Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 7, 2013
    75
    There’s a reason that it lacks the highs of "Wedding Crashers": The Internship puts us on the side of those who are trying to hold on to respectability, not tear it down.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 6, 2013
    75
    The Internship is the movie version of a goofy dog that knows only a few tricks but keeps on looking at you and wagging his tail, daring you not to like him. Down, boy. You win.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jun 2, 2013
    60
    This big-hearted underdog comedy from director Shawn Levy is, much like its two leads, exceedingly affable and good-natured despite being undeniably long in the tooth.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 5, 2013
    50
    Product placement aside, there’s an admirable, even sweet, message about fellowship and misfit pride shot through the whole script, and Vaughn is rather touching as a kind of cuddly uncle figure to his fellow interns.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 7, 2013
    42
    There’s a potentially good comedy to be made about old-school guys trying to make a go of it in a youth-dominated digital marketplace, but director Shawn Levy and screenwriter Jared Stern overdose on moronic excursions.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 5, 2013
    40
    The Internship has some funny moments. The cast is too talented for it to come up completely dry. But for a movie about a place so filled with ambitious climbers, it is far too lazy.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 6, 2013
    10
    For those of you on a really tight entertainment budget, you'll be paying at least 8 cents per minute not to laugh. Your money is better spent on beans and rice.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 72
  2. Negative: 16 out of 72
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Personally I loved this movie and am really surprised at the negative reviews. The story was tight with great acting and plenty of humorous lines throughout. By the way the comedy wasn't just stupid sex jokes... it was actually decent, witty stuff for the most part. The story also had a nice overarching theme concerning the positive effects of change in life which I appreciated. In any case go and watch this. Expand
  2. CBZ
    Jun 9, 2013
    8
    This is a good Sunday night movie to have a couple of laughs.
    It's not one of those movies where all the funny parts are in the commercials.
    I actually really enjoyed and laughed throughout the movie.
    I dont understand all the negative comments. Looking at them it seems like those people just had very high expectations and thought this would be another Wedding Crashers all over again.
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    Ignore the bad reviews about this movie. The Internship is a great comedy movie! The idea f trying to get a job at Google is really quite cool!
    I have to say though, one of the scenes (I'm not going to say because it is a spoiler) is a bit wrong and goes for too long too.
    I'm guessing that about 95% of the bat reviews are just people with too high expectations.
    Either way, The Internship is a good Friday night Comedy!
    I hope they make a sequel!
    Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    I still enjoyed the funny banter between Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson even if falls short of the first act. There's a lot of the same things we've seen already though the supporting cast do a solid job. B Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    5
    This is not WEDDING CRASHERS! These two have been paired before and leads to significantly less. Less laughs, less acting and much less originality. The plot is WEAK and characters cliches'. Worse is the predictable course this movie takes through to the end. I could ID with some of the office interactions and did laugh-but not enough to recommend this, much less watch it again. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    4
    Google se muestra entretenido despues de esta pelicula.
    Muchas cosas que no sabia de ese se muestran aca en este Film, sin embargo a pesar de
    una buena ide a y un buen tema la comedia no se hace fuerte del todo aveces estresante aburrida e innecesario. Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    It's an outdated recruitment video for Google and it would probably have been more fitting to be in movie cinemas a decade ago. They probably should also have gotten better comedy actors than these two. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Trailers