Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 6, 2009
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 86 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
26
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
NerijusD.Mar 9, 2009
The ultimate thriller What a movie! It has your attention caught from the very first scene of Clive Oven standing in the rain, watching. And pretty soon you get enveloped in the net of shocking mystery and conspiracy the main antagonist - an The ultimate thriller What a movie! It has your attention caught from the very first scene of Clive Oven standing in the rain, watching. And pretty soon you get enveloped in the net of shocking mystery and conspiracy the main antagonist - an international bank - produces. First of all, the whole premise of a story is based on real life events and you might even learn from this film about the power these banks have over ordinary individuals, or even whole nations. Secondly, you get to see extremely entertaining spectacles of high-profile assassination and its investigation, followed by the Guggenheim part, which is, without doubt, one of the most memorable, enjoyable and realistic shoot-outs I've ever seen in a movie. Wonderfully orchestrated, brilliantly shot and with breathtaking special effects and stunts! And then there's agent Louis Salinger, who has his own personal vendetta against the bank. After having suffered many painful losses during his previous investigations, he tries to protect Naomi Watts' (She's more beautiful than ever) character and family from the imminent danger of death the case brings while at the same time fully submerging and devoting himself to solve it. A recurring element of tingling in his ears plays wonderfully as it portrays his helplessness. Just as he lay there, on the pavement, watching a friend die with no power to turn the time back and save him, so did at the very last scene of the movie the comprehension of his vain little role trying to stop the grand scheme of endless international affairs dawned on him. You stopped this banker? There are hundreds of others just like him, waiting to take his place. To me this was a perfect ending to an ultimate thriller. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ckJun 11, 2009
Watched it in sections, still good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
NeosapienOct 4, 2012
Im going to be brief on this one: is you're looking for a mindless action film, then there is nothing to see here. But if you're looking for a movie with a good plot and mature story, then you will be pleased!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanaM.Feb 22, 2009
Don't listen to the negative reviews. This is really a pretty good movie with plenty of action. My wife and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Certainly better than the Bond movies and the acting was quite good overall. Owen does a nice job with Don't listen to the negative reviews. This is really a pretty good movie with plenty of action. My wife and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Certainly better than the Bond movies and the acting was quite good overall. Owen does a nice job with his role, and the plot does make you think about the role of big banks in the world. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottC.Mar 9, 2009
I thought it was a taut, engrossing thriller. The shoot-em-up scene at the Guggenheim was terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeoNFeb 24, 2009
Good film, very interesting plot but sometimes difficult to follow, definately don't watch this if you're even slightly tired.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TDKinDallasFeb 25, 2009
This movie was excellent! I went to the movie expecting it to be crap and was completely surprised. To me the movie was believable, suspenseful and one of the most satisfying movies I have seen lately (Slumdog probably being the last one). This movie was excellent! I went to the movie expecting it to be crap and was completely surprised. To me the movie was believable, suspenseful and one of the most satisfying movies I have seen lately (Slumdog probably being the last one). Did Premiere magazines Olivia Putnal see a different movie or what? Does anyone check to make sure the critics actually saw the movie because she obviously did not see this one. Fast-paced car chases??? none All-out gun fights??? one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MelancholicAlcoholicJun 19, 2009
Finally! A well written action-thriller, with a strong focus on the thriller part, rather than the action. It has a meticulously thought out script, so as not to bore the audience. It's misunderstood as primarily an action flick, which Finally! A well written action-thriller, with a strong focus on the thriller part, rather than the action. It has a meticulously thought out script, so as not to bore the audience. It's misunderstood as primarily an action flick, which was done for US-marketing reasons only. This film is neither for the multiplex crowd nor for the liberal-slant-seeking rightwing conspiracy theorists. Noticeable is that the rightwing extremist press, (the NYpost and the WSJ) hates this film, what else could they do, since the main villiain is the a-s-s that they kiss, the international banking system. Hence, the title seemingly refers to the IBBC, but ultimately points to global financial infrastructure that has such a firm grip on the world that nothing will change really, about most wars, poverty, hunger and perhaps climate change. It becomes clear that it's not a conscious conspiracy, but more a tangled web where DebT rules the world. The bankers are as caught up in this too, and will all use the definitive cop-out: "If I don't profit from this war, someone else will." That is why, while the scene at the Guggenheim is definitely the eye-candy, the confrontation between Owen and Muehler-Stahl as ex-Stasi colonel, is the most shocking part. Lots of comments here will complain that the film lacked action scenes. But they forget that Tywker is ultimately a European filmmaker: Action is nOt his middle name. It's also beautifully shot with compelling vistas of the Italian coast and the rooftops from Istanbul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffLAug 17, 2009
God forbid we enjoy a movie for its story anymore. That's what the majority of opinions out there are hinting at. We care for violence and explosion and techno-babble and special effects galore. Can't forget the obligatory sex God forbid we enjoy a movie for its story anymore. That's what the majority of opinions out there are hinting at. We care for violence and explosion and techno-babble and special effects galore. Can't forget the obligatory sex scene too! So many reviews discredit this movie's true worth. Yes, the shootout at the Guggenheim was awesome, but to say that this scene alone would be worth the price of admission? Ugh. The plot was masterful, in my opinion. It really is a thinking-individual's thriller because you have to be vested enough in the plot to do some thinking. You have to pay very close attention to many things, many characters and the fronts they represent, and you have to add it all in as the plot progresses. You have to think as one each one of them the whole time, either Salinger, Skarssen (banker-villain), the assassin, Col. Wexler...etc. They all have such distinct roles in this story, each with any imaginable direction. The characters, to me, are what really make this movie because each one has their own desires in a game with the highest stakes. I especially loved Salinger because he is this overly dedicated crime fighter that is chasing a case with so many dead ends it's unbelieveable. His very first witness and his family "died in a car accident". His partner was killed right in front of him at the beginning of the movie, and so was the material witness. All right in front of his face, yet this enemy is untouchable because it's everywhere and so innocent at first glance. The menace was chilling as it was misleading. Too good. I love this movie for so many reasons. Too bad most people just can't see it. Too vested in action and simple, linear plot lines. Oh well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KimLFeb 14, 2009
International was hell of a lot better than the last Bond movie. At last actions shots that did not make me sick from over cutting and subliminal flashes. Not a movie to rave about but better than average.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
P.McCarthyFeb 17, 2009
Fabulous film...viewer must pay close attention and know a bit about international banking and global arms sales. Better than the Bond films, better than the Bournes. Gorgeous shots of some gorgeous cities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SpangleAug 18, 2016
The International is a thoroughly engaging action thriller with a top-notch lead performance from Clive Owen and sleek, stylish director from Tom Tykwer. Just as engaging as Tykwer's past films, The International examines the corruptThe International is a thoroughly engaging action thriller with a top-notch lead performance from Clive Owen and sleek, stylish director from Tom Tykwer. Just as engaging as Tykwer's past films, The International examines the corrupt activities of a bank and uses it as a moralistic play when it comes to reality and the way bankers seem to get away with everything. For this, the film can be somewhat unsatisfying due to its lack of pay off, which many will find problematic, though I thoroughly loved the ending. The cinematography is very good, as in all of Tykwer's films and really gives the film this stylish, sexy look. That said, there are problems. The one major action set piece is really, really dumb. Like, earth-shatteringly dumb. Additionally, it can be hard to follow. Not too hard to follow, but there is certainly some confusion along the way. All in all, The International is a stylish thriller with an overly complicated story, an ending that I liked but many will not, and can be quite implausible at times. Overall, it is a truly flawed film that has more good than bad to it, plus it is definitely entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews