Warner Independent Pictures (WIP) | Release Date: March 4, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 185 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
163
Mixed:
16
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AdamM.Mar 30, 2007
A surprisingly intelligent and well-executed film!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
BarkSpearJul 30, 2012
A very interesting and engaging film. Sure, the story isn't possible, but it's not meant to be and doesn't come across as though it's trying to act as though it is. A few things could have been explained or explored more deeply, but there wasA very interesting and engaging film. Sure, the story isn't possible, but it's not meant to be and doesn't come across as though it's trying to act as though it is. A few things could have been explained or explored more deeply, but there was nothing that detracted from the film. Ignore the 'critics', their opinion is as worthless as ever. The characters do have depth, as does the films emotional exploration. Definitely a film to watch Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineOct 16, 2013
A good thriller with thick and depressive atmosphere with elements of science fiction, I'd say the atmosphere is the main advantage of the movie. The story is decent too, also the actors made a good job.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TylerDurden900Jul 12, 2014
The Jacket has an interesting concept, atmosphere and acting from Brody and Knightley. The movie has
multiple themes rolled into one and they all work. The movie is Brody's best movie and it is well made.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
JasonKMar 8, 2005
I thought the movie was very compelling and emotionally interesting. I am normally very critical, and it's true that the story is not plausible, but it's not supposed to be. It's magical, and I didn't feel like it was to I thought the movie was very compelling and emotionally interesting. I am normally very critical, and it's true that the story is not plausible, but it's not supposed to be. It's magical, and I didn't feel like it was to cheesy. The editing and cinematography were fantastic, as was the acting. See it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FerL.Sep 17, 2005
It's the first movie that I like, wich doesn't has a lineal way. If you are tired and you don't want to think a little bit, It's not a movie for you. Think 20 minutes after de movie, and you could figure out the real It's the first movie that I like, wich doesn't has a lineal way. If you are tired and you don't want to think a little bit, It's not a movie for you. Think 20 minutes after de movie, and you could figure out the real meaning of the end of the movie. It's a 8 points movie, with two point tips because of Adrien. Fer Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
qayyumy.Mar 5, 2005
Good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LawrenceR.Mar 6, 2005
This movie would have been much, much worse without Brody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ELApr 8, 2005
I loved it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ClaytonW.Jul 10, 2005
This is a very good movie. The acting was phenomenal as Adrien Brody is a very talented actor. The plot was well designed but a little far fetched at times. But any good movie evokes emotions which this one definitely does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HBJul 17, 2005
Not what you expect. Hang in there after the Jacket scene for the real movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenJul 20, 2005
Mind-blowing and trippy as hell!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoshH.Aug 7, 2005
Good overall, but had its problems. This was a movie that deserved a much stronger script. The mystery surrounding why he sees the future turns out a little stale for my taste. Most of the acting was good, with the possible exception of Good overall, but had its problems. This was a movie that deserved a much stronger script. The mystery surrounding why he sees the future turns out a little stale for my taste. Most of the acting was good, with the possible exception of Keira Knightley, whose American accent and role seemed a little forced. Worth seeing once or twice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FrankO.Jan 10, 2006
Innovative flick with outstanding cast but felt like I have seen this plot before.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcoM.Dec 11, 2005
Absolutely mind-blowing! It should definitely reach top 10 best of this year, I cannot believe it only received a
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeteC.Oct 23, 2005
A haunting, eerie and touching film, which dares to leave plenty to unravel after viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BitBurnMar 13, 2005
It's not bad, not bad at all. But not for everyone. Brody's awesome acting saved the day. I rate this at 7.5/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sharynf.Mar 13, 2005
Entertaining and ultimately satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidB.Mar 5, 2005
I really enjoyed the movie until the ending. The logic just does not work. I wouldn't be surprised if this release was an altered ending to appease the studio heads. Overall worthwhile though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmiLAug 24, 2005
One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Lower budget but with high interest. Adrien Brody is exceptional as always and Keira Knightley was perfect in her role. I will give this a "10" however Kris Kristofferson lowers it to a One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Lower budget but with high interest. Adrien Brody is exceptional as always and Keira Knightley was perfect in her role. I will give this a "10" however Kris Kristofferson lowers it to a 9.2. Congrats to his agent for finding him a role again, however. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
martinOct 16, 2005
I was just amazed at the low rating - this film is stunning - edgy, emotive and clever - some fo the best elements of one flew over the cuckoos nest and the butterfly effect. great performances, a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Mar 11, 2005
Here is a film you can make an argument for. "The Jacket" might be trash, but this is spring, and a film that could've been born from the pitch, "This is "Jacob's Ladder" meets "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind", looks pretty Here is a film you can make an argument for. "The Jacket" might be trash, but this is spring, and a film that could've been born from the pitch, "This is "Jacob's Ladder" meets "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind", looks pretty damn good when "Are We There Yet?" and "Son of the Mask" are your competition. For no other reason, you should see "The Jacket" because Keira Knightley smokes in this movie as if she's paying homage to Winona Ryder's cigarette habit in "Reality Bites". That cancer inducing prop helps Knightley (like it helped Ryder in "Girl, Interrupted") in the provocative department when she has to be emote darkly. Her performance in "The Jacket" gives you the feeling that she was the runner-up in the Mike Nichols sweepstakes; coming in second to Natalie Portman. "The Jacket" works because Adrien Brody is an actor who can transform mediocre material. But if you are a fan of "Donnie Darko" like I am, you might think the quantum physics hack job is pretty nifty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkA.Apr 17, 2006
I found the directing and cinematography to be top notch. A riveting film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredRNov 16, 2005
This is one of those movies I was like, nah, it sounds corny. My brother read the description to me and I rejected it outright. He sat down to watch it so I gave it a chance. What's up with these ridiculous movies kicking so much ass!! This is one of those movies I was like, nah, it sounds corny. My brother read the description to me and I rejected it outright. He sat down to watch it so I gave it a chance. What's up with these ridiculous movies kicking so much ass!! I've been so impressed with the acting in movies lately. Keira Knightley and Adrien Brody nail their performances. Keira does an American accent better than any foreign actress, it's nothing short of amazing. Kris Kristofferson and the rest of the cast are terrific. I don't want to compare it to any other movies, it's a cool little film with a ton of heart and attitude. Haunting. I saw this months ago and now I want to see it again from writing this review. I was like, "the Jacket, this is gonna be crap." I couldn't have been more wrong. And yes, there are movies out there that I don't give a 10 to, but I won't review them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dtanakinAug 8, 2011
The Jacket is an amazing movie. Adrien brody and keira knightly's performance was very impressive. and the music was just beautiful. I watched it first time four years ago and now watch it gain still see it's amazing. One of the best movieThe Jacket is an amazing movie. Adrien brody and keira knightly's performance was very impressive. and the music was just beautiful. I watched it first time four years ago and now watch it gain still see it's amazing. One of the best movie I've ever seen. (Best is Inception lol) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeFeb 13, 2017
The acting was very good, the premise was original and interesting and the movie was pretty entertaining. Sure, there were a few plot holes and it wasn't particularly believable, but it was still a well executed and a well made movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews