Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    Overall the film never finds its footing, with its awkward shifts in tone accentuating the unease. There’s something a little off, and it’s Carell. We want to like him in comedies. It’s a big part of what’s made him a star. The Incredible Burt Wonderstone never really gives us the chance.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 13, 2013
    67
    The Incredible Burt Wonderstone draws a lot of goodwill from the basic likability of its star performers.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    The hair is funny, in part, because not much else is. “Burt Wonderstone” is a lazy, underwritten imitation Will Ferrell movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 13, 2013
    75
    This is also one dark and wickedly funny comedy.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 14, 2013
    38
    The Incredible Burt Wonderstone serves as a reminder that everything in a film has a chance to go wrong before a film begins filming. In other words: It's the script, stupid.
  6. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Mar 11, 2013
    40
    The inconsistencies in tone - is it an Anchorman-style farce or something more serious? - distract from likeable turns from the leads.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 13, 2013
    67
    The movie itself is too cautious and unimaginative to bring off what a great magic trick — or comedy — should do: make us laugh out loud with surprise.
  8. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Mar 10, 2013
    58
    Like the back half of its namesake, Wonderstone isn’t terribly hip, edgy or new itself, just amusing enough to pass the time. While Scardino and friends do manage to end the film on an admirably nutty note, this gathering of comedic minds ultimately fails to produce any true movie magic.
  9. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    Part manic comedy, part would-be heart-warmer of the "follow your bliss" variety, its odd combination of tones and situations leads to as many awkward, uncertain moments as funny ones.
  10. 63
    Few jokes take us by surprise, but enough comic haymakers land to make “Burt Wonderstone” credible, in not exactly “incredible.”
  11. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 14, 2013
    40
    Like a creaky Vegas act desperate to please, The Incredible Burt Wonderstone is so eager you can’t help wanting to like it. But you also can’t help wondering if something better is playing in the theater next-door.
  12. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 14, 2013
    38
    Steve Carell is fatally miscast as an arrogant, flamboyant third-rate magician in The Incredible Burt Wonderstone, which by all rights should have been a second-rate Will Ferrell vehicle.
  13. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 14, 2013
    45
    There are some funny bits and characters around the edges of The Incredible Burt Wonderstone, but its core is empty of humor. In fact, this purported satire of Las Vegas magicians is a three-void circus: the script, the central character and the main performance.
  14. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    Jim Carrey kills it every time he shows up in his supporting role as street magician Steve Gray.
  15. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    The material isn't sufficiently funny to allow me to forgive the film's feeble storyline and two-dimensional inhabitants.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 14, 2013
    38
    Magicians have been pulling rabbits out of hats for ages. And yet, with all this talent, no one can make a decent script materialize.
  17. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    This is a really lively, fun and high-spirited comedy. If you leave after half an hour.
  18. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 14, 2013
    75
    The movie is pleasant. It's reasonably funny. But the one who gets the real laughs here, the hard laughs, is Carrey, who plays the kind of role he should be playing - a complete lunatic.
  19. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Mar 13, 2013
    38
    The film is overtly suspicious and critical of the new and only serviceably romantic about the old.
  20. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Mar 14, 2013
    40
    The best thing in Burt Wonderstone, besides that final gag, is the second-sickest: Jim Carrey's performance as a David Blaine-esque street magician named Steve Gray.
  21. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Mar 14, 2013
    63
    It’s too cheesy and predictable to be a real miracle, but by Vegas standards, it’s a winner.
  22. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 13, 2013
    67
    The third act of Scardino's movie is very funny, and its finale featuring the exposure of an impossibly successful illusion is flat-out brilliant. It's just too bad that the movie's opening act is so sleight of humor, damaging the movie's potential. Now you see it. Then you don't.
  23. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Mar 13, 2013
    58
    The Incredible Burt Wonderstone has its cornball charm, thanks largely to the confident work of old pros Carell, Arkin, and Buscemi, but it’s ultimately a big, gaudy, predictable show, strictly for the rubes and tourists.
  24. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    For my first trick, allow me to write off an entire picture by merely affixing to the title a one-word contraction: The Incredible Burt Wonderstone isn’t. Please hold your applause.
  25. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 15, 2013
    60
    As ever with comedies like this, all the really funny stuff is in the opening 20 minutes. But it's entertaining stuff, with a scene-stealer from Alan Arkin.
  26. 50
    Enjoyable but as familiar as the old-school routines its magician heroes dish out.
  27. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Mar 14, 2013
    50
    Because Mr. Carell doesn’t go in for the kind of all-out caricature that Mr. Ferrell embraces with a manic glee, The Incredible Burt Wonderstone has an underlying soulfulness that cuts against its farcical aspirations. This is not to say that Mr. Carell isn’t just fine, only that his performance, as impressive as it is, lacks a shark’s bite.
  28. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 10, 2013
    0
    It's a comedy so out of touch that jokes disappear before they're even delivered, as if by magic.
  29. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Mar 12, 2013
    20
    No matter; this aggressively humorless farce would play like a dead rabbit pulled out of a hat, regardless of the casting choices.
  30. Reviewed by: Matthew Leyland
    Mar 11, 2013
    60
    Carell and Carrey shine like sequinned suits in a comedy that allows them endless fun with the dressing-up box. More narrative verve and it could’ve been The Prestige in a big-cat wig.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 48
  2. Negative: 6 out of 48
  1. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Definitely better than expected; I feel that the critics were a bit harsh on this one. There were quite a few laughs throughout the movie, the story was decent, and the characters were well cast. The movie isn't perfect by any means, but compared to most comedies that typically hit the big screen The Incredible Burt Wonderstone was entertaining and a success. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    I came into this movie with low expectations. I figured.. with comedies nowadays, this will be boring and quite cheesy. Fortunately, I was mistaken. I really enjoyed this movie. Steve Carrell (as always) made me laugh, Jim Carrey was just utterly insane, and I just found it much funnier than I had hoped. So, cheers to you guys, you have made a successful comedy in 2013. That's a rare thing. Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    I wasn´t really excited about this one, in fact I just finished seeing it online haha. And it was a good, light and fun time! I laughed a good amount especially in Jim Carrey´s scenes (the Red Hot Coals Trick made me laugh out loud at my computer screen) which are so funnily acted by this man. The two Steves (Carell and Buscemi) had their moments too ("Is this badge ready?") but they were quite few and not so funny as The Brain Rapist´s (Carrey). Olivia Wilde as always is as always amaaazingly hot and she acts pretty well too.
    Aside from this it has its pacing and execution flaws and it isn´t an achieved marvel. It never strays further or bigger than a fun movie.
    But what kept me from having a boring and regular time was the charm of the movie. Maybe it was the story, maybe the laughs or maybe the mood that it sets in general!
    If you want a fun easy time watch it! It could be a rainy night or you´ve had a rough day and you need to cheer up, pop this movie in!
    Full Review »