Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 10, 2013
    70
    It’s compelling throughout, and profoundly moving at times, even when it rings false, which is often. It’s a divisive, shadowy conversation-starter of a movie that’s as much fun to talk and think about as it is to watch.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Oct 8, 2013
    70
    Complaints that there's too little here about how the Jejune Institute was hatched or what it all may have meant matter little in the face of the one great thing The Institute does offer: a record of the mad invention of the game's masterminds.
  3. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Oct 21, 2013
    60
    The film will frustrate viewers who insist on knowing which interviewees are recounting real experiences and which are perpetuating fictions hatched by the game's creator, Jeff Hull. But mystery is part of the appeal.
  4. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Oct 10, 2013
    60
    Because The Institute is largely framed as if the viewer were a co-player in Jejune's game, the film is an experience that's fun and frustrating in equal measure.
  5. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Oct 10, 2013
    50
    The Institute stumbles between documentary and exploratory simulation, at once confusing and pedantic.
  6. Reviewed by: David Lewis
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    A ludicrous, yet oddly engaging documentary.
  7. Reviewed by: Kalvin Henely
    Oct 2, 2013
    25
    A lazily constructed documentary that doesn't hide first-time director Spencer McCall's admitted lack of understanding for his subject.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    6
    Although this is a little uneven and not the tightest documentari I've seen, I found the subject matter so interesting that I stuck it out,Although this is a little uneven and not the tightest documentari I've seen, I found the subject matter so interesting that I stuck it out, and felt somewhat like the participants in the game by the time it was over--fascinated, and a little disappointed, but glad that I had participated. Full Review »