have yet to pass.
  4. 100
    The Hurt Locker redefines war-film electricity.
  5. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    90
    The adrenaline rush of war has been largely missing from Hollywood's Iraq, but it's certainly front and center in The Hurt Locker, the first war movie in a while that feels as if it could have starred John Wayne.
  6. 88
    Here's the Iraq War movie for those who don't like Iraq War movies.
  7. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    60
    Boal's script stirs a little of everything into the pot, which boils down into seven setpieces divided by brief intervals of camaraderie/conflict among the three protags.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Direction is excellent the actors are perfect but the plot is a little weak. The director has done a perfect work also the main actor is absolutely perfect. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Great movie! Unlike other war movies about recent conflicts such as Jarhead, this movie is actually entertaining, with some of the best tension filled scenes you will see. And the performance by Jeremy Renner in the lead role is fantastic. I understand that many parts of the movie are "unrealistic", as many people have complained about, but 100% of fictional movies are unrealistic. They have spice up aspects of life to make the film entertaining. I don't believe they mean any disrespect to those in uniform. They're merely trying to make the movie entertaining for the audience. But I understand this is a sensitive subject. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Easily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilarating and gripping than most high-budget blockbusters. Also, wtf with people complaining about the movie's real-life credibility? It's not like "Apocalypse Now" represented the Vietnam War as it was, it just tried to be a great movie, which it was and "The Hurt Locker" is the same. Expand
  4. j30
    Oct 7, 2011
    8
    If I had the choice between The Hurt Locker and Avatar winning Best Picture. I probably would have gone with this movie. I watched 60 minutes segment of the real bomb squads in Afghanistan and this movie was really accurate. The movie is really intense and has electrifying performances. Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    I am not quite sure what exactly Kathryn Bigelow is trying to accomplish here. She makes a good work by adding tension and realism in some scenes and film itself is well-shoted, but 'The Hurt Locker' spends too much time talking about, well, nothing. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2011
    5
    This is the most overrated film of last decade in my opinion. How did this win best picture? Sure, the movie gets the intensity of the Iraq war on screen in a good fashion, but with awkward pacing, boring situations, and most importantly, a nonexistent story, The Hurt Locker really is "Hurt" by many of its flaws. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2011
    0
    Meh, I'm just gonna cut the **** this is one horrible movie. The fact that it won best picture of the year just shows how hollywood is all biased and about politics and congress. Over the years, the oscars have become nothing but a pitiful embarrassing sham with incredibly ridiculous nominees and arrogant hosts. You might as well pin it next to the VGAs in how pathetic it is. It's plot? You've heard it before, some guy goes to iraq, shows the hardships of the war, some people die, comes back to america, goes back, done. Nothing of interest or originality at ALL in this movie. Hell there's not even a story. Best part of all is the stereotypical black guy as the tough militant, nothin against black people, but the way they always portray them as bad ass military guys in tight uniforms is laughable. Really it's just an advertisement for the american military and government. It has what the government wants. Portray the US as the good guy and Iraq as the bad guy. Make working for the military look bad ass with some sniper rifle scenes and you got yourself a subliminal message "join the military" and a good ol **** you to avatar. Expand

See all 372 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Iraq/Afghanistan War Films

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Iraq/Afghanistan War Films Image
    Published: June 25, 2010
    This week sees the release of the latest big screen look the Afghanistan conflict, "Restrepo." How does the new film compare to previous movies about the two wars? We rank the best and worst.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  4. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  5. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  6. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.
  7. AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009

    AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: December 13, 2009
    The awards season kicks into high gear this week, and three separate organizations have given a big boost to The Hurt Locker, while another favors Avatar.