Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 13, 2013
    67
    The movie itself is too cautious and unimaginative to bring off what a great magic trick — or comedy — should do: make us laugh out loud with surprise.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 14, 2013
    75
    The movie is pleasant. It's reasonably funny. But the one who gets the real laughs here, the hard laughs, is Carrey, who plays the kind of role he should be playing - a complete lunatic.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 13, 2013
    67
    The Incredible Burt Wonderstone draws a lot of goodwill from the basic likability of its star performers.
  4. 63
    Few jokes take us by surprise, but enough comic haymakers land to make “Burt Wonderstone” credible, in not exactly “incredible.”
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Mar 14, 2013
    63
    It’s too cheesy and predictable to be a real miracle, but by Vegas standards, it’s a winner.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 13, 2013
    67
    The third act of Scardino's movie is very funny, and its finale featuring the exposure of an impossibly successful illusion is flat-out brilliant. It's just too bad that the movie's opening act is so sleight of humor, damaging the movie's potential. Now you see it. Then you don't.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 13, 2013
    75
    This is also one dark and wickedly funny comedy.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 50
  2. Negative: 6 out of 50
  1. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Definitely better than expected; I feel that the critics were a bit harsh on this one. There were quite a few laughs throughout the movie, theDefinitely better than expected; I feel that the critics were a bit harsh on this one. There were quite a few laughs throughout the movie, the story was decent, and the characters were well cast. The movie isn't perfect by any means, but compared to most comedies that typically hit the big screen The Incredible Burt Wonderstone was entertaining and a success. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    I came into this movie with low expectations. I figured.. with comedies nowadays, this will be boring and quite cheesy. Fortunately, I wasI came into this movie with low expectations. I figured.. with comedies nowadays, this will be boring and quite cheesy. Fortunately, I was mistaken. I really enjoyed this movie. Steve Carrell (as always) made me laugh, Jim Carrey was just utterly insane, and I just found it much funnier than I had hoped. So, cheers to you guys, you have made a successful comedy in 2013. That's a rare thing. Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    I wasn´t really excited about this one, in fact I just finished seeing it online haha. And it was a good, light and fun time! I laughed a goodI wasn´t really excited about this one, in fact I just finished seeing it online haha. And it was a good, light and fun time! I laughed a good amount especially in Jim Carrey´s scenes (the Red Hot Coals Trick made me laugh out loud at my computer screen) which are so funnily acted by this man. The two Steves (Carell and Buscemi) had their moments too ("Is this badge ready?") but they were quite few and not so funny as The Brain Rapist´s (Carrey). Olivia Wilde as always is as always amaaazingly hot and she acts pretty well too.
    Aside from this it has its pacing and execution flaws and it isn´t an achieved marvel. It never strays further or bigger than a fun movie.
    But what kept me from having a boring and regular time was the charm of the movie. Maybe it was the story, maybe the laughs or maybe the mood that it sets in general!
    If you want a fun easy time watch it! It could be a rainy night or you´ve had a rough day and you need to cheer up, pop this movie in!
    Full Review »