The Iron Giant

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 236

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Gilbert
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    I love love love this movie. Wonderful 50s-throwback animation, a kid who isn't terribly irritating, an artist with a titty beard, the voice of Jennifer Aniston, and a sinister Government agent with the scariest chin in Cinema history. The fact that, until the space-monster bit, it bears almost no relation at all to the book, is totally unimportant - which is as good an indicator of I love love love this movie. Wonderful 50s-throwback animation, a kid who isn't terribly irritating, an artist with a titty beard, the voice of Jennifer Aniston, and a sinister Government agent with the scariest chin in Cinema history. The fact that, until the space-monster bit, it bears almost no relation at all to the book, is totally unimportant - which is as good an indicator of the film's quality as any. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    This movie was very touching to me, I loved every part of it and would recommend it to anyone who wants to watch it. Some parts even brought tear to my eye but some parts also scared me when I was young. All in all this movie brings a classic animation to all movies on the market and its for any age to be honest.
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    The Iron Giant is one of those animations that don't feel like a cartoon. Its characters felt so real it never feels like an animation. The story and animation is pure solid, and the feeling you get from watching this is just heartwarming. This is by far, my favorite animation, and favorite movie in general. You will definitely learn a lot from watching this movie. The Iron Giant showsThe Iron Giant is one of those animations that don't feel like a cartoon. Its characters felt so real it never feels like an animation. The story and animation is pure solid, and the feeling you get from watching this is just heartwarming. This is by far, my favorite animation, and favorite movie in general. You will definitely learn a lot from watching this movie. The Iron Giant shows that perfection can be achieved. Expand
  4. Sophie
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    By far one of the greatest animations ever made. Very underrated, but it's finally starting to get the recognition of critics and public alike, and it's great when a family-friendly cartoon is fantastic and intelligent entertainment for both kids, teens and adults. I really mean it - this is a rare thing, the type of wonderful movie they won't make anymore... Watch it and LOVE it.
  5. ScottB.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    One of the best and most moving movies -- animated or otherwise -- of all time.
  6. BKM
    Aug 22, 2013
    8
    Brad Bird's delightful directorial debut is an exhilarating and emotionally resonant story about the friendship between a boy and a giant metal man from outer space that will appeal to viewers of all ages. It also manages to raise questions about patriotism, violence, fear and intolerance and they ways that they so often seem to be intertwined. Both qualities combine to give it aBrad Bird's delightful directorial debut is an exhilarating and emotionally resonant story about the friendship between a boy and a giant metal man from outer space that will appeal to viewers of all ages. It also manages to raise questions about patriotism, violence, fear and intolerance and they ways that they so often seem to be intertwined. Both qualities combine to give it a timeless quality. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    This is a timeless movie that really goes out and touches peoples hearts. This is probably one of the best non-Disney animated films ever. This film really is something special that I recommend for the family to watch.
  8. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This is the best animated movie I've ever seen in my life, I so loved it the first time I watched it! It was so moving, the story was great and the voice over was perfect. Spectacular and unforgettable this movie stands as one of the best animated movies ever.
  9. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Brad Bird's The Iron Giant mixes adult themes about overencroaching governments and biting political commentary with humor, heart, and a true soul. To say this film is anything less than one of the preeminent animated films of our time is to do it injustice. I do not believe any movie has been able to so deftly weave in a message as powerful as this one with a kid-friendly animated story.Brad Bird's The Iron Giant mixes adult themes about overencroaching governments and biting political commentary with humor, heart, and a true soul. To say this film is anything less than one of the preeminent animated films of our time is to do it injustice. I do not believe any movie has been able to so deftly weave in a message as powerful as this one with a kid-friendly animated story. For a film about a "giant metal man," The Iron Giant is anything but mechanical. This film, interestingly enough, explores topics very relevant to modern American foreign policy, despite its setting in 1958 during the Cold War when tensions were high with the Soviets. The Iron Giant portrays the US as a highly expansionistic, militaristic nation with interventionist tendencies, playing off of the common beliefs about nuclear war at the time. However, it manages to do so subtly enough that it never feels like it is preaching to its audience- while there is a powerful anti-war sentiment towards the end of the film, it doesn't go so far as to insult the military or degrade the nation as movies tackling this issue tend to do. And then, it even works as a sci-fi film, grabbing the attention of the audience from the get-go with an exciting, mysterious opening scene. Sci-fi? Politics? Family values? This movie has got it all. Hogarth (Marienthal), the protagonist, is an eleven-year-old child with a widow for a mother who has no real friends from school, and often entertains himself outdoors as his mother (Aniston) tries to earn a living. At first, the character almost seems annoying due to his mannerisms and chatty personality, but over time, it becomes apparent that he is absolutely a realistic portrayal of a child who has been left to his own devices, but is undeniably kind and gregarious in nature and who is only looking for companionship (and a father). Throughout the film, the audience is given more backstory to who he is and this allows us to empathisize with him, making the climax that much more gripping. The giant also manages to become an endearing character as the movie progresses, with subtle voice acting talent from Vin Diesel himself. I belive it is safe to say that this is the best thing Vin Diesel has ever done. That goes without saying- in fact, picking him to play the giant with a limited vocabulary ironically gave him the opportunity to be the most affecting. The Iron Giant's incredible relationship with Hogarth evolves as a classic story of friendship that is both organic and believable. A brilliant edition to the cast comes from Harry Connick, Jr., who plays the beat generation hipster Dean. His role is the shining star of the film. He could easily have been underplayed or overly clichéd, as his character description would allow for either scenario, but fortunately his dialogue, delivery, and place in the story are so well thought-out that he never has the chance to flounder. Equal parts emotional and hiarious, Dean completes the triangle between Hogarth, the giant, and himself. The last character to finish off the cast is the wonderfully headstrong, slightly crazy and progressively aggressive government agent Kent Mansley (McDonald) whose choices throught the story ultimately lead to the powerful climax. Dislikable in the best way, Mansley represents everything that was bad about the McCarthy/Red Scare era in US history. I keep mentioning the movie's climax, but it's for good reason. At first the conclusion seems contrived, but the brilliance of its execution helps overcome this fact. The last 20 minutes will stick with you for days afterward. Of course, the animation is top-knotch as well. The hand-drawn environments and character movement, as well as voice-to-mouth alignment, make this a visual spectacle that can be referred to as nothing less than art. The sountrack compliments the visuals as well, rounding out the AV experience. In conclusion, I believe that this remains Brad Bird's genre-defining masterwork to date and will remain his best piece unless he somehow outdoes what is essentially perfection. Ratatouille and The Incredibles were fun, but they can't possibly measure up. In fact, I'd say most Pixar films would even find it difficult to compare themselves, mostly because, aside from Up, none deal with adult themes like The Iron Giant. Your biggest competition remains Miyazaki's epic, Spirited Away- and for that, I applaud you, Mr. Bird. You should be honored to be in such impressive company. You've got the Western front covered. Verdict: Movie Win Collapse
  10. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    any kid who likes animation should like this. it has heart, comedy, and adventure. the right family movie for kids and adults.
  11. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    A truly great movie about a boy and his giant destructive robot. Also, a great story about friendship and sacrifice. The reason I probably find this a great movie is that I had to watch it more than ten times because of my brother.
  12. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This is a great movie with much feeling, drama, and action. I loved this movie when i was a young child, and i still do today, the only problem is that they haven't made an iron giant 2!
  13. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Brad Bird's big-screen directorial debut is a simply magical film. It preserves the central themes of the Ted Hughes novel on which it is based, but makes them far more hard-hitting by transporting the story to the USA in the 1950s. This period of extreme paranoia at the height of the Cold War, with the fear of nuclear attack ever on people's minds is the perfect setting for a story aboutBrad Bird's big-screen directorial debut is a simply magical film. It preserves the central themes of the Ted Hughes novel on which it is based, but makes them far more hard-hitting by transporting the story to the USA in the 1950s. This period of extreme paranoia at the height of the Cold War, with the fear of nuclear attack ever on people's minds is the perfect setting for a story about the darker side of human nature and loss of innocence, and allows for a healthy amount of satirical humour and 1950s sci-fi references. The film is a real visual feast, with flawless animation that seamlessly blends hand-drawn characters and environments with CGI elements. The voice cast are superb, with Eli Marienthal emotionally grounding the story as Hogarth Hughes, the lonely, good-natured and endlessly curious young boy who discovers and befriends the titular giant when he crash lands on Earth. Vin Diesel, though voicing a character of few words, imbues the giant with a childlike innocence, and perfectly conveys the sense of sheer horror as he discovers his own origins. Jennifer Aniston probably gives the performance of her career as Hogarth's exasperated single mother Annie and John Mahoney is the perfect casting choice as the patriotic but highly moral General Rogard. The real cast highlights are Harry Connick Jr.'s beatnik scrapyard owner and wannabe artist Dean, who provides most of the comic relief, and Christopher McDonald's federal agent Kent Mansley, who makes an extremely entertaining antagonist. What really makes The Iron Giant work is the balance it manages to maintain between the comic and the serious. There are loads of great gags it's true, but there's also some extremely dark observations about the Cold War state of mind (then there are the scenes that are both funny and serious at the same time, such as the creepily cheerful instructional video telling school children what to do in the event of a nuclear holocaust). You'd have to have a heart of stone not to be moved by the film's finale, with Hogarth and the giant's relationship so well established, and with the addition of Michael Kamen's beautiful, highly emotive score, be prepared to shed the tears. The film feels equidistant between E.T. and King Kong, but is better than either. To dismiss it as simply a film for children would be moronic. The Iron Giant can speak to everyone, no matter your age or background because Brad Bird is a great storyteller and introduces you to characters you can relate to and actually care about, and the moral of his story is universal. The Iron Giant isn't just a brilliant animated film, it's a brilliant film, end of. Expand
  14. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    I've seen all of Brad Bird's movies, and I've liked all three. But this is his best!!!! I love it so much!!! It focuses on a kid and doesn't make the adults look like morons like The Simpsons does. God knows why anyone would hate this, it's one of the best animated films of all time. How did this fail at the box office domestically? It's awesome! The cold war setting makes it even better.I've seen all of Brad Bird's movies, and I've liked all three. But this is his best!!!! I love it so much!!! It focuses on a kid and doesn't make the adults look like morons like The Simpsons does. God knows why anyone would hate this, it's one of the best animated films of all time. How did this fail at the box office domestically? It's awesome! The cold war setting makes it even better. It's better than Tarzan and The Lion King. Not as good as Toy Story, though, although it comes very, very close. Expand
  15. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    This was an amazing movie. Touching and masterful. I remember watching it when it first came out and thinking it was great but after seeing it again, it's still that way. Instant classic for all ages this is. Brad bird really did a spectacular job with this one. This movie not only had an awesome story line but had a great message. It was that anyone can be a hero, but also anyone can be aThis was an amazing movie. Touching and masterful. I remember watching it when it first came out and thinking it was great but after seeing it again, it's still that way. Instant classic for all ages this is. Brad bird really did a spectacular job with this one. This movie not only had an awesome story line but had a great message. It was that anyone can be a hero, but also anyone can be a villain it's your choice. It wasn't about a kid who finds a giant robot, it was about friendship and what you'd do for a friend. It's an amazing tear jerker and I highly recommend it. Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This movie is a classic. Simple yet complex, joyful yet saddening, exciting yet thoughtful, the Iron Giant weaves in real-life issues into it's plot in a way that's childish yet deep at the same time. The animation throughout the film is superb, and voice acting by Vin Diesel, Jennifer Aniston, and Harry Connick Jr add immensely to the story. Watch it.
  17. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    Brad Bird has directed two Pixar films; The Incredibles and Ratatouille. Both of these are big favorites of mine. Browsing through films, The Iron Giant caught my eye. I could only hope that I enjoyed this film as much as I did Ratatouille or The Incredibles. The verdict is that the film wasn't was good as either Pixar films, but is more than exceptional entertainment. In fact, this is oneBrad Bird has directed two Pixar films; The Incredibles and Ratatouille. Both of these are big favorites of mine. Browsing through films, The Iron Giant caught my eye. I could only hope that I enjoyed this film as much as I did Ratatouille or The Incredibles. The verdict is that the film wasn't was good as either Pixar films, but is more than exceptional entertainment. In fact, this is one of the best non-Pixar animated films I've ever seen. The film opens with a gorgeously animated sequence of a futuristic vehicle flying through space, until it lands in the middle of the ocean where a boat sails nearby. The captain of the boat stares curiously where he saw the flash of light...then a giant 50-foot robot emerges from the ocean. The film only gets better from there. A young boy named Hogarth is at the diner where his Mom works long hours. The boy overhears a conversation about the Iron Giant, and wonders if it truly exists. His question is later answered when he sees the robot near a power plant, and ends up saving the giant's life. The two become friends, though the boy has to hide the giant to avoid the government (and his Mom) from finding out (Think E.T.). The film is quite funny, and it's filled with stunning animation and memorable characters. The story matches up to Pixar quality, in both heart and substance. There are a lot of tricky issues that are discussed in this film; death namely. The Iron Giant is curious about Earth, and one of his experiences is a deer being shot by hunters. The Iron Giant is traumatized by the experience, and Hogarth explains death as well as he can. "Death isn't a bad thing," Hogarth says, "Everyone dies." "You die?" The Iron Giant asks. "Well, yeah, someday." Hogarth says. "...I die?" The Iron Giant ponders. "I...don't know. Maybe..." The film is very thought provoking, and in some of it's many humorous scenes, laugh provoking. It's even a little tear-jerking at times. If you understand or appreciate anything about movies, this film should be viewed as a must-see. Something you have to experience at least once. Expand
  18. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    The films got an amazing story, amazing animation for the time period and has some truly amazing voice acting. I love this film and recommend everybody to watch it, its just great family fun, 10/10, why isn't their a squeal, why you may ask is because it would be pretty goddamn dark, if i say anymore it will be spoilers
  19. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Just an excellent movie all around. Wonderful storyline and beautifully crafted cinematic scenes. Perfect family film. Loved this movie ever since I first saw it nearly 10 years ago. I still love it to this day.
  20. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    The Iron Giant is a timeless masterpiece, a virtuoso animation experience with a heartfelt and powerful story of non-violence and the power of love and friendship.
  21. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Overview
    +Great story that is surprising, entertaining and slightly unpredictable
    +Excellent voice acting giving depth to the characters +The sound effect fit right into the film, no sound seems particularly out of place. +The chemistry between all the characters feels right -Are a few plot holes here and there, but won’t mention any cause doing so may reveal the ending -Compared to
    Overview
    +Great story that is surprising, entertaining and slightly unpredictable
    +Excellent voice acting giving depth to the characters
    +The sound effect fit right into the film, no sound seems particularly out of place.
    +The chemistry between all the characters feels right
    -Are a few plot holes here and there, but won’t mention any cause doing so may reveal the ending
    -Compared to recent offerings from Pixar, this film does look a little dated, but them again that is to be expected on a film that was released for 1999
    -Some of the characters feel a little under-developed

    Therefore I would highly reckon this film, as it is a great watch. It is such a shame though how the film as a whole was a finical failure, but don’t let that put you off.

    Full Review
    The main features about the Iron Giant that makes it stand above the crowd are the story and characters. At first it seems a very stereotypical children’s film, with the main character (Hogarth) being the unfortunate, bullied, kid at school who them befriends an iron giant. Furthermore the similarity to E.T is unavoidable, and it could be argued the iron giant is a less emotional version of E.T, as the story for the most part is basically about the relationship between a boy and an unknown creature, while the government try to find the creature. However when the film introduces the villain (Kent) who is sent to investigate certain incidents within the town, the story picks up as Kent becomes more determined to find the giant, and Hogarth must hide him, leading to a game of cat and mouse occurring. Furthermore unlike typical children’s films, where the villain is so obviously evil and a bit dull, here Kent’s position is sort of understandable, as his determination to gain recognition, and his fear of the unknown drive him on, while he is restricted by governmental powers. The combination of believing motivates and restricts on his power, make Kent an excellent villain. Likewise while Hogarth can be boring and stereotypical at first, this changes when he begins his interaction with the Iron Giant, because the relationship between the two is excellently portrayed, as Hogarth tries to restrain the Giant’s power, while at the same time trying to have fun with his own Iron Giant. For me this makes the relationship between the two far more plausible than the relationship between Eliot and E.T, in E.T. Likewise Hogarth nature of being a little bit rebellious while not being a really annoying character, as his maturity further help to place the film higher than its competition.

    The story and characters are made less stereotypical, with the introduction of difficult issues, such as fear of the unknown, teaching something wrong from right in a contemporary setting etc. However these questions are balanced with elements of heart-warming comedy, whether it is the childish nature of the Giant, the creative imagination of Hogarth etc. help to soften out the moral elements of the film. It certainly makes a nice change from the countless children films that focus only on love/romance. Such features help to make the Iron Giant a breath of fresh air.

    The excellent story and character portrayal are all enhanced by the excellent voice acting. In particular credit has to go to Christopher McDonald voicing Kent who really provides a nice balance of normality, crazy levels of determination, frustration, and a consistent level of evil. Likewise Vin Diesel voicing the Iron Giant works fantastically well, because his deep voice combined with the lack of spoken dialogue gives the Giant lots of depth. For me the overall sound of the movie was great as there was a minimalist sound track with hardly any songs, but everything, from the water effects, to the explosions, fit right in to the overall effect and feel of this outstanding movie.

    The only major drawback to the film, decides the things you would expect (dated looks, and plot holes); is the lack of the development of the sub-characters. While lack of development does not affect Dean I particular, the characters that feel under-developed are the General and Hogarth’s mum Annie. Now while the general is not in the film for a long period of time, so his under-development is understandable, the fact that within the film he holds the power of Kent means that by him being barely featured, when he does exercise his power it is not as impactful as it should be. The same sense of under-development affects Annie, who despite being a key character seems a bit unaware of what is going on, and like the General, despite playing a key role as Hogarth’s mum, is not featured enough.

    However, I would still recommend this film to anyone because it is charming and a lot of fun, despite its short comings. A must see.
    Expand
  22. May 2, 2014
    10
    This movie is fantastic. So many wonderful and important lessons in this movie and handled so impressively. Its also not often we see an animated film set during the cold war. Its so good, iit deserved so much more when it was released
  23. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    “The Iron Giant" directed by Brad Bird, is based upon the 1968 novel,'Iron Man,' by the British poet Ted Hughes. The film is about a giant metal machine that drops from the sky and frightens a small town in Maine in 1958, only to find a twelve year old friend named, Hogarth, that ultimately helps him finds its humanity and saving the towns people from their own fears and prejudices.
    This
    “The Iron Giant" directed by Brad Bird, is based upon the 1968 novel,'Iron Man,' by the British poet Ted Hughes. The film is about a giant metal machine that drops from the sky and frightens a small town in Maine in 1958, only to find a twelve year old friend named, Hogarth, that ultimately helps him finds its humanity and saving the towns people from their own fears and prejudices.
    This original childhood film has a simple, but more than satisfying plot line that is fun and intriguing for children and adults leaving an emotional attachment to this giant metal man while bringing you light to a particular moral or ethic. Its beginning starts as any other science fictional movie with this seems to be crater falling from space and landing into a random location on earth where just so happens to be a civilized area to saying their goodbyes and leaving the planet, but not the same ordinary goodbyes as you would think. Its composition was beautifully executed throughout the movie in a comprehensive manner that still upholds the story. By that I mean the order of the scenes of the film were well done and each one needed, in order for the movie to be shown in a understanding way to children and adults. The film has an excellent cast that voice-over the personalities to give these 50's animated characters more of a realistic understanding how and why they react and contributed given their time period at which the events occurred much like Disney Pixar's animated film, “Wall-E” given that film didn't have many voices, but could still deeply feel the emotion within the characters. This great film portray events as they are in real-word settings. The actions and interactions were to be believable, plausible, and at least somewhat relatable to both child and adult.
    Expand
  24. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    "The Iron Giant" is a soft-hearted and whimsical take on period movies (I've rarely seen a better take on Communist-era America) that is an absolute joy to behold. The combination of great animation and satirical dialogue makes every character memorable and fun and the finale is as gripping as animated films come.
  25. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Brad Bird's "The Iron Giant" makes its mark as a classic animation. It dumps in love and pure honesty into the colorful screen as well as telling a good morale of unity. A definite must watch.
  26. Sep 23, 2015
    10
    There are 2 types of people when it comes to this movie. People who love it, & people who've never seen it before. There is no 3rd option, It's one of the the most praised movie out of everyone I know. & if people DO hate it, they just love to troll, they love it, & they know it.
  27. Ikarus14
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    A masterpiece in animation. Any animation student should admire this.
  28. DanielK.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    This movie not only has a good story; but it has heart. Along with a couple of comedic moments, there are morals that almost anyone can relate to.
  29. HeathcliffJ.
    Aug 2, 2002
    9
    This film had fantastic animation and a heartwarming story. This movie gives disney a run for their money!!!!
  30. Manimal
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    A great blend of humor, tradgedy and rightousnous. A lesson to all.
  31. [Anonymous]
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    This movie was great.. I liked the giant robot learning not to kill, and about the boy teaching him, and being his friend... This movie has a good moral, i expected less excitement, but it gave me soo much excitement!!!!!
  32. LizzN.
    Aug 9, 2002
    10
    The movie is great and vin makes it even better.
  33. Danielo
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    My new favorite animated feature! Great story, beautiful animation, and a tear-jerking ending. If you haven't seen this movie, get it now.
  34. JakeM.
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Take that Pixar. As close to animated perfection as you can come and not be Miyazaki. Absolutely brilliant.
  35. Riren
    Mar 3, 2007
    9
    Nostalgic animation at its best. Its outdated politics are shielded by that same sense of nostalgia. Its underpinnings are all strong, with a great voice cast and top notch animation. Its overall quality earns it all its conceits, creating a heartwarming and silly adventure for children and adults who still have a child at heart.
  36. ArthurS.
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most underrated animations ever made. By far one of the best. You will not be disappointed.
  37. GavinC
    Jul 27, 2009
    8
    Very exciting, very entertaining, and very funny.
  38. MystiC
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    I watched this near the time of it's release, when I was eleven. I loved it then, as any science fiction-reading child would. But, what I did not expect was to come across it at twenty one, and cry like a baby throughout the last half.
  39. TrystanS.
    Nov 7, 2002
    9
    This movie was awesome and if there was a double-feature at the theaters, they should play The Iron Giant and The Powerpuff Girls Movie! I think everybody should see this FUNtastic feature WB film!
  40. JamesM.
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    Touching story and superb animation! 2-D animation is NOT dead!
  41. armandos.
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite animated movie of all time-mainly because of the great story. Highly recommended.
  42. Pete
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Not only a perfect cartoon, but a perfect movie. Great message, great story, great artistry.
  43. Jan 10, 2016
    7
    A wonderfully touching film, The Iron Giant serves as a showcase for director Brad Bird's talent with animated films and also has a very moving message at its iron core. Magnificently animated and voiced, The Iron Giant really progresses nicely, even if its story is a little frenetically paced at times. Additionally, I wish more of the character motivations and backstories had a bit moreA wonderfully touching film, The Iron Giant serves as a showcase for director Brad Bird's talent with animated films and also has a very moving message at its iron core. Magnificently animated and voiced, The Iron Giant really progresses nicely, even if its story is a little frenetically paced at times. Additionally, I wish more of the character motivations and backstories had a bit more depth, because as is, it felt very cartoonish with vague motivations and just needlessly evil characters (who are bloodthirsty too?). So, this odd and poor characterization does detract from the film a bit, but the rest is so touching and wonderfully crafted, it is impossible to ignore. It stops short of being great, but The Iron Giant is a good animated film that really keeps you entertained and invested in the events of the film. Expand
  44. Mar 2, 2016
    10
    10/10 doesn't mean perfect. It means that its a masterpiece that should be an example for all future animations/movies! The Iron Giant is without any doubt one of the most emotional and beautiful animations of all-time!
  45. Sep 27, 2015
    10
    The Iron Giant is a superb animated film that blends fantastic traditional and 3D animation with fine voice acting and a plot that leaves me a tearful mess every time.
  46. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen. A tear-jerking movie until the very end. It is a must see if you haven't seen it. No matter what your age is you will love this movie.
  47. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    The Iron Giant is really a great film. You know those films that have a boy and his dog (Lassie). a boy and his whale (Free Willie), a boy and his alien (E.T.), and a boy and his Gamera (Gamera the Brave)? This film decided to do a boy and his giant robot in a nutshell. The story is great, the characters are great, and I love what the Iron Giant was revealed to be at the end. It's justThe Iron Giant is really a great film. You know those films that have a boy and his dog (Lassie). a boy and his whale (Free Willie), a boy and his alien (E.T.), and a boy and his Gamera (Gamera the Brave)? This film decided to do a boy and his giant robot in a nutshell. The story is great, the characters are great, and I love what the Iron Giant was revealed to be at the end. It's just awesome! If you haven't seen this movie, then I suggest you do so. Expand
  48. Mar 27, 2016
    9
    I am quite expected to not be scared of a giant robot because hey... dig deeper into my fears and you might find it. So yes, this film is not as great as the Incredibles was, but comparing it to a glory day animation filled with underrated movies, this one takes the cake... or should I say... crushes the cake.
  49. Apr 4, 2016
    8
    "The Iron Giant" is a fabulous animated feature, funny, touching, vivid and, best of all, humane. I hated it.
    It's brilliantly animated, and like the masterpieces of its genre it transcends age groupings. Children will love it and adults will be transfixed by its cleverness and its deft satire.
    The movie is set in 1957, in that immediate post-Sputnik panic, when it appeared that we
    "The Iron Giant" is a fabulous animated feature, funny, touching, vivid and, best of all, humane. I hated it.
    It's brilliantly animated, and like the masterpieces of its genre it transcends age groupings. Children will love it and adults will be transfixed by its cleverness and its deft satire.

    The movie is set in 1957, in that immediate post-Sputnik panic, when it appeared that we were behind the Russkies and had to catch up. One night in upstate Maine – this was before the giant alligators of "Lake Placid" got there – a fireball crashes into the sea and the one survivor of a fishing boat sunk by the splash claims that it was a spaceship!

    Later that same week, cute Hogarth, the son of the perky diner waitress, is wandering around, curious about a weird phenomenon: Something has been biting chunks out of tractors. Aliens or commies? Well, the giant footsteps in the mud suggest the presence of a 100-foot-high robot. Hmmmm. Hogarth bumbles into the woods exactly when a 100-foot-high robot is trying to eat the local power station and is about to be electrocuted for his hungers. The boy doesn't run screaming in fear – as would any kid in a '50s movie – but instead takes pity on the screaming giant and locates the power station's helpfully placed OFF switch, thereby saving the big guy's life.

    What happens next is sort of like a Lassie movie with a 100-foot-high robot with nuclear weapons in its arms in the role of the collie. Boy and 'bot gambol through the woods, developing a touching relationship. They "bond." Boy is not stupid; he understands that some people might be made anxious by the presence of the 100-foot robot that eats cars for lunch. He helps 'bot hide by taking him to the junkyard – this would be a Horn & Hardart for a giant metal-eating robot, no? – which is run by the local beatnik artist. Meanwhile, his perky mom is trying to figure out what to do and a manly FBI agent, just like the one James Arness played in "Them," arrives to investigate.

    Technically, "The Iron Giant" is superb. Brilliantly colored, it meshes computer-animated imagery (the robot and most of the war machines) with the more fluent and naturalistic stylings of the old Disney house style. It's "Bambi" with robots. The dialogue is sprightly and engaging and the off-screen actors – particularly Eli Marienthal as Hogarth, the boy, and Jennifer Aniston as his perky mom – are terrific.

    But at a certain point "The Iron Giant," without missing a beat in charm or artistry, skews off into TULWC. And that would be The Usual Left-Wing Crap. I suppose the movies it is parodying would be considered TURWC, but they were made in the middle of the Cold War. This one was made in the toasty-warm safety of our victory in that war.

    The artistic conceit of "The Iron Giant" is to invert the stereotypes of the '50s invasion-from-space movie, with its paranoid, xenophobic overtones and anti-communist metaphoric structure. Think of it as "The War of the Worlds" or "The Thing" as directed by a member of the Hollywood 10. As I say, TULWC.

    Thus the FBI agent turns out to be a treacherous rat, not a hero; it's the beatnik who gets the girl (Mom) in the end, while the FBI guy runs away like a sniveling craven monster. When the authorities arrive, it's the usual liberal fantasy of the military, an agglomeration of trigger-happy, destruction-crazed yahoos willing to blow away the gentle giant just because he has A-bombs up his size 347 sleeves. Those rats! If they showed him love, this wouldn't have to happen.

    Okay, you're saying: Who wrote this review, "Strangelove's" Gen. Buck Turgidson? Still, the movie – as beautifully drawn, as sleek and engaging as it is – has the annoyance of incredible smugness. It is, one could say, blinded by the hindsight. How stupid the '50s seem from our enlightened age, yet how utterly easy and cheap it is to affect superiority to that decade, particularly when nowhere in the piece does it acknowledge the existence of an evil empire busily nurturing spies and building H-bombs and threatening to bury us after burying millions of its own. This movie is set in '57, but nobody affiliated with it appears aware of what happened in '56, in Hungary. Yes, I suppose the makers of "The Iron Giant" are morally superior to the FBI, CIA, USAF and USN and USA agents, soldiers and officers who fought the Cold War, but it's easy to be superior when your dads have already beaten all your enemies.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    One of the best films of the year thus far.
  2. More intelligent and thought-provoking than the usual dumb and dull-witted fare for children.
  3. Still, the movie -- as beautifully drawn, as sleek and engaging as it is -- has the annoyance of incredible smugness.