Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 30, 2011
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 198 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
84
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
CitizenCharlieJan 23, 2012
The first major Hollywood effort to document Margaret Thatcherâ
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
chipinohJan 16, 2012
I was so disappointed that Ms. Streep's wonderful performance was wasted in suck a train-wreck of a film. Honestly, it's as if the writers and producers got wind that such a film was being bandied about, and they figured they better sign herI was so disappointed that Ms. Streep's wonderful performance was wasted in suck a train-wreck of a film. Honestly, it's as if the writers and producers got wind that such a film was being bandied about, and they figured they better sign her and make the film before someone else did. What a waste. The central conceit of the script is beyond bad - it's intentional mockery. I can't, in good conscience, score it a zero due to the wonderful lead performance. But why, WHY would they have given her this ridiculous script? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
CaptainChaosJan 31, 2012
This was a surreal portrayal of the first lady prime minister and one of the longest serving ones, basically portraying her as a dementia patient, and the only thing missing was the fuzzy slippers and ratty bathrobe. My largest complaint isThis was a surreal portrayal of the first lady prime minister and one of the longest serving ones, basically portraying her as a dementia patient, and the only thing missing was the fuzzy slippers and ratty bathrobe. My largest complaint is that rather than telling the story of this extraordinary woman's history, the movie must have spent about 30 minutes of time just showing her mucking along in an elderly dazed state. I saw this movie with a Feminist friend, almost totally apolitical, and she could not follow the story at all, because the flashbacks weren't even purely chronological and didn't explain any of the political backdrop. Other Feminist friends have panned this movie as showing that you can be the strongest woman in the world, but only at the price of no one ever loving you or standing by you at the end. Meryl Streep's performance added very little since most of the time she was representing a dementia patient rather than a former prime minister. The only part of the movie that added any unexpected value was that it sort of explored a bit of the relationship with her former husband, but it was just done so bizarrely, as to be beyond artistic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroFeb 11, 2012
Ah! Don't expect much from this movie! Meryl Streep's performance as Thatcher is distracted by movie quality. But don't worry, it's not just Streep's performance, it's the story about Thatcher and her controversial and strong leadership. ButAh! Don't expect much from this movie! Meryl Streep's performance as Thatcher is distracted by movie quality. But don't worry, it's not just Streep's performance, it's the story about Thatcher and her controversial and strong leadership. But Thatcher deserves better biopic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
GeorgeBaileyJan 8, 2012
Meryl Streep gives a performance worth a 9, but the story in which it is set is dissatisfying. It introduces the entirely speculative and improbable idea that Thatcher is 'haunted' by Denis. It reminded me of Edith Evans' The Whisperers.Meryl Streep gives a performance worth a 9, but the story in which it is set is dissatisfying. It introduces the entirely speculative and improbable idea that Thatcher is 'haunted' by Denis. It reminded me of Edith Evans' The Whisperers. Instead of trying to focus on one or two aspects of her leadership, or her personal history, it tries to do them all, at speed, using too much newsreel, and accompanied by ploddingly unoriginal music.

As someone who grew up in Thatcher's Britain, I was depressed by reliving a political decade I'd rather forget!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
mariopingJan 14, 2012
Too much time spent on Margaret Thatcher's present year. What a bore! It's not a bad idea to start her at present time and use that to reflect the story in her prime years, but the frequent jumping back to the present time was unnecessary.Too much time spent on Margaret Thatcher's present year. What a bore! It's not a bad idea to start her at present time and use that to reflect the story in her prime years, but the frequent jumping back to the present time was unnecessary. The too frequent talk between her and her deceased husband became too gimmicky. Meryl Streep was superb as usual but she was wasted in this dull film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
luvmuvysJan 5, 2012
Highlight of movie is Meryl Streep's personification of Maggie Thatcher. Brilliant in every way-voice ,appearance,mannerisms....oscar award winner Lowlight is too much focus on Thatchers declining mental state.
The Iron Lady achieved so much
Highlight of movie is Meryl Streep's personification of Maggie Thatcher. Brilliant in every way-voice ,appearance,mannerisms....oscar award winner Lowlight is too much focus on Thatchers declining mental state.
The Iron Lady achieved so much and the movie skims over this...what a shame. Not only is this aspect overdone but minimises her life. Maggie Thatcher deserved more for a Biopic!!!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
khan2705Feb 4, 2012
Yes i knew how this movie will turn out, the only think worth watching about this movie was Meryl Streep and Meryl Streep only. She really played her part with utmost honesty and dedication and it shows tremendously on screen however theYes i knew how this movie will turn out, the only think worth watching about this movie was Meryl Streep and Meryl Streep only. She really played her part with utmost honesty and dedication and it shows tremendously on screen however the movie turned out pretty bland with them trying to over stuff Thatcher's life with silly formulaic scenes and situations that kills the entire mood of the movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
humousJan 30, 2012
Focussed on all the wrong things. Whether you admire or loath her, I would rather have watched a film that centered on what she thought and did rather than sheer, unapologetic speculation of her current illness which, in my opinion, are *not*Focussed on all the wrong things. Whether you admire or loath her, I would rather have watched a film that centered on what she thought and did rather than sheer, unapologetic speculation of her current illness which, in my opinion, are *not* the most interesting aspects of her life. Half of the film depicts hallucinations that never possibly happened - I mean, who knows.... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
eastplanomanDec 30, 2011
I wish the critics would restrict their comments to the movie and not Margret Thacher. We should be rating the move not her politics! Grade the movie and it's actors not the politics of the time.Please restrict your opinions to the moviesI wish the critics would restrict their comments to the movie and not Margret Thacher. We should be rating the move not her politics! Grade the movie and it's actors not the politics of the time.Please restrict your opinions to the movies not the politics of the time. It really makes you look stupid.. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
allmoviesJan 2, 2012
The Iron Lady is a surprising and intimate portrait of Margaret Thatcher (Meryl Streep), the first and only female Prime Minister of The United Kingdom. One of the 20th century's most famous and influential women, Thatcher came from nowhereThe Iron Lady is a surprising and intimate portrait of Margaret Thatcher (Meryl Streep), the first and only female Prime Minister of The United Kingdom. One of the 20th century's most famous and influential women, Thatcher came from nowhere to smash through barriers of gender and class to be heard in a male dominated world. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarryJan 1, 2012
â
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
BoabDreepsFeb 4, 2012
A major disappointment. I'm not a fan of her (I'll be at that party in Scotland when she checks out) but I was looking forward to a comprehensive biopic of one of the most interesting and controversial leaders of the 20th century.
Instead I
A major disappointment. I'm not a fan of her (I'll be at that party in Scotland when she checks out) but I was looking forward to a comprehensive biopic of one of the most interesting and controversial leaders of the 20th century.
Instead I sat through a film that mostly dealt with the effects of dementia. The small snippets of historical events are skipped over like trivia and we keep being returned to scenes of Mrs T having imaginary conversations with her dead husband.
With all the biographies that came out after her career ended, I would have thought there would be a mountain of material available to create a monumental epic.
Streep's performance and the subject matter deserved a better film. This could have been a classic.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TakeOneJan 2, 2012
This is not a traditional biopic but I enjoyed the artistic liberties. I was surprised the amount of time spent in current day Thatcher. My only complaint is not enough Prime Minister day scenes, but still effective and Streep is beyondThis is not a traditional biopic but I enjoyed the artistic liberties. I was surprised the amount of time spent in current day Thatcher. My only complaint is not enough Prime Minister day scenes, but still effective and Streep is beyond amazing. She literally plays two different roles. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
jharris100Jan 11, 2012
Do not go and see this pitifully disappointing film. Margaret Thatcher's eleven year political career is only touched upon, with the main focus of the film being an insensitive and degrading portrait of Thatcher as an older woman sufferingDo not go and see this pitifully disappointing film. Margaret Thatcher's eleven year political career is only touched upon, with the main focus of the film being an insensitive and degrading portrait of Thatcher as an older woman suffering from Alzheimer's. The constant hallucinations of her husband are irritating and pointless, and the film as a whole is boring and not remotely grounded in truth. Thatcher's very controversial and turbulent time as Prime Minister, which will be remembered by many for her ruthlessness and hunger for power, is reduced to a few unmoving, badly executed scenes. A waste of money and time, the film is not in any way salvaged by Streep's performance and should, ultimately, never have been made. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
HDeezyFeb 8, 2012
This film is utterly unsatisfying.
Not even slightly entertaining, some of the performances were utterly laughable, and the script was horrifyingly bad.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
oscarrDec 31, 2011
Streep deserves Best Actress but the movie deserves Worst Picture. jkv bdhjksdfjsbk bdjkdjk bjkdsbjkdbjkdvsjk bjks dvbk k bjksvbjkjsblsbjkklnslknsdjgj f fy h hv hv vhbjv bj lhh vhkvhvhkvhkvhvcj
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Mowgli1114Dec 31, 2011
HIGHLY RECOMMEND. The film is a brilliant and abstract exploration on aging and the fickle nature of society today. I was surprised at how relevant it felt to the times and how interestingly it was shot. Not your normal stuffy biopic. InHIGHLY RECOMMEND. The film is a brilliant and abstract exploration on aging and the fickle nature of society today. I was surprised at how relevant it felt to the times and how interestingly it was shot. Not your normal stuffy biopic. In the age of Wikipedia, the movie does not labor over details but rather focuses on impressions and presents ideas. Challenging and thought provoking and all those ready to dismiss this film should really look closer. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
GolderJan 15, 2012
Just sucks... What? I need 150 characters? I felt that writing "Just Sucks" would be more than enough but obviously I must say more. It REALLY does just sucks.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
andrewireJan 10, 2012
The film was better than expected. Judging by the reviews I was expecting something average but this was actually a good film. Nonetheless, it is Meryl Streep's performance the one reason you should see this movie: it was memorable. HerThe film was better than expected. Judging by the reviews I was expecting something average but this was actually a good film. Nonetheless, it is Meryl Streep's performance the one reason you should see this movie: it was memorable. Her Thatcher is not only accurate but real, not a caricature. She should definitely win the Oscar for Best Actress. As for the film itself, I think the main problem was the script, which felt a bit fuzzy. However, I did enjoy it, especially the second half. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJan 21, 2012
Meryl Streep plays former British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, but this isn't a typical biopic. It follows her career from outspoken Oxford student to her resignation as PM, but spends too much time flashing back from her waning years.Meryl Streep plays former British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, but this isn't a typical biopic. It follows her career from outspoken Oxford student to her resignation as PM, but spends too much time flashing back from her waning years. Although this device has been used many times before (most recently in "J. Edgar"), there's usually a clear timeline and a fleshed-out story. In this case, she's sometimes pitiful and haunted by the past. Streep turns in a complex, compelling performance and the rest of the cast is strong. It's just the screenplay that keeps the film from becoming an stirring story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BhawkFeb 5, 2012
Although the overall movie has its minor flaws (primarily flow/editing issues, similar to the far worse problem with J. Edgar) there is no denying that Streep offers a magnificent and towering performance as Thatcher. Although the film alsoAlthough the overall movie has its minor flaws (primarily flow/editing issues, similar to the far worse problem with J. Edgar) there is no denying that Streep offers a magnificent and towering performance as Thatcher. Although the film also caught me off guard by being one of the most touching and surprisingly cinematic love stories of the year, the reason to see the film is to see the amazing actress offering one of her very best works in a long and incredible career. No other acting performance comes close to this one for the year, and I include Viola Davis' great job in The Help, when I say this. Streep's performance = A+, whereas the overall movie (The Iron Lady) = B+ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
timbosaboJan 28, 2012
ZZZZZZZZ zzzzzzzz zzzz...good for a sunday nap...a lot of peeps in my theatre walked out ...ZzzzzZzzzZZzzzzzZzzZzzzzzzzZzzzZzzzz zzzzzzzzz ZZZzzzZzzZzzzz
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
outsideinJan 23, 2012
The Madwoman of No.10 A character portrait more than a biopic, The Iron Lady dramatises Margaret Thatcher's middle aged madness through the perspective of her demented madness of old age. Many have asked if this film should have been madeThe Madwoman of No.10 A character portrait more than a biopic, The Iron Lady dramatises Margaret Thatcher's middle aged madness through the perspective of her demented madness of old age. Many have asked if this film should have been made while she is alive - but the key source of insight is Carol Thatcher's account of her mother's dementia - so if her daughter can comment in public, so may the film makers. Meryl Streep's portrayal is uncanny, and especially effective in old age - the Thatcher we don't know. She and Dennis, the wonderful Jim Broadbent, are the only fleshed out characters in the piece. The rest are props to tell the story. And what a story it is - a story of grandiose self importance that always carried more than a shred of madness. The women involved - Streep, Lloyd (director) and Morgan (writer) create a classic 'women's picture' - one woman's struggle - to live up to the ideals instilled on young Margaret Roberts by her doting dad. Of course, everyone pales into insignificance for young Margaret by comparison (except the supportive Dennis). All men are bastards. In this world, there are no other women, except maids. Thatcher can say and do what she pleases, because she is so much smarter and better than anyone else. There is no collaboration with this psychotic woman, there is only her inevitable descent into madness as the Poll Tax is proposed, the final straw in her destruction of consensus Britain. Like Reagan, she is co-creator of the 2007 financial collapse - due to greed, the de-regulation of the financial markets, and the self -righteousness of the frankly bonkers economics of it all. So don't despair that the history is not quite accurate, or it doesn't really 'do justice' to her 'reign'. That's not the point. While the film tries hard to get the audience on 'her side' by implying her greatness and difference in almost every scene, all it does is demonstrate that Thatcher was always a madwoman on a mission - and now, we can say 'Mission Accomplished.' Right up there with The Black Swan - last year's portrait of a madwoman - Streep will walk down the red carpet with her Oscar in a few months. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
nFernalDec 30, 2011
When I saw the trailers on TV, I was excited to see that one of my local theatres was planning on showing it a few weeks earlier than the world wide release. However, after watching the film I was somewhat mixed. I will admit that politicallyWhen I saw the trailers on TV, I was excited to see that one of my local theatres was planning on showing it a few weeks earlier than the world wide release. However, after watching the film I was somewhat mixed. I will admit that politically identify myself as someone who leans right, but I just think the movie could've gone in another direction. NPR's review brings up a very good point in regards to how the movie chose to cover Margaret Thatcher life. It wasn't very respectful, but fair enough I suppose...

At least my wife enjoyed the movie. I would've rated this lower if it wasn't for Meryl Streep's brilliant acting.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
LokarJan 15, 2012
Stirring portrayal of the controversial former Prime Minister of England. Excellent acting by the whole cast, especially Meryl Streep and Alexandra Roach. This movie does not flinch from showing every phase of Thatcher's life. From her earlyStirring portrayal of the controversial former Prime Minister of England. Excellent acting by the whole cast, especially Meryl Streep and Alexandra Roach. This movie does not flinch from showing every phase of Thatcher's life. From her early years living through World War II, to her difficult attempts to enter politics; to her love for her husband and then the main career years we all know, you get much more than in your average biographical film. Wonder of wonders, they allow the character to grow older and show all of her issues with declining health. Every one of the ups and downs of her terms in office is shown with brutal clarity. We see everything from the wild early years of success, as the stock market went up to crazy heights, and then the thunder as it all came crashing down. Riots, the poll tax, none of it is swept under the rug. They also show her personal character- from stubbornness to a hidden and surprising grace and hope. Although I disagreed with a number of her political decisions, in this movie I was shown that there was more to her than meets the eye. A lot more. One of the most powerful movies I've seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
aroncido6Feb 9, 2012
What a fantastic movie! You can truly feel, what's inside Mrs Thatcher! Even if you don't like her political decisions, you cannot do not to feel sad for her. There are a bit few historical scenes, but they are strong enough to forget aboutWhat a fantastic movie! You can truly feel, what's inside Mrs Thatcher! Even if you don't like her political decisions, you cannot do not to feel sad for her. There are a bit few historical scenes, but they are strong enough to forget about this, and with the touching "old lady" scenes, it's really one of the greatest movies of the year, even if 2011 is not as strong as 2010 in movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MegWhiteleyApr 16, 2012
I don't think that The Iron Lady is a great movie, is very regular and have some mistakes, but the better thing in this movie is the performance of Meryl Streep, is amazing, she is Margaret Tacher. Now the problems. When some wanna do aI don't think that The Iron Lady is a great movie, is very regular and have some mistakes, but the better thing in this movie is the performance of Meryl Streep, is amazing, she is Margaret Tacher. Now the problems. When some wanna do a biopic, need pass for the most important events, and yes can touch others, but in this movie, the director do that the events are boring, and planes, graceless. The movie is regular, but the only thing sustain that achieves this is the performance of Meryl Streep, amazing, and perfect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
adelezaabaFeb 26, 2012
The whole story was not bad but it didn't really hit the spot. I don't know maybe it's just me. The acting was really good but the ending was a bit anti-climatic. I was expecting more to happen at the end of the movie. In fact, it wasn't justThe whole story was not bad but it didn't really hit the spot. I don't know maybe it's just me. The acting was really good but the ending was a bit anti-climatic. I was expecting more to happen at the end of the movie. In fact, it wasn't just me. The audience the in cinema didn't move until 2 minutes after the credits rolled. I guess, we all expected more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jeremypMay 11, 2012
A great performance by Streep who does her chameleon brilliance. The story however makes a fundamental error which sinks it. The decision to spend half the time in Thatcher's dotage (so Meryl can show off her prosthetics??) instead of givingA great performance by Streep who does her chameleon brilliance. The story however makes a fundamental error which sinks it. The decision to spend half the time in Thatcher's dotage (so Meryl can show off her prosthetics??) instead of giving us a decent biopic makes the movie dull and nothing but a set piece for some of her speeches and harangues. They should have called this "The Lead Lady." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews