Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: May 16, 2014
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 74 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
54
Mixed:
14
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LizLemon44May 16, 2014
Beautifully filmed and featuring 3 superb performances from Marion Cotillard, Joaquin Phoenix, and Jeremy Renner. Not everyone will enjoy the pace, but the film is most rewarding to people who pay close attention to its details. Films justBeautifully filmed and featuring 3 superb performances from Marion Cotillard, Joaquin Phoenix, and Jeremy Renner. Not everyone will enjoy the pace, but the film is most rewarding to people who pay close attention to its details. Films just aren't made like this anymore. I consider it to be one of Grays best, and with career-best performances from Cotillard and Renner. I think there's a chance that the audience for this kind of film will be smaller than others, slow building melodramas typically are these days, but Gray has made a masterpiece of his. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
Brent_MarchantJun 1, 2014
A plodding, directionless period piece melodrama whose meandering script and largely one-dimensional characters are unable to elevate this film to the loftiness to which it aspires. Regrettably, its exquisite cinematography and fineA plodding, directionless period piece melodrama whose meandering script and largely one-dimensional characters are unable to elevate this film to the loftiness to which it aspires. Regrettably, its exquisite cinematography and fine production values aren't enough to salvage this otherwise-mediocre offering. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryMay 29, 2014
In the early 20s, a Polish woman (Marion Cotillard) immigrates to America, only to find herself forced into prostitution by Joaquin Phoenix's character. This film is as desperately bleak as it sounds: a relentless downer that had potential toIn the early 20s, a Polish woman (Marion Cotillard) immigrates to America, only to find herself forced into prostitution by Joaquin Phoenix's character. This film is as desperately bleak as it sounds: a relentless downer that had potential to be grand and moving, but is hindered by the contrived plot, the glacial pace and the overblown orchestrations. Darius Khondji's cinematography is lovely, but bathed in an unoriginal sepia cast. Cotillard works those big eyes to full effect as she suffers endlessly, while Phoenix practically twirls his non-existent moustache. The period situations are interesting, but the dramatic potential is amped up to melodrama. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
silasbodnickMay 23, 2014
The movie looks beautiful but it's just a little slow for my liking. I really do enjoy Marion Cotillard's work as a general proposition but in this movie I thought she was underutilized and had far too many blank stares. Frankly I would takeThe movie looks beautiful but it's just a little slow for my liking. I really do enjoy Marion Cotillard's work as a general proposition but in this movie I thought she was underutilized and had far too many blank stares. Frankly I would take just about any episode of boardwalk empire over this move. Or come to think of it any of episode of Copper. Each of those television series approach the era with much more vigor and superior characterization and storytelling. I was hoping that Jeremy Renner's role would be a bit more significant, and I thought that Joaquin Phoenix might display a little bit more rage. It is certainly worth seeing but I have to give it only a modest recommendation. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
netflicJun 9, 2014
American drama starring Marion Cotillard, Joaquin Phoenix, and Jeremy Renner.
It is a story of a young woman Ewa coming to Ellis Island, NY, in 1921 with her sister. They escaped from after-war Poland and are looking for better life. Her
American drama starring Marion Cotillard, Joaquin Phoenix, and Jeremy Renner.
It is a story of a young woman Ewa coming to Ellis Island, NY, in 1921 with her sister. They escaped from after-war Poland and are looking for better life. Her sister is sick with tuberculosis and is separated from Ewa. This is how her un-fortunes start in America.

This movie had a potential to be great with excellent actors and an interesting story. Alas, directing and the script did not impress me. Overall, the movie is uneven and mediocre. Some episodes lack authenticity and are not convincing. Cotillard's performance is excellent but I would not say that about two other stars in this movie. Cinematography is quite good though.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
LowbrowCinemaJun 1, 2014
The less said about this contrived mess of a movie the better. False in every way, from its overly sepia tones to its forced dialogue, stilted performances and plot points so absurd you will actually laugh out load, THE IMMIGRANT is madeThe less said about this contrived mess of a movie the better. False in every way, from its overly sepia tones to its forced dialogue, stilted performances and plot points so absurd you will actually laugh out load, THE IMMIGRANT is made bearable by the amazing Marion Cotillard who can simply do no wrong. Her performance is complex and oh so subtle. Thank you Marion for saving THE IMMIGRANT. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DirigiblePulpSep 28, 2017
Solidly told, greatly acted and well judged, yet it lacks a certain soulfulness, or fire, or creative inspiration. It feels like a bored thesis from a master craftsman. I received the same feeling (to a slightly lesser degree) from Gray'sSolidly told, greatly acted and well judged, yet it lacks a certain soulfulness, or fire, or creative inspiration. It feels like a bored thesis from a master craftsman. I received the same feeling (to a slightly lesser degree) from Gray's Lost City of Z. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeDec 3, 2014
Marion Cotillard is heart-wrenching in one of the best performances of her career. Nevertheless, The Immigrant is often stale and spends far too long meandering without intriguing purpose.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Dec 23, 2014
The Immigrant is nothing more than a horrible soap-opera. The storytelling is clumsy to say the least and the characters are as shallow as a puddle. Its a movie with no point and no direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amboyJun 5, 2014
The director of the film wanted to recreate the world of the teeming lower east aside of New York during the great European immigration at the end of the nineteenth and early twentieth century. He has done this with extraordinarily evocativeThe director of the film wanted to recreate the world of the teeming lower east aside of New York during the great European immigration at the end of the nineteenth and early twentieth century. He has done this with extraordinarily evocative images. But while the actors are all marvelous. the story lacks specificity and clarity. There's too much unexplained backstory==why is a simple Catholic girl emigrating from Poland? How does she come to speak good English? Why do you find out what happened to her on the ship so late in the film? What is the basis for the mutual hatred of the two men played by Phoenix and Renner. Worth seeing, nevertheless, but oh, what it could have been with these actors and this cinematographer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
captaindangerMay 26, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was incredibly disappointing. The characters are static and the main character is completely abused for no reason. Literally, the horrible things that happen to her don't even move the plot along. The whole story seems to have no point in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wlk68May 24, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just got back from seeing this and I thought it was excellent. The
cinematography was gorgeous and the performances were very powerful.
I'm sure that what happened to Eva happened to a lot of young women.
Bruno was a very **** character, drawing her in and putting her
in more and more desperate situations, taking full advantage of the
fact that she would do anything to get her sister off of Ellis Island.
And making it seem like it was her decision to boot! When all of your
options suck what do you do? If you have a strong will to survive, you
do what Eva did.

I know that Eva was charmed by Orlando/Emile (Jeremy Renner) but if
she'd gone with him I think she would've ultimately regretted it. While
well meaning, he came across as something of a flighty dilettante who
would've dropped her the moment something shinier and newer came along.
His character was all élan and dash with very little substance,
purposely so.

The final scene between Eva and Bruno was perfect and I hope that come
Oscar season this movie gets some recognition.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NRNSWJul 25, 2015
This was a nice film to watch, with some fantastic performances (particularly by the lead performers). But there just seemed to be something missing - I think it might have been edited too much and a lot ended up on the cutting room floorThis was a nice film to watch, with some fantastic performances (particularly by the lead performers). But there just seemed to be something missing - I think it might have been edited too much and a lot ended up on the cutting room floor unnecessarily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
smiyamotJun 12, 2016
Life was brutal back then, and maybe still is. A pretty immigrant is "picked" by a pimp because of her circumstances to join his "lovely doves." Not unlike the sex trafficking going on today, but it was out in the open back then. A lot isLife was brutal back then, and maybe still is. A pretty immigrant is "picked" by a pimp because of her circumstances to join his "lovely doves." Not unlike the sex trafficking going on today, but it was out in the open back then. A lot is involved with these 2 main characters and their personal lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews