DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: July 22, 2005
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 631 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
509
Mixed:
72
Negative:
50
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
PaulD.Oct 17, 2005
Awesome movie...nuff said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
CameronS.Jul 22, 2005
Michael Bay finally made a movie that didn't suck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BruceR.Aug 20, 2005
I've been disappointed by many futuristic movies, but really enjoyed this one. I found it believable, and enjoyed the corporate bashing, which I thought was ironically underscored by the very large Cadillac presense.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
jimsAug 3, 2005
Yes, this movie is not great; but it is entertaining. Don't pay too much attention to the bad reviews. It is an entertaining film with a storyline that is apt for some current issues we are facing; and it has some decent action scenes, Yes, this movie is not great; but it is entertaining. Don't pay too much attention to the bad reviews. It is an entertaining film with a storyline that is apt for some current issues we are facing; and it has some decent action scenes, although some travel well into the category of ridiculously unrealistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.Aug 8, 2005
Entertaining. Good summer fair. Go see it and leave your Oscar-review hat at home.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
wafia.Jan 5, 2006
It was a great movie, with a creative Idea about cloning , beside my special love to scarlet!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TaylorBJan 4, 2010
Excellent movie, lots of action, keeps you rooting for a side. You watch it and find out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
chipDec 6, 2005
Entertaining - not at all as bad as the reviews make it seem. i think it is more akin to logan's run than matrix or blade runner. (i guess all sci-fi fils are going to be compared to blade runner and the matrix).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachRHJul 17, 2005
"The Island" is simply a great film. It has an engaging story, wonerful characters, great acting by the two leads, beautiful cinematography, the perfect blend of action and drama, and wonderful special effects. The story may not be "The Island" is simply a great film. It has an engaging story, wonerful characters, great acting by the two leads, beautiful cinematography, the perfect blend of action and drama, and wonderful special effects. The story may not be completely original, but the execution of the plot is wonderful. The film is endlessly captivating, and even quite humorous throughout. Imaginitive and entertaining, "The Island" is for me the best movie of 2005 so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyMJul 22, 2005
Saw a midnight showing, LOVED IT. Michael Bay is restrained and as a result the action is secondary to the story. When the action takes place it is fast, kinetic, and the most intense of the summer. When the drama takes place, instead of Saw a midnight showing, LOVED IT. Michael Bay is restrained and as a result the action is secondary to the story. When the action takes place it is fast, kinetic, and the most intense of the summer. When the drama takes place, instead of riding it off as mere time to fill, Bay takes care in telling the story. Highly recommended, don't listen to reviews by people who clearly had their minds made up before they saw the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielD.Jul 23, 2005
Good. amaizing. interesting and not previsible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HFishJul 24, 2005
Better than expected; although it was more violent than I imagined (ultimately that worked to keep the pace and plot up), it was exciting and unpredictable, had effective special effects that weren't too much, and added up to pretty Better than expected; although it was more violent than I imagined (ultimately that worked to keep the pace and plot up), it was exciting and unpredictable, had effective special effects that weren't too much, and added up to pretty good science fiction moviemaking. And taking on the issue of cloning, too. I was surprised: this is Michael Bay, here, the filmmaker made fun of in "Team America". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JennM.Jul 28, 2005
I have no idea why people are rating this movie so low. It is literally one of the best movies I have ever seen. It created high emotions and gave you a heart wrenching sensation. You became attached the the characters and the story was I have no idea why people are rating this movie so low. It is literally one of the best movies I have ever seen. It created high emotions and gave you a heart wrenching sensation. You became attached the the characters and the story was AMAZINGLY written. The acting was superb as well. I still can't get over that movie, it's number 1 in my book! The movie is also thought provoking and perhaps is too much for some people.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobSAug 1, 2005
OK - so maybe there are a few lifted ideas here - but what movie doesn't do that? This is a summer popcorn movie to be sure - if you try and add any morality or look for some here - you will be disappointed. Sure Bay weaves in the neat OK - so maybe there are a few lifted ideas here - but what movie doesn't do that? This is a summer popcorn movie to be sure - if you try and add any morality or look for some here - you will be disappointed. Sure Bay weaves in the neat little message about the future of cloning - but if if it is morality that you want; go read "Never Let Me Go" (check your local library). If you are looking for a full adrenaline, roller-coaster rush - then this is your movie. Bay's knack for chase scenes are really pushed to the limits during a highway chase in which freight train axles are used like dodge balls! One of the best chases since "To Live and Die in LA"! Long and short - don't think...just ENJOY! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickyQ.Aug 2, 2005
Despite having some minor plot holes, The Island delivers a great experience which should not be missed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenL.Aug 3, 2005
Good actions scenes hung on a serviceable plot with a timely twist. The ethical issues may be dumbed down for easy consumption but at least they give you something to think about when the movie is over. No complaints about the acting either. Good actions scenes hung on a serviceable plot with a timely twist. The ethical issues may be dumbed down for easy consumption but at least they give you something to think about when the movie is over. No complaints about the acting either. I think this movie was underappreciated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheElusivePossomAug 30, 2005
[***SPOILERS***] This film seemed to emerge from thin air, and based on positive hear-say from my friends alone, I decided it would be one worth catching. Before even entering the cinema however, I was given negative feedback concerning the[***SPOILERS***] This film seemed to emerge from thin air, and based on positive hear-say from my friends alone, I decided it would be one worth catching. Before even entering the cinema however, I was given negative feedback concerning the movie by two of its patrons: an elderly woman and a female member of staff with a strong foreign accent I couldn't quite place at the time. Having seen the film myself, I have concluded that the elderly woman was in way beyond her depth of understanding in terms of a film depicting the future, and the member of staff, who had suggested I "check out Unleashed with Jet Li" instead, was clearly just stupid, because "The Island" is a brilliant film: a perfect blend of gripping plot, epic action and jaw-dropping visual effects. The use of real brands such as MSN and Cadillac worked well to enhance a realistic portrayal of the future world. Other touches were particularly commendable: in the viewing I saw, amongst the adverts preceding the main feature was one advertising a perfume starring Scarlett Johanssen. Imagine my surprise and delight to...(SPOILER) see the very same advert appear on a big screen during a scene in the film, revealing the real Scarlett's occupation as an actress! (END SPOILER). The acting of Ewan McGregor is pleasing (on both accounts ;)) as is the Machiavellian nature of Sean Bean's role. There is comedy here, as well as some moments of real sadness that you can see coming, yet are still moved by. The film, however, is by no means flawless: the loose ends are tied about half-way through, letting only the relentless yet predictable climax remain. Also, I take issue with anyone who is the victim of a side-on collision with a heavy goods vehicle, who then steps out of the car with perfect make-up. All in all, this movie is one of the golden releases this year, and much better than Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, which I regret seeing to an unholy level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Don'tCareAug 5, 2005
Alright so it wasn't miraculous but it was good summer fun that was well executed. A bit to much product placement for my taste but as a summer movie it's pretty well done. Just eat some popcorn and shut up, you'll be fine. Alright so it wasn't miraculous but it was good summer fun that was well executed. A bit to much product placement for my taste but as a summer movie it's pretty well done. Just eat some popcorn and shut up, you'll be fine. Scarlett Johanssen is also pretty good. Funny, original, entertaining. People, it's entertainment, do all movies have to be oscar worthy to be fun and enjoyable? Michael Bay has made the movie he wanted to make and it's pretty cool. Go check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonydannieAug 7, 2005
This was an unexpected surprise! The film grabbed me and never let me go. Bay has redeemed himself after the dreadful Bad Boys 2. Making this film my favorite over The Rock. It steals from Logan's Run and THX-1138. And again their were This was an unexpected surprise! The film grabbed me and never let me go. Bay has redeemed himself after the dreadful Bad Boys 2. Making this film my favorite over The Rock. It steals from Logan's Run and THX-1138. And again their were a bit to much of speed chasing. But Bay toned it down a bit with one car chase and an aireal chase. But It is not such a big deal. At least it was not 6 car chases unlike the previous Bay flick (There i go again. Bad Boys 2). I left Satisfied. And you would be too. The film was good fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StageProNov 13, 2006
I have to say, I also LOVED this movie, but I give it a 9 because hardly ANYTHING I see gets a full 10! lol - When I saw the movie poster and trailer for this flick I thought OH NO, my dear Scarlet sold out to a crap Michael Bay film! NO I have to say, I also LOVED this movie, but I give it a 9 because hardly ANYTHING I see gets a full 10! lol - When I saw the movie poster and trailer for this flick I thought OH NO, my dear Scarlet sold out to a crap Michael Bay film! NO NO!!! Well, I gave it a chance when it came onto DVD and I was immediately engaged and oh so pleasantly surprised! Like others mentioned here, it grabs hold of you and never let's you go, and I can't stand action thrillers normally. The human subplot is really truly touching and I am even proud to say I cried at the end of this film for like a half an hour! I also had to run out and get the soundtrack!! Boy am I sap eh?? Scarlet and Ewan really make nice chemistry and the acting is truly superb. I really felt as if I caught a glmipse of where are future could go...as a race if we don't watch ourselves with this cloning business. SEE this movie, check it out, it was worth the 2 hours, it really was... HAIL SCARLET! She is so endearing... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaW.Jan 26, 2006
I saw this movie in the theater with a couple of friends and we were all absorbed in the intensity of the action. I'm not saying it was some profound piece of art, but it was highly entertaining. Even the large amount of product placing I saw this movie in the theater with a couple of friends and we were all absorbed in the intensity of the action. I'm not saying it was some profound piece of art, but it was highly entertaining. Even the large amount of product placing became a fun game of 'who can spot the most'. We were all highly entertained, and got into it and genuinely had fun at the movies. We also now own the dvd because of how fun it was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanDJan 4, 2006
While slightly over the top, fans of the sci-fi, action-adventure genre will not be disappointed. Non-stop Action from beginning to end which is beautifully shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveP.Feb 8, 2006
O.K. i don't care what all the "Movie Snobbs" have to say about this film it was great. Who says that a movie has to be boring to have a deep message. This movie thought a little long and laging was extermily entertaining to watch. and O.K. i don't care what all the "Movie Snobbs" have to say about this film it was great. Who says that a movie has to be boring to have a deep message. This movie thought a little long and laging was extermily entertaining to watch. and the message was very deep, Human life is not a probuct and should not be created for destoryed like one. we can't go around creating humans like iPods only to chop them up and seel there livers. if you are pro-cloning then go see this film, i was but this made me re-think that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaddyO.Jun 30, 2006
Great film. LOTS of style. One of the best sci-fi's in a while. This film can be split in half; a futuristic sci-fi and then a "Bad Boys"-like action movie. Strange combination. This film would get a 10 if it didn't get carried Great film. LOTS of style. One of the best sci-fi's in a while. This film can be split in half; a futuristic sci-fi and then a "Bad Boys"-like action movie. Strange combination. This film would get a 10 if it didn't get carried away with explosions and blowing crap up. For me that spoils it coz you "here we go again, more hollywood CGI". But even if you're not a geek or into sci-fi, u have to see this film for Scarlett Johansson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattFMar 14, 2007
First off: I saw this movie mainly because of Scarlett Johansson, and partially because the story sounded compelling. In both ways the film didn't disappoint. The main issue I had was that just about everything in the movie, from start First off: I saw this movie mainly because of Scarlett Johansson, and partially because the story sounded compelling. In both ways the film didn't disappoint. The main issue I had was that just about everything in the movie, from start to finish, seemed forced; including the acting, the plot, and especially the action. However, it had a nice concept and it entertained pretty well. It's just unfortunate that it's intellectual potential wasn't really met. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackOct 14, 2008
Spectacular. Music was nice also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobDSep 27, 2008
Great futuristic action movie in typical Michael Bay blockbuster style. Good cast!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkMJan 25, 2009
I don't know how these critics come off with their harsh comments, yet they provide no substence with their argument. This was a fantastic movie and the editing and special effects were nicely done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
*confidentialJul 9, 2009
I don't understand what all the critics are complaining about. Good acting, good story, good visuals, good audio.. what else are they looking for?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ArielGDec 1, 2005
In terms of its visual details and aesthetics it was wonderful, especially in the beginning when they're in the facility. If the book Brave New World was made into a movie, this is how I imagine the environment would look like. The In terms of its visual details and aesthetics it was wonderful, especially in the beginning when they're in the facility. If the book Brave New World was made into a movie, this is how I imagine the environment would look like. The concept and the story was okay, but somehow the movie didn't mesh towards the end. It must've been because of all the car chases and helicopter chases, where it just became a typical Michael Bay action flick. Felt like I was watching Bad Boys II again. Overall, it's not too bad, but also not too good. I added an extra 2 points to my rating score because of the gorgeous Scarlett Johansen's presence, even though I think her talent was wasted here. I found Ewan McGregor pretty good in his role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnDec 23, 2005
This sci-fi was awesome. Fans of the genre, don't miss it! And Scarlett looks delicious! ;-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesP.Jul 22, 2005
All movies are stories retold. This telling of the classic sci-fi awareness and escape tale is spun quite well and provides solid entertainment. Humorous moments are mixed with well choreographed action sequences. It does run a bit long, so All movies are stories retold. This telling of the classic sci-fi awareness and escape tale is spun quite well and provides solid entertainment. Humorous moments are mixed with well choreographed action sequences. It does run a bit long, so don't drink a lot before or during the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleA.Jul 22, 2005
For what it is, its not bad. You cant go into this expecting a great movie. If you ignore the plot holes and the "cloned" story line, it is entertaining. But go to a matinee, its not worth $10, parting with $6 or $7 isnt bad if you want to For what it is, its not bad. You cant go into this expecting a great movie. If you ignore the plot holes and the "cloned" story line, it is entertaining. But go to a matinee, its not worth $10, parting with $6 or $7 isnt bad if you want to have a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Jul 23, 2005
I have to admit this movie was much better than I expected. The concept was a 10 the acting an 8, the direction the film went a seven, some of the special effects were fantastic like the flying motorcycles and the hoovering train, and the I have to admit this movie was much better than I expected. The concept was a 10 the acting an 8, the direction the film went a seven, some of the special effects were fantastic like the flying motorcycles and the hoovering train, and the clones in progress. This is one of those movies that could have been great but fell a little flat by the end. You really thought they were going to kick ass in the end but you leave the theater thinking they were mostly lucky. Also it smacked heavily of Logans run. Not a bad movie to emulate, but come on people lets not plagiarize. On a tangent Logan's Run that would be a great movie to remake. Overall The Island is worth seeing in the theaters. It also allows one to reflect on some of the very real issues we are facing today with cloning and stem cell research, etc. Our ethics need to catch up with our science before we start playing God too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GettfordJul 23, 2005
I had a great time with this movie. I agree with Ebert that it just works. Scarlett & Ewan are terrific, but it's really Djimon Hounsou who steals the show. His back story caps the plotlne nicely. If you're into sci-fi and want to I had a great time with this movie. I agree with Ebert that it just works. Scarlett & Ewan are terrific, but it's really Djimon Hounsou who steals the show. His back story caps the plotlne nicely. If you're into sci-fi and want to see a better version of the Minority Report or AI, enjoy this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IrkyJul 23, 2005
Pretty good. Real entertaining. Scarlet Johansson is just...grrrrrr. Wow. Anyway, the action is intense and believable. Best piece of advice I've heard about this movie: turn off your brain and just have fun. Very true. Everything flows Pretty good. Real entertaining. Scarlet Johansson is just...grrrrrr. Wow. Anyway, the action is intense and believable. Best piece of advice I've heard about this movie: turn off your brain and just have fun. Very true. Everything flows nicely, and we see justice served. I would recommend a matinee. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HBJul 24, 2005
Good stuff. Scarlet is tops in this 'Brave New World' meets 'The Rock' sci-fi silly fun film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JRIJul 24, 2005
This movie had everything the 'Born identity' and its sequel did, which is action/ great plot/ great acting/ and great direction. Everything is fresh and new in this movie. A bit lengthy but holds your interest in this action This movie had everything the 'Born identity' and its sequel did, which is action/ great plot/ great acting/ and great direction. Everything is fresh and new in this movie. A bit lengthy but holds your interest in this action packed sci-fi movie. If anything , go to a matinee, its well worth it!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertL.J.Jul 24, 2005
I am very tired of so many reviewers (both professional and the public) always skewering science fiction or fantasy films by saying that they borrow or steal from other such movies and, in the words of one reviewer, "have nary an original I am very tired of so many reviewers (both professional and the public) always skewering science fiction or fantasy films by saying that they borrow or steal from other such movies and, in the words of one reviewer, "have nary an original idea". How many of the thousands of the "character-driven" dramas, or comedies, are so completely original, without any elements (premise, plot, characters, acting styles, settings, endings) that have appeared in other movies the past 50 years? Sure, every great or even good movie comes up with its own unique combination of these elements, but few are truly 100% original. I am NOT saying that "The Island" is a "great" movie. I am saying that science fiction and fantasy films (and also horror and action-thriller films) suffer from this double-standard of comparisons that "character-driven" dramas and comedies are less often subjected to. I like the imagination, even when borrowing from past works, that conceives a dystopian futuristic world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MilesN.Jul 25, 2005
Although this movie really isn't very good, it sure is entertaining. The car chases and myriad explosions are gratuitous but satisfying. As is Scarlet Johansson. Sigh. I'm with Daniel D., definitely not previsible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartyAug 11, 2005
I was prepared to hate this movie but it was a well paced, fun action movie with good actors. Granted it was sci-fi but within the genre I really loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattS.Aug 15, 2005
How can you say this was bad? Ok, it might not have been the most believable or unpredictable storyline, but there was some good acting, good special effects and a good cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KelR.Aug 19, 2005
My favorite movie of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PersiaAug 2, 2005
I really enjoyed this movie. It made me think about American society aned its effects on our humanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
vermind.Aug 5, 2005
This film wasn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ExotixS.Sep 14, 2005
Well, like many others remakes, remixes this year The Island is very enjoyable and good demonstration of possible tommorow technology (without FlyTrain Till 2034), but it can suprise you with the latest camera, fx effects, music and Well, like many others remakes, remixes this year The Island is very enjoyable and good demonstration of possible tommorow technology (without FlyTrain Till 2034), but it can suprise you with the latest camera, fx effects, music and attractive stars...what else can you aspect from remake? This movie is more realistic then deep scfi Matrix XXXRunner... 50% for the story and 50% for good demonstration of near future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CriticsR.Sep 9, 2005
Entertaining. Doesn't all make sense of course, but it was fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BubbaFishJan 12, 2006
Not since BAD BOYS has Michael Bay made such a creative piece of work. A thrilling ride!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimN.Mar 3, 2006
Great movie, starts quick and doesn't let you down til the very end credits. It seems the critics didn't care for this movie, but check it out, you will not be disappointed. I would say this is the best sci-fi thriller since the Great movie, starts quick and doesn't let you down til the very end credits. It seems the critics didn't care for this movie, but check it out, you will not be disappointed. I would say this is the best sci-fi thriller since the Matrix. See it today! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillDApr 21, 2008
A good Sci-Fi yarn that entertains both with the early imagery and themes of totalitarian oppression & human curiosity in the face of corporate propaganda and the later action sequences in a futuristic environment. Scarlett Johansson is A good Sci-Fi yarn that entertains both with the early imagery and themes of totalitarian oppression & human curiosity in the face of corporate propaganda and the later action sequences in a futuristic environment. Scarlett Johansson is irresistible as doe eyed Jordan 2 Delta & Ewan McGregor equally likable as curious but naive Lincoln 6 Echo. The ending is perhaps a little two Hollywood for some (those who enjoyed the end of Orwells 1984) but this is after all mass entertainment & not everyone likes to leave the cinema with fuel for deep introspection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KDDec 13, 2005
Starts off slow, in an interesting way. then explodes off the screen with near non-stop action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gabec.Dec 19, 2005
Really good movie. I don't completely understand why this didn't do better in the box-office (I rented it). Good Sci-Fi, Action movie. Good acting, great sets, interesting topic, original action. I can only think that the movie Really good movie. I don't completely understand why this didn't do better in the box-office (I rented it). Good Sci-Fi, Action movie. Good acting, great sets, interesting topic, original action. I can only think that the movie went too long and didn't resemble anything in the trailers that I saw. I hate when trailers sell the movie incorrectly. I really liked this movie. Definitely not a sci-fi in the same league as Matrix/BladeRunner. It is sci-fi-lite... mostly an action movie with sci-fi aspects and plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarryH.Dec 6, 2005
Liked the visuals, liked the pace, loved the message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenK.Jul 19, 2005
I loved this movie. It was a movie I had been looking forward to all summer. I thought the premise was great: People living in a sealed and controlled facility under the pretense that the outside world is decimated and uninhabitable when in I loved this movie. It was a movie I had been looking forward to all summer. I thought the premise was great: People living in a sealed and controlled facility under the pretense that the outside world is decimated and uninhabitable when in fact they are clones created for the sole purpose of supplying spare, viable organs for their original counterparts. I think the actors are wonderful. Ewan McGregor is a cool guy and Scarlett Johansson is hot! The direction of the film was kinetic and even so, it was un-Bay-like. There weren Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulT.Jul 22, 2005
A solid summer action yarn. If it's pathos and angst that really strokes your noodle, this ain't your fare. But Ewan and Scarlett make a charismatic and compelling duo, and there are some pretty solid moments and great action A solid summer action yarn. If it's pathos and angst that really strokes your noodle, this ain't your fare. But Ewan and Scarlett make a charismatic and compelling duo, and there are some pretty solid moments and great action sequewnces. The tension never lets up, and the tone manages to stay sufficiently sardonic to pose the question of whether or not our heroes will come to a happy or ironic ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimM.Jul 24, 2005
I loved this movie! It's a good sci-fi, no it's not totally "original," but what sci-fi is? Has a little bit of Logan's Run (a sci-fi classic), and the Matrix. Like other sci-fi movies in this genre, it presents an artificial I loved this movie! It's a good sci-fi, no it's not totally "original," but what sci-fi is? Has a little bit of Logan's Run (a sci-fi classic), and the Matrix. Like other sci-fi movies in this genre, it presents an artificial soceity (of clones) who are pacified with a mythical reward called "The Island" (e.g., heaven). Ewen McGregor is great (better acting than Star Wars). There are two parts to the movie, the first part is a futuristic sci-fi, and then when the heros escape it becomes a good action flick, with some of the best action/chase scenes I've seen (and I'm not an action movie buff). The special effects and soundtrack are great. Don't listen to the sour critics who don't get it... it is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveB.Jul 27, 2005
Way better than that poor excuse for a movie called Revenge of the Sith. What ever happened to having fun at the movies. Everybody seems to over analyse movies these days. You go into a movie by a director like this and u get what u pay Way better than that poor excuse for a movie called Revenge of the Sith. What ever happened to having fun at the movies. Everybody seems to over analyse movies these days. You go into a movie by a director like this and u get what u pay for.....explosions and more explosions. If u want some serious movies go to some film festival with all the rest of the non-fat, double foam latte drinkin', SUV drivin' morons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jul 28, 2005
In the hands of another director, "The Island" would feature only one scene in which The Walking Stem Cell Research Extrapolations have to skirt capture from the authorities. Precious running time is wasted on smashing stuff (weights instead In the hands of another director, "The Island" would feature only one scene in which The Walking Stem Cell Research Extrapolations have to skirt capture from the authorities. Precious running time is wasted on smashing stuff (weights instead of cadavers this time), which normally wouldn't seem so jarring in a Michael Bay film, but this time, there's a self-awareness to the action scenes. It's as if Bay is saying, "When can I stop being a science-fiction nerd and start being me, the real me?" "The Island" engages you in thought, and then Bay gives the older audience some time-outs later in the film, as to remind them that Hollywood makes films for teenage boys. But Bay's "improvements" doesn't really hurt the film's intriguing premise. This is because the filmmaker seems to exhibit some unbeknownst constraint, and a goodly amount of fidelity to the screenplay in the film's first half. "The Island" tells such a great story, even a caveman couldn't louse it up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MohammedR.Sep 16, 2005
Very good movie. The first half of the movie is somewhat slow. But the rest is action packed. The movie works well together as a whole.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AMovieFanMar 21, 2007
Probably the best futuristic thriller I've ever seen. While movies I've seen like Minority Report and The 6th Day have dealt with similar subjects but none have really hit home as much as this movie has. Surprisingly intelligent Probably the best futuristic thriller I've ever seen. While movies I've seen like Minority Report and The 6th Day have dealt with similar subjects but none have really hit home as much as this movie has. Surprisingly intelligent for a film from Michael Bay, (a director known for mindless action movies) and always moving, this movie provides a very scary, cool little world in the first hour, and the movie continues to fly when the characters leave this world and enter a futuristic Los Angeles. Definitely worth watching, it's really a very fun movie, and one that's really powerful. Michael Bay should do more films like this one (although unfortunately, this film's lack of domestic box office success may encourage him not to,) and I hope this movie found an audience somewhere because it's a great movie, really worth seeing. Big thumbs up to the music, as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinnyVJun 29, 2009
Amazing Movie, It has action, love, humor, and conspiracy all mixed into one. Definitely a good one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AnthonyFJul 16, 2009
The Island is so well put together I forgot who or what it was ripping off. This is Michael Bay's second best film and it is put together nicely. Sci-fi fans with love the first half and hate the second and action movie goers (like me) The Island is so well put together I forgot who or what it was ripping off. This is Michael Bay's second best film and it is put together nicely. Sci-fi fans with love the first half and hate the second and action movie goers (like me) with praise the second half and will appreciate the first. This is a well constructed action packed thriller which exists for no other reason but to entertain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaneFischerDec 14, 2005
I just dont understand how people can actually say this is a bad movie. Fine it's more action than SciFi. Who cares?? Its a great action movie. Plus Scarlett looks fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
tammyDec 16, 2005
A movie about clones.. the action is so real than most movies i have seen. must watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Dec 16, 2005
This is Bay's 2nd best movie. Not all the action thrills, but enough of it does. The issues over human cloning and human worth are well presented, as well as some themes from the Matrix and 1984. It bests all but the Rock. It's not This is Bay's 2nd best movie. Not all the action thrills, but enough of it does. The issues over human cloning and human worth are well presented, as well as some themes from the Matrix and 1984. It bests all but the Rock. It's not as good as it could've been, but for once, Michael Bay proves he's capable of something more ambitious than his usual material. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GregT.Dec 19, 2005
A sci-fi flick with a different plot line. Interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Nov 11, 2007
Obviously not a film that ignorant, average to low IQ people enjoy. The message of the film is that YOU, yes you, right now, in this life of yours, are a product. You are owned. It's an eye opener. See Zeitgeist the movie for details.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
David_HJul 12, 2015
I believe this is the first 10 i've given a movie. i liked it enough to purchase a DVD copy of it. Bay is known for his action and he certainly delivers here. This is a very unique plot line that has not been explored before. ScarlettI believe this is the first 10 i've given a movie. i liked it enough to purchase a DVD copy of it. Bay is known for his action and he certainly delivers here. This is a very unique plot line that has not been explored before. Scarlett Johansson is the most beautiful i've ever seen her in a film, Sean Bean is as intense and excellent as ever. Keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout, definitely in my top 10 of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just rewatched The Island yesterday, and it reaffirmed my belief that it's one of Michael Bay's best films. The central message behind the film might be obscured by all the overblown **** crazy action scenes, but I believe it's an important one and I'm glad he got it out there in a mainstream film. It's no Never Let Me Go, but the marriage of action and speculative fiction worked for me. The one issue I have with the film is the black mercenary who turns good at the end. That felt completely ridiculous and unearned. This guy comes into the film and has his men murder McCord, murder a couple of hapless police officers, and he himself mistakenly murders Tom Lincoln. Yet at the end of the film, he has this sudden change of heart, does a complete 180, and gets to walk off smiling into the camera at the end with an "Oh, you feisty clones... you whippersnappers you, go and have some fun, you've earned it!" expression. That was complete **** **** you movie, I'm not gonna applaud this man. If he'd actually shot who he'd intended to, he wouldn't be looking at Lincoln Six Echo kissing Jordan Two Delta at the end there, because Lincoln would be dead. Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaSep 12, 2014
The movie starts mysterious, naivë, and when it comes to Lincoln Echo Six: curious. The people living safe from "contamination" are happy and satisfied, and do not question their lives. After all, they are being kept safe from the poisonousThe movie starts mysterious, naivë, and when it comes to Lincoln Echo Six: curious. The people living safe from "contamination" are happy and satisfied, and do not question their lives. After all, they are being kept safe from the poisonous world outside, and someone who's lucky might win the lottery and get to The Island - a last surviving location outside their home. To them, it is paradise.

This is where the movie begins. Lincoln (well acted by Evan McGregor) pushes the boundaries and in the end finds a small proof that something is not as it seems. Things escalate fast.

In an attempt to save his female friend, they both shake loose from the limited thinking they have been previously pushed into and reach out for freedom they never knew they didn't have.

The movie is full of action and discovery. It looks and sounds absolutely amazing, and the characters are well portrayed and their growth into their full potential can be seen.

The movie delivers its idea just as brilliantly as it is supposed to. Sure, the end is the usual, but at least they didn't ruin it with too much sappiness.

Definitely watch this one!
Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineOct 18, 2014
Actually I liked the first part of the movie better, it was more moody, and the second one was traditional Michael Bay's pew-pew bang-bang action with "sentiments". Still, an okay-ish sci-fi movie overall.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
One of the best science fiction movies I've seen in my life. Good performances and a spectacular argument.
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorJan 29, 2015
Obra-Prima de Michael Bay o gênio mais subestimado da história do cinema!!!! pelos críticos e pelo público imbecil!!!! Vale mencionar que são os americanos imbecis!!!!!!. Agora deixar eu respirar um pouco,The Island é um dos melhores filmesObra-Prima de Michael Bay o gênio mais subestimado da história do cinema!!!! pelos críticos e pelo público imbecil!!!! Vale mencionar que são os americanos imbecis!!!!!!. Agora deixar eu respirar um pouco,The Island é um dos melhores filmes de ficção científica de ação de todos os tempos!!!,Com atuações impecáveis de Scarlett Johansson,Ewan McGregor,Sean Bean,Steve Buscemi,Michael Clarke Duncan e Djimon Hounsou com cenas de ação impressionantes,além disso no final se mostra um filme bem emocionante. Expand
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
7
HansFlicksJul 5, 2013
Michael Bay is not a name that is frequently associated with films that are particularly profound. The Island doesn't buck this trend entirely, but does more than enough to cement its place as his most cerebral work to date.

The science
Michael Bay is not a name that is frequently associated with films that are particularly profound. The Island doesn't buck this trend entirely, but does more than enough to cement its place as his most cerebral work to date.

The science fiction aesthetic at work here is by far the easiest with which to suspend disbelief. The environments are futuristic, but not so much so that the world feels alien at any point. There are, however, some issues with consistency in the dates given for when these events are taking place, but the specifics are not where the film's magnetism lies.

The story is centred on a moral dilemma, posing a number of philosophical questions in the process. It also taps into a topical discussion on the implications of growing replacement organs and the kind of scenarios that this might lead to. The breadth of the exploration isn't particularly far-reaching, but is mostly responsible for the more intelligent elements of the film. It gives the rest of the action a weightier feel, preventing this from becoming just another explosive romp completely devoid of a brain. It won't keep you up at night, but the plot is sturdy enough to provoke at least some contemplation as the narrative plays out.

There is a noticeable shift in pace after the initial scene setting has been done, the action set pieces coming thick and fast. Bay tends to split opinion as a film-maker, but there can be no doubt that he is very good indeed at what he does. There are sometimes criticisms levelled that the sequences he brings to the screen are somewhat repetitive across movies (think highway chase scenes with cars being flipped like Matchbox toys and a skyscraper's worth of breaking glass). There may be some credence to this, but for me, it doesn't make it any less breathtaking to experience when the picture is in full flow.

As for the performances, all concerned put in decent displays, with the highlight being Steve Buscemi. His ability to carry a scene is just as potent here as it has ever been, bringing some light relief in the process and pushing the movie forward. The remainder of the supporting cast also throws up some pleasant surprises, the childlike attitude of a few of the characters affording ample opportunity for the actors to have some fun.
Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
8
TornadoCreatorApr 21, 2016
I never would have expected this but Michael Bay of all directors has managed to create a genuinely great science fiction story with a consistent cyber-punk aesthetic, interesting story, and some admittedly over the top but ultimatelyI never would have expected this but Michael Bay of all directors has managed to create a genuinely great science fiction story with a consistent cyber-punk aesthetic, interesting story, and some admittedly over the top but ultimately entertaining action set pieces. Considering this director has repeatedly shown that he's got little to no understanding of how human being act, creating emotionally stunted human being with purposefully child-like outlooks who are forced to face up to the reality that they exist only to be abused and taken advantage of by the rich and powerful, in the name of greed; that was a challenge I never would have expected him to live up to.

This is hardly new concepts, it's a downtrodden repressed underclass of people breaking the shackles of their oppressors and fighting back against corporate greed story; it's a classic and in many ways that's what makes this work so well. The two main characters are particularly well written and the subtle hints of a romance sub-plot are handled both with restraint and dignity, which was especially shocking.

This film is great fun and I thoroughly recommend it to everyone, but anyone who enjoys action, sci-fi, or particularly the cyberpunk sub-genre; this is a film you're absolutely love.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FlickFreaks83Dec 11, 2015
If there are lots of flashes and bangs, and smoke and fire, either your car has just rear-ended a Pinto or Michael Bay has made a new movie. Sometimes, both are disasters. In the case of The Island, there's enough fun to be had that it'sIf there are lots of flashes and bangs, and smoke and fire, either your car has just rear-ended a Pinto or Michael Bay has made a new movie. Sometimes, both are disasters. In the case of The Island, there's enough fun to be had that it's almost possible to ignore the stupidity of the story and the cavity that replaces character development. This is a non-interactive video game demo crossed with an amusement park ride. It offers plenty of thrills but nothing else. It looks and sounds good, but satisfies only on the most primal level. For some, this will be enough. Calling The Island a "popcorn, old-fashioned summer movie" is fair, but it's also sad, since it could have been more. But movies that aim low rarely achieve any kind of altitude.

For Michael Bay, this is an opportunity to strike into new territory. This is the first directorial outing in which he has not been partnered with producer Jerry Bruckheimer. It isn't apparent - the movie is just as loud and action-oriented as anything he did with Bruckheimer. In Bay's canon, The Island ranks second - behind the filmmaker's only truly good movie, The Rock, but ahead of such memorable epics as Armageddon,Pearl Harbor, and Bad Boys II. The Island, like Bay, delivers what's expected, and not a thing more. And, although it engaged me during most of its two-plus hour running length, I left the theater feeling a hollow and even a little let down.

To the extent that it takes place in a futuristic setting, The Island functions as science fiction. Really, though, the 2090 locales are just excuses to make things look a little more exotic. The central conceit - cloning - turns into a plot device. Despite the richness of the premise, which asks a number of bio-ethical questions, there is little room for complex moral conundrums once the adrenaline starts pumping. And, for a movie that opens in a field of ideas, it comes as a disappointment to learn that the conclusion is just a big fight with lots of things blowing up. (Rumor has it that the original script, penned by Caspian Tredwell-Owen before Bay became involved and brought in Alex Kurtzman & Roberto Orci, was more thoughtful and intelligent than the final project. Tredwell-Owen is remaining mum about his opinion of the final product, probably because Dreamworks paid him $1 million for the rights.)

The Island is reminiscent of Arnold Schwarzenegger's Total Recall, which used science fiction ideas as a backdrop for lots of fights, chases, and other assorted excitement. Overall, Recall did a better job, at least in the story department. The action is superior in The Island, but that's probably to be expected, since the bar has been raised considerably since 1989. Others may be reminded of The Matrix and Minority Report, but The Island isn't in the same league. Those two movies were the complete package - not only did they follow through on their tantalizing ideas, but they offered a near-perfect mix of adrenaline and testosterone. They leave The Island bobbing far in their wake.

As disposable entertainment, The Island does what it is supposed to do. There are two remarkable car chases (one featuring oversized barbells), flawless interaction between two identical McGregors (one with an American accent, the other with his proper one), some really big explosions, and enough sequences to make a video game designer smile. Don't expect filet mignon with The Island; this is hamburger. If Martin Scorsese is a fine steak house, then Michael Bay is MacDonald's. And watching the movie is akin to eating in that place. It's fast, greasy, and fills an immediate need, but you'd better have the Rolaids handy for the indigestion that follows.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RickyReviewsMar 26, 2016
I really enjoyed this film. Ewan McGregor and Scarlett Johannson were both great, as was Steve Buscemi. Truly a new favorite. It has a bit of sci fi, romance, and humor built into it. A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews