Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 13, 2008
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 807 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
593
Mixed:
168
Negative:
46
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ThegodfathersonNov 3, 2013
The Incredible Hulk is better, bolder and more explosive than Ang Lee's 2003 film. Edward Norton is Bruce Banner a scientist whose experiment fails and he becomes a violent green mutant. This film's special effects are amazing and NortonThe Incredible Hulk is better, bolder and more explosive than Ang Lee's 2003 film. Edward Norton is Bruce Banner a scientist whose experiment fails and he becomes a violent green mutant. This film's special effects are amazing and Norton delivers better acting than Eric Bana in the 2003 movie. The Incredible Hulk has strong emotion, awesome action and breathtaking visual effects. The cameos by Stan Lee and Robert Downey Jr are funny and effective. This film is also a step up for The Avengers. The story is excellent and Liv Tyler rocks. This is one of the best, smashingly great films of the year. Thanks to director- Louis Letterer, the Hulk has more comic based fun and less boring action as Ang Lee's Hulk. Awesome, Epic and Humongous fun- The Incredible Hulk is breathtaking. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
DavidC.Jun 14, 2008
I went into the theater still skeptical (primarily due to the 2003 version). They needed to do something magic to make up for that and on top of that I didn't expect near the same quality of movie as Iron Man. Walking out of the theater I went into the theater still skeptical (primarily due to the 2003 version). They needed to do something magic to make up for that and on top of that I didn't expect near the same quality of movie as Iron Man. Walking out of the theater I had an overwhelming sensation that The Incredible Hulk is better then Iron Man. After a nights reflection I stand by that, put simply Hulk > Iron Man [however in not all respects]. While RDJ near perfect role as Tony Stark is marginally better then Edward Norton's Bruce Banner, the Hulk is a far more impressive superhero then Iron Man. The fights in both their scale and frequency blow Iron Man out of the water. For fans of Marvel comics (like myself) the cross-overs just add to the experience. We get two Tony Stark references, subtle references to Captain America, a reference to The Avengers, and a possible set up for the Hulk and Wolverine's encounter at the end. Needless to say Marvel has hit two home runs this summer with movies, if you enjoyed Iron Man, you owe it to yourself to watch this movie, even if only for the 2 min ending featuring Tony Stark. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MauricioL.Jun 28, 2008
The script is really short but the effects were a lot better, the hulk is a lot smaller which i really liked and the setting changed, Brazil was a nice touch, i really enjoyed it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
asylumspadezNov 22, 2011
I didnt like it as much as the film before it but it was ok. The near 2 hour run time doesnt do it justice either and it can be a little bit boring in some parts. Edward Norton is a great cast for the lead and gives a good performance. II didnt like it as much as the film before it but it was ok. The near 2 hour run time doesnt do it justice either and it can be a little bit boring in some parts. Edward Norton is a great cast for the lead and gives a good performance. I think they relied far too much on effects instead of the story behind it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Critic2012May 5, 2012
THE INCREDIBLE HULK helps us believe that the man who is the monster really does fear himself, that he fears not being able to control it. It's a Marvel film: it's fun, humorous, and packed with action. Sit back and watch the Hulk...SMASH!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 7, 2012
Wow, I forgett the last horrible hulk film, this is a great example of good superhero film, because Hulk have a great story, and this film is fantastic, the cast is awesome, a great title.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
cryhardhumorFeb 1, 2015
Colorful, exciting, well acted and visually impressive, The Incredible Hulk is one of my personal favorite Marvel Phase 1 movies. Edward Norton truly shines as does Tim Roth
9/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
The Incredible Hulk isn't very Incredible.
Edward Norton gives a good performance but the concept of Hulk itself just seems tired. There is no new outlook on the hero just simply a repeatedly mediocre take on a very one dimensional
The Incredible Hulk isn't very Incredible.
Edward Norton gives a good performance but the concept of Hulk itself just seems tired. There is no new outlook on the hero just simply a repeatedly mediocre take on a very one dimensional character. The screenwriters should have tried to be more inventive.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PeterParkerJan 23, 2015
L'incredibile Hulk non sarà un film ai livelli di The Avengers o Captain America: The Winter Soldier,ma è comunque un capolavoro fenomenale e soprattutto godibile.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Kes4278Jul 30, 2017
Movie was great in my opinion. The hulk looked really good and the acting was just amazing to be honest. Too bad there won't be another one anytime soon.8/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
"Incredible Hulk" is better than I expected thanks to a powerful performance by Edward Norton, amazing (green) CGI, and a great head start of Marvel studio's "Avengers".
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
Better than the previous garbage movie Hulk, it really stay true to the character and makes for one of Marvel's best super hero movies yet, a must see for fans of the comics.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
777FaronJun 21, 2012
This movie is very badly directed, and i just didn't care about any of the characters. Edward Norton was the only spot of light. I don't get it... Ang Lee's Hulk was miles better as a movie, and actually had an emotional story and charactersThis movie is very badly directed, and i just didn't care about any of the characters. Edward Norton was the only spot of light. I don't get it... Ang Lee's Hulk was miles better as a movie, and actually had an emotional story and characters i could at least somewhat relate to. Is it that people's tastes have really degenerated so much that the majority prefer this ridiculously mediocre movie to the Ang Lee's version? Or are the majority of reviewers just kids who prefer it just because... well, it's newer... and Hulk says: "Hulk smash!" Either way, it's embarrassing. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Mick510Oct 22, 2016
I hate this movie. By the end of the movie I wanted to kill myself. The story is awful. The dialogue sucks. And don't even get me about the characters. Edward Norton sucked. No personality at all. How come this movie has such a good score II hate this movie. By the end of the movie I wanted to kill myself. The story is awful. The dialogue sucks. And don't even get me about the characters. Edward Norton sucked. No personality at all. How come this movie has such a good score I don't know. It's the worst movie I've ever seen. The choreography is awful. I don't care if this is a spoiler because you shouldn't ever watch this piling piece of crap. The only good part of the movie is the after credits scene because it introduces you to Hulk joining the Avengers. Don't watch this film. Please don't watch it. You'll want to kill yourself by the end of it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
HenryW.Sep 20, 2008
I don't think I've ever seen such a boring movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
NigelN.Jun 16, 2008
This movie did not disappoint. No more abstract fights and a lot more direct action. Enough inter-play between characters for the audience to feel for Bruce Banner and Betty Ross. But ultimately - it's a "Hulking Smash"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ValmeekyR.Jun 26, 2008
The low rating is based on comparing this movie to Hulk 2003 which was truly about the Hulk, a character born of an accident with gamma radiation which unleashes suppressed mental trauma (quite violently). Leterrier's Hulk is a tribute The low rating is based on comparing this movie to Hulk 2003 which was truly about the Hulk, a character born of an accident with gamma radiation which unleashes suppressed mental trauma (quite violently). Leterrier's Hulk is a tribute to the 1977 series (i.e. Banner purposely exposes himself to gamma radiation to improve his physiology). Ang Lee's Hulk was a gigantic, disproportionate and child-like monster. Leterrier's Hulk looked a muscular man and moved like a character in Streetfighter. I'm sure the video game moves (and the weak-ass thunderclap) fascinated some people but I wanted to see the more of the Hulk's psyche exposed including a better symbiosis with Banner and waaaay more destruction when fighting a powerhouse like the Abomination. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LawrieS.Jun 28, 2008
I find it difficult to say how bad this film truly is. There is a really bad plot (hulk gets chased by American military, done), there is virtually no script as anyone hardly ever says anything, it's really dark, the hulk is a pussy, I find it difficult to say how bad this film truly is. There is a really bad plot (hulk gets chased by American military, done), there is virtually no script as anyone hardly ever says anything, it's really dark, the hulk is a pussy, please let me stop. OK Tim Roth is an uber soldier that turns into a bigger and more evil creature than the hulk, please get real! Save yourself the time and DO NOT WATCH IT!! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
PhilB.Sep 18, 2008
Terrible, can't believe it received such positive reviews. The action was stilted, the script was appalling and the lead actress looked like she'd been to the plastic surgeon a few too many times, the nose and the upper lip. Worst Terrible, can't believe it received such positive reviews. The action was stilted, the script was appalling and the lead actress looked like she'd been to the plastic surgeon a few too many times, the nose and the upper lip. Worst movie I've seen in a long time, I love eddy norton, but this was atrocious. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
supersigyMay 22, 2012
There are no performances because no one really has lines or any character moments. The plot essentially comprises of going from A to B to C with a chase scene leading to a fight at each location. There is no continuity or suspense. How manyThere are no performances because no one really has lines or any character moments. The plot essentially comprises of going from A to B to C with a chase scene leading to a fight at each location. There is no continuity or suspense. How many times do you shoot Hulk with assault rifles until you realize the bullets bounce off? Oh maybe if I do a cartwheel over him and shot him with my 9mm that will do the trick. Worst of all this movie is filled with head scratching stupid decisions and plot devices that ruin what little moment it has. Even worse than Captain America. At least that had 20 okay minutes. When can we start making real movies again? Seriously. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Dec 1, 2010
I love this movie! In fact, I actually like it more than Iron Man. Made me completely forget that awful movie Ang Lee did back in 2003. Can't wait for the Avengers!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
spadenxJan 16, 2012
I liked it about as much as I did the first Hulk film. Edward Norton was a great addition. However I ,for one, am tired of seeing Hulk movies because they are all the same and really offer no growth for the characters featured in the film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Mar 3, 2013
The Incredible Hulk, not to be confused with the movie Hulk, is the first of the individual movies that introduces us to The Avengers, and that's the only reason why I decided to see it, as I never really cared much for the character. I meanThe Incredible Hulk, not to be confused with the movie Hulk, is the first of the individual movies that introduces us to The Avengers, and that's the only reason why I decided to see it, as I never really cared much for the character. I mean think about it, this scientist whose trying to create a super soldier tries the solution on himself, and now when he gets angry he turns into a WWE Superstar! As for the film, it's not much better. I love Edward Norton, he's a big name and a star in his own right, but he's just about the last person I would choose to be the Hulk. His whole personality wasn't right for the part. I like his co-star, Liv Tyler too, and it wasn't that she was bad in this film, it's that her role was a joke and she had absolutely no chemistry with Norton. Tim Roth was the bright spot in the movie, as he's one of those guys who can adapt to any role and I think I'd have preferred to see him as the Hulk. As for the story, parts of it were decent, but they skipped the whole part of the story that I wanted to see! The film starts five years later, in Brazil, I wanted to see how the story started and what prompted banner into doing this. I hate superheroes and I hate their movies, but the Avengers stories have been different. With the exception of Thor, they have for the most part been somewhat realistic and believable. The story here is lame and the movie is based on special effects which did nothing to help the film. The last half hour of the movie, I felt as though I was watching Peter Griffin fight the Big Chicken and I honestly hated every minute of it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
CPD98Oct 13, 2014
Igual de sosa y aburrida que la de 2003. Hulk sin duda es el personaje de Marvel menos interesante de todos, la trama es super previsible y hay muy poca acción. Un desastre.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKE: A satisfying entry to the MCU 2 months after the fun 'Iron Man,' Edward Norton does well in a fairly conventional comic-book movie before Marvel realised they could get away with shaking up the rule book. In 'The IncredibleWHAT I LIKE: A satisfying entry to the MCU 2 months after the fun 'Iron Man,' Edward Norton does well in a fairly conventional comic-book movie before Marvel realised they could get away with shaking up the rule book. In 'The Incredible Hulk,' a good job is done over 2003's 'Hulk' film, and Marvel succeds in portraying Banner's despair well, and creating some action-filled CGI eye-candy for us too. 
WHAT I DON'T LIKE: It could have been really exciting or dark, but came out somewhere odd imbetween, the tone feeling pushed and pulled constantly and the overall film experience feeling dragged out. Also, the plot is failry formulaic, plus he dark visuals and emotional music get tiring at times.
VERDICT: Better than Hulk films of old, Marvel freshens the franchise, but it's still not their best work. The Incredible Hulk is a good film, but struggles to be the entertaining or dark film it could have been.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JacobB.Jun 10, 2008
I thought it was really good (I saw it at a pre-release screening). It's very clean and well-done, but some of the acting is a little flat (hence the 9 out of 10). If you liked Iron Man, you'll like The Incredible Hulk.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
Every bit as good as Iron Man. Considering how bad the first movie was, I went in with zero expectations. I didn't have to worry though, it was fantastic. Edward Norton does for the Hulk what Robert Downey Jr. did for Iron Man, he is Every bit as good as Iron Man. Considering how bad the first movie was, I went in with zero expectations. I didn't have to worry though, it was fantastic. Edward Norton does for the Hulk what Robert Downey Jr. did for Iron Man, he is just spectacular. The supporting cast, led by Liv Tyler and Tim Roth, make the movie a classic. Don't be scared away by the first movie, this is one of the best superhero movies ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Jun 10, 2008
May not be incredible but still pretty darn good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattGJun 13, 2008
An incredibly well done movie- I'm excited for the whole slew of marvel movies to come!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RMJun 13, 2008
Hulk Smash!!!! What a rush, enjoyed it tremendously. Planning on seeing it a couple more times this weekend. Great job Marvel Studios, that's 2 for 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
P.J.BBossJun 16, 2008
Unbelievably good. The graphics were crazy, the action was crazy. everything about this movie was just HOTT. This is how the Hulk is suppose to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndreT.Jun 17, 2008
This is the real first movie of Hulk for me. I dislike the first one so much...You really got to feel for Banner and his struggle. And by any means, Banner is a fugitive and will always be to some extend. The effects were ok, but it's This is the real first movie of Hulk for me. I dislike the first one so much...You really got to feel for Banner and his struggle. And by any means, Banner is a fugitive and will always be to some extend. The effects were ok, but it's hard to somewhat beleive in that Hulk CGI. You have to take a leap of faith there...As for the actors, they were the right choices this time around. Good action movie and very decent story. If they can fix the HUlk and make him appear less spongy... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
tonydannieJun 27, 2008
I enjoyed this film. but unlike so many I actually did enjoy Ang Lee's version a whole lot better. Norton Does a good Bruce Banner. He is a great actor. But I think Banna made that Character more complex. The action was great but a bit I enjoyed this film. but unlike so many I actually did enjoy Ang Lee's version a whole lot better. Norton Does a good Bruce Banner. He is a great actor. But I think Banna made that Character more complex. The action was great but a bit over the top in this film. while the HULK does look a lot more realistic then in the Lee version. I felt it still looked CG. Hey hwat do you expect right. we can't have Farrigno playing him at his age. I guess what i am trying to say is that there were more memorable action scenes in the Lee version in this one. Here we got a big final showdown at the finalle that recalls that of Iron Man. That is just my two cents. I did not hate it. just liked Lee's Version better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VladimirPJul 2, 2008
This movie has exceeded my expectations coming in as a person who loves marvel, but wasnt such a big fan of the hulk. This movie has incredible visuals; making the hulk really look realistic. Choosing Edward Norton to take on this roll was This movie has exceeded my expectations coming in as a person who loves marvel, but wasnt such a big fan of the hulk. This movie has incredible visuals; making the hulk really look realistic. Choosing Edward Norton to take on this roll was perfect, Liv Tyler as his love interest and their chemistry is unreal. The storyline cannot be truer than any other marvel comic and ending the story with the opening of a branch of hulk-related movies. Although Iron Man was a step above in wits and cleverness, this movie is a keeper itself. Watch this movie. Seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidLOct 6, 2008
Loved Ang Lee's 2003 version of the Hulk .. dark, disturbing and intensely story driven.. something that most people just didn't get after Spider-Man set the bar for comic book hero movies. This movie is every bit as good as Ang Loved Ang Lee's 2003 version of the Hulk .. dark, disturbing and intensely story driven.. something that most people just didn't get after Spider-Man set the bar for comic book hero movies. This movie is every bit as good as Ang Lee's but more fun and less serious tones. I'm still trying to decide which musical score I like better. This one or Danny Elfman's from the first film.. both are brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HelenB.Jun 12, 2008
A far better movie than its predecessor. This movie injects a more realistic feel to it, with Norton playing Banner/Hulk, with stronger emotion, than Eric Bana's character in 2003. All of the cast were impressive and CGI was amazing as A far better movie than its predecessor. This movie injects a more realistic feel to it, with Norton playing Banner/Hulk, with stronger emotion, than Eric Bana's character in 2003. All of the cast were impressive and CGI was amazing as usual. Overall, I believe that this movie has saved the Hulk franchise and in turn, brought about the continuous excitement of the Avenger Initiative! :) Can't wait for Stark and Banner to MEET! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinRJun 12, 2008
Although Edward Norton does a good job, every other performance just falls flat on its face.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
equality7-2521Jun 13, 2008
Here's the GOOD: I liked the first 15 minutes (the opening credits and the Brazilian sequence). I liked Tim Roth's performance. I am a huge fan of Craig Armstrong, who did the score, and this one was not bad. I'm a huge fan of Here's the GOOD: I liked the first 15 minutes (the opening credits and the Brazilian sequence). I liked Tim Roth's performance. I am a huge fan of Craig Armstrong, who did the score, and this one was not bad. I'm a huge fan of Danny the Dog, one of Louis Leterrier's movies (starred Jet Li). And of course I loved Robert Downey Jr's appearance as Tony Stark. And if you paid attention, the reference to Nick Fury in the opening credits was exciting. Here's the BAD: The movie was an embarrassment. How could I be suckered into this. All of my instincts told me that they were going to DUMB it down (to the same level as the Fantastic Four movies). And that's what they did. This movie is strictly for 5 year old kids. The action was so BORING. God, really I didn't care about anyone in this flick. Okay, so I wasted my money and 2 hours of my life. THAT is not such a big deal. But here's what DISTURBS me: We know Marvel has plans for an AVENGERS movie. AND they have plans for the CAPTAIN AMERICA movie. These are really important, and dare I say sacred properties... Are their plans to continue making lame kiddie flicks? or treat them with the respect they deserve? I love Captain America and I will have nightmares if the eff it up. I hope Jon Favreau directs both Captain America and the Avengers. He's proven himself with Iron Man. It would be a dream if Bryan Singer came back to do these but he's busy with the Superman movies. Well, at least we have this to look forward to: The greatest movie of all time is being released next month. Yes, that's Christopher Nolan's THE DARK KNIGHT. See you there. BTW, I loved Ang Lee's Hulk released 5 years ago. It would have been brilliant had he been hired for the sequel. I will have to pretend I didn't watch Hulk 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Jun 13, 2008
Great Movie! Action was non-stop from start to finish and the movie never dragged. Norton was great and Roth was awesome. Solid performances from Hurt and Tyler and a nice part foreshadowing the future from Tim Blake Nelson. The CGI was very Great Movie! Action was non-stop from start to finish and the movie never dragged. Norton was great and Roth was awesome. Solid performances from Hurt and Tyler and a nice part foreshadowing the future from Tim Blake Nelson. The CGI was very realistic and the madder the Hulk gets.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonySnyderJun 13, 2008
This exceeded my expectations, a fun movie, you should definitely check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BlackpantherJun 14, 2008
This movie was just OK. 10 times better than the Happening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonJun 15, 2008
This movie is pretty good. The special effects are top notch and the fight scenes are amazing. The only bad thing about the movie is that the story feels like a b movie story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeslieD.Jun 16, 2008
Edward Norton is very effective as Bruce Banner. Overall the casting is very good and the beginning of the film is solid. The Betty and Bruce relationship is heart wrenching and deep. The film starts floundering at the end, the last 15 Edward Norton is very effective as Bruce Banner. Overall the casting is very good and the beginning of the film is solid. The Betty and Bruce relationship is heart wrenching and deep. The film starts floundering at the end, the last 15 minutes are a build up to big action and it sort of falls flat but overall the film is very watchable and the actors performances really draw you in! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkF.Jun 16, 2008
Awesome movie. Action packed this is the way the Incredible Hulk is meant to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
"UnclePappy"WolfJun 16, 2008
A wonderful way to reintroduce a character everyone tried to write off as not film worthy. The film does justice to the pathos of Bruce Banners struggle with his inner green demon. If Marvel were wise they should wait awhile and release the A wonderful way to reintroduce a character everyone tried to write off as not film worthy. The film does justice to the pathos of Bruce Banners struggle with his inner green demon. If Marvel were wise they should wait awhile and release the Edward Norton edited version of the film to garner the much needed re-watch value. They could call it The Edward Norton Ultimate Incredible Hulk Cut. At least put it on the DVD. Either way without it this movie is a must see. !!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FantasyJun 17, 2008
It was okay with a few twists and cameos by some well known people. Ironman was the much superior movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyanP.Jun 19, 2008
It's decent, but the screenwriting and script could've been better. The end fight looked great though. Iron Man was much better overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RonaldoD.Jun 19, 2008
The Incredible Hulk is a huge improvement from the previous 'The Hulk' (2003) film. With stunning visual effects, a respectable casting and moderately engaging storyline, The Incredible Hulk proves to be highly entertaining and The Incredible Hulk is a huge improvement from the previous 'The Hulk' (2003) film. With stunning visual effects, a respectable casting and moderately engaging storyline, The Incredible Hulk proves to be highly entertaining and well worth the watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattK.Jun 21, 2008
"The Incredible Hulk" is a step in the right direction for the franchise, but that doesn't mean it's all that good. Maybe it is, and maybe the shock of how great "Iron Man" was and anticipation of how awesome "The Dark Knight" will "The Incredible Hulk" is a step in the right direction for the franchise, but that doesn't mean it's all that good. Maybe it is, and maybe the shock of how great "Iron Man" was and anticipation of how awesome "The Dark Knight" will be built a 2008 comic book standard that "The Incredible Hulk" could never live up to. Something about how the film was paced bothered me. It barely had a sense of humor, which was a great letdown. Edward Norton, one of my favorite actors, didn't get the job done. It isn't like this is a character with no personality---Bruce Banner is a very intriguing character who could have substantial depth to him when put on film, but I didn't feel that Norton pulled it off. The two things that make this film truly worth watching are Tim Roth and the action scenes. The first Hulk scene was awesome, as was the second, and the third...all the way until the end. All in all, standard procedure comic book movie with great action lifts it just above average. "Iron Man" beats it in every category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickM.Jun 25, 2008
This was the perfect Hulk movie. They ALMOST got it right in the TV series (but the lack of a Betty Ross was the downfall). They got it totally wrong in Ang Lee's movie. This movie was perfect though. What people don't seem to This was the perfect Hulk movie. They ALMOST got it right in the TV series (but the lack of a Betty Ross was the downfall). They got it totally wrong in Ang Lee's movie. This movie was perfect though. What people don't seem to understand is the Hulk is a tragedy. It's not supposed to be witty or funny. Many of the critics panned it for that. Iron Man is a fun superhero. Hulk is a tragic superhero. This was told stupendously by the Marvel filmmakers. The only problem I had with the movie was the casting of Liv Tyler as Betty Ross. Sure, she's pretty and could probably do the job with someone other than Ed Norton. But the two didn't have the chemistry needed to truly pull off the level of intense love these two characters feel for each other (a love strong enough to tame the Hulk). Oh, and to the reviewer who said it was too slow... which Hulk movie were you watching?? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MsediW.Jul 1, 2008
I loved this movie. I watched Ang Lee's version again a few day before I saw this one and the older one sucked. Hulk himself looked goofy and cartoony because of how bright green he was. But in this new one, Hulk looked awesome. He knew I loved this movie. I watched Ang Lee's version again a few day before I saw this one and the older one sucked. Hulk himself looked goofy and cartoony because of how bright green he was. But in this new one, Hulk looked awesome. He knew what he was doing, he showed his true anger and he didn't jump like 3,000 meters into the air. The scene where he takes the gunship down was beautiful. The only reason I give this a nine is because at many scenes especially the beginning, your just itching to see Bruce transform into the monster and start destroying things. Amazing movie. (The end. Cool.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayA.Jul 1, 2008
An action packed movie, filled with lots of excitement and drama. Also an amazing storyline and a crazy ending with the tie-in of Tony Stark. I recommend this movie to anyone that has some spare time, to go see it. You won't regret it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hamburglarJul 10, 2008
Great movie. Loved the way hulk looks. Nice connection to the leader and i like the fact that hulk actually gets to fight an actual villain. Great Connection to Iron Man too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AyE.Jul 3, 2008
Many comments seem to be pitching this film against Iron Man, which is kind of unfair as they both have very different tones. Having said that TIK stands as a good solid companion film alongside IM, although it is the weaker of the two. Many comments seem to be pitching this film against Iron Man, which is kind of unfair as they both have very different tones. Having said that TIK stands as a good solid companion film alongside IM, although it is the weaker of the two. Norton makes a great Banner, Liv Tyler does some of her best standing about looking weepy (I'm being a bit harsh there actually), Hurt is good as always and Roth makes an interesting if unlikely baddie. One thing I couldn't quite get over was Roth's walk. In the scene with him and Hurt walking through a military warehouse I could not stop looking at the short swagger of Roth versus the upright military stride of Hurt. Letterier's direction is perfect for this film and while it's pretty mindless stuff, it entertains without offence, which is sometimes all you need from a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SuitsYouJul 4, 2008
It's getting there. If some one could take the best bits of the first and second film then mash them together... perfect. I like ed norton as Banner, but the thing I think HULK makers need to be concerned about is not what we want It's getting there. If some one could take the best bits of the first and second film then mash them together... perfect. I like ed norton as Banner, but the thing I think HULK makers need to be concerned about is not what we want (effects driven action film) but something emotionally powerful where we really, really feel Banner's pain so that when it does cut to CGI, we carry that feeling through. At the moment there's still too much disconnection between actor and CGI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewK.Sep 24, 2008
Wow, Intense! I was gripping onto my arms during every fight scene!! I went into the movie not expecting much - especially after the 03 version. But wow, I was thoroughly entertained. Again, I loved the battle scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesB.Sep 5, 2008
Not as good as Iron Man or the Dark Knight, but man it was fun and had a lot of Hulk Smash in it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HyperSNov 30, 2008
No real complaints. The story wasn't full proof and the plot wasn't original in anyway. You don't have to have seen the movie, but you pretty much know where its going as it quickly falls into the cliche action movie. However, No real complaints. The story wasn't full proof and the plot wasn't original in anyway. You don't have to have seen the movie, but you pretty much know where its going as it quickly falls into the cliche action movie. However, the special effects are extraordinary (a step above the original hulk), the pace of the story felt fine, and the battle sequence was attention holding. Don't expect anything new or imaginative and you could probably enjoy the movie for what it is... there is no development of any love story... just some good ole' fashion HULK SMASH! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Oct 15, 2008
Impressive special effects, great score and it is certainly well made. Good cast, but Liv Tyler is wasted. It was good, but it just didn't "wow" me like it should have.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RomeoRomanceOct 24, 2008
Upgrade of Ang Lee's version. Edward Norton and Tim Roth raise the bar for sure.. with only one side character actor that attempts to sink the entire movie down with his "cartoon-ish" portrayal of someone who may or may not become "The Upgrade of Ang Lee's version. Edward Norton and Tim Roth raise the bar for sure.. with only one side character actor that attempts to sink the entire movie down with his "cartoon-ish" portrayal of someone who may or may not become "The Leader" in possible sequels... however besides that slight snare, and future CG improvements.. this movie defn' rocks the house. Especially more Marvel fans.. we may owe more than we think to the director for hounding the Marvel reps with good ideas of hero cross-overs and intertwined story's throughout the latest and soon to come super-hero movies, that have most (like myself) drooling at the possibilities. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatMJun 13, 2008
Calling an action flick such as this one "big, loud and dumb" has become a pathetic cliche, but it's just so very apt in this case. If you want a summer action flick with explosions, explosions and more explosions, this film is for you. Calling an action flick such as this one "big, loud and dumb" has become a pathetic cliche, but it's just so very apt in this case. If you want a summer action flick with explosions, explosions and more explosions, this film is for you. If you had hoped for a more engaging comic book adaptation more in keeping with Marvel's other (and far superior) summer offering, "Iron Man" you will be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ColinJun 13, 2008
I was one of the few that liked the Ang Lee Hulk but after watching The INCREDIBLE Hulk I realized everything that was wrong with the last one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulK.Jun 13, 2008
I enjoyed it, although I didn't hate Ang Lee's version. This one's probably better, but it's been so long since I've see Hulk, I can't say that with much confidence. Still, this is worth seeing. Don't I enjoyed it, although I didn't hate Ang Lee's version. This one's probably better, but it's been so long since I've see Hulk, I can't say that with much confidence. Still, this is worth seeing. Don't bother staying through the end credits, the final scene comes beforehand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreM.Jun 13, 2008
Awesome... one of the best of 08'
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewS.Jun 13, 2008
After the disappointment of the first Hulk movie this is a massive step in the right direction. The script is well written, the action scenes exciting and Ed Norton makes an excellent Banner. All in all a very entertaining film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeS.Jun 13, 2008
A fun action movie with a lot of awesome action and some unintentional laughs that just add to the fun, this movie is about the same quality as Iron Man with one part less wit but one part more action. Definitely worth seeing once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuizJun 14, 2008
The movie tries to get rid of the previous Ang Lee "Hulk", which, unfairly, was target of many criticism. Compared with the previous "Hulk", "incredible Hulk" is a a much faster movie, the action beginning in the first minutes. Hulk looks The movie tries to get rid of the previous Ang Lee "Hulk", which, unfairly, was target of many criticism. Compared with the previous "Hulk", "incredible Hulk" is a a much faster movie, the action beginning in the first minutes. Hulk looks more real too, the fighting scenes are very well done and you can understand what´s going on (what doesn't happen, in my opinion, in some movies like Transformers). As a comic book fan, i believe the movie is closer to the books, and opens the path to the great "The avengers" project from MARVEL. Based on the Iron Man, and this "new" Incredible Hulk, i can´t wait for marvel next movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanA.Jun 14, 2008
A little slow, but considering Marvel's track record, it may as well be a five star film. This isn't better than Iron Man (as if anything is), or the first two Spidey/X-Men films. But it definitely outdoes everything else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickyR.Jun 14, 2008
This movie is just like OMG WTF OWNAGE!!!! so much action. Way better than the previous attempt at a a hulk movie. only bad part is Bruce and Betty weren't really as nerdy they should be for being super smart scientists.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleN.Jun 14, 2008
I felt like Edward Norton did a great job as Banner, Hulk was visually appealing, it made for a fun movie. I really enjoyed it and will probably watch it at least once more in theaters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackS.Jun 15, 2008
Pretty good overall. I expected a little more effort from the supporting cast, but that's it from the complaint department. Every else about this movie rocked. Great story. Great special effects. Great action sequences. Great pacing. Pretty good overall. I expected a little more effort from the supporting cast, but that's it from the complaint department. Every else about this movie rocked. Great story. Great special effects. Great action sequences. Great pacing. And a great performance from Edward Norton. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NikolaiC.Jun 15, 2008
Definitely a better film than Ang Lee's attempt (he was working against the studio suits from what I read). More plot development and meaningful battle sequences. I hope all works out for the S.H.I.E.L.D. movie their planning on making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Jun 15, 2008
Only five years after fanboys pooh-poohed Ang Lee's "Hulk", the adjective is back, David Banner(hey, what happened to Dick York, I mean, Ed Bana) is back; still green, still angry, and still hasn't found what he's looking for. Only five years after fanboys pooh-poohed Ang Lee's "Hulk", the adjective is back, David Banner(hey, what happened to Dick York, I mean, Ed Bana) is back; still green, still angry, and still hasn't found what he's looking for. But can "The Incredible Hulk" right the Marvel ship and turn the American moviegoing public into Taiwanese deniers? Probably. It's a faster-moving "Hulk"; so fast, apparently, there's no time to land the plane, or give poor David a parachute. He jumps out of the aircraft during the final action set-piece, in which, he apparently breaks every bone in his body upon contact. David should be a parapelegic, or dead, but no, he's the Hulk. And then "The Incredible Hulk" delivers, what Lee didn't deliver; a knock-down-drag-em-out altercation between rock 'em sock 'em abominations of mankind...that lasts a long time. The "Bewitched" analogy doesn't work with Betty Ross(Liv Tyler substituting for Jennifer Connelly), because there was only one Samantha. When Banner(Edward Norton) and Betty decide to abstain from some heavy-duty canoodling in the motel room, "The Incredible Hulk" misses a golden opportunity to dramatize the reason they can't be together. Ang would throw no caution to lust; Ang would understand that Betty has to be thrown in harm's way to make the love story resonate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JustinHJun 16, 2008
Very solid movie and light years past the remake by Lee a few years ago. Not Iron Man (best movie of the summer so far) but not too far off. The story is VERY character driven so the Hulk, in my opinion, is around enough. But when he is he Very solid movie and light years past the remake by Lee a few years ago. Not Iron Man (best movie of the summer so far) but not too far off. The story is VERY character driven so the Hulk, in my opinion, is around enough. But when he is he looks fantastic and moves perfectly. If they do another they need to just follow two words: MORE HULK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TadG.Jun 16, 2008
it was everything that a Hulk movie should be
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertS.Jun 16, 2008
Really good and with a lot of heart into it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
dougp.Jun 16, 2008
It is a good action film. Compared to Marvel's previous hit, Iron Man, I must say I prefer this one for two reasons. One, the conflict of the hero in this movie was more believable - the solitude, constant running away, etc. Two, the It is a good action film. Compared to Marvel's previous hit, Iron Man, I must say I prefer this one for two reasons. One, the conflict of the hero in this movie was more believable - the solitude, constant running away, etc. Two, the fight with the abomination was better and lengthier than the fight in Iron Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SantoroPJun 17, 2008
Solid movie, but with many flaws. Dialogue between Betty and the Hulk is laughably bad. The final action scene between the Hulk and the Abomination was disappointing. The real problem with this movie is the considerable lack of character Solid movie, but with many flaws. Dialogue between Betty and the Hulk is laughably bad. The final action scene between the Hulk and the Abomination was disappointing. The real problem with this movie is the considerable lack of character development. I never got a feel for Bruce Banner's character. Liv Tyler as Betty Ross was a little bit to breathy. For now it's the number 2 superhero movie of the summer, well behind Iron Man. Hopefully by the end of the summer The Dark Knight will have surpassed it also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SammyP.Jun 17, 2008
The movie was very well done. The CGI a much improvement from the 1st movie. The casting was very well done and I felt very strong emotions and real pity for Bruce and Betty. I will be buying this DVD when it comes out. The cameo by Robert The movie was very well done. The CGI a much improvement from the 1st movie. The casting was very well done and I felt very strong emotions and real pity for Bruce and Betty. I will be buying this DVD when it comes out. The cameo by Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark at the end was awesome and "The Team" he talked about sounds very exciting. The Incredible Hulk is as good as the title suggest...Incredible! Highly recommended. Also went and saw "The Happening".......forget about that crappy movie go see The Incredible Hulk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesC.Jun 17, 2008
Better job in sticking to true nature and spirit of Hulk in different points of his evolution. Good use of humor. A movie I will purchase.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EKJun 18, 2008
I'm not familiar with the comic and haven't seen Lee's version of the Hulk, so maybe I'm not best qualified to offer an opinion. But I have fond memories of the cartoon and TV show. However, I did find the not so subtle I'm not familiar with the comic and haven't seen Lee's version of the Hulk, so maybe I'm not best qualified to offer an opinion. But I have fond memories of the cartoon and TV show. However, I did find the not so subtle nods to the TV show rather corny. The story just wasn't engaging enough. The romance between Banner and Betty was unconvincing. The performances were average. Norton seemed disengaged. Liv Tyler basically had the same vacant expression throughout. Hurt was okay, but his fake mustache was distracting. Roth was miscast. CGI effects and action were decent in places, but there was no real sense of danger and excitement. The end battle for instance, had the two beasts battling away in a crowded city, but the sense of panic from the crowd was poorly conveyed. And it appears, after free falling from a plane and crashing to the ground, that not only is the Hulk indestructable, but so too is Banner. Any sympathy for Banner's plight towards the end of the film is killed off and with it any interest in a sequel. One for fans of the comic only. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlesR.Jun 18, 2008
If you can get beyond the animated-looking Hulk, this movie is head and shoulders above the last Hulk movie. Ed Norton's awesome-as-always performance brought the whole movie a step up, and while not possessing Iron Man's wit and If you can get beyond the animated-looking Hulk, this movie is head and shoulders above the last Hulk movie. Ed Norton's awesome-as-always performance brought the whole movie a step up, and while not possessing Iron Man's wit and charm, it did have a certain heart all of its own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JWJun 19, 2008
HULK SMASH!!!!! I didnt know he refered to himself as the Hulk. One thing I have never understood about the Hulk character is his cognitive awareness. Banner has no control but Hulk knows Betty and shows some self control. The action was HULK SMASH!!!!! I didnt know he refered to himself as the Hulk. One thing I have never understood about the Hulk character is his cognitive awareness. Banner has no control but Hulk knows Betty and shows some self control. The action was great and its worth seeing this movie if only for the action. CGI was impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanP.Jun 20, 2008
First of all do NOT pay attention to the critics' reviews. This movie is a piece of art. From AMAZING animations, storyline (romance movies should take notes with this movie) and the TIE-INs with other marvel characters. EPIC movie First of all do NOT pay attention to the critics' reviews. This movie is a piece of art. From AMAZING animations, storyline (romance movies should take notes with this movie) and the TIE-INs with other marvel characters. EPIC movie worth seeing couple if times, will defiantly buy the dvd with ironman! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckN.Jun 20, 2008
This Hulk movie is WAY better then the first one, this is what the incredible hulk should look like The acting was great, the casting was perfect, the hulk didn't look fake, some humor and best of all the battle between The Hulk and the This Hulk movie is WAY better then the first one, this is what the incredible hulk should look like The acting was great, the casting was perfect, the hulk didn't look fake, some humor and best of all the battle between The Hulk and the Abomination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JLJun 21, 2008
The action scene at the end was awesome, but the rest of the movie was pretty slow. I don't mind slow movies if they have a good storyline with a solid script, but this movie lacked both.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EFTJun 21, 2008
I don't get it. I thought this movie was terrible, and I thought Ang Lee's Hulk was great. Why does everyone think just the opposite? Besides not being as well directed or written, the CGI is far weaker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JK.Jun 23, 2008
Great movie, great cast. This is waaayy better than that Ang Lee crap. Go see this at the theatre so we can get a sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ASJun 25, 2008
What can I say? Perfect 10. I can't wait for the BD edition with the whole extra of 70 minutes with Edward Norton's magic touch. My personal favorite in the movie was in the beginning where Hulk was first "seeing" inside the What can I say? Perfect 10. I can't wait for the BD edition with the whole extra of 70 minutes with Edward Norton's magic touch. My personal favorite in the movie was in the beginning where Hulk was first "seeing" inside the factory. Genius! More of that please! Thanks to everyone for this incredible film and on for part 2 please ;D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaiahA.Jun 25, 2008
This movie was awesome!!! Unbeatable action sequences, great special effects, solid acting and just being a thrill ride are the key things that really made this film one of the best films of the year. I'm gladly awaiting the sequel, but This movie was awesome!!! Unbeatable action sequences, great special effects, solid acting and just being a thrill ride are the key things that really made this film one of the best films of the year. I'm gladly awaiting the sequel, but if there isn't one, there's always "The Avengers"!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaG.Jun 27, 2008
This is the Hulk Movie we had been waiting for! Everything worked really well and is so unlike Ang Lee's one that is almost perfect. Edward Norton is Bruce Banner and he shares a great chemistry with Liv Tyler. I had watched it twice This is the Hulk Movie we had been waiting for! Everything worked really well and is so unlike Ang Lee's one that is almost perfect. Edward Norton is Bruce Banner and he shares a great chemistry with Liv Tyler. I had watched it twice and plan to watch it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChahinK.Jun 28, 2008
The Incredible Hulk shows a cocktail of great acting performances of Norton and Tyler, Roth, Hurt. The plot of the film gives the viewer a realistic view of how the Hulk tries to survive. The CGI is very realistic and effects are very well The Incredible Hulk shows a cocktail of great acting performances of Norton and Tyler, Roth, Hurt. The plot of the film gives the viewer a realistic view of how the Hulk tries to survive. The CGI is very realistic and effects are very well done. The movie has also good camera angles witch improves the viewing experience. There is also much action, but not too much. I pay allot of attention to the music, Music compositions performed by Craig Armstrong fits in the scenes and sound effects gives the perfect balance between film and music. I also liked in this movie how the Hulk was 'borned'. In a series of flashbacks that are fast and it spares allot of precious time that was wasted in the first Hulk-film. The casting of Ed Norton for Bruce Banner fits visually in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BenB.Jun 28, 2008
This film covers the Hulk backstory pretty well. He is the tragic antihero of the Marvelverse as we hoped. My problem with the film is that the CGI really disappoints, especially in scenes combined with live action. I don't suppose it This film covers the Hulk backstory pretty well. He is the tragic antihero of the Marvelverse as we hoped. My problem with the film is that the CGI really disappoints, especially in scenes combined with live action. I don't suppose it matters, but in a movie that somehow is driven by lots and lots of Hulk scenes, they could have done better. Liv Tyler is sort of flaccid as Betty Ross, but so is the character. Say what you will about her being the Beauty to Hulk's Beast, her character is still a stock type, who gets to mostly be the handwringing woman abandoned by the big green guy. What do we want for that role? Liz Taylor? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kurtc.Jul 13, 2008
Very good storyline with lots of action.I just wish Hulk will say "Hulk smash!" some more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillCJul 18, 2008
Great to see this back to the Stan Lee story line. I liked Eric Bana as Bruce Banner but the whole "Hulk" father / son thing was like HUH??! This movie did deliver good plot and story but with "Iron Man" it had a bar to beat that even the Great to see this back to the Stan Lee story line. I liked Eric Bana as Bruce Banner but the whole "Hulk" father / son thing was like HUH??! This movie did deliver good plot and story but with "Iron Man" it had a bar to beat that even the green machine could not leap over. If it had released prior to "Iron Man" it would of faired greater returns than it did. Still good a good flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JonBAug 3, 2008
The movie would have been much better had the previews not shown every important part of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FerdbutBMay 2, 2009
The Incredible Hulk is a fun decent movie that's a vast improvement over the 2003 version. The movie isn't incredible other than the special effects and often the movie did get boring but, the cast was okay and the action was The Incredible Hulk is a fun decent movie that's a vast improvement over the 2003 version. The movie isn't incredible other than the special effects and often the movie did get boring but, the cast was okay and the action was impressive so it wasn't bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DerekSMay 3, 2009
I felt the original was much better as far as story and acting are concerned. Norton seemed like he was bored the entire movie and very disconnected, just a terrible job as far as being a action movie star. Bana did a much better job as I felt the original was much better as far as story and acting are concerned. Norton seemed like he was bored the entire movie and very disconnected, just a terrible job as far as being a action movie star. Bana did a much better job as portraying a man that was wrestling with his inner demons, and this movie had no explanation as to why Norton was able to take that huge dose of gamma, like the 03 movie did. Watch the movie and then watch the Ang Lee version, yes the new movie is heavy on action unlike the first but the Lee version had much more substance and should be given some room to maneuver because it was setting up the origin of IMO, one of the greatest superheroes of all time. Skip this movie unless you like mindless action, if you want substance then watch the original, I wish they would have made a sequel instead of re-work the whole movie, especially since Bana actually looked like the comic book Bruce Banner, unlike Norton. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FunesMemoriousDec 26, 2008
The claymation SFX: genius!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeC.Jun 13, 2008
Highly recommended. It may not be as good as Batman Begins and Iron Man, but this is an excellent reboot of the Hulk franchise. Hopefully we'll see more of these movies made by Norton and Co.
0 of 0 users found this helpful