Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Iron Lady is a surprising and intimate portrait of Margaret Thatcher, the first and only female Prime Minister of The United Kingdom. One of the 20th century’s most famous and influential women, Thatcher came from nowhere to smash through barriers of gender and class to be heard in aThe Iron Lady is a surprising and intimate portrait of Margaret Thatcher, the first and only female Prime Minister of The United Kingdom. One of the 20th century’s most famous and influential women, Thatcher came from nowhere to smash through barriers of gender and class to be heard in a male dominated world. (The Weinstein Company) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jan 12, 2012
    88
    Lloyd finesses a deft script of brisk, quick strokes by Abi Morgan ("Brick Lane," "Shame") into a terrific entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 12, 2012
    75
    Yea or nay, love or hate, the portrait that Streep delivers in Phyllida Lloyd's impressionistic biopic is astonishing.
  3. 70
    Shallow but satisfying, largely because of Meryl Streep and her big fake English teeth and gift for using mimicry as a means of achieving empathy.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 11, 2012
    58
    There's no disputing Streep's brilliance, which this time feels more calculated than usual, in a movie demanding only an impersonation.
  5. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 11, 2012
    50
    If I may presume: Thatcher probably would have preferred more action, less talk.
  6. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Dec 26, 2011
    50
    Where the actress succeeds, all but disappearing into the role of Thatcher, the rest of the film is a bizarre amalgamation of archival footage, half-baked montages, hallucinations that push the bounds of poetic license straight into the gray area of bad taste, and plain old tedium.
  7. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Dec 29, 2011
    30
    The Iron Lady is, to put it kindly, a shambles.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 70
  2. Negative: 11 out of 70
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    I wish the critics would restrict their comments to the movie and not Margret Thacher. We should be rating the move not her politics! GradeI wish the critics would restrict their comments to the movie and not Margret Thacher. We should be rating the move not her politics! Grade the movie and it's actors not the politics of the time.Please restrict your opinions to the movies not the politics of the time. It really makes you look stupid.. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    Fascinating slice of life portrayal of Margret Thatcher, brilliantly portrayed by Meryl Streep. Touches on a variety of themes fromFascinating slice of life portrayal of Margret Thatcher, brilliantly portrayed by Meryl Streep. Touches on a variety of themes from self-determination to aging, and the struggle for gender equality set in the 70s and 80s. For those of us old enough to remember? Compelling. Touching. Sad. Fascinating... And fleetingly portrayed, but unless you turn this into Masterpiece Classics? You have to draw the line somewhere ...and no one will be happy with where. :-). For Meryl? Another Oscar I think! Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    Although the overall movie has its minor flaws (primarily flow/editing issues, similar to the far worse problem with J. Edgar) there is noAlthough the overall movie has its minor flaws (primarily flow/editing issues, similar to the far worse problem with J. Edgar) there is no denying that Streep offers a magnificent and towering performance as Thatcher. Although the film also caught me off guard by being one of the most touching and surprisingly cinematic love stories of the year, the reason to see the film is to see the amazing actress offering one of her very best works in a long and incredible career. No other acting performance comes close to this one for the year, and I include Viola Davis' great job in The Help, when I say this. Streep's performance = A+, whereas the overall movie (The Iron Lady) = B+ Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2012
    6
    The only reason to watch the "The Iron Lady" is for Meryl Streep' incredible performance She single handedly elevates the material and makesThe only reason to watch the "The Iron Lady" is for Meryl Streep' incredible performance She single handedly elevates the material and makes this film go from a sub-par film to a pleasant one. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    5
    Meryl is great, not that anybody would expect anything else. The movie was pretty bland no matter what you feel about her politics. It seemedMeryl is great, not that anybody would expect anything else. The movie was pretty bland no matter what you feel about her politics. It seemed like a documentary being reenacted. I wasn't crazy about the constant back and forth too. It still delivered though. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    This is the first major motion picture chronicling the life of Britain's first female Prime Minister Margret Thatcher. Sadly, the end resultThis is the first major motion picture chronicling the life of Britain's first female Prime Minister Margret Thatcher. Sadly, the end result is not good. The direction is rather poor and multiple scenes are jumbled up quite regularly. A clearer narrative would have suited this flick much more. However, not all is bad as Meryl Streep absolutely gives the performance of a lifetime, certainly one of the better performances over her long, lustrous career. Her alone is really the only thing that can redeem this otherwise messy movie. Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    Just sucks... What? I need 150 characters? I felt that writing "Just Sucks" would be more than enough but obviously I must say more. It REALLYJust sucks... What? I need 150 characters? I felt that writing "Just Sucks" would be more than enough but obviously I must say more. It REALLY does just sucks. Collapse

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.