Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "The Ides of March" takes place during the frantic last days before a heavily contested Ohio presidential primary, when an up-and-coming campaign press secretary finds himself involved in a political scandal that threatens to upend his candidate's shot at the presidency. (Sony Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Oct 6, 2011
    100
    This taut cautionary tale explores the dark side of American politics. And leaves the viewer to wonder - if anyone's still wondering - is there a bright side?
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 5, 2011
    88
    A cynical, polished and deeply disturbing look at the kind of camera-ready liberal dreamboy who gets elected in 60-second sound bites, it is one of the most important films of the year.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Oct 6, 2011
    80
    The Ides of March doesn't cut as deeply or as sharply as Clooney might like, but at least he found the right actor to navigate its dark emotional twists and turns.
  4. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Oct 6, 2011
    75
    Gosling continues to prove he may the best actor of his generation. His performance in The Ides of March, following his comedic turn in "Crazy, Stupid Love" and his portrayal of a stoic loner in "Drive," proves this actor is capable of practically anything.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Sep 10, 2011
    70
    The Ides of March says that American politics, no less than Italian, is a beachfront property with sharks surfing the waves. That makes this skeptical, savory movie a fitting offering from Hollywood's suavest ambassador to Venice and the world.
  6. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Oct 24, 2011
    60
    Entertaining while you're watching it but, as deceptive as a party's election promises, there's less to it than meets the eye.
  7. 40
    It's tempting to praise The Ides of March as a realistic depiction of how low we've sunk. But that would mean accepting the second-rate writing and third-rate melodrama and incredible shrinking characters.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 73
  2. Negative: 7 out of 73
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    With only one word am going to describe this film - AMAZING. I must admit that it is absolutely fantastic. From George Clooney directing toWith only one word am going to describe this film - AMAZING. I must admit that it is absolutely fantastic. From George Clooney directing to Ryan Gosling, Philip Seymour Hoffman, and Paul Giamatti acting. It will definitely gonna be a strong contender at the upcoming award season. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    A script risky, envelope, a story that plays with characters who begin to love and then despise the scum they are, the double standards, lackA script risky, envelope, a story that plays with characters who begin to love and then despise the scum they are, the double standards, lack of loyalty, mistrust and manipulation makes this film a true delight. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    Although George Clooney directed this film and has a major role, it's really Ryan Gosling's movie. He plays a sharp, young press secretary toAlthough George Clooney directed this film and has a major role, it's really Ryan Gosling's movie. He plays a sharp, young press secretary to an idealistic Presidential candidate (Clooney) during the final days of a major primary. The story's revolves around the machinations of the campaign, the hard decisions that must be made and the politics behind politics. There's no action here, just an involving plot, intelligent dialogue and a terrific cast. A smart, well-made film. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    The Ides of March is a great film about political ambition and the destruction of innocence. Seeing Ryan Gosling's bright eyed idealist fallThe Ides of March is a great film about political ambition and the destruction of innocence. Seeing Ryan Gosling's bright eyed idealist fall into darkness makes for compulsive viewing. There are also a whole slew of great performances on offer too, including George Clooney, Marisa Tomei, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Paul Giamatti. Great stuff! Collapse
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    7
    The Ides of March is good political film . The way Clooney put it was amazing . It does gives some amazing example of life . The opening wasThe Ides of March is good political film . The way Clooney put it was amazing . It does gives some amazing example of life . The opening was mixed , after that it turned out great but Ending was a bit disappointing. It felt like they just stop the movie . The Ides of March was good but could be better . Clooney's acting and directing was awesome . Ryan was really made this year . Crazy,stupid,love and Drive & this . he had an amazing year . Expand
  6. May 25, 2012
    6
    This movie was just Ok for me. It was very well done, yes. The cast was wonderful. George Clooney and Paul Giamatti did very well as well, butThis movie was just Ok for me. It was very well done, yes. The cast was wonderful. George Clooney and Paul Giamatti did very well as well, but I do believe that Philip Seymour Hoffman was the one who deserves the best acting job in this film- just great. The cast and dialogue is what really put this film together nicely. Here are my criticisms and reasons why I gave the movie a lower score- Before I saw the movie, I read a brief synopsis about what the film was about. I was very interested and excited to find out what sort of "dirty politics" were going to be used in it. What I found out to be unfortunately didn't impress me and seemed a bit unrealistic to me. It took a very long time for the "problem" and climax to appear in this film as well, so as a result, it seemed to me that the first half of the movie dragged on. My final criticism for this film is the ending. Directors like to leave audiences hanging, yes, but in this film, it just lets you fall off of the cliff, not even knowing what to think. Yes, the ending made me think, but everything (the climax of the film) led up to nothing. It felt under-cooked and disappointing to me. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Up until the suicide, it was a good movie. After that, it was only a shallow attempt at bashing politics and politicians. Politicians just like everyone else use leverage, there is nothing wrong with that. Why would you get into politics if it weren't for a chance to do what you think is right ? We need to demystify power as something evil. Because it is not. This movie leaves you with a bitter feeling and nowhere to go. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF

    Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF Image
    Published: September 20, 2011
    With the 2011 installments of the three major fall film festivals now complete, we sample the reaction from professional critics and film bloggers to the movies generating the most buzz at the three festivals, including new works by Alexander Payne, Whit Stillman, Roman Polanski, David Cronenberg, Steve McQueen, and Madonna.
  2. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.
  3. Dual Threats: Actors Who Direct Movies

    Dual Threats: Actors Who Direct Movies Image
    Published: June 27, 2011
    This week, star Tom Hanks returns to the director's chair with "Larry Crowne." We profile 20 other established actors who have made the leap to film directing, for better or worse.