Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 18, 2009
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 158 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
76
Mixed:
32
Negative:
50
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
AlainASep 25, 2009
This movie is well acted and well directed, but it is incredibly boring. I cannot believe it got a 66 score on metacritic. I wish I could have my two hours back. The trailer looked good, it got 66, so I gave it a chance. Avoid this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
roberts.Oct 11, 2009
This movie was awful not one laugh in the whole movie the only good part of this was when it read the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KarenFOct 4, 2009
This is very, very, very, slow movie. I love slow movies, if they are entertaining. This movie is almost painful to watch. Painful to realize 18 dollars went toward this movie. If you really want to see I hope you like it. I would till the This is very, very, very, slow movie. I love slow movies, if they are entertaining. This movie is almost painful to watch. Painful to realize 18 dollars went toward this movie. If you really want to see I hope you like it. I would till the dvd comes out, The rent it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LarryRSep 20, 2009
Instantly forgettable. This is one incredibly dull film. I have watched paint dry with more enthusiasm.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ToddMOct 2, 2009
Worst movie ever. Sooo boring. I watched 8 people leave. Them leaving was the most interesting part of this lame movie. I want a refund. I can honestly say I have no idea what you others were watching. It was like watching a bad tv sitcom in Worst movie ever. Sooo boring. I watched 8 people leave. Them leaving was the most interesting part of this lame movie. I want a refund. I can honestly say I have no idea what you others were watching. It was like watching a bad tv sitcom in the early 90's. Only reason people would like this is that they are old and it reminds them of old fashioned mustaches. Terrible in every way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
LukeThedukeSep 20, 2009
Boring movie about an insane man and his wacky wife. Why do people think such a dishonest and duplicitous man is fun?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DTOct 6, 2009
Terrible-- no humor, a nothing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TomMSep 21, 2009
Story line muddled, music was terrible and there was not one character I could empathize with. Only saving grace was Damon's performance.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KathywSep 23, 2009
I didn't care for either the characters or the story. Too bad, could have been interesting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoeJoeSep 24, 2009
Slow, not funny, and so many lies it gives you a headache.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TimSSep 26, 2009
Oh dear god was this movie bad! I counted 6 people out to the 20 or so that even went to see it, get up and leave during the movie. Almost joined them myself. It just kept getting worse as the movie went along. I will never get that 2 hours Oh dear god was this movie bad! I counted 6 people out to the 20 or so that even went to see it, get up and leave during the movie. Almost joined them myself. It just kept getting worse as the movie went along. I will never get that 2 hours of my life back. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AkutoAug 19, 2011
When I saw The Informant! in my On Demand "$1.99 or less" section, I had to wonder why. Looking back, the commercials made it out to look like a funny little movie about a goofy FBI informant full of cheeky groaners. And come on, nothing withWhen I saw The Informant! in my On Demand "$1.99 or less" section, I had to wonder why. Looking back, the commercials made it out to look like a funny little movie about a goofy FBI informant full of cheeky groaners. And come on, nothing with Matt Damon and Scott Bakula could be that bad. At a stretch, the movie is labeled a comedy. From the opening of the movie onward, we're treated to Mark Whitacre's inner monologue. Fun fact: It's mostly about corn and corn products. For those of us who don't find a guy obsessing over corn hilarious, it would seem Mr. Soderbergh set down a single alternate steam of "humor", the ever-changing lie that Whitacre tells. That gets about as funny as a kid making up excuses for missing homework. I began falling asleep 30 minutes in, and checking how much longer every 10 minutes. 2 hours I wish I had slept through, a great comedy for those of us who don't like to laugh. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MikeD.Oct 9, 2009
Slow developing movie, that never really developed. The movie couldn't decide if it was a comedy or a drama and in the end was neither.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Sep 18, 2009
The narrative is muddled and played as a kind of inside joke. Instead of telling the story in a clear, linear fashion, Soderbergh seems to go out of his way to repel the viewer and mock all the characters. Matt Damon does a fine job with the The narrative is muddled and played as a kind of inside joke. Instead of telling the story in a clear, linear fashion, Soderbergh seems to go out of his way to repel the viewer and mock all the characters. Matt Damon does a fine job with the material, but I cannot understand why he felt the need to gain 30 pounds for this role, which could have been played with equal skill at his normal weight. Soderbergh seems to have peaked too early in his career, with Out of Sight, The Limey, and Erin Brockovich standing as his best efforts. Everything he has made since then, in my view, has been narcissistic -- apparently done for his own pleasure and with a disregard for his audience. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
AlexGSep 26, 2009
Aptly named, informative, not funny Laughs were few and far between. This movie reminds me most of a Enron documentary I once saw, informative but not captivating.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
BobbyS.Sep 21, 2009
This movie was like "Catch Me If You Can" sans the entertainment. The actors are all competent and the plot is decent, but the movie is incredibly slow and the laughs are far and few between. Critics praise everything Soderbergh creates, so This movie was like "Catch Me If You Can" sans the entertainment. The actors are all competent and the plot is decent, but the movie is incredibly slow and the laughs are far and few between. Critics praise everything Soderbergh creates, so keep that in mind when you read their reviews. And re: Paul W. What movie were YOU watching? This movie was a couple things, but "hysterical" is not one of them. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DeniseLSep 19, 2009
Damon is an incredible actor and I would watch the Informant again on video...Very interesting what the guy went through just to cover up one lie after the other...crazy! Can't beleive that was based on true events.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenV.Sep 20, 2009
The beginning was pretty boring. But then when it got past 30 minutes in it was utterly hysterical and brilliant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
QwertySep 20, 2009
Definitely recommended. A clever approach, deftly executed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RobSSep 23, 2009
By no means a perfect movie, I think many of the criticisms are unwarranted. Is it fast-paced? No. The story slowly moves along in the beginning, until the pace picks up in the last twenty minutes. But is it boring? Definitely not. By no means a perfect movie, I think many of the criticisms are unwarranted. Is it fast-paced? No. The story slowly moves along in the beginning, until the pace picks up in the last twenty minutes. But is it boring? Definitely not. Damon's Whitacre more than holds interest as a reflection of our constant need for validation and justification in life; even as he does more and more wrong, he still tries to justify himself as the "guy in the white hat." Damon also helps by finding a sympathetic edge in all of Mark's idiocy. Additionally, the fact that Soderbergh doesn't lose focus on ADM admist Whitacre's life falling apart is part of what helps the audience keep perspective. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SS.Oct 16, 2009
Very well done. Matt Damon plays completely against type, and pulls it off.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CoreyG.Oct 5, 2009
This film is great. It follow in the vein as Soderbergh's early film "Schizopolis," but simplified for more mass appeal. It's a smart comedy film, working on two levels. I suppose that's the only drawback - Some people just This film is great. It follow in the vein as Soderbergh's early film "Schizopolis," but simplified for more mass appeal. It's a smart comedy film, working on two levels. I suppose that's the only drawback - Some people just want to watch two hours of fart jokes - this isn't that film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulW.Sep 18, 2009
Just saw this in Toronto....an instant classic...totally hysterical!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TimH.Sep 19, 2009
A very fresh take on this story and remains true to itself throughout. A sure bet for an entertaining evening--both fun and thoughtful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PeterKSep 19, 2009
Crazy convoluted and wickedly funny tale based on a true story. Great cameos from the Smothers Brothers and a terrific soundtrack by Marvin Hamlisch make this a must-see for anyone over 40. (Catch Me If You Can is in a similar league.)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MichaelSSep 21, 2009
This is not a "Hilarious" nor even funny movie. Saw this on opening day Friday Sept 18 th. The actors look as if they are stunned especially the FBI and the woman with DOJ. The story line has little continuity and overall is quite boring. This is not a "Hilarious" nor even funny movie. Saw this on opening day Friday Sept 18 th. The actors look as if they are stunned especially the FBI and the woman with DOJ. The story line has little continuity and overall is quite boring. Don't waste your time on this "Dud". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Sep 24, 2009
Those voiceovers, those digressive voiceovers: What is the moviegoer to make of them? Understanding the functionality of Mark Whitacre's non-sequitirs is what makes "The Informant" such a beguilling film to watch. Are Whitacre's Those voiceovers, those digressive voiceovers: What is the moviegoer to make of them? Understanding the functionality of Mark Whitacre's non-sequitirs is what makes "The Informant" such a beguilling film to watch. Are Whitacre's ramblings triggered by his manic-depressive condition; are his interior monologues an involuntary occurence, a voice made intrinsic by psychosis which he has no control over? Does the film side, or disagree with Whitacre supporters, who contend that their man, this convicted felon, got an unfair sentence? Did he put the ly-(lie) in lysine? Corn and its prevalence in our lives almost has a literal effect on this husband and father of three(or is that one?), an executive-turned-whistleblower who can rattle off a CORN-ucopia of facts at will, as perhaps, a quasi-semblant means of self-preservation. But what if his palaverous fact-based discourses are actually calculated flights of fancy; what if the voiceovers are a symptom of fallible narration, coded talk about money-laundering and embezzelment schemes masquerading as wide-eyed gibberish? At Whitacre's sentencing, the presiding judge can't help but roll his eyes at the ADM executive's mentioning of his own bipolar disorder, because the robed man deems this whistleblower's actions as nothing more than a case of "garden-variety greed". The judge doesn't go so far as to call Whitacre's manic depression an outright fabrication, which for him is being tactful, since he irrevocably disreputes the defense's theory of cause and effect, a viewpoint that may prove to be the same as the filmmaker's. An early scene between the bamboozled FBI agent(Scott Bakula) and Whitacre has the distinction of containing a voiceover that's incongruously appurtenant to the situation, in which the whistleblower comments on Brian's overall affability and nice guy-ness, instead of going off at a tangent on, say, high-end sushi and matadors, after his second interview. For once, he sounds introspectively thoughtful, and not like some kind of kook. Such cognizance backs up the judge's assertion that there was no crossover between Whitacre's bipolarity and his nefarious acts of capitalistic creativity. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
HenriMOct 11, 2009
First off, this movie is definitely not for everyone. From the hokey title, the corny 60's games show score, and the strange stream of consciousness narrative spoken my Matt Damon's character - this movie is extremely offbeat. I First off, this movie is definitely not for everyone. From the hokey title, the corny 60's games show score, and the strange stream of consciousness narrative spoken my Matt Damon's character - this movie is extremely offbeat. I saw 6 people walk out, and to be truthful I was almost one of them. But I stuck it out, and incredibly The Informant became a good movie. The performances are well done, and some of the cameos are rather amusing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
WilliamB.Oct 13, 2009
Subtle, funny, a little confusing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BillySSep 18, 2009
Not Soderbergh's best film, but clearly Matt Damon's best performance of his career. He is obviously taking the Nicholson career path with his choices and The Informant should put him on Oscar's shortlist for 2009. His Not Soderbergh's best film, but clearly Matt Damon's best performance of his career. He is obviously taking the Nicholson career path with his choices and The Informant should put him on Oscar's shortlist for 2009. His narration as the movie progresses seems totally out of sync with the story, but it turns out to be the key to the whole film. Excellent, reminded me of Catch Me If You Can. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful