The Intouchables

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 31, 2012
    60
    A box office phenomenon in France, this crowd-pleasing drama is based on a true story but sticks closely to the template for a Hollywood buddy movie.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 24, 2012
    60
    It is possible to summarize the experience of watching The Intouchables in nine words: You will laugh; you will cry; you will cringe.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    May 24, 2012
    60
    In this sentimental feel-good saga of an ultra-wealthy quadriplegic and the petty criminal who becomes his caretaker, the chemistry between the two lead actors goes a considerable way toward elevating the broad-strokes culture clash. That's crucial to a film that is, in essence, a love story.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 24, 2012
    60
    Actually, The Intouchables isn't bad - its merely shameless, but at least it's overtly so.
  5. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    May 23, 2012
    58
    Sy and Cluzet give their parts more conviction than they deserve, even when the former is forced to re-enact the falsetto-singing-in-the-bubblebath bit from Pretty Woman. But even their energy can't revive a corpse this dead.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    May 31, 2012
    50
    The lens through which the The Intouchables was filmed may be too rose-colored for some people's taste, but the window that these talented performers throw open -- a window onto the strange and touching friendship between two very different men -- is crystal clear.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 31, 2012
    50
    Some of the elements in the film are inexplicable and some are undeveloped, but there are a handful of nicely crafted set pieces.
  8. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    May 31, 2012
    50
    This tired little movie got on my last nerve. If Driss is so charismatic and so full of ingenuity, why isn't he using any of that skill to help lift up his family?
  9. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    May 29, 2012
    50
    "Driving Miss Daisy" this ain't. Except that it sort of is.
  10. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    May 25, 2012
    50
    This essentially good-natured movie, a massive hit in France, is more likely to strike American audiences as trite than offensive.
  11. Reviewed by: Neil Young
    May 23, 2012
    50
    Corny, calculating and commercial...Their slickly executed culture-clash character piece is stuffed chock full of hard-knock life lessons that owe much more to the conventions of the screen than the tough realities of social deprivation and of the severely handicapped.
  12. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    May 22, 2012
    40
    Cluzet and Sy nonetheless make for ingratiating foils; the extended opening sequence in which the duo outwits a pair of cops like a hell-raising Laurel and Hardy could be a stellar short comedy if it weren't married to the deadly self-serious shtick that follows.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 267 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. May 25, 2012
    10
    I don't see how anyone could not like this movie. The acting is good, the story reaches out to you, at times it is genuinely touching, and aI don't see how anyone could not like this movie. The acting is good, the story reaches out to you, at times it is genuinely touching, and a moment later you will find yourself laughing in your chair. If you get the chance, see this movie. The great feeling you're left with alone is worth the money.

    I went to see this film with six or so friends, and while we're usually quite divided on whether a film was good or bad, we all agreed that this is one of the best movies you can go see this year.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    Ok, so I went into this movie not knowing anything about the actors, director, or story so that I could give the movie an unbiased review soOk, so I went into this movie not knowing anything about the actors, director, or story so that I could give the movie an unbiased review so YOU could make an educated decision about seeing this film: and here we go. This movie isn't without its charms, believe you me, it will have you giggling one moment and dead silent the next, but its just that. You'll share no huge laughs or be truly concerned for the main characters and the way their lives intertwine. Don't get me wrong, both lead actors play their roles very well, but not enough to draw you truly in to this brief slice of their lives. Some parts of this movie felt like they were thrown in just to fill time and serve no other purpose. I cant give this movie a higher review but it does have its audience: those who need to know their are people out there who have it just a little worse than you do. But you still might not come away with that. Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    This popular French import (last year's most viewed film) will likely prove a hit here. It's about a rich invalid who hires a black ex-conThis popular French import (last year's most viewed film) will likely prove a hit here. It's about a rich invalid who hires a black ex-con from the "hood" as caretaker. The seemingly incompatible combo turns out to be perfect partnership of support, humor and friendship. Both of the leads are endearing and the story moves with a lively attitude and plenty of laughs. Expect to be charmed, touched and entertained. Full Review »