User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 49
  2. Negative: 18 out of 49
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VikkyH.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    I thought that this movie was very good. I thought it was full of exciting events and i was never bored during any part of it.
  2. KevinR.
    May 14, 2007
    1
    Must have given lots of extra work to violinists and cellists with its soppy string arrangements which continually swell to alert us that something melodramatic is happening. This story of the poor little pretty boy whose mom won't let him do whatever he wants and the beauty queen disguised as a delinquent (gee with that wool cap on she looks so emo) never gets at anything meaningful Must have given lots of extra work to violinists and cellists with its soppy string arrangements which continually swell to alert us that something melodramatic is happening. This story of the poor little pretty boy whose mom won't let him do whatever he wants and the beauty queen disguised as a delinquent (gee with that wool cap on she looks so emo) never gets at anything meaningful but often seems to think it does. Expand
  3. JaredC.
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    The preview looked so cool, until now the movie was so lame and pathetic.
  4. JessicaN.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    I thought this movie was very good. It really caught my attention and kept me hooked through the end. The fact that it didnt have a "Happy Ending" gives the movie extra points. Everyone expects Annie and Nick to end up together but this movie isnt "that kind of movie". Its good that it ends on a good/sad note.
  5. TawdM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    1
    Seems like a broken down vehicle for teenage angst, but so many plotholes and moments of "do they really expect me to buy that?'. Its like they make up the paranormal rules as they go, which leads to a very frustrating and almost laughable experience.
  6. ChadS.
    Apr 27, 2007
    6
    To my utter amazement, "The Invisible" isn't another lame horror movie; what's even more amazing, it's not even lame. I know absolutely nothing about "Den Onsynlige", but the American version of this Swedish import resembles "La Femme Nikita" meets "Ghost". Annie(Margarita Levieva) is a blonde, so technically speaking, "The Invisible" is "Point of no Return"(with Bridget To my utter amazement, "The Invisible" isn't another lame horror movie; what's even more amazing, it's not even lame. I know absolutely nothing about "Den Onsynlige", but the American version of this Swedish import resembles "La Femme Nikita" meets "Ghost". Annie(Margarita Levieva) is a blonde, so technically speaking, "The Invisible" is "Point of no Return"(with Bridget Fonda, a blonde, taking over for Anne Parillaud, a brunette) meets "Ghost". Annie is such a petulant, hateful speciment of a girl, audiences will be taken aback because this is the sort of role that's usually filled by an African-American or Latino actress. Annie is like a cheerleader gone bad. To my surprise, "The Invisible" contains only one flat-out stupid moment: The person who calls the police should be the last person to do so. Otherwise, there's really nothing else to howl(too loudly) about. How "The Invisible" riffs on "Ghost" is sort of fun: Pete(Chris Marquette) stabs Nick in the back(like Carl stabbed Sam Wheat) and causes his "death", but he didn't mean his friend any harm; and Annie(who looks nothing like Whoopie Goldberg) is used as a conduit to deliver a message to the living just like the fortune teller. "The Invisible" also earns extra points for not ending on an entirely happy note. Expand
  7. MikeO.
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    A very good philosophical and dramatic presentation of how young people often feel as though they were invisible to their parents.
  8. ZS
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    This movie is poorly advertised, but a good film. It is not in any way a horror movie. It is a drama about perspective and the consequences that result from lack of conscientiousness in young adults. Moments of this movie are melodramatic, especially the end, but the realistically flawed characters and (somewhat predictable) reversals make up for it. It is worth seeing. The message of the This movie is poorly advertised, but a good film. It is not in any way a horror movie. It is a drama about perspective and the consequences that result from lack of conscientiousness in young adults. Moments of this movie are melodramatic, especially the end, but the realistically flawed characters and (somewhat predictable) reversals make up for it. It is worth seeing. The message of the movie is meant to be taken seriously; the spiritual medium is more of a device. Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    Apr 23, 2007
    4
    Almost as awful as Premonition. Avoid at all costs. It is forgettable and predictable as well as cliche and ugly to look at. The highlight was the good acting and impressive soundtrack.
  10. SondraS.
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Fascinating and unpredictable.
  11. EllenS.
    Apr 27, 2007
    5
    Not a bad teen thriller, although the idea that nearly dead people release of sort of spirit version of themselves into the world gets a little complicated when several of the characters start dying. I half expected a confab of near dead souls, collaborating to escape their fates. Justin Chatwin (he played the brother in War of the Worlds) has a charming swagger, and he
  12. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    A wise ass kid is severely beaten and left for dead in the woods. While comatose, he leaves his body, in order to convince those responsible to do the right thing and save his life. What a bold and unique concept and it plays out to a terrific surprise ending. I saw this one a while ago, but it's defiantly on the top 10 list for 2007. What I really loved about it, was that it was somethingA wise ass kid is severely beaten and left for dead in the woods. While comatose, he leaves his body, in order to convince those responsible to do the right thing and save his life. What a bold and unique concept and it plays out to a terrific surprise ending. I saw this one a while ago, but it's defiantly on the top 10 list for 2007. What I really loved about it, was that it was something I'd never seen before and crossed genres. Technically it's Science Fiction, but there is also a lot of Drama, Romance, and even Comedy. Justin Chatwin, I've seen him in a few things before this and he was terrible. I mean so bad that I almost skipped this movie because he had the lead. I didn't skip this and it paid off because he was awesome in it and has been good in everything I've seen him in since. This one's a keeper, defiantly check it out! Expand
  13. Aug 25, 2014
    8
    A rather good movie with a slight supernatural touch.

    The main character, Nick, doesn't have a very hard time figuring out his new state of existance, but then again, he probably doesn't have another option - and there is a fine, brief struggle against it in the beginning. Annie's change from badass to regretful girl is kind of abrupt, but when you think about it, it's still well
    A rather good movie with a slight supernatural touch.

    The main character, Nick, doesn't have a very hard time figuring out his new state of existance, but then again, he probably doesn't have another option - and there is a fine, brief struggle against it in the beginning.

    Annie's change from badass to regretful girl is kind of abrupt, but when you think about it, it's still well made and makes sense in a lot of ways. There were layers of it to be seen the whole time.

    The sudden connection between Nick and Annie, though, didn't quite appeal to me but... they managed to end the movie without sappy romance, for which I'm really glad!

    An ending that is both happy and sad - I really liked that one. The plot perhaps doesn't keep you on the edge of your seat, but it is well thought of - and is in no way boring.

    The characters are realistic and have room to move this way and that. Acting is good, and the movie looks just fine.

    Worth a watch, definitely.
    Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    30
    And yes, you are supposed to take this all extremely seriously; it probably sounded layered and complex when the writers were stoned.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    50
    That rare mystery in which auds know everything upfront and the characters, rather than investigating, simply wait for the culprit to turn herself in. Previously adapted as Swedish thriller "Den Osynlige," Mick Davis' script brings out director David S. Goyer's emo side.
  3. Little more than an extended excuse for a soundtrack.