User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2012
    0
    This movie should be classified as a porn for the amount of **** it sucked in the longest 100 minutes of my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Move over Gigli and Troll 2; you have just been de-throned!!

    Absolute Garbage!!!! This isn't even a movie!!!! The 2nd worst movie I've ever seen, losing only to Ti West's other extremely terrible film Cabin Fever 2. Ti West PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    never make another movie again!! You are the epitomy of the word hack!! If I ever meet you, I owe you a kick in the ****!! I will never watch another one of your "films" (if they can be called that) ; and I will instruct every single person I talk about movies with to do the same!! Honestly Ti West, do you even know what a ghost movie is!? Have you ever seen one!? I am actually asking you. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTTTHHHHHHHIIIIIIINNNNINGGGGGGGGGG HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEENNNNNNNNNNNS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the slowest freakin movie I've ever seen; worse than Drive, but at least things happened in Drive!! I wish I could give this movie a 0, but the ratings only go down to 1. Seriously, how is this a movie?? What happened?? Honestly, someone explain it to me; what happened!? After 40 minutes 1 ghost shows up for literally 3 seconds, then nothing else happens until there are 13 minutes left in the film (inlcuding credits), and even those scenes did not make up for the complete waste of my time!!
    This is a ghost story that keeps you guessing: Why Am I Still Watching This!? This is like a slightly higher budget version of Ghost Hunters!! Just watch SyFy if you want to waste your time; at least when you turn that on you're expecting to never see a ghost!!!!!

    I actually enjoy watching bad movies, but this was on a whole other level!! It's like West had a bet to see if he could completely rip off and ruin The Shining and The Woman in Black and still make a profit!! It is clear that they allow mental patients movie and internet access because anyone who gave this movie a good review is either 12 or in an insane assylum!! I have never been more pissed about a terrible movie in my life!! I hope you enjoy waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting for nothing to be around the corner, or behind them, or appear at all!!!!! It is literally just a 100 minute viral scare video you can find on youtube, which would explain West's homage to it in the first scene of the movie!! He is laughing in your face and saying, "HA, that's exactly what you are about to watch!! Enjoy and here's some classical music to ease your pain!!" Thank god I didn't pay to see this!!
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    4
    There is a true lack of personality in this film, if you've never watched a horror film this may be okay for you. If you do enjoy horror's expect a heavily recycled plot complete with bad character development and extremely long and drawn out anti-climactic suspense. The two main clerks don't act like real clerks would: Sarah Paxton has an extremely poor sense of acting and you will often find lines spelt out that would never naturally come from a human mouth. Characters often spell out what they were doing as if the visuals weren't enough for us to tell what was going on. Overall the film has very poor research into human behaviour for a low budget film: Character development is an absolute vital on a low budget because the point is to rely entirely on consistent dialogue. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    3
    The scariest aspect of this movie for me was the terrifying and very irritating fact that I actually paid money to watch it!! That said, I suppose that I could always use the dvd as a coaster for my tea cup, and keep the box as a novelty door stop.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    4
    I was looking for a good horror movie, that fell under the radar, to promote for halloween, and I was told that the Innkeepers was that film, but it wasn't. This film is so clique, stealing almost everything from other films of the same genre. They had the nerve to give this movie an R rating and call it the must see horror movie of the year, but truthfully, its slightly more scary than a Disney movie! An old hotel is going out of business and the two remaining employees decide to investigate the long history of ghost sightings at the establishment. There are only a couple guests, giving them the perfect opportunity to investigate. The only thing this film uses in order to frighten you is random things jumping out at you, which most of the time aren't what you expect them to be. There is also a creepy old woman staying there who can talk to the spirits and predict the future, but if that isn't bad enough, there is of course the investigations themselves. Using nothing but a old tape recorder, they go looking for EVPs, using every phrase and question they could steal from Ghost Hunters. Yeah, the Innkeepers really is that ridiculous and the only really shocking thing about this movie is that someone actually gave it an R rating! Was the MPAA associate a little girl or elderly woman, because honestly, Monster House was scarier than this thing was. Expand
  5. May 7, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. So, in order to make changes to my review, I just write a new one? That's how I'm interpreting it. This movie was absolute crap! They might as well have had some dumb blond running in the woods and tripping on air while being chased, and then had to go to every scary sound she heard, because you know, when you hear a suspicious sound, you go right to it... can't people make scary movies that aren't predictable? Collapse
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is boring and predictable. Why is it that the ghosts NEVER move? Why do the characters who have just had a panic attack suddenly decide to split and never show up again, even if they say they'll be back in a minute? If your colleague saw a piano being played right in front of her, and she ran up to your door and started banging on it, begging and screaming, don't you think you'd get out of bed and open it with some urgency? In the movie, we are told that Madeline wanted to live. So, what did she gain by killing Claire? I kinda thought she was going to possess her and take over her body or something. Also, I noticed how Claire carried around an inhaler, meaning she had asthma. Right away, we as an audience can already tell that that spells her imminent doom. But it's not played very well. How about a scene where she has an attack and realizes she lost her inhaler by dropping it? That would have been tense watching her frantically looking around for it and therefore potentially putting herself in harm's way. The old man was possibly the only scary scene, which I must admit, I thought he was a full bodied apparition from Madeline's time (or maybe that was the case). Leanne was a completely useless character. If she were removed from the story, it wouldn't have changed it one bit. Oh well, this movie was disappointing. It hurts to see all the opportunities that could have been fleshed out. We need better writers because I'm honestly starting to get sick of all these lame budget movies ruin one of my favorite genres. I guess the difficulty with storytelling is that it all has to reach a climax and when your movie deals with ghosts, that's kinda tricky to pull off. The one here feels contrived and ineffective because the rest of the movie is just boring. Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2013
    3
    what is wrong with the world??? this movie is in the top 10 of 2012 horror movies of many sites, but is boring and stupid as hell!! actually looks more like a "horror movie for beginners". TERRIBLE, SIMPLY. Not even funny for the worst. Saved just by a cute actress, sympathetic and charismatic, and good technical aspects that gives its retarded story some charm. Seriously so many good scripts in America and this hit the screens. I can't detail better how stupid and childish is this movie, but thats it, if you are 10 years old is the best way to watch a light horror movie. You cant ever trust a movie made by somebody called T West, be warned! Expand
  8. Dec 1, 2012
    4
    "The Innkeepers", in brief, is an hour and a half of slow-paced minimalism interrupted briefly by moments of genuine, unnerving suspense. The characters are shallow and pretty boring - we never learn very much about them, we don't become attached to them, and so you're not very interested in what happens to them. They feel more like outlines of characters than actual, believable, fully-developed ones. The story behind the ghosts is left almost entirely unexplained, so we don't understand anything of the few "happenings" that occur and are teased with a twist to the facts that never comes to light. With so much potential in this concept and setting, it's sad that the film is so wholly vacant of substance - the only thing it's got going for it is that the spare moments of slow suspense are pretty effective, and sometimes leave you painfully nervous about whatever's about to happen. However, this also means that director Ti West is capable of making a decent horror film, yet somehow he pulls off only scraps of a decent horror film, mixed in with a somewhat impressively limp arsenal of filler and empty storytelling. If you enjoy slow-paced movies with little to no payoff, perhaps you'll enjoy "The Innkeepers" - otherwise, your hour and forty minutes is better spent with something else. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Feb 9, 2012
    60
    I wanted very much for West's new movie to evoke films like "The Others" or "The Orphanage," which made me, in the moment at least, a believer in ghosts. The Innkeeper's payoff lacked that kind of oomph, and weirdly, the pairing of Luke and Claire brought movies about work relationships, like "Clerks" and "Office Space," more to mind than ghost stories.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 6, 2012
    70
    West's throwback style and disdain for excess allows his characters to shine.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Feb 3, 2012
    63
    The Innkeepers is no masterpiece, but you may well leave with your nerves expertly jangled.