User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 307
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VinnyV
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Amazing Movie, It has action, love, humor, and conspiracy all mixed into one. Definitely a good one.
  2. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    Obra-Prima de Michael Bay o gênio mais subestimado da história do cinema!!!! pelos críticos e pelo público imbecil!!!! Vale mencionar que são os americanos imbecis!!!!!!. Agora deixar eu respirar um pouco,The Island é um dos melhores filmes de ficção científica de ação de todos os tempos!!!,Com atuações impecáveis de Scarlett Johansson,Ewan McGregor,Sean Bean,Steve Buscemi,Michael ClarkeObra-Prima de Michael Bay o gênio mais subestimado da história do cinema!!!! pelos críticos e pelo público imbecil!!!! Vale mencionar que são os americanos imbecis!!!!!!. Agora deixar eu respirar um pouco,The Island é um dos melhores filmes de ficção científica de ação de todos os tempos!!!,Com atuações impecáveis de Scarlett Johansson,Ewan McGregor,Sean Bean,Steve Buscemi,Michael Clarke Duncan e Djimon Hounsou com cenas de ação impressionantes,além disso no final se mostra um filme bem emocionante. Expand
  3. PaulD.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Awesome movie...nuff said.
  4. BruceR.
    Aug 20, 2005
    9
    I've been disappointed by many futuristic movies, but really enjoyed this one. I found it believable, and enjoyed the corporate bashing, which I thought was ironically underscored by the very large Cadillac presense.
  5. wafia.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    It was a great movie, with a creative Idea about cloning , beside my special love to scarlet!!!
  6. AndyM
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    Saw a midnight showing, LOVED IT. Michael Bay is restrained and as a result the action is secondary to the story. When the action takes place it is fast, kinetic, and the most intense of the summer. When the drama takes place, instead of riding it off as mere time to fill, Bay takes care in telling the story. Highly recommended, don't listen to reviews by people who clearly had their Saw a midnight showing, LOVED IT. Michael Bay is restrained and as a result the action is secondary to the story. When the action takes place it is fast, kinetic, and the most intense of the summer. When the drama takes place, instead of riding it off as mere time to fill, Bay takes care in telling the story. Highly recommended, don't listen to reviews by people who clearly had their minds made up before they saw the film. Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    The movie starts mysterious, naivë, and when it comes to Lincoln Echo Six: curious. The people living safe from "contamination" are happy and satisfied, and do not question their lives. After all, they are being kept safe from the poisonous world outside, and someone who's lucky might win the lottery and get to The Island - a last surviving location outside their home. To them, it isThe movie starts mysterious, naivë, and when it comes to Lincoln Echo Six: curious. The people living safe from "contamination" are happy and satisfied, and do not question their lives. After all, they are being kept safe from the poisonous world outside, and someone who's lucky might win the lottery and get to The Island - a last surviving location outside their home. To them, it is paradise.

    This is where the movie begins. Lincoln (well acted by Evan McGregor) pushes the boundaries and in the end finds a small proof that something is not as it seems. Things escalate fast.

    In an attempt to save his female friend, they both shake loose from the limited thinking they have been previously pushed into and reach out for freedom they never knew they didn't have.

    The movie is full of action and discovery. It looks and sounds absolutely amazing, and the characters are well portrayed and their growth into their full potential can be seen.

    The movie delivers its idea just as brilliantly as it is supposed to. Sure, the end is the usual, but at least they didn't ruin it with too much sappiness.

    Definitely watch this one!
    Expand
  8. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    One of the best science fiction movies I've seen in my life. Good performances and a spectacular argument.
  9. ZachRH
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    "The Island" is simply a great film. It has an engaging story, wonerful characters, great acting by the two leads, beautiful cinematography, the perfect blend of action and drama, and wonderful special effects. The story may not be completely original, but the execution of the plot is wonderful. The film is endlessly captivating, and even quite humorous throughout. Imaginitive and "The Island" is simply a great film. It has an engaging story, wonerful characters, great acting by the two leads, beautiful cinematography, the perfect blend of action and drama, and wonderful special effects. The story may not be completely original, but the execution of the plot is wonderful. The film is endlessly captivating, and even quite humorous throughout. Imaginitive and entertaining, "The Island" is for me the best movie of 2005 so far. Expand
  10. DanielD.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    Good. amaizing. interesting and not previsible.
  11. JennM.
    Jul 28, 2005
    9
    I have no idea why people are rating this movie so low. It is literally one of the best movies I have ever seen. It created high emotions and gave you a heart wrenching sensation. You became attached the the characters and the story was AMAZINGLY written. The acting was superb as well. I still can't get over that movie, it's number 1 in my book! The movie is also thought I have no idea why people are rating this movie so low. It is literally one of the best movies I have ever seen. It created high emotions and gave you a heart wrenching sensation. You became attached the the characters and the story was AMAZINGLY written. The acting was superb as well. I still can't get over that movie, it's number 1 in my book! The movie is also thought provoking and perhaps is too much for some people.... Expand
  12. BobS
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    OK - so maybe there are a few lifted ideas here - but what movie doesn't do that? This is a summer popcorn movie to be sure - if you try and add any morality or look for some here - you will be disappointed. Sure Bay weaves in the neat little message about the future of cloning - but if if it is morality that you want; go read "Never Let Me Go" (check your local library). If you are OK - so maybe there are a few lifted ideas here - but what movie doesn't do that? This is a summer popcorn movie to be sure - if you try and add any morality or look for some here - you will be disappointed. Sure Bay weaves in the neat little message about the future of cloning - but if if it is morality that you want; go read "Never Let Me Go" (check your local library). If you are looking for a full adrenaline, roller-coaster rush - then this is your movie. Bay's knack for chase scenes are really pushed to the limits during a highway chase in which freight train axles are used like dodge balls! One of the best chases since "To Live and Die in LA"! Long and short - don't think...just ENJOY! Expand
  13. RickyQ.
    Aug 2, 2005
    9
    Despite having some minor plot holes, The Island delivers a great experience which should not be missed!
  14. TheElusivePossom
    Aug 30, 2005
    9
    [***SPOILERS***] This film seemed to emerge from thin air, and based on positive hear-say from my friends alone, I decided it would be one worth catching. Before even entering the cinema however, I was given negative feedback concerning the movie by two of its patrons: an elderly woman and a female member of staff with a strong foreign accent I couldn't quite place at the time. Having[***SPOILERS***] This film seemed to emerge from thin air, and based on positive hear-say from my friends alone, I decided it would be one worth catching. Before even entering the cinema however, I was given negative feedback concerning the movie by two of its patrons: an elderly woman and a female member of staff with a strong foreign accent I couldn't quite place at the time. Having seen the film myself, I have concluded that the elderly woman was in way beyond her depth of understanding in terms of a film depicting the future, and the member of staff, who had suggested I "check out Unleashed with Jet Li" instead, was clearly just stupid, because "The Island" is a brilliant film: a perfect blend of gripping plot, epic action and jaw-dropping visual effects. The use of real brands such as MSN and Cadillac worked well to enhance a realistic portrayal of the future world. Other touches were particularly commendable: in the viewing I saw, amongst the adverts preceding the main feature was one advertising a perfume starring Scarlett Johanssen. Imagine my surprise and delight to...(SPOILER) see the very same advert appear on a big screen during a scene in the film, revealing the real Scarlett's occupation as an actress! (END SPOILER). The acting of Ewan McGregor is pleasing (on both accounts ;)) as is the Machiavellian nature of Sean Bean's role. There is comedy here, as well as some moments of real sadness that you can see coming, yet are still moved by. The film, however, is by no means flawless: the loose ends are tied about half-way through, letting only the relentless yet predictable climax remain. Also, I take issue with anyone who is the victim of a side-on collision with a heavy goods vehicle, who then steps out of the car with perfect make-up. All in all, this movie is one of the golden releases this year, and much better than Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, which I regret seeing to an unholy level. Expand
  15. Tonydannie
    Aug 7, 2005
    9
    This was an unexpected surprise! The film grabbed me and never let me go. Bay has redeemed himself after the dreadful Bad Boys 2. Making this film my favorite over The Rock. It steals from Logan's Run and THX-1138. And again their were a bit to much of speed chasing. But Bay toned it down a bit with one car chase and an aireal chase. But It is not such a big deal. At least it was not This was an unexpected surprise! The film grabbed me and never let me go. Bay has redeemed himself after the dreadful Bad Boys 2. Making this film my favorite over The Rock. It steals from Logan's Run and THX-1138. And again their were a bit to much of speed chasing. But Bay toned it down a bit with one car chase and an aireal chase. But It is not such a big deal. At least it was not 6 car chases unlike the previous Bay flick (There i go again. Bad Boys 2). I left Satisfied. And you would be too. The film was good fun. Expand
  16. StagePro
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    I have to say, I also LOVED this movie, but I give it a 9 because hardly ANYTHING I see gets a full 10! lol - When I saw the movie poster and trailer for this flick I thought OH NO, my dear Scarlet sold out to a crap Michael Bay film! NO NO!!! Well, I gave it a chance when it came onto DVD and I was immediately engaged and oh so pleasantly surprised! Like others mentioned here, it grabs I have to say, I also LOVED this movie, but I give it a 9 because hardly ANYTHING I see gets a full 10! lol - When I saw the movie poster and trailer for this flick I thought OH NO, my dear Scarlet sold out to a crap Michael Bay film! NO NO!!! Well, I gave it a chance when it came onto DVD and I was immediately engaged and oh so pleasantly surprised! Like others mentioned here, it grabs hold of you and never let's you go, and I can't stand action thrillers normally. The human subplot is really truly touching and I am even proud to say I cried at the end of this film for like a half an hour! I also had to run out and get the soundtrack!! Boy am I sap eh?? Scarlet and Ewan really make nice chemistry and the acting is truly superb. I really felt as if I caught a glmipse of where are future could go...as a race if we don't watch ourselves with this cloning business. SEE this movie, check it out, it was worth the 2 hours, it really was... HAIL SCARLET! She is so endearing... Expand
  17. TinaW.
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    I saw this movie in the theater with a couple of friends and we were all absorbed in the intensity of the action. I'm not saying it was some profound piece of art, but it was highly entertaining. Even the large amount of product placing became a fun game of 'who can spot the most'. We were all highly entertained, and got into it and genuinely had fun at the movies. We also I saw this movie in the theater with a couple of friends and we were all absorbed in the intensity of the action. I'm not saying it was some profound piece of art, but it was highly entertaining. Even the large amount of product placing became a fun game of 'who can spot the most'. We were all highly entertained, and got into it and genuinely had fun at the movies. We also now own the dvd because of how fun it was. Expand
  18. SeanD
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    While slightly over the top, fans of the sci-fi, action-adventure genre will not be disappointed. Non-stop Action from beginning to end which is beautifully shot.
  19. SteveP.
    Feb 8, 2006
    9
    O.K. i don't care what all the "Movie Snobbs" have to say about this film it was great. Who says that a movie has to be boring to have a deep message. This movie thought a little long and laging was extermily entertaining to watch. and the message was very deep, Human life is not a probuct and should not be created for destoryed like one. we can't go around creating humans like O.K. i don't care what all the "Movie Snobbs" have to say about this film it was great. Who says that a movie has to be boring to have a deep message. This movie thought a little long and laging was extermily entertaining to watch. and the message was very deep, Human life is not a probuct and should not be created for destoryed like one. we can't go around creating humans like iPods only to chop them up and seel there livers. if you are pro-cloning then go see this film, i was but this made me re-think that. Expand
  20. DaddyO.
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Great film. LOTS of style. One of the best sci-fi's in a while. This film can be split in half; a futuristic sci-fi and then a "Bad Boys"-like action movie. Strange combination. This film would get a 10 if it didn't get carried away with explosions and blowing crap up. For me that spoils it coz you "here we go again, more hollywood CGI". But even if you're not a geek or Great film. LOTS of style. One of the best sci-fi's in a while. This film can be split in half; a futuristic sci-fi and then a "Bad Boys"-like action movie. Strange combination. This film would get a 10 if it didn't get carried away with explosions and blowing crap up. For me that spoils it coz you "here we go again, more hollywood CGI". But even if you're not a geek or into sci-fi, u have to see this film for Scarlett Johansson. Expand
  21. Jack
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    Spectacular. Music was nice also.
  22. MarkM
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    I don't know how these critics come off with their harsh comments, yet they provide no substence with their argument. This was a fantastic movie and the editing and special effects were nicely done.
  23. *confidential
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    I don't understand what all the critics are complaining about. Good acting, good story, good visuals, good audio.. what else are they looking for?
  24. JamesP.
    Jul 22, 2005
    9
    All movies are stories retold. This telling of the classic sci-fi awareness and escape tale is spun quite well and provides solid entertainment. Humorous moments are mixed with well choreographed action sequences. It does run a bit long, so don't drink a lot before or during the show.
  25. Gettford
    Jul 23, 2005
    9
    I had a great time with this movie. I agree with Ebert that it just works. Scarlett & Ewan are terrific, but it's really Djimon Hounsou who steals the show. His back story caps the plotlne nicely. If you're into sci-fi and want to see a better version of the Minority Report or AI, enjoy this one.
  26. JRI
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    This movie had everything the 'Born identity' and its sequel did, which is action/ great plot/ great acting/ and great direction. Everything is fresh and new in this movie. A bit lengthy but holds your interest in this action packed sci-fi movie. If anything , go to a matinee, its well worth it!!!!!
  27. KelR.
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    My favorite movie of all time!
  28. ExotixS.
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    Well, like many others remakes, remixes this year The Island is very enjoyable and good demonstration of possible tommorow technology (without FlyTrain Till 2034), but it can suprise you with the latest camera, fx effects, music and attractive stars...what else can you aspect from remake? This movie is more realistic then deep scfi Matrix XXXRunner... 50% for the story and 50% for good Well, like many others remakes, remixes this year The Island is very enjoyable and good demonstration of possible tommorow technology (without FlyTrain Till 2034), but it can suprise you with the latest camera, fx effects, music and attractive stars...what else can you aspect from remake? This movie is more realistic then deep scfi Matrix XXXRunner... 50% for the story and 50% for good demonstration of near future. Expand
  29. BubbaFish
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    Not since BAD BOYS has Michael Bay made such a creative piece of work. A thrilling ride!!!
  30. TimN.
    Mar 3, 2006
    9
    Great movie, starts quick and doesn't let you down til the very end credits. It seems the critics didn't care for this movie, but check it out, you will not be disappointed. I would say this is the best sci-fi thriller since the Matrix. See it today!
  31. KD
    Dec 13, 2005
    9
    Starts off slow, in an interesting way. then explodes off the screen with near non-stop action.
  32. KenK.
    Jul 19, 2005
    9
    I loved this movie. It was a movie I had been looking forward to all summer. I thought the premise was great: People living in a sealed and controlled facility under the pretense that the outside world is decimated and uninhabitable when in fact they are clones created for the sole purpose of supplying spare, viable organs for their original counterparts. I think the actors are wonderful. I loved this movie. It was a movie I had been looking forward to all summer. I thought the premise was great: People living in a sealed and controlled facility under the pretense that the outside world is decimated and uninhabitable when in fact they are clones created for the sole purpose of supplying spare, viable organs for their original counterparts. I think the actors are wonderful. Ewan McGregor is a cool guy and Scarlett Johansson is hot! The direction of the film was kinetic and even so, it was un-Bay-like. There weren Expand
  33. AMovieFan
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    Probably the best futuristic thriller I've ever seen. While movies I've seen like Minority Report and The 6th Day have dealt with similar subjects but none have really hit home as much as this movie has. Surprisingly intelligent for a film from Michael Bay, (a director known for mindless action movies) and always moving, this movie provides a very scary, cool little world in the Probably the best futuristic thriller I've ever seen. While movies I've seen like Minority Report and The 6th Day have dealt with similar subjects but none have really hit home as much as this movie has. Surprisingly intelligent for a film from Michael Bay, (a director known for mindless action movies) and always moving, this movie provides a very scary, cool little world in the first hour, and the movie continues to fly when the characters leave this world and enter a futuristic Los Angeles. Definitely worth watching, it's really a very fun movie, and one that's really powerful. Michael Bay should do more films like this one (although unfortunately, this film's lack of domestic box office success may encourage him not to,) and I hope this movie found an audience somewhere because it's a great movie, really worth seeing. Big thumbs up to the music, as well. Expand
  34. AnthonyF
    Jul 16, 2009
    9
    The Island is so well put together I forgot who or what it was ripping off. This is Michael Bay's second best film and it is put together nicely. Sci-fi fans with love the first half and hate the second and action movie goers (like me) with praise the second half and will appreciate the first. This is a well constructed action packed thriller which exists for no other reason but to The Island is so well put together I forgot who or what it was ripping off. This is Michael Bay's second best film and it is put together nicely. Sci-fi fans with love the first half and hate the second and action movie goers (like me) with praise the second half and will appreciate the first. This is a well constructed action packed thriller which exists for no other reason but to entertain. Expand
  35. ShaneFischer
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    I just dont understand how people can actually say this is a bad movie. Fine it's more action than SciFi. Who cares?? Its a great action movie. Plus Scarlett looks fantastic.
  36. tammy
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    A movie about clones.. the action is so real than most movies i have seen. must watch it!
  37. JohnS.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    Obviously not a film that ignorant, average to low IQ people enjoy. The message of the film is that YOU, yes you, right now, in this life of yours, are a product. You are owned. It's an eye opener. See Zeitgeist the movie for details.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Starts off an aggressively derivative sci-fi thriller, then morphs into an above-average chase melodrama.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    Frenetic actioner about refugees from a genetic cloning plant starts off intriguingly, burns up its ideas in the first hour and pads out the rest with joltingly repetitive action sequences.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    50
    For all the menace of its techno-prattle, its implicit boosts for humanism and its swell production design, the picture is finally a bore. Sci-fi was more powerful when its special effects were cheap and crude, its ideas simple but potently stated.