Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 30, 2003
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 284 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
255
Mixed:
21
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MovieGuysJan 5, 2014
A heist movie at its best, The Italian Job is very fun and never lets go of your attention. Pretty good acting by Mark Wahlberg and the crew, and the movie has a nice, witty script.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
savannahrummelJan 7, 2012
Intelligent action, nothing too absurd, and great acting. Theron and Wahlberg have chemistry, and all the other characters work well together. Overall, a very satisfying movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorJan 29, 2015
F. Gary Gray dirige esse ótimo Remake,com um final satisfatório ao contrário do genial Law Abiding Citizen que tem um final horrível,Jason Statham no começo da carreira já mostrava talento como Rob O Bonitão,Mos Def é ótimo como orelhaF. Gary Gray dirige esse ótimo Remake,com um final satisfatório ao contrário do genial Law Abiding Citizen que tem um final horrível,Jason Statham no começo da carreira já mostrava talento como Rob O Bonitão,Mos Def é ótimo como orelha esquerda,Charlize Theron é ótima como Stella Bridger E Mark Wahlberg está ótimo Charlie Croker,Donald Sutherland E Seth Green estão ótimos também.
Achei meio imbecil Edward Norton dizer que esse é seu pior filme.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeAug 13, 2014
That's a good example of what the thrillers of that genre should looks like.Great acting performances,great story and awesome action scenes.This movie is just one of the best(in this genre).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MattC.Apr 20, 2004
Cool.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JalemanyApr 7, 2015
I chose to watch it so none to blame. I wanted to be entertained, that's it. Of course, there is much better entertainment out there that doesn't completely feel like a waste of time. There is a lack of life in the characters (?) andI chose to watch it so none to blame. I wanted to be entertained, that's it. Of course, there is much better entertainment out there that doesn't completely feel like a waste of time. There is a lack of life in the characters (?) and relationships that makes it just a factory made cliche. The part with Sutherland is slightly better. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsJul 3, 2012
Excellent cast .
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Myles#13Sep 6, 2006
Fantastic movie... every actor/actress fit the mould perfectly. Plot was neat, chase scenes and special effects were sweet, lines were witty... The Italian Job is a really entertaining movie! After multiple plays, I am still not bored of it. Fantastic movie... every actor/actress fit the mould perfectly. Plot was neat, chase scenes and special effects were sweet, lines were witty... The Italian Job is a really entertaining movie! After multiple plays, I am still not bored of it. MUST SEE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
adoruNov 1, 2010
Fun movie, but rather dumb. They make so many poor choices leading up to the heist that the suspension of disbelief is non-existent. Unlike the Ocean's crew, these guys not only do things in the most un-slick, non subtle way possible, butFun movie, but rather dumb. They make so many poor choices leading up to the heist that the suspension of disbelief is non-existent. Unlike the Ocean's crew, these guys not only do things in the most un-slick, non subtle way possible, but they leave gaping holes in the plan and just make bad choices. Like having the gang leader's daughter spy on the antagonist as a cable repairwoman. Really? You don't think he might have seen her before, working with him all those years?

If you can set aside all the logic problems, it's a fun movie with a great pulse. Edward Norton is always awesome, even as a sniveling bad guy. But intelligent this movie is not.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
matroycemApr 30, 2013
To me this is not a remake. To be fair I really wish they had not put Italian Job in the Title. In the UK its call 'The Italian Job: LA Heist' and from this I wish it was just called 'LA Heist'. The story is not all that bad. Its fairlyTo me this is not a remake. To be fair I really wish they had not put Italian Job in the Title. In the UK its call 'The Italian Job: LA Heist' and from this I wish it was just called 'LA Heist'. The story is not all that bad. Its fairly generic but engaging. Most of the parts in the film are played well and I did think the cast was good. The only real reason that this is The Italian Job is through the choice of cars (New BMW MINIS). The plot moves at a decent pace and has plenty of set pieces, action moments along with some emotions (these feel a little obvious and fairly predictable) but its not a bad way to spend an hour and a half.
The ending is a little cheap for me but its not the worst you will ever see.
Rent rather than buy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wololoooMar 27, 2012
The Italian Job turned out to be better than I expected. Looking through the cast I was worried that the director was relying on the ensemble of heavyweight actors to carry the film, but dialogue and story-wise, The Italian Job wasn't bad atThe Italian Job turned out to be better than I expected. Looking through the cast I was worried that the director was relying on the ensemble of heavyweight actors to carry the film, but dialogue and story-wise, The Italian Job wasn't bad at all. There's a lot of unnecessary filler scenes in the middle third, and the director/editor could have easily cut out a good ten-fifteen minutes. As pointed out by a few users, Edward Norton is fairly disappointing as the film's villain among villains, and I would've preferred to see him cast as the lead man. That being said, Mark Wahlberg does a surprisingly good job, not overplaying the role. The supporting cast, particularly Mos Def and Jason Statham, lend some comic relief and and give an all-round solid performance. There's a heap of implausible moments in The Italian Job, so much so that I was scoffing at times at the ludicrousness of it all, but it's to be expected from a high-adrenaline action film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Not that it should be passed on, but Oceanâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sinadoomJun 2, 2012
Perfect length, good choice of actors and best of all, the story is told almost flawlessly. Every minute of the film has been put to good use, so there are no fillers and it's all straight in there. It's "smart but simple" with some humourPerfect length, good choice of actors and best of all, the story is told almost flawlessly. Every minute of the film has been put to good use, so there are no fillers and it's all straight in there. It's "smart but simple" with some humour and good action scenes. I don't think it's a great film though. It's too gimmicky and lacking focus or the wow factor, but it's a good action film that won't dissapoint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hopheadDec 27, 2011
great movie very well done it seems they really took a lot of time putting this movie together.great cast Mark Wahlberg is a great actor.The scene where they created a traffic jam was great. really liked this movie lots of good action verygreat movie very well done it seems they really took a lot of time putting this movie together.great cast Mark Wahlberg is a great actor.The scene where they created a traffic jam was great. really liked this movie lots of good action very entertaining.Would watch it with a good beer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
Sub-par remake of an already sub-par heist adventure. Charlize Theron does excite--but is lost amidst unnecessary action. I fear that all I will take away from this experience is a vision of the Mini-Cooper.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
NikolayGAug 14, 2015
The first half hour of this remake is great fun. I especially enjoyed seeing Donald Sutherland. I lost interest after that. Things immediately flagged in the second act, which shifted focus almost exclusively to Mark Wahlberg, a despicableThe first half hour of this remake is great fun. I especially enjoyed seeing Donald Sutherland. I lost interest after that. Things immediately flagged in the second act, which shifted focus almost exclusively to Mark Wahlberg, a despicable human being who I have a hard time watching in anything. A violent and repeat criminal who blinded a man in one eye in a vicious attack. Why is this guy not in prison? He also just doesn't have charisma the way movie stars should. Do women find him sexy? If so, I don't know why. Charlize Theron played an uninteresting character cliche, and for a woman who looks incredibly sexy in still photos, she was somehow utterly unsexy in motion here. It was as if she didn't care, but was just reading lines. I know she can act, but here she just had no intensity and no passion, no charisma. I just couldn't maintain my interest and stopped watching about 40 minutes in. Listen, maybe the movie got great the second after I turned it off, but one has to make decisions based on the information one has. The information I had told me I was wasting my time. Someone needs to make a movie starring Donald Sutherland again, rather than just using him as a minor supporting player. That guy knows what he's doing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleOct 17, 2013
Certainly an entertaining heist film that fulfills all of its purposes. It intrigues the viewer, it gets you to root for the good guys and against the bad guy, and you are left amazed at how crafty these guys really are as they get what theyCertainly an entertaining heist film that fulfills all of its purposes. It intrigues the viewer, it gets you to root for the good guys and against the bad guy, and you are left amazed at how crafty these guys really are as they get what they want. The cast was really good; Wahlberg, Theron, and Norton, all turned in good performances as expected. Overall, it's certainly a movie I'd recommend to people as there's not much wrong with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 19, 2012
It's a first-rate action thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UtopianStuffJun 11, 2013
Heist movies at their best, I saw the Italian Job a few years back and I remember loving it, then I noticed that it was playing on Showtime, so I recorded it, and watched it, and it just gets more and more awesome every time I watch it. IHeist movies at their best, I saw the Italian Job a few years back and I remember loving it, then I noticed that it was playing on Showtime, so I recorded it, and watched it, and it just gets more and more awesome every time I watch it. I just love a good heist movie, doesn't everyone? Its smart, funny, interesting, engrossing, and bad ass. The movie was very well acted, but one guy stole the show as the funniest character in the movie and that's Seth Greens character, he was funny, he had witty dialogue, an awesome back story that added realism to his character. But everyone else is awesome too. If you like realistic heist movies, you will like this movie. And if you don't like heist movies in general, you may like it but you won't love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
The Italian Job gets promoted.
There is very little to speak of, The Italian Job is filled with overly qualified actors that are handed paper thin characters and cheesy one liners. An entertaining heist film with poor logic and no substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mm007Nov 16, 2016
[10/10]
Pros:
1.Perfect in all aspects:be it action,car chase, emotion everything. 2.Theron and Wahlberg had good chemistry. 3.Cool cars like BMW,Aston Martin... 4.Scenic beauty of Venice :) Cons: 1.At the end theron opened the vault without
[10/10]
Pros:
1.Perfect in all aspects:be it action,car chase, emotion everything.
2.Theron and Wahlberg had good chemistry.
3.Cool cars like BMW,Aston Martin...
4.Scenic beauty of Venice :) Cons:
1.At the end theron opened the vault without much effort, seemed little absurd.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
2003's classic remake ''The Italian Job'' is mediocrity at its best. It's neither great, original, surprising or anything of such sorts, nor is it bad in any way, shape or form. It's an entertaining film, it certainly is, but that's really al2003's classic remake ''The Italian Job'' is mediocrity at its best. It's neither great, original, surprising or anything of such sorts, nor is it bad in any way, shape or form. It's an entertaining film, it certainly is, but that's really al it is. The script is predictable and filled with plot-holes as you expect with films like this, the acting isnt good, nor is it bad, no one in particular stands out, Edward Norton maybe, he plays a cool villain, but in the opening scene of the film (and knowing the general synopsis of the film beforehand) you instantly know he was going to be the one to betray them, with his scary face and the moustache.
The film has cool ideas, despite having seen them all done before a hundred times, it has impressive set pieces, car/boat chases, good locations and a stellar cast. The way it was executed reminded me in a good way of Fast Five/Furious Six/ and Furious Seven. The same style of a rag-tag team planning a big heist, with car chases, lots of money, and just a great time watching

All in all ''The Italian Job'' is certainly an entertaining flick, but extremely conventional, predictable, same with the characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews