Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 22, 2005
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
96
Mixed:
28
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Excellent job,very good performance by nicole kidman and sean penn.worth every penny to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TonyBOct 23, 2005
I enjoyed this well plotted and beautifully acted film immensely. It has something to say and says it in a manner that assumes its audience is perceptive and intelligent. Nicole Kidman handles a difficult role with strength, dignity and I enjoyed this well plotted and beautifully acted film immensely. It has something to say and says it in a manner that assumes its audience is perceptive and intelligent. Nicole Kidman handles a difficult role with strength, dignity and grace. Sean Penn's performance should silence those who claim he is always so over the top. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.May 8, 2005
Yes, there were some hard-to-believe elements of the story, like the main premise of the movie...someone discussing an assasination in the General Assebly room of the UN. But overall, it was very entertaining, and worth the almost forty Yes, there were some hard-to-believe elements of the story, like the main premise of the movie...someone discussing an assasination in the General Assebly room of the UN. But overall, it was very entertaining, and worth the almost forty bucks it costs to go to the movies these days when all is said and done. A good date flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshC.May 9, 2005
A refreshingly intelligent screenplay with great acting and an interesting story. Nice footage of New York City is a bonus. This movie is thoroughly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobKOct 6, 2005
The movie despite a weak ending, is stil a very solid, thought- provoking film. The movie at one scene got so suspenseful I had to look around the theater to relieve the amounting pressure the film was exerting on me. I thought Kidman did a The movie despite a weak ending, is stil a very solid, thought- provoking film. The movie at one scene got so suspenseful I had to look around the theater to relieve the amounting pressure the film was exerting on me. I thought Kidman did a very good job with how the character was written. Penn's character on the other hand needed to be developed more. The movie overall was definatly worth my seven bucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyW.Apr 13, 2005
Kidman, Penn and Pollack, Wonderful combination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneLApr 15, 2005
A very good suspenseful thriller that keeps you at the edge of your seat throughout the entire film. Beautifully filmed, directed and acted, this was a very pleasant surprise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelApr 17, 2005
Fabulous
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArielS.Apr 20, 2005
This film was so, intoxicating. Moment by moment I loved Kidman more and more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterApr 22, 2005
With two Academy Award winning veteran leading actors, this film was a pleasure to watch if only to watch the A-listers shine and strut their stuff. The screenplay was compelling enough but the direction, suspense, and rich and extravagant With two Academy Award winning veteran leading actors, this film was a pleasure to watch if only to watch the A-listers shine and strut their stuff. The screenplay was compelling enough but the direction, suspense, and rich and extravagant scenery leaves this film a cut above the rest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MovieFanApr 23, 2005
Definitely a very good movie with some well developed points. It was very entertaining and the acting by both Kidman and Penn was perfect for this movie. For those who like this movie I would definitely recommend Hotel Rwanda...a far Definitely a very good movie with some well developed points. It was very entertaining and the acting by both Kidman and Penn was perfect for this movie. For those who like this movie I would definitely recommend Hotel Rwanda...a far superior film yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarenW.Apr 25, 2005
Smart & Exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelS.Apr 28, 2005
Excellent film! Throw back to 70's political thrillers like Three Days of the Condor. Great job by Kidman and Penn. The film kept you guessing until the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormG.Apr 28, 2005
Sidney Pollock proves once again he can make a movie. This is my kind of popcorn, thrill-a-minute, old fashion '70s style matinee movie. Nicole Kidman (looking incredibly movie star beautiful) and Sean Pean (comfortably sliding into Sidney Pollock proves once again he can make a movie. This is my kind of popcorn, thrill-a-minute, old fashion '70s style matinee movie. Nicole Kidman (looking incredibly movie star beautiful) and Sean Pean (comfortably sliding into middle-age movie stardom) are at the top of their games. Not to ruin anything for you but, much to my relief, there was only a hint of romantic chemistry. Anything more would have destroyed the realism of tone. Sure the script might be a little more twisty than it needs to be, and has a few too many scenes in which we're deliberately kept in the dark . . . but it didn't bother me. This is a political thriller that will be on my top ten list for 2005. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarrisonB.Jul 16, 2005
Good movie. It was the best I'd seen in a while. Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn were great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigR.Jul 20, 2005
It had me glued to the screen and on the edge of my seat. Twists and turns in every direction. The sexual tension between Kidman and Penn was beyond belief and they didn't even end up in bed. Nicole is looking as beautiful as ever, what It had me glued to the screen and on the edge of my seat. Twists and turns in every direction. The sexual tension between Kidman and Penn was beyond belief and they didn't even end up in bed. Nicole is looking as beautiful as ever, what was Tom Cruise thinking. Sean Penn gave a powerful performance. If this isn't Oscar material, nothing is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marshallOct 14, 2005
It was amazing, it's the best hitchcock movie hitchcock never made. i love hitchcock, and this would have been another masterpeice to add to his already amazing collection of murder mysteries. dont get me wrong, it did have a mind of It was amazing, it's the best hitchcock movie hitchcock never made. i love hitchcock, and this would have been another masterpeice to add to his already amazing collection of murder mysteries. dont get me wrong, it did have a mind of it's own, it didn't follow in the foot steps of other movies, so rent it now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
bjd.Nov 4, 2005
Held my interest. At time it was difficult to understand the characters accent, including Kidman. Sean Penn was great, as usual. Some parts of the movie didn't come together for us, but overall it's worth seeing. And there is Held my interest. At time it was difficult to understand the characters accent, including Kidman. Sean Penn was great, as usual. Some parts of the movie didn't come together for us, but overall it's worth seeing. And there is violence but most of it is quite subtle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimeH.Apr 13, 2005
I think this movie is one of the best movies i have ever seen. I dont really like political thrillers, however this one is beautifully created in every sence of the word. Nicole Kidman is brilliant as Silvia Broome as is her counterpart Sean I think this movie is one of the best movies i have ever seen. I dont really like political thrillers, however this one is beautifully created in every sence of the word. Nicole Kidman is brilliant as Silvia Broome as is her counterpart Sean Penn as Tobin Keller. This movie is a must see for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Apr 16, 2005
Very good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonT.Apr 16, 2005
Saw screening two weeks ago - this is a very good film. Fast paced, great acting, great script, great music. Worth seeing, definitely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinP.Apr 16, 2005
Big commercial Hollywood thinking-man thrillers of this day (the rare few that exist) don't get any better than this. If you can get past the contrived premise (and the lengths it takes to stretch it to extremes), the various loopholes Big commercial Hollywood thinking-man thrillers of this day (the rare few that exist) don't get any better than this. If you can get past the contrived premise (and the lengths it takes to stretch it to extremes), the various loopholes in the plot (the movie moves quickly enough for you to miss them) and Kidman's shaky accent, this is one good time at the movies, jam packed with emotions, politics, suspense and humour. Pollack steers the film confidently; the city and the UN building become more than a canvas for these events, they take on strong visual metaphors which drive the film and its message. Penn's performance is exceptional . This film moved me more than I expected. In the end, the message is greater than the flaws. Not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinW.Apr 20, 2005
Got a chance to see this film 2 days ago, and i wont lie, im not a big fan of these type of movies but WOW! This is one of the BEST movies of the year, very suspensful, and a movie only nicole kidman, sean penn, and sydney pollack could pull Got a chance to see this film 2 days ago, and i wont lie, im not a big fan of these type of movies but WOW! This is one of the BEST movies of the year, very suspensful, and a movie only nicole kidman, sean penn, and sydney pollack could pull off. I hope this film does well since everybody shold see it to form there own opinion. Very brilliant. A Must See!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RhettW.Apr 23, 2005
In terms of the genre the movie only crackles during the "bus sequence." Pollack good --not great. Nicole and Sean fun to watch. Their acting chemistry was the most compelling thing about the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RimaB.Apr 24, 2005
Sean Penn ,as usual, was excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheCleanOneApr 26, 2005
Nice movie. just don't go out with a movie geek (y'know, someone who focuses on the details really really much that they deserve to be kicked out of the movie house) and it'll go fine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KebbieB.May 7, 2005
I agree that Penn's character is a bit overblown and that his "angst is a distraction". And that is the only reason this movie doesn't get a 9 or possbily 10. Kidman does an excellent job with her character and the twists and I agree that Penn's character is a bit overblown and that his "angst is a distraction". And that is the only reason this movie doesn't get a 9 or possbily 10. Kidman does an excellent job with her character and the twists and suspense are very good for a political thriller. The bus scene is phemomenal (worth the price of admission by itself). And with the current situation in Sudan, Zimbabwe, (and lest we forget) Rwanda a very relevant and compelling story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanM.Nov 22, 2005
I thought this was a smart and suspenseful thriller, but the ending was a bit silly. Still worth renting, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveFNov 4, 2005
Damn good movie. Keeps its head well above the hollywood-cliche quagmire. A "political thriller" with emotional intrigue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintM.Oct 19, 2005
An intelligent, well-acted political thriller. Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn are the best of the best and continue to prove they deserved those Oscars. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
akilisApr 15, 2005
Kidman, Penn were brilliant, Pollack did a marvelous job. I will be seeing it again :).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
maryjoApr 21, 2005
Loved the performances of Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn. Look out this is oscar worthy for director, lead actree lead actor and supporting actress!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelApr 21, 2005
Fabulous
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErikO.Apr 22, 2005
Much better than critics from NYT, New Yorker and Slate suggest. I thought the plot was exciting, Kidman was beautiful, and Kidman and Penn were both terrific actors. Yes, there's a little melodrama in his backstory, but all in all a Much better than critics from NYT, New Yorker and Slate suggest. I thought the plot was exciting, Kidman was beautiful, and Kidman and Penn were both terrific actors. Yes, there's a little melodrama in his backstory, but all in all a very satisfying movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnApr 23, 2005
Great movie, great acting, great action!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattC.Apr 24, 2005
Good movie, yet not one which you have to get completey involved with - and focus to watch - meaning it's very watchable, whatever your mood. Good performaces from Kidman and Penn, and a film that has a nice storyline and enough action Good movie, yet not one which you have to get completey involved with - and focus to watch - meaning it's very watchable, whatever your mood. Good performaces from Kidman and Penn, and a film that has a nice storyline and enough action that it keeps you interested. 7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToniD.Apr 24, 2005
Good suspenseful thriller. Great acting and plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomM.Apr 24, 2005
Well acted smart thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaN.Apr 25, 2005
Very generalized and vague, but it's heart is in the right place. The U.N. needs to take another look at its security based on the ease of getting in and out without detection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamL.Apr 26, 2005
AMAZING! Nicole and Sean deserve oscars for the fantastic work here. A spectacular film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FantasyApr 26, 2005
Very entertaining film in that it is suspenseful and the acting is excellent. Worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
wiesb.Jul 25, 2005
A competent and interesting movie, good acting, real people, a bit old fashioned maybe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Syd.B.Sep 28, 2005
God bless Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn for giving performances that should get them oscar nominations but prob wont happen since this was released WAY to early..anyway i loved this movie and will be buying the DVD when it comes out...with God bless Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn for giving performances that should get them oscar nominations but prob wont happen since this was released WAY to early..anyway i loved this movie and will be buying the DVD when it comes out...with this and The Constant Gardener, thrilers seem to becoming good again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
A fascinating look at how different worlds collide. Nicole Kidman is daring and bold. The Interpreter is reflective of similar films of this nature; however, uses fresh concepts surrounding the United Nations and rebellion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews