Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. 90
    The chase scenes in The Italian Job are the most exciting ones I can remember seeing in a movie in a long time, probably because they're the only ones I can remember -- and that's saying something.
  2. For two hours, the bliss of the brainless fluff is yours for the asking. It cheerfully puts the escape back in escapism.
  3. 80
    Not only are the action sequences well-paced and witty, but Gray neatly draws out the comic high spirits in Wahlberg's ensemble of crooks.
  4. Fits squarely into the "exciting" category; it's a white-knuckler of the first order.
  5. Satisfying in a purely infantile way, and the familiarity of everything is oddly comforting. In terms of action, moreover, this makes "The Matrix Reloaded" look like a clodhopper's jamboree.
  6. 63
    Essentially an old-fashioned movie, nothing fancy, nothing new, just some jokes and some action and a crowd-pleasing finale.
  7. 25
    A triumph for the machines, more proof that we do indeed live in the Matrix.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. MattC.
    Apr 20, 2004
    10
    Cool.
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Excellent castExcellent cast . Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    F. Gary Gray dirige esse ótimo Remake,com um final satisfatório ao contrário do genial Law Abiding Citizen que tem um final horrível,JasonF. Gary Gray dirige esse ótimo Remake,com um final satisfatório ao contrário do genial Law Abiding Citizen que tem um final horrível,Jason Statham no começo da carreira já mostrava talento como Rob O Bonitão,Mos Def é ótimo como orelha esquerda,Charlize Theron é ótima como Stella Bridger E Mark Wahlberg está ótimo Charlie Croker,Donald Sutherland E Seth Green estão ótimos também.
    Achei meio imbecil Edward Norton dizer que esse é seu pior filme.
    Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Certainly an entertaining heist film that fulfills all of its purposes. It intrigues the viewer, it gets you to root for the good guys andCertainly an entertaining heist film that fulfills all of its purposes. It intrigues the viewer, it gets you to root for the good guys and against the bad guy, and you are left amazed at how crafty these guys really are as they get what they want. The cast was really good; Wahlberg, Theron, and Norton, all turned in good performances as expected. Overall, it's certainly a movie I'd recommend to people as there's not much wrong with it. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    6
    Entertaining movie about safe cracking and pulling off daring heists. However, it becomes hard to suspend disbelief as the characters seem toEntertaining movie about safe cracking and pulling off daring heists. However, it becomes hard to suspend disbelief as the characters seem to have an answer for everything. Rather than depicting actual (or semi-plausible) solutions, everything seems to work as if though magic was involved. The explanations given are non-sensical most of the time and even to someone without any knowledge on the given fields they will sound like pure Hollywood nonsense. This is a sure sign of lazy writing which is too bad because if the film had taken the whole sbuject of safe cracking a little more seriously it would have probably scored a little higher overall. The protagonist's hench man also seemed a bit too happy to do whatever they were told, they should have given these characters more of a free will. I deemed these points rather annoying but the solid acting and constant action made me want to sit it out. The thing I remember most about watching this movie was its horrible techno soundtrack which just screamed for attention during scenes that really weren't as exciting as the soundtrack would make you believe. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2012
    6
    Perfect length, good choice of actors and best of all, the story is told almost flawlessly. Every minute of the film has been put to good use,Perfect length, good choice of actors and best of all, the story is told almost flawlessly. Every minute of the film has been put to good use, so there are no fillers and it's all straight in there. It's "smart but simple" with some humour and good action scenes. I don't think it's a great film though. It's too gimmicky and lacking focus or the wow factor, but it's a good action film that won't dissapoint. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2015
    3
    I chose to watch it so none to blame. I wanted to be entertained, that's it. Of course, there is much better entertainment out there thatI chose to watch it so none to blame. I wanted to be entertained, that's it. Of course, there is much better entertainment out there that doesn't completely feel like a waste of time. There is a lack of life in the characters (?) and relationships that makes it just a factory made cliche. The part with Sutherland is slightly better. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.