Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Diego Costa
    Sep 4, 2012
    38
    Oh, the hilarious awkwardness of placing privileged white kids in a place where they don't belong.
  2. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Sep 8, 2012
    50
    If nothing else, The Inbetweeners Movie proves that raunchy comedies about horny teens aren't just an American quirk.
  3. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Sep 8, 2012
    33
    In other words, here's the same slop you've seen before, only with brand new accents. Also, more pooping.
  4. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Sep 7, 2012
    70
    Satisfies as a standalone experience.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 7, 2012
    63
    It turns out that constraint is really what the show is all about, or to put it another way, I'm disappointed that they turned my horny-teen comedy into a gross-out comedy.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Sep 6, 2012
    40
    The film is only slightly more boorish than the racy cult hit was on telly and would probably not be worth the celluloid expended were it not for the bookish, brainy Will McKenzie (Simon Bird).
  7. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Sep 6, 2012
    75
    This feature-length dose of boyish sexual fumbling and fantastically dirty British slang is bound to expand an American viewer's vocabulary.
  8. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 6, 2012
    30
    The movie is apparently the most popular British comedy in history. I guarantee that its success has nothing to do with the quality of the actual movie.
  9. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Sep 6, 2012
    12
    If nothing else, The Inbetweeners Movie earns itself a footnote in any comprehensive history of local movie exhibition. This has got to be the first time a wedgie has been inflicted onscreen at the Kendall.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 6, 2012
    20
    After much fumbling, the snicks and giggles of adolescence grow wearying yet again.
  11. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Sep 5, 2012
    67
    Anyone who doesn't already know and care a little about these characters might find the movie a bit thin.
  12. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Sep 4, 2012
    40
    Even the show's disciples may feel like they've been cheated.
  13. Reviewed by: Jonathan Kiefer
    Sep 4, 2012
    60
    Britishly, the movie has a knack for inflating little sap bubbles as if mostly for the joy of popping them.
  14. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Sep 1, 2012
    80
    Like any holiday, it is episodic and suffers from repetition but this is gag-for-gag the funniest film of the summer and a fitting end to a much-loved series. So long boys, it's been great to know you.
  15. Reviewed by: Steve Rose
    Sep 1, 2012
    60
    They could have called it British Pie, but this TV sitcom spin-off updates the teen summer holiday formula surprisingly entertainingly, considering it doesn't subvert it one iota.
  16. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    Affection for the characters will bring fans in. But many will leave wishing the makers of one of the most enjoyable programmes of recent years had left well enough alone.
  17. Reviewed by: Charles Gant
    Sep 1, 2012
    60
    Brit sitcom The Inbetweeners, which tracked the travails of four male misfits in their last years at high school, makes a satisfying leap to the bigscreen in summer holiday adventure The Inbetweeners Movie.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    This movie is absolutely hilarious, Americans will not understand it, and will give bad reviews as they don't understand British comedy. ItThis movie is absolutely hilarious, Americans will not understand it, and will give bad reviews as they don't understand British comedy. It kept me laughing throughout and did so to all of my mates. Because we can relate to it, whereas Americans cannot. (Yes, i'm British) Full Review »
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    1
    This movie was uninteresting to the point I would turn it off. I did watch the movie till the end and I conclude honestly that this was theThis movie was uninteresting to the point I would turn it off. I did watch the movie till the end and I conclude honestly that this was the worst movie I have ever seen. The characters where uninteresting and the acting wasn't that good at all. During the whole movie there wasn't any joke at which I laughed. Full Review »
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    The inbetweeners is concluded with an excellent film that involves a moving but funny plot line and a fine performance from the four mainThe inbetweeners is concluded with an excellent film that involves a moving but funny plot line and a fine performance from the four main actors. well done! Full Review »