Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 925 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
849
Mixed:
49
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gm101Apr 7, 2011
Being a big fan of both action movies and Pixar movies, I knew this movie was right for me. And sure enough, I ended up really enjoying the movie. Felt just like watching some of the great superhero movies out there.
15 of 17 users found this helpful152
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Brillance cannot begin to describe this movie. Pixar has made its best movie since Toy Story. A wonderful story, with compelling charcters mixed with action scenes that are better than action films. Pixar has put out a true masterpiece withBrillance cannot begin to describe this movie. Pixar has made its best movie since Toy Story. A wonderful story, with compelling charcters mixed with action scenes that are better than action films. Pixar has put out a true masterpiece with The Incredibles. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
AeabottsDec 29, 2012
Let me say this is my favorite movie of all time. The storyline is one of the best i've ever seen, i mean come on, a family of superheros, who ever thought of that. It is so original and well written that it deserves a 10 across the board.Let me say this is my favorite movie of all time. The storyline is one of the best i've ever seen, i mean come on, a family of superheros, who ever thought of that. It is so original and well written that it deserves a 10 across the board. Each character is built magnificently and fully, i never feel like one of the characters is just a sideshow, each on has a specific role and they fill it perfectly. What makes this movie so great is how you can relate to it, even though its about superheros. Their family and characters can easily relate to yours or people you know. overall this is one of the best animated films of all time. And i read the negative reviews and i mean come on, you just wrote those reviews to hurt its overall rating, there was no other point Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
WeaselboystFeb 5, 2013
Didn't like this when it first came out and ignored it when it aired on cable TV. I gave this movie another try and I realized what I was missing. This is a great family film. It's action-packed and most importantly its got a wonderfulDidn't like this when it first came out and ignored it when it aired on cable TV. I gave this movie another try and I realized what I was missing. This is a great family film. It's action-packed and most importantly its got a wonderful message that Pixar never fails to deliver. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Pranay6Mar 15, 2014
Bird has created the unprecedented film that is not just a grand feature-length cartoon but a grand feature, period, a piece of animation that's involving across a spectrum of comedy, action, even drama.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
I thought it was great. Some parts in the film are a little slow but overall its a great film. I enjoyed it from start to finish. The one flaw is that it could have been a bit shorter but besides that its still good.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxMar 5, 2014
in my childhood, it was my favorite animated movie
after years, it still continuing very amazing
the pixar disney don't let down in their epic 3D animations
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
armandos.Apr 1, 2005
Brad Bird's previous film THE IRON GIANT was more focused and had a unity of vision, while this movie is more all over the map. However the first rate animation and the likeable characters certainly made this an enjoyable flick. All the Brad Bird's previous film THE IRON GIANT was more focused and had a unity of vision, while this movie is more all over the map. However the first rate animation and the likeable characters certainly made this an enjoyable flick. All the money spent on this production certanly shows on the screen, but untilmately how you relate to the protagoninsts makes all the difference-Brad Bird breathes life into his characters better than anyone else making animated movies at this time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DanBurritoOct 9, 2015
Here it is. The single greatest superhero movie of all time. And it's not made by Marvel, nor is it made by DC. It's made by Pixar. Like many Pixar movies it takes an old concept-a family of superheroes-and makes something completely new andHere it is. The single greatest superhero movie of all time. And it's not made by Marvel, nor is it made by DC. It's made by Pixar. Like many Pixar movies it takes an old concept-a family of superheroes-and makes something completely new and astonishing from it. The animation is breathtaking, the voice acting is great and it features talented direction of Brad Bird-our generation's Walt Disney-to make it even better. The jokes are witty and brilliant and the characters are interesting. WHY MUST WE WAIT A YEAR FOR THE SEQUEL?! UPDATE: we must now wait four years. No. No. Nooooooooooooooooo! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BlazinBlitzerJan 9, 2016
This was my favorite movie of all time when I was a kid. While not my favorite movie anymore, it still is one of my favorites as a teenager. Even then, through a critic's point of view, it's still a fantastic movie, and is arguably the bestThis was my favorite movie of all time when I was a kid. While not my favorite movie anymore, it still is one of my favorites as a teenager. Even then, through a critic's point of view, it's still a fantastic movie, and is arguably the best Pixar movie of all time.

Fantastic voice acting, lovable characters, unique idea with breathtaking execution. This movie is also really hilarious in a way that can have you connect with the characters. The movie is also quite unpredictable for a movie intended for kids; however, this isn't really a "kids" movie. I see many elements in the movie adults would love. The movie also makes a successful attempt at being an uncliche ending for a cliffhanger. This is really bold for a kid's movie, and even for Pixar. However, this movie will leave satisfied and filled with glee with the best "superhero" movie of all time (until The Dark Knight came around).
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MGRFeb 8, 2005
One of the negative comments I see concerns the message of the movie, or one of them, which regards being special and proud of it. After 40 years of the trend in this country being to downplay people's special talents so as not to One of the negative comments I see concerns the message of the movie, or one of them, which regards being special and proud of it. After 40 years of the trend in this country being to downplay people's special talents so as not to offend those who apparently don't have any, it's refreshing to see something publicly promote the idea that it's ok to work your butt off, develop your talents, and use them. We were shown by the movie that anyone can have super powers; if they aren't born with them, they can technologically enhance their own set of abilities, but what is important is how they use them. Syndrome, so aptly named, could have been a great asset to the superheros, but his motivation was not to love what he was doing and do it as well as he could, but to dominate. Fueled by wounded pride and jealousy, he created his fate. These are good messages. These are also messages for entire nations which may commit technological hubris. (cough, cough... no names need be mentioned) The movie runs as deep as it is entertaining, and is truly a movie for our time. Those who found it lagging in spots neglect to consider the power of suspense. Also, I don't think the movie would have held together as well without the background of the first half. Everything played into the causes/effects of the chase scenes and the climax. This is moviemaking at its finest. Absolutely one of the best of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SPYBREAKApr 7, 2005
A beautiful film packed with loads of action, great adventure and awesome powers. Well worth purchasing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnFrostNov 4, 2004
Pixar's best most incredible fun film yet. A great popcorn film with all the action and humorous moments you could want. The cool James Bond style and comic book superhero family struggles make for the most entertaining film of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AMovieCriticDec 4, 2004
The Incredibles was a fun movie. The animation was amazing, and it shows that Pixar's animation is STILL better than Dreamworks, (after the amazing-looking Shrek 2, I started to wonder.) Aside from the animation, the action sequences The Incredibles was a fun movie. The animation was amazing, and it shows that Pixar's animation is STILL better than Dreamworks, (after the amazing-looking Shrek 2, I started to wonder.) Aside from the animation, the action sequences are top notch. Some of them towards the end of the movie just had to be seen to be believed. So why a 7 instead of a 10? Pacing. The movie gets off to a relatively slow start. Much of the first 45 minutes could have been cut, frankly. A lot of it seemed to drag. At 1 hour and 55 minutes, the movie was way too long, and cutting some of these early scenes would have been nice. The movie is also not as funny as I had thought; from the commercials and trailers, I got the impression that it was an action movie more than a comedy, (if you're expecting a comedy, you're better off seeing Spongebob,) ....still, a couple more jokes would have been appreciated. Similarly, there were sometimes really large gaps between the action. More action would also have been nice. (instead of saving most of it for the last half of the movie.) Overall, The Incredibles was worth seeing. It was action-packed, it had cool characters and settings, (Mr. Incredible's journey to the island for the 2nd time was amazingly well done and imaginative,) and the movie had some cool messages in it. Still, better pacing, more jokes, and maybe better spread-out action would have made this movie perfect. As it stands, though, this movie is worth seeing. It's the first movie from Pixar after Toy Story that I actually liked. -Note; This movie is rightfully rated PG. (A first for Pixar) some of the action scenes are fairly intense, and it may be too much for younger kids. Everyone else will enjoy it, though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
burtonmJan 12, 2005
Incredible in every respect: story, dialog, characters, effects, integration. Even appeals to all ages. A perfect movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
A.A.Jan 30, 2005
I loved it, very funny with beautiful CG.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonathanS.Jan 30, 2005
There are a couple scenes that don't entertain, but they're the exceptions. This movie is great fun.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GlennKJan 4, 2005
Great fun for the whole famiky. Amazing visual effects, Pixar sets a new standard.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottM.Jan 5, 2005
Totally wicked!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
matthewh.Feb 10, 2005
It was the best movie i ever saw. every 10 mins something cool happens. i even had a dream about it. keep an eye on jack-jack now will you.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Feb 23, 2005
In this nonfanboy's humble opinion, there have been far too many superheroes leaping, bounding and flying across our movie screens lately, and yet I think that even Sam, Tobey and Kirsten would agree, with no shame attached whatsoever, In this nonfanboy's humble opinion, there have been far too many superheroes leaping, bounding and flying across our movie screens lately, and yet I think that even Sam, Tobey and Kirsten would agree, with no shame attached whatsoever, that they had the SECOND best comic book crusader movie of 2004. (Hellboy was an honorable, if distant, third.) The crown, if not the cape, has to go to Pixar's and writer/director Brad Bird's endlessly clever, exciting and eye-filling account of the Parrs, a family of superpeople, forced for years to hide their special powers and talents due to legal restrictions, who get an opportunity to spring back into action when geek-gone-wild Syndrome threatens the world. Bird, who worked on The Simpsons during the years when it really mattered and hadn't reduced itself to a mostly meaningless, self-contradictory jokefest, also gave us the 1999 animation masterpiece The Iron Giant, and The Incredibles shares with it Bird's scrupulously detailed yet charmingly playful eye for retro production design; the streamlined, mid-20th century Levittown look of The Incredibles' world not only makes every frame a work of art but also makes the movie's first half the greatest 1960s family sitcom ever made for small screen or large. The second half, in which action takes over without ever superseding humor, characterization or relationships, is quite simply the best James Bond movie ever made without 007 (and most of the ones with him, for that matter). If there's a downside to this, it's my fear that the Bruckheimers and bays will completely miss the point that you need a great script in order to pull this stuff off, and will wastefully kill off several stuntpeople attempting to do the live-action equivalent of Bird's computer gymnastics. The Incredibles continues Pixar's record for on-the-nose vocal casting; Craig T. Nelson enjoys the finest two hours of his career EVER (and yes, that includes the Coach episode where Hayden Fox appeared to wet his pants on live TV); Holly Hunter as Elastigirl (who could be aka Fleximom) completely erases the blot on an otherwise perfect career that was known as Little Black Book; and Samuel L. Jackson as Frozone has his most memorable movie moments since the dogs-vs-pigs debate with John Travolta in Pulp Fiction. Speaking of Quentin Tarantino, The Incredibles would make a terrific double feature with Kill Bill Vol. 2 (if you can get the kids to bed) since it's the perfect illustration of David Carradine's speech about what it's like to be born, like Clark Kent, with superpowers that you're always aware of, but have to keep hidden most of the time in order to coexist with mortals. It's far more profitable to discuss The Incredibles from that standpoint than to waste too much space trying to break down its politics, as some have attempted: it takes on both Big Law and Big Corporations, and so can't be easily pegged as either a red-state OR a blue-state movie. (If anything, it's Libertarian.) Regardless of whether The Incredibles picks up the Best Animated Feature Oscar of 2004 or not (and its failure to do so would comprise the biggest injustice of the night), it certainly holds the record for Most Self-Effacing Movie Title Of All Time. If anything, "incredible" doesn't even halfway begin to describe it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AiisyaW.Mar 15, 2005
This was a truly great movie. In addition to great animation, it also presents a touching story that children and adults can enjoy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TylerN.Apr 20, 2005
Wonderful. You'd have to be a truly miserable person to not like this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MargeauxS.Apr 4, 2005
Its INCREDIBLE!!!! One of the best Pixar combinations for youngsters and adults alike. I can't stop watching it!!! Can't wait for the next one!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ConnieM.Apr 7, 2005
I loved this film! Pixar rocks again! Geeks with plasma screen tvs! prepare to be dazzled as those super cool scenes of exotic locals and bad guy hangouts from all your fav's (James Bond, Star Wars, Fantasy Island ect.) are served up in I loved this film! Pixar rocks again! Geeks with plasma screen tvs! prepare to be dazzled as those super cool scenes of exotic locals and bad guy hangouts from all your fav's (James Bond, Star Wars, Fantasy Island ect.) are served up in amounts Costo never dreamed of! Plus, the feminists in your life (the kind that like thier mom...and dad) will be happy with Elastagirl turned mega mom! She's tough, technichally savvy (I love her piliot's lingo and cool reserve) and has a womanly body! The "when everyone is special no one is" threat to our heroic family is a battle cry to original people to be themselves because it's better for everyone. This is a great boost in an era when anybody who's labeled as "gifted" is encouraged to get along being like everyone else. As if being smart, pretty, talented or just..different (pick anything you like or don't like) were a disease and not a gift. If you want a fun hour and a half cue cheezy music...and cry: "To the video store, away!!!" PS don't wear a cape if you fly there (ha ha inside joke that you too can enjoy after seeing the film). Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackBalderAug 23, 2007
One of the best Pixar movies that is very enjoyable, funny, but not as good as "A Bug's life, Toy Story, Toy Story 2, or Monsters inc."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMSep 21, 2007
My Favorite Animation Movie Ever! From Start To Finish, It Was Completely INCREDIBLE!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleHDec 29, 2004
What's not to love...sweet, funny, thrilling and strangely moving. One of the best and more adult pictures of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeA.Jan 12, 2005
The Incredibles is the Best Picture of the year. It blends genius special effects with laugh-out-loud comedy, rip-roaring action, and touching family values into the best CGI film ever made, and one of the best films of the 21st Century so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidD.Oct 19, 2005
Finally, a good movie! This is one of Pixar's best, knocking off the first Toy Story. It slyly skewers the classic comic book movie and action movies in general, all while being hilarious and fun!
1 of 1 users found this helpful