Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 22, 2005
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
96
Mixed:
28
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
eTurkeyAug 11, 2012
'The Interpreter' is just simply not thrilling. That's quite a shame considering the film in question is a "thriller". Regardless, one of the final movies directed by Sydney Pollack does have its moments, with Catherine Keener a standout in'The Interpreter' is just simply not thrilling. That's quite a shame considering the film in question is a "thriller". Regardless, one of the final movies directed by Sydney Pollack does have its moments, with Catherine Keener a standout in her supporting role. Regrettably the two lead actors aren't as exciting. Sean Penn seems to do a decent job playing a rather dull and lifeless Secret Service agent and Nicole Kidman doesn't exactly light the world on fire with her South African accent. The filming locations are real, which is something at least. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
MaddieS.Oct 11, 2005
I guess it was probably an ok film, but I was actually really bored.I would watch it again, but I don't want to waste my money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Excellent job,very good performance by nicole kidman and sean penn.worth every penny to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
abirdMay 9, 2006
Definetly watchable. Characters a bit too underplayed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyBOct 23, 2005
I enjoyed this well plotted and beautifully acted film immensely. It has something to say and says it in a manner that assumes its audience is perceptive and intelligent. Nicole Kidman handles a difficult role with strength, dignity and I enjoyed this well plotted and beautifully acted film immensely. It has something to say and says it in a manner that assumes its audience is perceptive and intelligent. Nicole Kidman handles a difficult role with strength, dignity and grace. Sean Penn's performance should silence those who claim he is always so over the top. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobKOct 6, 2005
The movie despite a weak ending, is stil a very solid, thought- provoking film. The movie at one scene got so suspenseful I had to look around the theater to relieve the amounting pressure the film was exerting on me. I thought Kidman did a The movie despite a weak ending, is stil a very solid, thought- provoking film. The movie at one scene got so suspenseful I had to look around the theater to relieve the amounting pressure the film was exerting on me. I thought Kidman did a very good job with how the character was written. Penn's character on the other hand needed to be developed more. The movie overall was definatly worth my seven bucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marshallOct 14, 2005
It was amazing, it's the best hitchcock movie hitchcock never made. i love hitchcock, and this would have been another masterpeice to add to his already amazing collection of murder mysteries. dont get me wrong, it did have a mind of It was amazing, it's the best hitchcock movie hitchcock never made. i love hitchcock, and this would have been another masterpeice to add to his already amazing collection of murder mysteries. dont get me wrong, it did have a mind of it's own, it didn't follow in the foot steps of other movies, so rent it now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
bjd.Nov 4, 2005
Held my interest. At time it was difficult to understand the characters accent, including Kidman. Sean Penn was great, as usual. Some parts of the movie didn't come together for us, but overall it's worth seeing. And there is Held my interest. At time it was difficult to understand the characters accent, including Kidman. Sean Penn was great, as usual. Some parts of the movie didn't come together for us, but overall it's worth seeing. And there is violence but most of it is quite subtle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TheDirtyOneApr 25, 2005
Holes big enough to drive a Mack truck through. Honestly one of the worst movies I have ever seen, as it falls apart within the first 10 minutes. Two guys talking about an assasination attempt in the freaking U.N. assembly room??? GREAT Holes big enough to drive a Mack truck through. Honestly one of the worst movies I have ever seen, as it falls apart within the first 10 minutes. Two guys talking about an assasination attempt in the freaking U.N. assembly room??? GREAT idea! Yeah, that's a safe bet! And how the hell did they have access to the building after hours anyway? And why were the mics turned on so Nicole Kidman can hear what they are saying? Very well thought out! These two must be master assasins. Best is the end, though. There is an assasination attempt on this dude speaking at the UN so the place goes bananas, he's rushed away by bodyguards like it' the end of the world but of course [Ed: Spoiler omitted....] Brilliant! Piece of crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PhilK.Jul 23, 2006
I have to say, in defense of Pollock, that I seriously doubt this is the film he inteneded to make. I saw an interview with him in which he said, in effect, that he didn't enjoy making The Interpreter. I believe there was a lot more he I have to say, in defense of Pollock, that I seriously doubt this is the film he inteneded to make. I saw an interview with him in which he said, in effect, that he didn't enjoy making The Interpreter. I believe there was a lot more he wanted to say about the Zumanie character (his evolution into a tyrant, the devastating "structural adjustment" packages imposed by the IMF and World Bank, death squads financed by the US, etc.), but since he was filming at the UN, I'm sure the UN Security Council (i.e., the Bush Administration, NSA, CIA) put considerable pressure on Pollock to revise any scenes or dialogue which would shed some much needed light on how the most brutal leaders of developing countries are placed in power and who their policies always benefit to the detriment of the vast majority of its citizens. Having seen the trailer, and knowing that Pollock was directing Penn and Kidman, I expected a good, solid, political thriller. Like most who are familiar with Pollock's work, I was disappointed in the extreme. However, I should have known that any film made by a major studio dealing with a subject which was politically sensitive, would be a light ball of pink, confectionary fluff wrapped around a hollow core. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanM.Nov 22, 2005
I thought this was a smart and suspenseful thriller, but the ending was a bit silly. Still worth renting, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
markz.Nov 4, 2005
I've seen worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveFNov 4, 2005
Damn good movie. Keeps its head well above the hollywood-cliche quagmire. A "political thriller" with emotional intrigue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintM.Oct 19, 2005
An intelligent, well-acted political thriller. Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn are the best of the best and continue to prove they deserved those Oscars. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelApr 21, 2005
Fabulous
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Syd.B.Sep 28, 2005
God bless Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn for giving performances that should get them oscar nominations but prob wont happen since this was released WAY to early..anyway i loved this movie and will be buying the DVD when it comes out...with God bless Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn for giving performances that should get them oscar nominations but prob wont happen since this was released WAY to early..anyway i loved this movie and will be buying the DVD when it comes out...with this and The Constant Gardener, thrilers seem to becoming good again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StevePDec 15, 2005
This is probally Sydney Pollock's, I'm sorry Pollack's worst film ever. There was a message in it but it was distorted By Nicole Kidman's and Sean Penn's Bogas romance. And is this really a Thriller, there's This is probally Sydney Pollock's, I'm sorry Pollack's worst film ever. There was a message in it but it was distorted By Nicole Kidman's and Sean Penn's Bogas romance. And is this really a Thriller, there's about 5mins of action in it. the other 123mins is filled with Pollock's theriors of Pasifisum, and Diplomacy. I really liked how they encoraged the sparing of African Hate Crime Offenders. It was also full of really dum dialog, about Nicoles' stupid south african traditions, and Sean's wife who cheated on him with a dancer. "All Right and action movie about Marital Betrail, African Death Rights, and Pasifisum, who about we make Terminator Rise of the Pasifist next!!!!" If you Hate War, Love War Criminals, and Have a Passion for Cheap Romance Films that clam to be Action films you will love this, Both of You!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
A fascinating look at how different worlds collide. Nicole Kidman is daring and bold. The Interpreter is reflective of similar films of this nature; however, uses fresh concepts surrounding the United Nations and rebellion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews